DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Becker (U.S. Publication Number 2022/0258268).
Referring to claims 1, 11, 21 & 30, Becker discloses a vocational mask configured to be worn by a user (Fig. 1:200), wherein the vocational mask comprises a user interface configured to present, to the user, one or more graphical elements associated with performing a work task (Fig. 1); and a computing device communicatively coupled to the user interface (Fig. 1), wherein the computing device is configured to: cause the user interface to display the one or more graphical elements, wherein the one or more graphical elements include a virtual coach (Fig. 1, abstract, paragraphs 0012 0016, 0048, 0058, 0060, 0086), receive performance data indicative of performance, by the user, of the work task while wearing the vocational mask (Fig. 4), and control at least one display characteristic of the virtual coach based on the performance data (Fig. 1).
Referring to claims 2, 12 & 22, Becker discloses wherein the user interface is configured to present the one or more graphical elements via a virtual retinal display (Fig. 1).
Referring to claims 3, 13 & 23, Becker discloses wherein the at least one display characteristic includes at least one of a persona, expression, posture, clothing, color, movement, size, and position of the virtual coach (Fig. 1).
Referring to claims 4, 14 & 24, Becker discloses wherein the computing device is configured to (i) obtain a performance score based on the performance data and (ii) control the at least one display characteristic based on the performance score (paragraph 0096).
Referring to claims 5, 15 & 25, Becker discloses wherein the computing device is configured to (i) obtain a plurality of performance values based on the performance data and (ii) calculate the performance score based on the plurality of performance values (paragraph 0096).
Referring to claims 6, 16 & 26, Becker discloses wherein the computing device is configured to (i) assign respective weights to the plurality of performance values (paragraph 0016) and (ii) calculate the performance score as a weighted average of the performance values (paragraph 0016).
Referring to claims 7, 17 & 27, Becker discloses wherein the computing device is configured to implement a machine learning model trained to calculate the performance score based on the performance data (paragraph 0016 & 0096).
Referring to claims 8, 18 & 28, Becker discloses wherein the machine learning model is configured to generate a control output to control the virtual coach based on the performance score and improvement data, and wherein the improvement data indicates improvement of performance of the user at the work task (paragraphs 0016 & 0096).
Referring to claims 9 & 19, Becker discloses wherein the work task is a welding task (Fig. 1).
Referring to claim 10 & 29, Becker discloses wherein the performance data indicates at least one of a straightness of a weld, a thickness of the weld, temperature, travel speed, gas presence, an amount of welding material used, porosity of the weld, and penetration of the weld (Fig. 1).
Conclusion
/KESHA FRISBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715