DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 13-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/10/2026.
Applicant’s election of Species A, claims 1-12 and 16-20, in the reply filed on 9/10/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 11 recites “a distalmost” in line 1 which should read “the distalmost” and “proximalmost ends” in line 2 which should read “the proximalmost ends”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 19 recites “the proximalmost end of the coil” in lines 11-12 which should read “a proximalmost end of the coil”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a grasping portion in claims 16 and 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-8 and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Moulis (US 2005/0025798 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Moulis discloses a medical device (embodiment 400 which may be used with a liquid delivery catheter, such as that described in Fig. 1; Figs. 4A-4C; [0021]) comprising: a sheath (elongated body 101); an actuation wire (mechanical interlink 109; see for example, Fig. 1A) extending through the sheath and movable relative to the sheath (as the extending and retracting of support wires 412 is effectuated by mechanical interlink 109; Figs. 1A-1D; [0018]); and a grasping portion (including at least support wires 412) affixed to a distal end of the actuation wire (Fig. 4A), wherein the grasping portion includes a plurality of members (support wires 412) configured to receive a capsule (squeezable material 408; Fig. 4B), and wherein proximal movement of the actuation wire (109) is configured to move at least a proximal portion of the grasping portion (412) within the sheath in order to deploy a fluid from the capsule ([0018]; [0021]).
Regarding claim 2, Moulis discloses wherein each of the plurality of members (412) includes a proximal portion and a distal portion (Figs. 4A-4B), wherein the distal portions of the plurality of members extend approximately parallel to one another (as adjacent hooks at the distal ends of 412 are parallel to each other.
Regarding claim 3, Moulis discloses wherein the proximal portion of each of the plurality of members (412) extends radially outward in a distal direction (Fig. 4A).
Regarding claim 4, Moulis discloses wherein each member of the plurality of members includes a wire (support wires; [0021]).
Regarding claim 5, Moulis discloses wherein, in a configuration in which the capsule (408) is received by the plurality of members (Fig. 4B), distalmost ends of the plurality of members (hooks at ends of 412) are proximal of a distalmost end of the capsule (as 408 extends into mesh or net 411 which is distal of hooks; Fig. 4B).
Regarding claim 7, Moulis discloses wherein the fluid is a first fluid (liquid; [0018]), wherein the capsule is configured to further contain a second fluid (as 408 may also contain air, which is a fluid).
Regarding claim 8, Moulis discloses a handle (Fig. 4A) having an actuator (handle stock 106) configured to move the actuation wire (109) proximally as 412 is extended and retracted based on pushing the handle stock 106 into or out of the handle base 103; [0018]).
Regarding claim 16, Moulis discloses a medical system (Figs. 1A-1D) comprising: a medical device (embodiment 100), including: a sheath (elongate portion of catheter 100); an actuation wire (mechanical interlink 109) extending through the sheath and movable relative to the sheath (extending and retracting of the retractable basket 112 is effectuated by a mechanical interlink 109 disposed within the catheter 100 which is attached to or integrated with the retractable basket; [0018]); and a grasping portion (interpreted under 112(f) as a plurality of expandable members and equivalents thereof, and Moulis discloses a plurality of expandable members that make up retractable basket 112) affixed to a distal end of the actuation wire (Fig. 1B); and a capsule (squeezable material 108) removably received by the grasping portion (Fig. 1A), wherein proximal movement of the actuation wire (109) is configured to move at least a proximal portion of the grasping portion (112) and a proximal portion of the capsule within the sheath in order to deploy a fluid from the capsule (as 112 is retractable into the catheter via pulling 106; [0018]).
Regarding claim 17, Moulis discloses wherein the grasping portion (112) comprises a plurality of members (wires of basket 112) surrounding the capsule (Fig. 1B).
Regarding claim 18, Moulis discloses wherein the capsule (108) includes a cylindrical central portion and two tapered end portions (Figs. 1A-1D).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moulis (US 2005/0025798 A1) in view of Preston et al. (US 2017/0014639 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Moulis discloses wherein the plurality of members (412) are flexible ([0021]), but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of members have a shape-memory property.
However, Preston teaches a medical device (Figs. 25a, 25b) comprising an actuation wire (proximal end of choke cord) and a grasping portion (distal end of choke cord within the cord channel 234; [0186]) configured to receive a capsule (inner line 152), wherein proximal movement of the actuation wire is configured to squeeze the capsule in order to deploy a fluid from the capsule (Figs. 25a, 25b), wherein the grasping portion is made of a wire with a shape-memory property (as the choke cord and loops can be made all or partially from a resilient material e.g., Nitinol, which is a shape-memory material; [0189]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the plurality of members of Moulis to be made of nitinol, i.e., have a shape-memory property as taught by Preston, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim(s) 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moulis (US 2005/0025798 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Moulis fails to explicitly disclose wherein, in a first configuration (extended; Fig. 4A), a distalmost end of the actuation wire (109) is distal to a distalmost end of the sheath (101).
However, Moulis teaches an alternative embodiment (Figs. 2A-2C) wherein a distalmost end of the actuation wire is distal to a distalmost end of the sheath (see annotated Fig. 2A below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the distalmost end of the actuation wire of Moulis to be distal to a distalmost end of the sheath in the first configuration as taught by Moulis. All the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of allowing the actuation wire to extend and retract relative to the sheath.
Regarding claim 10, Moulis modified discloses wherein, in the first configuration (Fig. 4A), proximalmost ends of the plurality of members are distal to the distalmost end of the sheath (as the proximalmost ends of 412 are attached to the distalmost end of the actuating wire 109 which is distal to the sheath in modified Moulis, as discussed above with respect to claim 9).
Regarding claim 11, Moulis modified discloses the invention as claimed above, and Moulis further discloses wherein, in a second configuration (retracted), a distalmost end of the actuation wire (109) and proximalmost ends of the plurality of members (412) are proximal to the distalmost end of the sheath (as 412 is retracted into 101).
Claim(s) 12 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moulis (US 2005/0025798 A1) in view of Fischell et al. (US 2023/0088977 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Moulis fails to disclose wherein the sheath includes a coil.
However, Fischell teaches a medical device (catheter extension system 100”; Fig. 11) comprising: a capsule (balloon member 144’) configured to deploy a fluid (thrombolytic/saline infusion) and a sheath (sheath 170 of outer catheter 110; Fig. 11) that includes a coil ([0121]-[0122]) to increase flexibility thereto required for a retraction of an actuation member (inner catheter 108) relative to the sheath (170) during the procedure ([0120]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sheath of Moulis to include a coil as taught by Fischell in order to increase flexibility while reinforcing the tubular member of the sheath.
Regarding claim 19, Moulis discloses a medical device (embodiment 400 which may be used with a liquid delivery catheter, such as that described in Fig. 1; Figs. 4A-4C; [0021]), comprising: a handle (Fig. 4A), including an actuator (handle stock 106); a shaft (elongated body 101) extending from the handle (Fig. 4A), the shaft comprising a wire (mechanical interlink 109) disposed within the shaft (Fig. 1A), wherein the wire (109) may translate along a longitudinal axis relative to the shaft based on actuation of the actuator (as the extending and retracting of support wires 412 is effectuated by mechanical interlink 109; Figs. 1A-1D; [0018]); and a grasping portion (interpreted under 112(f) as a plurality of expandable members and equivalents thereof, and Moulis discloses a plurality of expandable support wires 412) affixed to a distal end of the wire and configured to removably receive a capsule (as squeezable material 408 is not affixed to wires 412), wherein actuation of the actuator (109) transitions the grasping portion from a first configuration (extended) to a second configuration (retracted), wherein, in the second configuration, the distalmost end of the wire and the proximalmost end of the grasping portion are proximal to the proximalmost end of the shaft (as 412 is retracted into 101; [0018]).
Moulis fails to explicitly discloses wherein, in the first configuration, a distalmost end of the wire and a proximalmost end of the grasping portion are distal to a distalmost end of the coil and wherein the shaft comprises a coil.
However, Moulis teaches an alternative embodiment (Figs. 2A-2C) wherein a distalmost end of the actuation wire is distal to a distalmost end of the sheath (see annotated Fig. 2A below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the distalmost end of the actuation wire of Moulis to be distal to a distalmost end of the sheath in the first configuration as taught by Moulis. All the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of allowing the actuation wire to extend and retract relative to the sheath.
Modified Moulis fails to disclose wherein the shaft comprises a coil.
However, Fischell teaches a medical device (catheter extension system 100”; Fig. 11) comprising: a capsule (balloon member 144’) configured to deploy a fluid (thrombolytic/saline infusion) and a sheath (sheath 170 of outer catheter 110; Fig. 11) that includes a coil ([0121]-[0122]) to increase flexibility thereto required for a retraction of an actuation member (inner catheter 108) relative to the sheath (170) during the procedure ([0120]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sheath of modified Moulis to include a coil as taught by Fischell in order to increase flexibility while reinforcing the tubular member of the sheath.
Regarding claim 20, Moulis modified discloses the invention as claimed above, and Moulis further discloses wherein, in the second configuration (retracted), a volume of the capsule (408) is smaller than in the first configuration (as 408 is squeezed as 412 is retracted within 101; [0018]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Fox et al. (US 2018/0093079 A1) is noted for teaching a grasping portion that collapses a capsule (Figs. 3A-3C). Smith et al. (US 2017/0274189 A1) is noted for teaching a sheath that squeezes fluid from a capsule. Weber (US 2011/0054443 A1) is noted for teaching a grasping portion with a plurality of members axially aligned (Figs. 5-7). Shannon (US 2002/0183777 A1) is noted for teaching a grasping portion.
/SARAH A LONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771