DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17, dependent on claim 16, recites the limitation "a first section of the wire" in lines 1-2. The term “a first section” is also recited in claim 16, line 5. It is unclear whether “a first section” in claim 17 is the same first section as “a first section” in claim 16. The examiner is interpreting “a first section” in claim 17 as the same first section recited in claim 16.
Claim 18, dependent on claim 16, recites the limitation “a second section of the wire” in lines 2-3. The term “a second section” is also recited in claim 16, line 6. It is unclear whether “a second section in claim 18 is the same second section as “a second section” in claim 16. The examiner is interpreting “a second section” in claim 18 as the same second section recited in claim 16.
Claim 19, dependent on claim 16, recites the limitation “a first section of the wire” in lines 2-3. The term “a first section” is also recited in claim 16, line 5. It is unclear whether “a first section” in claim 19 is the same first section as “a first section” in claim 16. Further, it appears that the applicant intended to recite “wherein the second section of the wire is located between the first member and the second member” in claim 19. Claim 16 recites “a second section contacting an outer surface of the first member”, which appears to be directed to the radially outer-most side of jumper wire 50 in applicant’s Fig. 3. The limitation “wherein a first section of the wire is located between the first member and the second member” in claim 19 appears to be directed to the same radially outer-most side of jumper wire 50, therefore erroneously labeling the same part, the radially outer-most side of jumper wire 50 as “a second section” and “a first section”. For the purpose of examination, the examiner is interpreting “a first section” in claim 19 as “the second section”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Haggerty (US2017/0078583).
Regarding claim 1, Haggerty discloses the bendable tube for use with an endoscope (cannula 318 may be constructed of a similarly flexible material [0201]) comprising: a first piece (Fig. 22: cannula 318), the first piece including: a distal edge (Annotated Fig. 22 below: distal edge); a proximal edge (Fig. 16A & 16B: cannula 318 appears to comprise a proximal edge adjacent to the cannula mount 300); a wire (multiple wires within the cannula 318, including those pictured in Fig. 21, and top and bottom panning cable 368 and 370, seen in Fig. 26): and a first opening extending from the distal edge toward the proximal edge (Fig. 22: viewing notch 352 extends from a distal end of cannula 318 toward the proximal edge), wherein:
the first opening includes a groove portion at the distal edge having a first width and an electrical connection portion at a proximal portion of the first piece having a second width that is larger than the first width, the electrical connection portion communicating with the groove portion (see Annotated Fig. 22 below).
Regarding claim 4, Haggerty discloses the bendable tube according to claim 1, further disclosing wherein the first opening penetrates the first piece (Fig. 22: viewing notch 352 penetrates the cannula 318; viewing notch is recessed into the top of the outer sheath 318 [0214]).
Regarding claim 5, Haggerty discloses the bendable tube according to claim 1, further disclosing wherein the first piece has a cylindrical shape (Fig. 22: cannula 318 is cylindrical), the first opening includes a first portion and a second portion (Annotated Fig. 22: viewing notch 352 comprises a first portion and a second portion), the first portion is located distally relative to the second portion, a width of the first portion along a direction intersecting with a central axis of the first piece is shorter than a width of the second portion along the direction (See Annotated Fig. 22 below: first portion is located distally relative to the second portion, the width of the first portion along a direction intersecting with the central axis, the vertical axis, of the first piece is shorter than a width of the second portion along the direction, indicated by the double-arrowed lines).
Regarding claim 6, Haggerty discloses the bendable tube according to claim 5, further disclosing wherein the first portion communicates with the second portion (Annotated Fig. 22: first portion and second portion communicate with one another).
Claims 1-3 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Hatano ‘636 (US2014/0296636).
Regarding claim 1, Hatano ‘636 discloses the bendable tube for use with an endoscope (elongated insertion portion 6) comprising: a first piece (Fig. 9: end bending piece 31A, similar to end bending piece 31), the first piece including: a distal edge; a proximal edge (Annotated Fig. 9: distal edge and proximal edge of end bending piece 31A); a wire (Fig. 3: operation wire 40 passes through end bending piece 31 and is anchored to the end bending piece 31 [0051-0052], operation wire 40 is attached similarly for end bending piece 31A, seen in Fig. 12): and a first opening extending from the distal edge toward the proximal edge (Annotated Fig. 10: first opening extending from the distal edge toward the proximal edge), wherein:
the first opening includes a groove portion at the distal edge having a first width and an electrical connection portion at a proximal portion of the first piece having a second width that is larger than the first width, the electrical connection portion communicating with the groove portion (See Annotated Fig. 10 below).
Regarding claim 2, Hatano ‘636 discloses the bendable tube according to claim 1, further disclosing the tube comprising a second piece located proximally relative to the first piece (Fig. 12: distal end bending piece 31 is coupled to the distal-most end of the plurality of bending pieces 30, through rivets 32 [0051]).
Regarding claim 3, Hatano ‘636 discloses the bendable tube according to claim 2, further comprising a pin pivotally connecting the first piece and the second piece, wherein the first piece and the second piece are configured to rotate about the pin (rivet 32 connects the end bending pieces 31 and the distal-most end of the plurality of bending pieces 30 [0051, 0055]).
Regarding claim 7, Hatano’636 discloses the bendable tube according to claim 1, further disclosing wherein the first piece further includes a second opening (Annotated Fig. 10, under the rejection of claim 8).
Regarding claim 8, Hatano ‘636 discloses the bendable tube according to claim 7, further disclosing wherein the second opening extends from the distal edge toward the proximal edge (Annotated Fig. 10 below: second opening extends from the distal edge toward the proximal edge).
Second line of Rejection using Hatano for the Rejection of claim 7 & 9
Regarding claim 7, Hatano ‘636 discloses the bendable tube according to claim 1, further disclosing wherein the first piece further includes a second opening (Fig. 10: end bending piece 31A includes window portion 51 [0068, 0070]).
Regarding claim 9, Hatano ‘636 discloses the bendable tube according to claim 7, further disclosing wherein a length of the second opening along a central axis of the first piece is longer than a length of the first opening along the central axis of the first piece (Annotated Fig. 10 below: a length of window portion 51 along the lateral axis is longer than a length of the first opening along the lateral axis).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 -15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ichimura et al. (US2013/0310644) in view of Juergens (US2013/0158380) and Hatano ‘566 (JP2013198566).
Regarding claim 10, Ichimura discloses an insertion device (Fig. 1: distal end portion 11) comprising: a lens (Fig. 38: first group 32 of objective lenses [0058]); a frame holding the lens (unit holding frame 36 [0062] holds first group of objective lenses [0058]); a first member holding the frame (Annotated Fig. 38: first member); a second member fitted over an outer surface of the first member (Fig. 38: reinforcing frame 84 [0116] fitted over an outer surface of the annotated first member), and a conductive path including a first portion located between the frame and the first member (Fig. 38: conductive member 83 includes current-carrying contact portion 83b located between unit holding frame 36 and annotated first member, in the longitudinal direction) and a second portion that contacts an outer surface of the first member and an inner surface of the second member (Fig. 38: conductive portions 83a contacts an outer surface of the annotated first member and an inner surface of the reinforcing frame). Ichimura fails to disclose wherein the second member includes a first opening and fails to disclose the conductive path being a wire, wherein a first end of the wire is exposed from the first opening.
In the same field of endeavor, Juergens teaches an endoscope comprising electrical circuits, further teaching wherein conductor paths and wires are analogous substitutes for one another, as they both provide an electrically conductive path (wire or conductor paths may be used for electrical lines [0008, 0013]). In view of Juergens, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have recognized that wire is an equivalent alternative for conductive paths, similar to the conductive plate taught by Ichimura, as both structures are conductive for electrically connecting components.
Ichimura, modified by Juergens, fails to disclose wherein the second member include a first opening, wherein a first end of the wire is exposed from the first opening. In the same field of endeavor, Hatano teaches a substantially similar concept of electrically connecting endoscopic components at a distal end of the endoscope to a ground reference (jumper wire 80 is used to connect the imaging unit 20 to ground [0075], jumper wire 80 is connected to the element frame 26 of imaging unit 20 [0070]), wherein an electrically conductive path, such as a wire (Fig. 6 & 7: jumper wire 80), electrically connects to an image pickup unit element frame at a second end of the wire and electrically connects to a tip piece, analogous to second member, at a first end of the wire (Fig. 6 & 7: a first end of jumper wire 80 is electrically connected to element frame 26 of imaging unit 20, a second end of the jumper wire 80 is connected to the tip piece 12s [0073-0075]). Hatano further teaches the first end of a wire is exposed from a first opening in the second member (Fig. 6 & 7: the first end of jumper wire 80 is exposed from groove 12v in the tip piece 12s [0073]). Hatano teaches wherein this specific structure of the first end of the jumper wire sandwiched between the outer skin and the outer surface of the tip piece 12s is to prevent the jumper wire 80 from coming out of the groove 12v, therefore securing the conduction between imaging unit 20 and ground [0073-0074]. Further, Hatano teaches this specific structure as an alternative to using soldering, screw attachment work or conductive adhesion to physically and electrically secure the jumper wire to the element frame 26 of the imaging unit 20 [0070]. In view of Hatano, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the first opening in the second member, wherein the first end of the wire is exposed from the first opening, as it is known in the endoscope art as an alternative structure and method of physically and electrically connecting distal tip components, such as a lens frame of Ichimura, to a ground reference.
Regarding claim 11, Ichimura, modified by Juergens and Hatano ‘566, discloses the insertion device according to claim 10. Ichimura and Juergens further teaches wherein the first end of the wire is located between the first member and the second member (Ichimura: conductive portion 83a is located between the annotated first member and the reinforcing frame 84, seen in Fig. 38; Juergens teaches wherein the conductive member 83, including the conductive portion 83a, may be a wire [0008, 0013]).
Regarding claim 12, Ichimura, modified by Juergens and Hatano ‘566, discloses the insertion device according to claim 10. Hatano ‘566 further teaches wherein the first opening is located on a circumferential surface of the second member (Fig. 6 & 7: groove 12v on the outer circumferential surface of tip piece 12s).
Regarding claim 13, Ichimura, modified by Juergens and Hatano ‘566, discloses the insertion device according to claim 10. Hatano ‘566 further teaches wherein the first opening penetrates the second member (Fig. 6 & 7: groove 12v penetrates tip piece 12s).
Regarding claim 14, Ichimura, modified by Juergens and Hatano ‘566, discloses the insertion device according to claim 10. Hatano ‘566 further teaches the device comprising a cover, wherein the cover covers the first end of the wire (outer skin sandwiches and covers the first end of jumper wire 80 [0074])
Regarding claim 15, Ichimura, modified by Juergens and Hatano ‘566, discloses the insertion device according to claim 10, further teaching wherein a second end of the wire is located in the second member (Ichimura: contact portion 83b is located in the reinforcing frame 84; Juergens teaches wherein the conductive member 83, including the contact portion 83b, may be wire [0008, 0013]; Hatano ‘566 also teaches wherein a second end of jumper wire 80, attached to the element frame 26 of imaging unit 20 [0070], is located within the tip piece 12s, Fig. 6 & 7).
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ichimura in view of Juergens.
Regarding claim 16, Ichimura disclose the insertion device (Fig. 1: distal end portion 11) comprising: a lens (Fig. 38: first group 32 of objective lenses [0058]); a frame holding the lens (unit holding frame 36 [0062] holds first group of objective lenses); a first member holding the frame (Annotated Fig. 38: first member); and a conductive member (Fig. 38: conductive member 83 [0114]), the conductive member including a first section contacting the first member and electrically connected to the frame (current-carrying contact portions 83b [0116]), and a second section contacting an outer surface of the first member (conductive portion 83a [0116]). Since Ichimura discloses the conductive member, Ichimura fails to disclose a wire, the wire including a first section contacting the first member and electrically connected to the frame, and a second section contacting an outer surface of the first member. In the same field of endeavor, Juergens teaches an endoscope comprising electrical circuits, further teaching wherein conductor paths and wires are analogous substitutes for one another, as they both provide an electrically conductive path (wire or conductor paths may be used for electrical lines [0008, 0013]). In view of Juergens, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have recognized that wire is an equivalent alternative for conductive paths, such as the conductive member taught by Ichimura, as both structures are conductive for electrically connecting components.
Regarding claim 17, Ichimura, modified by Juergens, discloses the insertion device according to claim 16, further teaching wherein a first section of the wire is located between the frame and the first member (Ichimura: current-carrying contact portion 83b of conductive member 83 is located between the annotated first member and unit holding frame 36, in the longitudinal direction; Juergens teaches the wire as an equivalent alternative to the conductive member).
Regarding claim 18, Ichimura, modified by Juergens, discloses the insertion device according to claim 17. Ichimura further teaches the device comprising a second member fitted over an outer surface of the first member, wherein a second section of the wire is located between the first member and the second member (Fig. 38: reinforcing frame 84 [0116] fitted over an outer surface of the annotated first member, conductive portion 83a of conductive member 83 is located between the annotated first member and reinforcing frame 84).
Regarding claim 19, Ichimura, modified by Juergens, discloses the insertion device according to claim 16, further teaching the device comprising a second member fitted over an outer surface of the first member, wherein a first section of the wire is located between the first member and the second member (examiner is interpreting the limitation to read “wherein the second section of the wire is located between the first member and the second member”, see the 112b rejection above; Ichimura: reinforcing frame 84 is fitted over an outer surface of the annotated first member, Fig. 38, wherein conductive portions 83a of conductive member 83 is located between the annotated first member and reinforcing frame 84; Juergens teaches the wire as an equivalent alternative to the conductive member [0008, 0013]).
Regarding claim 20, Ichimura, modified by Juergens, discloses the insertion device according to claim 16. Ichimura and Juergens teaches wherein the wire is single (Ichimura teaches wherein the conductive member 83 connects components to patient GND [0119-0120]; Juergens teaches wherein a conductive member may be an alternative to a wire [0008, 0013]; while Juergens and Ichimura do not explicitly teach the wire to be singular, since the conductive member 83 of Ichimura only carries one electrical signal, which is GND, it is very widely known in electrical engineering that a GND signal may be carried with any number of wires, including one wire).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Haggerty (US2017/0078583) and Hatano ‘636 (US2014/0296636).
Applicant's arguments with regards to claims 10-20 filed August 5, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant has amended independent claim 10 to include wherein the wire comprises a first portion and a second portion, wherein the first portion is located between the frame and the first member and the second portion contacts an outer surface of the first member and an inner surface of the second member. Claim 10 also recites wherein a first end of the wire is exposed from the first opening. Claim 16 recites similar language. The applicant argues that the applied references fail to disclose and does not render obvious such claim language. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Ichimura teaches a substantially similar device as claimed by applicant, also teaching a substantially similar concept. Similar to the applicant’s device and concept, the device of Ichimura comprises an electrically conductive member to connect a lens frame to a cylindrical second member, to connect the lens frame to a ground plane. The placement of the electrically conductive member 83 in Ichimura, relative to other components such as the frame, the first member and the second member, as seen in Fig. 38, appears extremely similar to applicant. Ichimura only teaches a conductive member 83, appearing to be a conductive plate, thus fails to teach a wire. However, as taught by Juergens and also widely known in electrical engineering, cables, wiring, solder, conductive traces, etc., are various structures for carrying electrical current, and are alternatives for one another.
Ichimura and Juergens fails to teach a first end of the wire exposed from a first opening in the second member, however, Hatano ‘566 teaches a substantially similar device to Ichimura’s device and applicant’s device, and teaches a similar concept of electrically connecting a distal end component, such as the element frame 26 of the imaging unit 20 in Hatano ‘566, to a cylindrical second member, tip piece 12s, to connect the imaging unit 20 to the ground plane. Further, Hatano ‘566 teaches an alternative method of electrically connecting an end of the wire 80 to the second member, teaching the groove 12v as an opening for the end of the jumper wire 80 to pass through to be sandwiched between the tip piece 12s and an outer skin, allowing the jumper wire to maintain physical and electrical contact with tip piece 12s and securing the conduction of the imaging unit 20 to ground [0073]. Hatano ‘566 teaches this method as an alternative to soldering [0070], which is the method that Ichimura teaches for electrically connecting components (conductive portions 83a may be soldered to the inner circumferential face of the reinforcing frame 84 [0121]). In view of Ichimura, Juergen and Hatano ‘566, the arguments were not persuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LI-TING SONG/Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/ANHTUAN T NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795
11/2/26