DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6,8,11-13-15-16,18 are amended.
Claim(s) 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claims 1, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim recites a system and method for emergency communication, which are within a statutory category. The limitations of:
Claims 1 and 11 (Claim 1 being representative)
receive a first notification of a first initiated emergency communication about a first emergency, wherein the first notification of the first initiated emergency communication includes a first location and a first telephone number;
query for medical information associated with a first user […associated with the first notification…];
receive the medical information;
receive a second notification of a second initiated emergency communication about a second emergency, wherein the second notification of the second initiated emergency communication includes a second location and a second telephone number associated;
determine that a first ECC of the plurality of ECCs is assigned geographical jurisdiction for a region that includes the first location and, responsive to determining that the first ECC is assigned geographical jurisdiction for a region that includes the first location, automatically routing information about the first emergency to the first ECC;
determine that the first ECC is assigned geographical jurisdiction for a region that includes the second location and, responsive to determining that the first ECC is assigned geographical jurisdiction for a region that includes the second location, automatically routing information about the second emergency to the first ECC;
generate and display at the first ECC, a jurisdictional awareness view, the jurisdictional awareness view comprising an interactive map indicating a plurality of locations associated with a plurality of initiated emergency communications within the assigned geographical jurisdiction of the first ECC, the plurality of locations including the first location and the second location;
generate and display an emergency profile containing information about the first user comprising at least some of the medical information;
and display, the first telephone number and the second telephone number in a list of a plurality of telephone numbers that have been used to request assistance from the first ECC within the assigned geographical jurisdiction of the first ECC, wherein the emergency profile with the medical information is displayed with the first telephone number to support emergency response for the first user at the first location.
as drafted, is a process that, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers certain methods of organizing human activity (i.e., managing personal behavior including following rules or instructions) but for recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting an emergency response system comprising memory and processors, the claimed invention amounts to managing personal behavior or interaction between people. For example, but for the emergency response system comprising memory and processors, this claim encompasses communicating emergency information in the manner described in the identified abstract idea, supra. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers managing personal behavior or interactions between people but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims recite the additional elements of an emergency response system comprising memory and processors that implement the identified abstract idea. The emergency response system comprising memory and processors, and third-party servers are not described by the applicant and is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., a generic server performing generic computer functions) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea.
The claims further recite the additional elements of an emergency management application, first and second mobile devices, third-party severs, a graphical user interface, and computing devices. The emergency management application, first and second mobile devices, third-party severs, graphical user interface and computing devices merely generally links the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. MPEP 2106.04(d)(I) indicates that generally linking an abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use cannot provide a practical application. Accordingly, even in combination, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of using an emergency response system comprising memory and processors to perform the noted steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept (“significantly more”).
Also, as discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of an emergency management application, first and second mobile devices, third-party severs, graphical user interface and computing devices was determined to generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. This has been re-evaluated under the “significantly more” analysis and has also been found insufficient to provide significantly more. MPEP 2106.05(A) indicates that generally linking an abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use cannot provide significantly more. Accordingly, even in combination, this additional element does not provide significantly more. As such the claim is not patent eligible.
Claims 2-10, 11-20 are similarly rejected because they either further define/narrow the abstract idea and/or do not further limit the claim to a practical application or provide as inventive concept such that the claims are subject matter eligible even when considered individually or as an ordered combination.
Claim(s) 2,12 merely describe(s) querying the servers, which further defines the abstract idea.
Claim(s) 3,13 merely describe(s) data included in the notification, which further defines the abstract idea.
Claim(s) 4,14 merely describe(s) displaying data, which further defines the abstract idea.
Claim(s) 5,15 merely describe(s) data being displayed, which further defines the abstract idea.
Claim(s) 6, 16 also includes the additional element of “source database” which is analyzed the same as the “graphical user interface” and does not provide a practical application or significantly more for the same reasons.
Claim(s) 7, 17 also includes the additional element of “a trained machine learning algorithm”. The Claims describes the training as being performed by decision trees. The training of the ML is considered to be part of the abstract idea because they fall under data manipulations that humans perform and thus are part of the rules or instructions encompassing the abstract idea. The Examiner notes that the Applicant has described machine learning to encompass simplistic mathematical models such as linear and logistic regression (see Spec. Para. 00126) and thus the machine learning is interpreted to be part of the abstract idea.
Claim(s) 8,18 merely describe(s) geofencing, which further defines the abstract idea.
Claim(s) 9, 19 merely describe(s) displaying data, which further defines the abstract idea.
Claim(s) 10,20 also includes the additional element of “a natural language processing algorithm” which is analyzed the same as the “emergency management application” and does not provide a practical application or significantly more for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The Examiner notes that the rejection will reference the translated documents (attached) corresponding to any foreign documents recited in the rejection.
Claims 1-2,4,11-12,14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Philbin et al (US Publication No. 20170289350) in view of Wickham et al (US Publication No. 20190378397) in view of Salashour et al (US Publication No. 20150038109) in view of Williams et al (US Publication No. 20190378397).
Regarding Claim 1
An emergency response system operable to provide medical information related to emergency communications, comprising:
memory storing instructions [Philbin at Para. 0009 teaches the one or more processors can store personal information about a user in the memory];
and one or more processors operable to execute the instructions to cause the one or more processors to [Philbin at Para. 0009]:
[ … ] … wherein the first notification of the first initiated emergency communication includes a first location of the first mobile device and a first telephone number associated with the first mobile device [Philbin at Para. 0005 teaches Caller ID Number and Caller ID Name information can be displayed on computer monitors at the telecommunicator's work station. The telecommunicator can determine the nature of the emergency and dispatch the appropriate first responders to the calling party's location];
query one or more third-party servers for medical information associated with a first user of the first mobile device [Philbin at Para. 00022 teaches another aspect of the disclosure relates to methods and systems for a 911 telecommunicator, an emergency responder, a hospital emergency room or other organization or service to access and obtain the personal health record of an individual from a database (Database interpreted as third-party server)];
receive the medical information from the one or more third-party servers [Philbin at Para. 0022];
[ … ] … wherein the second notification of the second initiated emergency communication includes a second location of the second mobile device and a second telephone number associated with the second mobile device [Philbin at Para. 0005];
wherein the emergency profile with the medical information is displayed with the first telephone number to support emergency response for the first user at the first location [Philbin at Para. 0058 teaches the profile 240 can also include various pieces of personal or medical Information. In some embodiments, the profile 240 can include basic personal information such as name and identifying photo of the person in need of assistance (e.g., the user/subscriber), address of the home 110, phone number(s), email address(es) or other contact information, age, date of birth, blood type, body weight, height, and Social Security Number among other data.].
Philbin does not teach provide an emergency management application to computing devices of a plurality of emergency communications centers (ECCs);
receive a first notification of a first initiated emergency communication from a first mobile device about a first emergency, … [ … ]
receive a second notification of a second initiated emergency communication from a second mobile device about a second emergency, … [ … ]
determine that a first ECC of the plurality of ECCs is assigned geographical jurisdiction for a region that includes the first location and, responsive to determining that the first ECC is assigned geographical jurisdiction for a region that includes the first location, automatically routing information about the first emergency to the first ECC;
determine that the first ECC is assigned geographical jurisdiction for a region that includes the second location and, responsive to determining that the first ECC is assigned geographical jurisdiction for a region that includes the second location, automatically routing information about the second emergency to the first ECC;
generate and display in a graphical user interface of the emergency management application that is operated at the first ECC, a jurisdictional awareness view, the jurisdictional awareness view comprising an interactive map indicating a plurality of locations associated with a plurality of initiated emergency communications within the assigned geographical jurisdiction of the first ECC, the plurality of locations including the first location and the second location;
generate and display in the graphical user interface an emergency profile containing information about the first user comprising at least some of the medical information;
and display, in the graphical user interface the first telephone number and the second telephone number in a list of a plurality of telephone numbers that have been used to request assistance from the first ECC within the assigned geographical jurisdiction of the first ECC,
Wickham teaches an emergency management application to computing devices of a plurality of emergency communications centers (ECCs) [Wickham at Para. 00019 teaches dispatch centers for public events can utilize the system by permitting a CAD system outbound API patching with the EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT MOBILE APPLICATION SOFTWARE API or integration with CAD system];
receive a first notification of a first initiated emergency communication from a first mobile device about a first emergency [Wickham at Para. 0020 teaches unique to the application is that if there are users on a closed-loop private plan (such as at a school or a workplace or hospital), and if the county or other local critical command for the municipality or the Emergency Management Agency (EMA) for the county or region are using the emergency management app for public notification use, all app users—private and public notification users will get the alerts (interpreted as notification of an initiated emergency communication)], … [ … ]
receive a second notification of a second initiated emergency communication from a second mobile device about a second emergency [Wickham at Para. 0020], … [ … ]
It would have been prima facie obvious skill in the art, at the time of effective filing, to combine processor and memory of Philbin with the call center of Wickham with the motivation to improve location accuracy of those impacted or responding to the event.
Philbin/Wickham do not teach determine that a first ECC of the plurality of ECCs is assigned geographical jurisdiction for a region that includes the first location and, responsive to determining that the first ECC is assigned geographical jurisdiction for a region that includes the first location, automatically routing information about the first emergency to the first ECC;
determine that the first ECC is assigned geographical jurisdiction for a region that includes the second location and, responsive to determining that the first ECC is assigned geographical jurisdiction for a region that includes the second location, automatically routing information about the second emergency to the first ECC;
generate and display in a graphical user interface of the emergency management application that is operated at the first ECC, a jurisdictional awareness view, the jurisdictional awareness view comprising an interactive map indicating a plurality of locations associated with a plurality of initiated emergency communications within the assigned geographical jurisdiction of the first ECC, the plurality of locations including the first location and the second location;
generate and display in the graphical user interface an emergency profile containing information about the first user comprising at least some of the medical information;
and display, in the graphical user interface the first telephone number and the second telephone number in a list of a plurality of telephone numbers that have been used to request assistance from the first ECC within the assigned geographical jurisdiction of the first ECC,
Salahshour teaches determine that a first ECC of the plurality of ECCs is assigned geographical jurisdiction for a region that includes the first location and, responsive to determining that the first ECC is assigned geographical jurisdiction for a region that includes the first location, automatically routing information about the first emergency to the first ECC [Salahshour at Para. 0037 teaches location information also can be used in connection with geo-fences defined by a public safety organization for routing service requests made from specific locations. A public safety organization define one or more geo-fences. The geo-fences may be pre-assigned based on existing borders and boundaries, such as campus areas and jurisdictional borders, or any other delineation desired by the public safety organization. When using a geo-fence, mobile app 110, either alone or in communication with dispatch service 120, determines the user's current location and then compares the coordinates (x, y) to the coordinates of the boundaries of the geo-fences; Salahshour at Para. 0038 teaches If the user making the request is located within a geo-fence, mobile app 110 may send a request for service 130 that causes dispatch service no to bypass the traditional 9-1-1 systems and instead a direct voice connection 310 may be established with a predetermined call center, such as the appropriate jurisdiction's police or campus law enforcement (identified as local department 320), while simultaneously sending pertinent location information and profile details 330 to local department 320];
determine that the first ECC is assigned geographical jurisdiction for a region that includes the second location and, responsive to determining that the first ECC is assigned geographical jurisdiction for a region that includes the second location, automatically routing information about the second emergency to the first ECC [Salahshour at Para. 0037-0038];
It would have been prima facie obvious skill in the art, at the time of effective filing, to combine the references of Philbin, Wickham with the geofencing of Salahshour with the motivation to improve emergency response.
Philbin/Wickham/Salahshour do not teach generate and display in a graphical user interface of the emergency management application that is operated at the first ECC, a jurisdictional awareness view, the jurisdictional awareness view comprising an interactive map indicating a plurality of locations associated with a plurality of initiated emergency communications within the assigned geographical jurisdiction of the first ECC, the plurality of locations including the first location and the second location;
generate and display in the graphical user interface an emergency profile containing information about the first user comprising at least some of the medical information;
and display, in the graphical user interface the first telephone number and the second telephone number in a list of a plurality of telephone numbers that have been used to request assistance from the first ECC within the assigned geographical jurisdiction of the first ECC,
Williams teaches generate and display in a graphical user interface of the emergency management application that is operated at the first ECC, a jurisdictional awareness view, the jurisdictional awareness view comprising an interactive map indicating a plurality of locations associated with a plurality of initiated emergency communications within the assigned geographical jurisdiction of the first ECC, the plurality of locations including the first location and the second location [Williams at Para. 0043 teaches FIG. 21 shows an example of related events shown in a map, including the ability of the user to display event information such as to identify the original event and related events];
generate and display in the graphical user interface an emergency profile containing information about the first user comprising at least some of the medical information [Williams at Para. 0043 (interpret to combine with medical information of Philbin)];
and display, in the graphical user interface the first telephone number and the second telephone number in a list of a plurality of telephone numbers that have been used to request assistance from the first ECC within the assigned geographical jurisdiction of the first ECC [Williams at Para. 0043 (interpret to combine with phone numbers of Philbin)].
It would have been prima facie obvious skill in the art, at the time of effective filing, to combine the references of Philbin, Wickham, Salahshour with the interactive map of Williams with the motivation to improve dispatch decisions.
Regarding Claim 2
Philbin/Wickham/Salahshour/Williams teach the emergency response system of claim 1,
Philbin/Wickham/Salahshour/Williams further teach wherein the first telephone number is used to query the one or more third-party servers for medical information [Philbin at Para. 0017 teaches for example, access to an individual's medical information can based on matching a caller ID number to a stored caller ID number in a database associated with the personal medical information].
Regarding Claim 4
Philbin/Wickham/Salahshour/Williams teach the emergency response system of claim 1,
Philbin/Wickham/Salahshour/Williams further teach wherein the medical information is displayed in the graphical user interface along with a source of the medical information [Philbin at Para. 0017 (see Claim 2 for explanation)].
Regarding Claim 5
Philbin/Wickham/Salahshour/Williams teach the emergency response system of claim 1,
Philbin/Wickham/Salahshour/Williams further teach wherein the plurality of locations on the interactive map are associated with one or more of the plurality of telephone numbers [Williams at Para. 0066 teaches the interface may further provide a map (607) of the location data, allowing the PSAP (115) operator to rapidly pinpoint the location. Because the case data includes the user's (103) name, phone number, and location data, time is not wasted verbally communicating information that is more efficiently communicate textually or visually].
Regarding Claim 7
Philbin/Wickham/Salahshour/Williams teach the emergency response system of claim 1,
Philbin/Wickham/Salahshour/Williams further teach wherein one or more machine learning algorithms trained to identify information relevant to an emergency are used to process the received medical information to select medical information that is relevant to the emergency to display in the graphical user interface [Williams at Para. 0020 teaches embodiments described and claimed herein have the effect of transforming CAD systems, which may be reactive or may require users to sift through vast amount of data, into a virtual dispatch assist system with Intelligent Agents that can leverage artificial intelligence and machine learning to proactively analyze CAD data and generate useful notifications to assist a dispatcher or automate dispatch operations].
Regarding Claim 8
Philbin/Wickham/Salahshour/Williams teach the emergency response system of claim 1,
Philbin/Wickham/Salahshour/Williams further teach wherein the interactive map displays a geofence boundary showing the geographical jurisdiction for the first ECC [Salahshour at Para. 0039 teaches FIG. 4 illustrates a map 400 showing an embodiment of a geo-fenced area 410. When a public safety organization defines an area as being geo-fenced, emergency response system 100 collect thousands of (x, y) coordinate data points within the geo-fenced area and compile them in a database. Then, when a panic button is pressed from mobile app 110, the current location can be compared to geo-fenced area by mobile app 110, dispatch service 120 or a combination thereof. As mentioned, if a user presses a panic button from within the geo-fence, mobile app 110 or dispatch service 120 may initiate a voice call to a determined public safety organization and location and other information may simultaneously be communicated using dispatch service 120. Thus, in one embodiment, when a user activates the panic button in mobile app 110 from within a geo-fence, the relevant public safety forces organization will not only receive a voice call, it will also have access critical information about the caller through dispatch service 120].
Regarding Claim 11
Philbin teaches an emergency response method for providing medical information related to emergency communications performed by one or more processors operable to execute instructions from a memory, comprising:
[ … ] … wherein the first notification of the first initiated emergency communication includes a first location of the first mobile device and a first telephone number associated with the first mobile device [Philbin at Para. 0005 (see Claim 1 for explanation)];
querying one or more third-party servers for medical information associated with a first user of the first mobile device [Philbin at Para. 0005 (see Claim 1 for explanation)];
receiving the medical information from the one or more third-party servers;
[ … ] … wherein the second notification of the second initiated emergency communication includes a second location of the second mobile device and a second telephone number associated with the second mobile device [Philbin at Para. 0005 (see Claim 1 for explanation)];
wherein the emergency profile with the medical information is displayed with the first telephone number to support emergency response for the first user at the first location [Philbin at Para. 0058 (see Claim 1 for explanation)].
Philbin does not teach providing an emergency management application to computing devices of a plurality of emergency communications centers (ECCs);
receiving a first notification of a first initiated emergency communication between from a first mobile device about a first emergency, … [ … ]
receiving a second notification of a second initiated emergency communication from a second mobile device about a second emergency, … [ … ]
determining that a first ECC of the plurality of ECCs is assigned geographical jurisdiction for a region that includes the first location and, responsive to determining that the first ECC is assigned geographical jurisdiction for a region that includes the first location, automatically routing information about the first emergency to the first ECC;
determining that the first ECC is assigned geographical jurisdiction for a region that includes the second location and, responsive to determining that the first ECC is assigned geographical jurisdiction for a region that includes the second location, automatically routing information about the second emergency to the first ECC;
generating and displaying in a graphical user interface of the emergency management application that is operated at the first ECC, a jurisdictional awareness view, the jurisdictional awareness view comprising an interactive map indicating a plurality of locations associated with a plurality of initiated emergency communications within the assigned geographical jurisdiction of the first ECC, the plurality of locations including the first location and the second location;
generating and displaying in the graphical user interface an emergency profile containing information about the first user comprising at least some of the medical information;
and displaying, in the graphical user interface the first telephone number and the second telephone number in a list of a plurality of telephone numbers that have been used to request assistance from the first ECC within the assigned geographical jurisdiction of the first ECC,
Wickham teaches providing an emergency management application to computing devices of a plurality of emergency communications centers (ECCs) [Wickham at Para. 0019 (see Claim 1 for explanation)];
receiving a first notification of a first initiated emergency communication between from a first mobile device about a first emergency [Wickham at Para. 0020 (see Claim 1 for explanation)], … [ … ]
receiving a second notification of a second initiated emergency communication from a second mobile device about a second emergency [Wickham at Para. 0020 (see Claim 1 for explanation)], … [ … ]
It would have been prima facie obvious skill in the art, at the time of effective filing, to combine notifications of Philbin with the call center of Wickham with the motivation to improve location accuracy of those impacted or responding to the event.
Philbin/Wickham do not teach determining that a first ECC of the plurality of ECCs is assigned geographical jurisdiction for a region that includes the first location and, responsive to determining that the first ECC is assigned geographical jurisdiction for a region that includes the first location, automatically routing information about the first emergency to the first ECC [Salahshour at Para. 0037 (see Claim 1 for explanation)];
determining that the first ECC is assigned geographical jurisdiction for a region that includes the second location and, responsive to determining that the first ECC is assigned geographical jurisdiction for a region that includes the second location, automatically routing information about the second emergency to the first ECC;
generating and displaying in a graphical user interface of the emergency management application that is operated at the first ECC, a jurisdictional awareness view, the jurisdictional awareness view comprising an interactive map indicating a plurality of locations associated with a plurality of initiated emergency communications within the assigned geographical jurisdiction of the first ECC, the plurality of locations including the first location and the second location;
generating and displaying in the graphical user interface an emergency profile containing information about the first user comprising at least some of the medical information;
and displaying, in the graphical user interface the first telephone number and the second telephone number in a list of a plurality of telephone numbers that have been used to request assistance from the first ECC within the assigned geographical jurisdiction of the first ECC,
Salashour teaches determining that a first ECC of the plurality of ECCs is assigned geographical jurisdiction for a region that includes the first location and, responsive to determining that the first ECC is assigned geographical jurisdiction for a region that includes the first location, automatically routing information about the first emergency to the first ECC [Salahshour at Para. 0037 (see Claim 1 for explanation)];
determining that the first ECC is assigned geographical jurisdiction for a region that includes the second location and, responsive to determining that the first ECC is assigned geographical jurisdiction for a region that includes the second location, automatically routing information about the second emergency to the first ECC [Salahshour at Para. 0037 (see Claim 1 for explanation)];
It would have been prima facie obvious skill in the art, at the time of effective filing, to combine the references of Philbin, Wickham with the geofencing of Salahshour with the motivation to improve emergency response.
Philbin/Wickham/Salahshour do not teach generating and displaying in a graphical user interface of the emergency management application that is operated at the first ECC, a jurisdictional awareness view, the jurisdictional awareness view comprising an interactive map indicating a plurality of locations associated with a plurality of initiated emergency communications within the assigned geographical jurisdiction of the first ECC, the plurality of locations including the first location and the second location;
generating and displaying in the graphical user interface an emergency profile containing information about the first user comprising at least some of the medical information;
and displaying, in the graphical user interface the first telephone number and the second telephone number in a list of a plurality of telephone numbers that have been used to request assistance from the first ECC within the assigned geographical jurisdiction of the first ECC,
Williams teaches generating and displaying in a graphical user interface of the emergency management application that is operated at the first ECC, a jurisdictional awareness view, the jurisdictional awareness view comprising an interactive map indicating a plurality of locations associated with a plurality of initiated emergency communications within the assigned geographical jurisdiction of the first ECC, the plurality of locations including the first location and the second location [Williams at Para. 0043 (see Claim 1 for explanation)];
generating and displaying in the graphical user interface an emergency profile containing information about the first user comprising at least some of the medical information [Williams at Para. 0043 (see Claim 1 for explanation)];
and displaying, in the graphical user interface the first telephone number and the second telephone number in a list of a plurality of telephone numbers that have been used to request assistance from the first ECC within the assigned geographical jurisdiction of the first ECC [Williams at Para. 0043 (see Claim 1 for explanation)],
It would have been prima facie obvious skill in the art, at the time of effective filing, to combine the references of Philbin, Wickham, Salahshour with the interactive map of Williams with the motivation to improve dispatch decisions.
Regarding Claim 12
Claim(s) 12 is/are analogous to Claim(s) 2, thus Claim(s) 12 is/are similarly analyzed and rejected in a manner consistent with the rejection of Claim(s) 2.
Regarding Claim 14
Claim(s) 14 is/are analogous to Claim(s) 4, thus Claim(s) 14 is/are similarly analyzed and rejected in a manner consistent with the rejection of Claim(s) 4.
Regarding Claim 15
Claim(s) 15 is/are analogous to Claim(s) 5, thus Claim(s) 15 is/are similarly analyzed and rejected in a manner consistent with the rejection of Claim(s) 5.
Regarding Claim 17
Claim(s) 17 is/are analogous to Claim(s) 7, thus Claim(s) 17 is/are similarly analyzed and rejected in a manner consistent with the rejection of Claim(s) 7.
Regarding Claim 18
Claim(s) 18 is/are analogous to Claim(s) 8, thus Claim(s) 18 is/are similarly analyzed and rejected in a manner consistent with the rejection of Claim(s) 8.
Claims 3, 9, 13, 19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Philbin, Wickham, Salahshour, Williams as applied to claim 1, 11 above, and further in view of Ng Tari et al (US Publication No. 20160147954).
Regarding Claim 3
Philbin/Wickham/Salahshour/Williams teach the emergency response system of claim 1,
Philbin/Wickham/Salahshour/Williams further teach wherein the first notification of the initiated emergency communication includes a name of the first user [Philbin at Para. 0005 (see Claim 1 for explanation)],
Philbin/Wickham/Salahshour/Williams do not teach and wherein the name of the first user is used to query the one or more third-party servers for medical information.
Ng Tari teaches and wherein the name of the user is used to query the one or more third-party servers for medical information [Ng Tari at Para. 0055 teaches the medical information is later viewable and easily retrievable at the workstation 214 (e.g., by their common identification element, such as a patient name or record number)].
It would have been prima facie obvious skill in the art, at the time of effective filing, to combine the references of Philbin, Wickham, Salahshour, Williams with the name of Ng Tari with the motivation to improve hospital operational efficiency.
Regarding Claim 9
Philbin/Wickham/Salahshour/Williams teach the emergency response system of claim 1,
Philbin/Wickham/Salahshour/Williams do not teach wherein the medical information is displayed in the graphical user interface along with a reliability score or a relevancy score.
Ng Tari teaches wherein the medical information is displayed in the graphical user interface along with a reliability score or a relevancy score [Ng Tari at Para. 0117 teaches at block 1014, an output is made available via an interface. For example, an output is made available to one or more external users (e.g., human, application, and/or system users, etc.) via an API, a graphical user interface, etc. Thus, in an example, document(s) associated with the data event along with analysis, contextual information, and a relevancy score can be provided via the interface].
It would have been prima facie obvious skill in the art, at the time of effective filing, to combine the references of Philbin, Wickham, Salahshour, Williams with the score of Ng Tari with the motivation to improve hospital operational efficiency.
Regarding Claim 13
Claim(s) 13 is/are analogous to Claim(s) 3, thus Claim(s) 13 is/are similarly analyzed and rejected in a manner consistent with the rejection of Claim(s) 3.
Regarding Claim 19
Claim(s) 19 is/are analogous to Claim(s) 9, thus Claim(s) 19 is/are similarly analyzed and rejected in a manner consistent with the rejection of Claim(s) 9.
Claims 6, 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Philbin, Wickham, Salahshour, Williams as applied to claim 1, 11 above, and further in view of Haider et al (US Publication No. 20110161098).
Regarding Claim 6
Philbin/Wickham/Salahshour/Williams teach the emergency response system of claim 1,
Philbin/Wickham/Salahshour/Williams do not teach wherein querying one or more third-party servers for medical information associated with the first user of the first mobile device includes querying two or more source databases for the medical information and selecting the medical information based on one or more rules, the one or more rules comprising at least one of: select data based on source reliability; or select data based on cross-validation from two or more sources.
Haider teaches wherein querying one or more third-party servers for medical information associated with the first user of the first mobile device includes querying two or more source databases for the medical information and selecting the medical information based on one or more rules, the one or more rules comprising at least one of [Haider at Para. 0033 teaches the method first involves accessing medical data from the plurality of medical data sources as shown in step 110. Then the method involves the step of correlating the medical data from the plurality of sources based on predefined rules as shown in step 112]: select data based on source reliability; or select data based on cross-validation from two or more sources [Haider at Para. 0037 teaches as previously mentioned the expert information involves the assignment of metadata to the medical data or can be used for correlating the plurality of medical data sources or could be adapted for indexing the reliability of the medical data].
It would have been prima facie obvious skill in the art, at the time of effective filing, to combine the references of Philbin, Wickham, Salahshour, Williams with the reliable of Haider with the motivation to reduce the difficulty for a medical practitioner to effectively make use of medical data.
Regarding Claim 16
Claim(s) 16 is/are analogous to Claim(s) 6, thus Claim(s) 16 is/are similarly analyzed and rejected in a manner consistent with the rejection of Claim(s) 6.
Claims 10, 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Philbin, Wickham, Salahshour, Williams as applied to claim 1, 11 above, and further in view of Winkler et al (US Publication No. 20190253864).
Regarding Claim 10
Philbin/Wickham/Salahshour/Williams teach the emergency response system of claim 1,
Philbin/Wickham/Salahshour/Williams further teach wherein a natural language processing algorithm is used [Williams at Para. 0197 teaches Natural Language Processing refers to the use of communicating to computers using a natural language, in opposite to a structured command language. This is a field of Artificial Intelligence and involves reading as well as writing. For this technology note, we will limit the application of reading a text and making decisions based on it, we will not consider, in this study, the use of Speech, although this is part of NLP.]… [ … ]
Philbin/Wickham/Salahshour/Williams do not teach [ … ] … on the received medical information to provide a text summarization of the received medical information.
Winkler teaches [ … ] … on the received medical information to provide a text summarization of the received medical information [Winkler at Para. 0058 teaches an example of such an interface is depicted in FIG. 5. In the depicted example, the interface (501) comprises a summary of the case data (503), and a display of the text message interaction (505) with the user (103)].
It would have been prima facie obvious skill in the art, at the time of effective filing, to combine the references of Philbin, Wickham, Salahshour, Williams with the summarization of Winkler with the motivation to improve response time.
Regarding Claim 20
Claim(s) 20 is/are analogous to Claim(s) 10, thus Claim(s) 20 is/are similarly analyzed and rejected in a manner consistent with the rejection of Claim(s) 10.
Response to Arguments
Rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 101
Regarding the rejection of Claims 1-20, the Examiner has considered the Applicant’s arguments; however the arguments are not persuasive. Any arguments inadvertently not addressed are unpersuasive for at least the following reasons. Applicant argues:
Claims do not recite a judicial exception of “certain methods of organizing human activity” because the claims do not recite social activities, teaching, or following rules or interactions to manage personal behavior or relations. […] The claimed system and method recite a specific technological procedure in which multiple emergency notifications from multiple mobile devices at different locations are automatically route to an ECC having geographical jurisdiction, medical information is retrieved from a third-party server, and an emergency profile for a user is generated and displayed on a graphical user interface at an ECC alongside important contextual information for the geographical jurisdiction.
Claims recite a practical application and constitute an improvement in the functioning of a technology or technical field. Applicant’s specification at paragraph 2 clearly articulates a problem with prior art technology related to emergency communication and data management. Paragraphs 75, 69 and 62 of the application provide more specific detail regarding the improvement. Claims provide at least 2 key improvements to emergency communication and management systems. First, the claims introduce automatic jurisdictional routing, which uses computing systems to determine the appropriate ECC based on the geographical location of an emergency, reducing delays and errors associated with manual routing processes. Second, the claims enable integration of medical data by querying third-party servers to retrieve important medical information about individuals involved in emergencies, consolidating disparate data sources into a unified emergency profile to assist responders in making informed decisions. Third, the claims enhance situational awareness through an improved graphical user interface that displays and interactive jurisdictional awareness view, including a map and emergency profile with medical information, allowing responders to visualize and manage multiple emergencies more effectively within their assigned jurisdiction. These technological advancements collectively improve the efficiency, accuracy and functionality of emergency response systems.
Applicant submits that the specification establishes a clear improvement to the technology of emergency communication and data management systems which is reflected in the claims.
Applicant’s specification at Paragraph 3 clearly articulates a problem with prior art technology related to emergency communication and data management.
The claims are like those in DDR Holdings
The claims are eligible per Claim 1 of Example 37 of the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance
The computing of the ECCs, the two mobile devices, the third-party server with medical information, the emergency response application, and the graphical user interface displaying the generated emergency profile medical information associated with a specific user and a jurisdictional awareness view with an inventive map are all additional elements of the claim that add significant more to the claim and provide an inventive concept.
The claims recite a specific combination of elements and steps that improve the technology of emergency communication and data management that does beyond simply applying an abstract idea using generic computer components.
That is, “an inventive concept may be found in the non-conventional and non-generic arrangement of components that are individually well-known and conventional. “The combination of the additional elements noted above provides a way to automatically provide specific, accurate information associated with a specific user as well as contextual information associated with a jurisdiction to a specific ECC during an emergency. That is, when considered in combination, it is apparent that the claimed features present a non-conventional inventive concept.
As such, the claimed approach performs a specific function in a new way to make practical improvements to the technology of emergency communication and data management, and accordingly, the claims recite substantially more than any purported abstract idea.
The claims are eligible per Weisner v. Google LLC
Regarding (a), the Examiner respectfully disagrees. MPEP 2106. 04(a)(2)(II) states that a claimed invention is directed to certain methods of organizing human activity if the identified claim elements contain limitations that encompass fundamental economic principles or practices, commercial or legal interactions, or managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions). The Examiner submits that the identified claim elements represent a series of rules or instructions that a person or persons, with or without the aid of a computer, would follow to provide information to a provider to respond to an emergency. The Examiner notes that Applicant’s Background describes describing information over audio calls to a dispatcher and assigning the call to a first responder by the dispatcher (see Spec. Para. 002) as a human task. Furthermore, the Examiner submits that healthcare itself is inherently represents the organization of human activity. Applicant has not pointed to anything in the claims that fall outside of this characterization. Because the claim elements fall under a series of rules or instructions that a person or persons would follow to provide information to a provider to respond to an emergency, the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea.
Regarding (b), the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant has not provided any reasoning or support as to why the additional elements provide a practical application.
Regarding (c), the Examiner respectfully disagrees. No improvement to technology was made because the problem argued is not a problem associated with any computer or technology.
Regarding (d), the Examiner respectfully disagrees. None of the problems argued, including the information deficiencies, were caused by the computer. The described problems exist independent of the computer.
Regarding (e), the Examiner respectfully disagrees. MPEP 2106.04(d)(1) and MPEP 2106.05(a) indicates that a practical application may be present where the claimed invention provides a technical solution to a technical problem. See, e.g., DDR Holdings, LLC. v. Hotels.com, L.P., 773 F.3d 1245, 1259 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (finding that claiming a website that retained the “look and feel” of a host webpage provi