This is a Non-Final Office for serial number 19/187309.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the base of claim 23 to be provided with a reference number for the elected species figures 1A-1C and 8A-8C must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the mount portion to be provided with a reference number for within the elected species figures 1A-1C and 8A-8C must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the wall support to be provided with a reference number within the elected species figures 1A-1C and 8A-8C . be provided with a reference number for must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the arm has a convex upper profile and a concave lower profile wall support to be provided within the elected species figures 1A-1C and 8A-8C with a reference number must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 29-43 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on August 27, 2026. If the base of claim 23 is found to be not shown in figures 1A-1C or 8A-8C then in the next office action claim 23 will be withdrawn from further consideration as not included within the elected species.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Hogg 4,485,995.
Hogg discloses claims:
21. A self-tapping curtain rod bracket comprising: a single piece body including: a mount portion having at least one prong, the at least one prong having a pointed tip capable of penetrating a wall material to form a hole through which the at least one prong extends through the wall and to engage a backside of the wall; a wall support portion having a first end connected to the mount portion, the wall support portion to extend along a front side of the wall to a second end; an arm connected to the second end of the wall support portion and extending away from the wall support portion; and a support portion being supported by the arm away from the wall support portion to support an object.
26. The self-tapping curtain rod bracket of claim 21 wherein the arm extends upward from the second end of the wall support portion to the support portion.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Wall support portion)][AltContent: textbox (Support portion
arm)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Pointed tip (29)
At least one prong (27)
Mount portion (25))]
[AltContent: textbox (Arm extends upward from the second end of the wall support portion to the support portion)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Wall support portion )]
Claim(s) 21, 22, 25 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Smith 3,219,302.
Smith discloses claims:
21. A self-tapping curtain rod bracket comprising: a single piece body including: a mount portion having at least one prong, the at least one prong having a pointed tip capable of penetrating a wall material to form a hole through which the at least one prong extends through the wall and to engage a backside of the wall; a wall support portion having a first end connected to the mount portion, the wall support portion to extend along a front side of the wall to a second end; an arm connected to the second end of the wall support portion and extending away from the wall support portion; and a support portion being supported by the arm away from the wall support portion to support an object.
22. The self-tapping curtain rod bracket of claim 21 wherein the at least one prong includes a first prong spaced apart from a second prong.
25. The self-tapping curtain rod bracket of claim 21 wherein the arm is connected to the wall support portion at a bend in the body.
26. The self-tapping curtain rod bracket of claim 21 wherein the arm extends upward from the second end of the wall support portion to the support portion.
[AltContent: textbox (Mount portion
Pointed tips (17)
First prong (left 15)
Second prong (15)
Wall support (14)
Arm (25)
support portion surface that engages object)][AltContent: textbox (Mount portion (16) to
Engage backside of wall)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-28 is/are rejected (claim 23 as best understood as included in figure figures 1A-1C, 8A-8C, see election of Election/Restrictions section above for guidance) under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanley 20180064279 in view of Burr 11,857097.
Haneley discloses claims:
21. A self-tapping curtain rod bracket comprising: a single piece body including: a wall support portion (402) having a first end (near upper end) connected to the mount portion (418/420), the wall support portion (402) to extend along a front side of the wall to a second end (410); an arm (404) connected to the second end of the wall support portion and extending away from the wall support portion; and a support portion (406) being supported by the arm away from the wall support portion to support an object.
25. The self-tapping curtain rod bracket of claim 21 wherein the arm (404) is connected to the wall support portion (402) at a bend (between 410 and 424) in the body.
26. The self-tapping curtain rod bracket of claim 21 wherein the arm (404) extends upward from the second end (410) of the wall support portion to the support portion (406).
27. The self-tapping curtain rod bracket of claim 26 wherein the arm (404) is curved such that the arm has a convex upper profile (near 422) and a concave lower profile (near 424).
28. The self-tapping curtain rod bracket of claim 21 wherein the support portion includes a cradle (406) having a threaded opening (340) to receive a fastener (252).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Concave lower profile)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Convex upper profile)]
Hanley discloses all of the limitations of the claimed invention except for the (of claim 21) a mount portion having at least one prong (222), the at least one prong having a pointed tip capable of penetrating a wall material to form a hole through which the at least one prong extends through the wall and to engage a backside of the wall; (Claim 22) The self-tapping curtain rod bracket of claim 21 wherein the at least one prong includes a first prong spaced apart from a second prong; (Claim 23) wherein the mount portion of the body includes a base from which the at least one prong extends, the base extending laterally between a first lateral side and a second lateral side, a first prong of the at least one prong extending from a first lateral side of the base and a second prong of the at least one prong extending from a second lateral side of the base; (Claim 24) wherein the at least one prong includes a curved portion and a straight portion, the straight portion extending substantially parallel to the wall support portion.
Burr teaches it is known to have Claims
(of claim 21) a mount portion having at least one prong (222), the at least one prong having a pointed tip capable of penetrating a wall material to form a hole through which the at least one prong extends through the wall and to engage a backside of the wall;
(Claim 22) The self-tapping curtain rod bracket of claim 21 wherein the at least one prong includes a first prong spaced apart from a second prong.
(Claim 23) The self-tapping curtain rod bracket of claim 21 wherein the mount portion of the body includes a base from which the at least one prong extends, the base extending laterally between a first lateral side and a second lateral side, a first prong of the at least one prong extending from a first lateral side of the base and a second prong of the at least one prong extending from a second lateral side of the base.
(Claim 24) wherein the at least one prong includes a curved portion and a straight portion, the straight portion extending substantially parallel to the wall support portion.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Pointed tip
One prong
Curved portion
Wall support portion)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Straight portion)][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (1st prong
1st Lateral side)]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Mount portion base)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (2nd prong
2nd lateral side)][AltContent: arrow]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success to have modified Hanley to have included a mount portion having at least one prong being a first prong extending from a first lateral side and second prong extending from a second lateral side of the base and wherein the at least one prong includes a curved portion and a straight portion as taught by Burr for the purpose of providing a means of penetrating a wall material to form a hole through which the at least one prong as a one piece member therefore reducing the number of parts for the device therefore being cost effective and quick attachment. This allows for the device have a straight portion extending parallel to the wall support portion resulting in a stable support for the object preventing shifting or accidental removal.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art discloses conventional brackets.
/KIMBERLY T WOOD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631