DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This office action is in response to an application filed on 04/23/2025. The applicant does not submit an Information Disclosure Statement. The applicant does not make a claim to Foreign priority. The applicant makes a claim to Domestic priority to applications filed on 11/09/2016, 10/30/2017, 08/13/2019, 06/01/2022, and 01/30/2024.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 - 18 of U.S. Patent No. 10,421,359. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed invention and the patent are directed to the same inventive concept of identifying the whether a vehicle is in an enclosed environment and remotely starting the vehicle. Based upon the detection of the request to start, the system may require an override command to start.
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,376,959. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed invention and the patent are directed to the same inventive concept of identifying the whether a vehicle is in an enclosed environment and remotely starting the vehicle. Based upon the detection of the request to start, the system may require an override command to start.
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 - 20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,919,388. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed invention and the patent are directed to the same inventive concept of identifying the whether a vehicle is in an enclosed environment and remotely starting the vehicle. Based upon the detection of the request to start, the system may require an override command to start.
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 - 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,304,305. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed invention and the patent are directed to the same inventive concept of identifying the whether a vehicle is in an enclosed environment and remotely starting the vehicle. Based upon the detection of the request to start, the system may require an override command to start.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 - 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cristoforo US 2012/0310547 in view of Penilla US 2016/0129883.
As per claim 1, A motor vehicle, comprising:
a global positioning system; (Cristoforo paragraph 0060 discloses, “a GPS module 116, to determine the vehicles map position,”)
an engine start system; (Cristoforo paragraph 0054 discloses, “a remote start receiving device 44, such as those sold by VIPER, smart devices 46, such as smart phones including APPLE's iPHONE or BLACKBERRY devices, or a keyless remote device, such as key fobs, smart keys or remote controls (not illustrated).”) and
an electronic processor communicatively coupled to the global positioning system, the electronic processor being configured to: (Cristoforo paragraph 0052 discloses, “the controller 20 is a microprocessor with memory capability. The programmable carbon monoxide safety device 10 also includes a transmitter 24 constructed and arranged for producing command signals 26, 28 (see FIG. 2) to one or more external devices, such as a motor vehicle 30.”)
receive geographical coordinates from the global positioning system; (Penilla paragraph 0066 teaches, “location coordinates of the events (GPS data), etc.”)
determine, based upon the geographical coordinates, that the motor vehicle is disposed within an enclosure; (Cristoforo paragraph 0060 discloses, “the GPS feature in the vehicular satellite/cell network device to send emergency personnel to the location of the vehicle.” And paragraph 0057 discloses, “Security Services, which upon notification of high levels of the gas within the enclosed area may notify the local authorities, activate an alarm within the house, initiate a phone call to the household, or provide remote shut-off.”)
receive an engine start request signal wirelessly transmitted by a user when the motor vehicle is disposed within an enclosure; (Cristoforo paragraph 0056 discloses, “The ignition has been turned on by use of a remote keyless device, such a remote start key fob, or as illustrated an iPHONE 80 having remote start capability. The iPHONE is typically stored remotely from the automobile 72, such as in the house 82 attached to the garage 74. The iPHONE 80 sends a command signal 83 to the automobile's remote start device 84, which starts the automobile's engine.”) and
in response to receiving the engine start request signal, inform the user that the engine of the motor vehicle is not being started because the motor vehicle is disposed within an enclosure. (Cristoforo paragraph 0028 discloses, “The motor vehicle may have been unintentionally left running or unintentionally been caused to start as a result of a remote start device. In either case, as the car continues to run, the levels of carbon monoxide reach dangerous levels, potentially harming anyone remaining in the car or inside an attached dwelling. As soon as the carbon monoxide levels reach predetermined threshold levels, the carbon monoxide safety device produces a signal which is received by the automobile to turn off the engine, thereby eliminating the continuous production of carbon monoxide.”)
Cristoforo discloses a carbon monoxide safety device. Cristoforo does not disclose conveying the coordinates of a vehicle in an enclosed environment. Penilla teaches conveying the coordinates of a vehicle in an enclosed environment. Therefore, at the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Penilla et.al. into the invention of Cristoforo. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure a vehicle that may pose a danger to the occupants of an enclosed facility are not harmed.
As per claim 2, The motor vehicle of claim 1, wherein the electronic processor is configured to: receive an override request signal from the user after informing the user that the engine of the motor vehicle is not being started; (Penilla paragraph 0128 teaches, “These are only examples of the types of levels that can be signaled by user when an override condition is triggered. Additional types of signals can be sent by the user via customized levels and activities that may be programmed through user interface from an application that is provided to users having accounts to a security program.”) and
in response to receiving the override request signal from the user, cause the engine start system to start the engine of the motor vehicle. (Cristoforo paragraph 0056) and (Penilla paragraph 0128)
Cristoforo discloses a carbon monoxide safety device. Cristoforo does not disclose conveying the coordinates of a vehicle in an enclosed environment. Penilla teaches conveying the coordinates of a vehicle in an enclosed environment. Therefore, at the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Penilla et.al. into the invention of Cristoforo. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure a vehicle that may pose a danger to the occupants of an enclosed facility are not harmed.
As per claim 3, The motor vehicle of claim 1, wherein the global positioning system is configured to produce geographical coordinates while an ignition of the motor vehicle is OFF. (Cristoforo paragraph 0061 discloses, “Alternatively, a GPS system included in the carbon monoxide detector may be utilized to dispatch emergency personnel to the location of the alert.”)
As per claim 4, The motor vehicle of claim 1, wherein the electronic processor is configured to, in response to receiving the engine start request signal when the motor vehicle is disposed within an enclosure, inform the user that the engine of the motor vehicle is not be started by causing a wireless signal to be transmitted to an electronic device that did not cause the engine start request signal to be wirelessly transmitted. (Cristoforo paragraph 0056)
As per claim 5, The motor vehicle of claim 1, further comprising a memory device storing a database of geographical coordinates corresponding to enclosed spaces, the electronic processor being configured to determine whether the motor vehicle is disposed within an enclosure based upon data retrieved from the database. (Cristoforo paragraph 0057 discloses, “Security Services, which upon notification of high levels of the gas within the enclosed area may notify the local authorities, activate an alarm within the house, initiate a phone call to the household, or provide remote shut-off.” And paragraph 0058 discloses, “Once the on-board computer has been programmed to save the carbon monoxide detector code and receive signals from the carbon monoxide detector, the on-board computer can be taken out of the programming mode. This embodiment of the carbon monoxide detector 10 is constructed and arranged to emit a radio frequency 90, preferably digital, from a transmitter 24 having an antennae 32 upon determination that a predetermined level of carbon monoxide is present within an enclosed space.”)
As per claim 6, The motor vehicle of claim 1, further comprising at least one camera configured to capture images of an environment outside of the motor vehicle, wherein the electronic processor is configured to determine whether the motor vehicle is disposed within an enclosure based further upon the captured images. (Penilla paragraph 0146 teaches, “The historical data can include images taken by cameras of the specific locations where the alerts occurred. The images can be videos, video clips, still images, collection of still images, audio files, audio snippets, that are accessible instantly over cloud processing 120.”)
Cristoforo discloses a carbon monoxide safety device. Cristoforo does not disclose conveying the coordinates of a vehicle in an enclosed environment. Penilla teaches conveying the coordinates of a vehicle in an enclosed environment. Therefore, at the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Penilla et.al. into the invention of Cristoforo. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure a vehicle that may pose a danger to the occupants of an enclosed facility are not harmed.
As per claim 7, The motor vehicle of claim 1, further comprising a proximity sensor configured to detect an object disposed adjacent to the motor vehicle, wherein the electronic processor is configured to determine whether the motor vehicle is disposed within an enclosure based further upon a proximity signal from the proximity sensor. (Cristoforo paragraph 0057 discloses, “Security Services, which upon notification of high levels of the gas within the enclosed area may notify the local authorities, activate an alarm within the house, initiate a phone call to the household, or provide remote shut-off.” And paragraph 0058 discloses, “Once the on-board computer has been programmed to save the carbon monoxide detector code and receive signals from the carbon monoxide detector, the on-board computer can be taken out of the programming mode. This embodiment of the carbon monoxide detector 10 is constructed and arranged to emit a radio frequency 90, preferably digital, from a transmitter 24 having an antennae 32 upon determination that a predetermined level of carbon monoxide is present within an enclosed space.” And paragraph 0061 discloses, “Alternatively, a GPS system included in the carbon monoxide detector may be utilized to dispatch emergency personnel to the location of the alert.”)
As per claim 8, A method of operating a motor vehicle, the method comprising:
receive geographical coordinates from a global positioning system; (Cristoforo paragraph 0060 discloses, “a GPS module 116, to determine the vehicles map position,”) and (Penilla paragraph 0066 teaches, “location coordinates of the events (GPS data), etc.”)
determine, based upon the geographical coordinates, that the motor vehicle is disposed within an enclosure; (Cristoforo paragraph 0057 discloses, “Security Services, which upon notification of high levels of the gas within the enclosed area may notify the local authorities, activate an alarm within the house, initiate a phone call to the household, or provide remote shut-off.”)
receive an engine start request signal wirelessly transmitted by a user when the motor vehicle is disposed within an enclosure; (Cristoforo paragraph 0056 discloses, “The ignition has been turned on by use of a remote keyless device, such a remote start key fob, or as illustrated an iPHONE 80 having remote start capability. The iPHONE is typically stored remotely from the automobile 72, such as in the house 82 attached to the garage 74. The iPHONE 80 sends a command signal 83 to the automobile's remote start device 84, which starts the automobile's engine.”) and
in response to receiving the engine start request signal, inform the user that the engine of the motor vehicle is not being started because the motor vehicle is disposed within an enclosure. (Cristoforo paragraph 0028 discloses, “The motor vehicle may have been unintentionally left running or unintentionally been caused to start as a result of a remote start device. In either case, as the car continues to run, the levels of carbon monoxide reach dangerous levels, potentially harming anyone remaining in the car or inside an attached dwelling. As soon as the carbon monoxide levels reach predetermined threshold levels, the carbon monoxide safety device produces a signal which is received by the automobile to turn off the engine, thereby eliminating the continuous production of carbon monoxide.”)
As per claim 9, The method of claim 8, further comprising: receiving an override request signal from the user after informing the user that the engine of the motor vehicle is not being started; (Penilla paragraph 0128 teaches, “These are only examples of the types of levels that can be signaled by user when an override condition is triggered. Additional types of signals can be sent by the user via customized levels and activities that may be programmed through user interface from an application that is provided to users having accounts to a security program.”) and
in response to receiving the override request signal from the user, causing the engine start system to start the engine of the motor vehicle. (Cristoforo paragraph 0056) and (Penilla paragraph 0128)
Cristoforo discloses a carbon monoxide safety device. Cristoforo does not disclose conveying the coordinates of a vehicle in an enclosed environment. Penilla teaches conveying the coordinates of a vehicle in an enclosed environment. Therefore, at the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Penilla et.al. into the invention of Cristoforo. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure a vehicle that may pose a danger to the occupants of an enclosed facility are not harmed.
As per claim 10, The method of claim 8, wherein the step of receiving geographical coordinates from a global positioning system occurs in the motor vehicle while an ignition of the motor vehicle is OFF. (Cristoforo paragraph 0061 discloses, “Alternatively, a GPS system included in the carbon monoxide detector may be utilized to dispatch emergency personnel to the location of the alert.”)
As per claim 11, The method of claim 8, further comprising, in response to receiving the engine start request signal when the motor vehicle is disposed within an enclosure, informing the user that the engine of the motor vehicle is not being started by causing a wireless signal to be transmitted to an electronic device that did not cause the engine start request signal to be wirelessly transmitted. (Cristoforo paragraph 0057 discloses, “The device 10 may send an additional signal 86 to the iPHONE 80, such as an alert message to the user. In addition, the iPHONE may send a signal (not illustrated) to the remote start receiving device 84 and/or the automobile's electronic control panel to cut off the engine either immediately or in a time-delayed manner.” And paragraph 0056 discloses, “The ignition has been turned on by use of a remote keyless device, such a remote start key fob, or as illustrated an iPHONE 80 having remote start capability. The iPHONE is typically stored remotely from the automobile 72, such as in the house 82 attached to the garage 74. The iPHONE 80 sends a command signal 83 to the automobile's remote start device 84, which starts the automobile's engine.”)
As per claim 12, The method of claim 8, further comprising: storing a database of geographical coordinates corresponding to enclosed spaces in a memory device of the motor vehicle; (Cristoforo paragraph 0060 discloses, “the GPS feature in the vehicular satellite/cell network device to send emergency personnel to the location of the vehicle.”) and
determining whether the motor vehicle is disposed within an enclosure based upon data retrieved from the database. (Cristoforo paragraph 0057 discloses, “Security Services, which upon notification of high levels of the gas within the enclosed area may notify the local authorities, activate an alarm within the house, initiate a phone call to the household, or provide remote shut-off.” And paragraph 0058 discloses, “Once the on-board computer has been programmed to save the carbon monoxide detector code and receive signals from the carbon monoxide detector, the on-board computer can be taken out of the programming mode. This embodiment of the carbon monoxide detector 10 is constructed and arranged to emit a radio frequency 90, preferably digital, from a transmitter 24 having an antennae 32 upon determination that a predetermined level of carbon monoxide is present within an enclosed space.”)
As per claim 13, The method of claim 8, further comprising: capturing images of an environment outside of the motor vehicle; (Penilla paragraph 0146 teaches, “The historical data can include images taken by cameras of the specific locations where the alerts occurred. The images can be videos, video clips, still images, collection of still images, audio files, audio snippets, that are accessible instantly over cloud processing 120.”) and
determining whether the motor vehicle is disposed within an enclosure based further upon the captured images. (Cristoforo paragraph 0056) and (Penilla paragraph 0128)
Cristoforo discloses a carbon monoxide safety device. Cristoforo does not disclose conveying the coordinates of a vehicle in an enclosed environment. Penilla teaches conveying the coordinates of a vehicle in an enclosed environment. Therefore, at the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Penilla et.al. into the invention of Cristoforo. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure a vehicle that may pose a danger to the occupants of an enclosed facility are not harmed.
As per claim 14, A motor vehicle, comprising:
a global positioning system; (Cristoforo paragraph 0060 discloses, “a GPS module 116, to determine the vehicles map position,”)
an engine start system; (Cristoforo paragraph 0054 discloses, “a remote start receiving device 44, such as those sold by VIPER, smart devices 46, such as smart phones including APPLE's iPHONE or BLACKBERRY devices, or a keyless remote device, such as key fobs, smart keys or remote controls (not illustrated).”) and
an electronic processor communicatively coupled to the global positioning system, the electronic processor being configured to:
receive geographical coordinates from the global positioning system; (Penilla paragraph 0066 teaches, “location coordinates of the events (GPS data), etc.”)
determine, based upon the geographical coordinates, whether the motor vehicle is disposed within an enclosure; (Cristoforo paragraph 0057 discloses, “Security Services, which upon notification of high levels of the gas within the enclosed area may notify the local authorities, activate an alarm within the house, initiate a phone call to the household, or provide remote shut-off.”)
receive an engine start request signal wirelessly transmitted by a user; (Cristoforo paragraph 0019 discloses, “Technological advances allow automobile owners the ability to remotely start their cars and for motor vehicle operation without the use of keys.”) and
in response to receiving the engine start request signal:
cause the engine start system to start an engine of the motor vehicle when the motor vehicle is not disposed within an enclosure; (Cristoforo paragraph 0054 discloses, “Engaging area 62 remotely starts the engine 64 of motor vehicle 30.”) and
inform the user that the engine of the motor vehicle will not be started, the informing occurring when the motor vehicle is disposed within an enclosure. (Cristoforo paragraph 0028 discloses, “The motor vehicle may have been unintentionally left running or unintentionally been caused to start as a result of a remote start device. In either case, as the car continues to run, the levels of carbon monoxide reach dangerous levels, potentially harming anyone remaining in the car or inside an attached dwelling. As soon as the carbon monoxide levels reach predetermined threshold levels, the carbon monoxide safety device produces a signal which is received by the automobile to turn off the engine, thereby eliminating the continuous production of carbon monoxide.”)
As per claim 15, The motor vehicle of claim 14, wherein the electronic processor is configured to: receive an override signal from the user after informing the user that the engine of the motor vehicle will not be started; (Penilla paragraph 0128 teaches, “These are only examples of the types of levels that can be signaled by user when an override condition is triggered. Additional types of signals can be sent by the user via customized levels and activities that may be programmed through user interface from an application that is provided to users having accounts to a security program.”) and
in response to receiving the override signal from the user, cause the engine start system to start the engine of the motor vehicle. (Cristoforo paragraph 0056) and (Penilla paragraph 0128)
Cristoforo discloses a carbon monoxide safety device. Cristoforo does not disclose conveying the coordinates of a vehicle in an enclosed environment. Penilla teaches conveying the coordinates of a vehicle in an enclosed environment. Therefore, at the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Penilla et.al. into the invention of Cristoforo. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure a vehicle that may pose a danger to the occupants of an enclosed facility are not harmed.
As per claim 16, The motor vehicle of claim 14, wherein the global positioning system is configured to produce geographical coordinates while an ignition of the motor vehicle is OFF. (Cristoforo paragraph 0061 discloses, “Alternatively, a GPS system included in the carbon monoxide detector may be utilized to dispatch emergency personnel to the location of the alert.”)
As per claim 17, The motor vehicle of claim 14, wherein the electronic processor is configured to, in response to receiving the engine start request signal when the motor vehicle is disposed within an enclosure, inform the user that the engine of the motor vehicle will not be started by causing a wireless signal to be transmitted to an electronic device that did not cause the engine start request signal to be wirelessly transmitted. (Cristoforo paragraph 0057 discloses, “The device 10 may send an additional signal 86 to the iPHONE 80, such as an alert message to the user. In addition, the iPHONE may send a signal (not illustrated) to the remote start receiving device 84 and/or the automobile's electronic control panel to cut off the engine either immediately or in a time-delayed manner.” And paragraph 0056 discloses, “The ignition has been turned on by use of a remote keyless device, such a remote start key fob, or as illustrated an iPHONE 80 having remote start capability. The iPHONE is typically stored remotely from the automobile 72, such as in the house 82 attached to the garage 74. The iPHONE 80 sends a command signal 83 to the automobile's remote start device 84, which starts the automobile's engine.”)
As per claim 18, The motor vehicle of claim 14, further comprising a memory device storing a database of geographical coordinates corresponding to enclosed spaces, the electronic processor being configured to determine whether the motor vehicle is disposed within an enclosure based upon data retrieved from the database. (Cristoforo paragraph 0057 discloses, “Security Services, which upon notification of high levels of the gas within the enclosed area may notify the local authorities, activate an alarm within the house, initiate a phone call to the household, or provide remote shut-off.” And paragraph 0058 discloses, “Once the on-board computer has been programmed to save the carbon monoxide detector code and receive signals from the carbon monoxide detector, the on-board computer can be taken out of the programming mode. This embodiment of the carbon monoxide detector 10 is constructed and arranged to emit a radio frequency 90, preferably digital, from a transmitter 24 having an antennae 32 upon determination that a predetermined level of carbon monoxide is present within an enclosed space.”)
As per claim 19, The motor vehicle of claim 14, further comprising at least one camera configured to capture images of an environment outside of the motor vehicle, wherein the electronic processor is configured to determine whether the motor vehicle is disposed within an enclosure based further upon the captured images. (Penilla paragraph 0146 teaches, “The historical data can include images taken by cameras of the specific locations where the alerts occurred. The images can be videos, video clips, still images, collection of still images, audio files, audio snippets, that are accessible instantly over cloud processing 120.”)
Cristoforo discloses a carbon monoxide safety device. Cristoforo does not disclose conveying the coordinates of a vehicle in an enclosed environment. Penilla teaches conveying the coordinates of a vehicle in an enclosed environment. Therefore, at the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Penilla et.al. into the invention of Cristoforo. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure a vehicle that may pose a danger to the occupants of an enclosed facility are not harmed.
As per claim 20, The motor vehicle of claim 14, further comprising a proximity sensor configured to detect an object disposed adjacent to the motor vehicle, wherein the electronic processor is configured to determine whether the motor vehicle is disposed within an enclosure based further upon a proximity signal from the proximity sensor. (Penilla paragraph 0101 teaches, “or can be predicted to not be safe based on the number of trigger conditions that occurred (e.g. in proximity to a GPS location or locations).”)
Cristoforo discloses a carbon monoxide safety device. Cristoforo does not disclose conveying the coordinates of a vehicle in an enclosed environment. Penilla teaches conveying the coordinates of a vehicle in an enclosed environment. Therefore, at the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Penilla et.al. into the invention of Cristoforo. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure a vehicle that may pose a danger to the occupants of an enclosed facility are not harmed.
Conclusion
/TYLER D PAIGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3664