DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the application filed April 23, 2025, claims 1-6 are presented for examination. Claims 1, 5 and 6 are independent claims.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), and based on application # 2024-093938 filed in Japan on June 10, 2024 which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Oath/Declaration
The Office acknowledges receipt of a properly signed Oath/Declaration submitted April 23, 2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement filed (April 23, 2025 and June 25, 2025) has been received, entered into the record, and considered.
Drawings
The drawings filed April 23, 2025 are accepted by the examiner.
Abstract
The abstract filed April 23, 2025 is accepted by the examiner
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujita et al (IDS submitted prior art US 20150009424 Al) in view of Fujita (IDS submitted prior art US 20140333583 A1).
As to Claim 1:
Fujita et al. discloses a touch panel including a first resistive film having a first electrode and a second electrode provided at both ends in a first direction (Fujita, see Abstract, where Fujita discloses that a touch panel includes: a first resistance film; a second resistance film spaced apart from the first resistance film; a first electrode and a second electrode that are provided on the first resistance film, and are opposite to each other in a first direction; a third electrode and a fourth electrode that are provided on the second resistance film, and are opposite to each other in a second direction; an application unit that applies voltages to the first to the fourth electrodes, respectively; and a coordinate detection unit that, when the first resistance film comes in contact with the second resistance film at two points, detects coordinates of the two points based on a voltage applied between the first and the second electrodes, a voltage applied between the third and the fourth electrodes, and a voltage caused by a contact resistance between the first and the second resistance films), and a second resistive film having a third electrode and a fourth electrode provided at both ends in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (Fujita, see Abstract, where Fujita discloses that a touch panel includes: a first resistance film; a second resistance film spaced apart from the first resistance film; a first electrode and a second electrode that are provided on the first resistance film, and are opposite to each other in a first direction; a third electrode and a fourth electrode that are provided on the second resistance film, and are opposite to each other in a second direction; an application unit that applies voltages to the first to the fourth electrodes, respectively; and a coordinate detection unit that, when the first resistance film comes in contact with the second resistance film at two points, detects coordinates of the two points based on a voltage applied between the first and the second electrodes, a voltage applied between the third and the fourth electrodes, and a voltage caused by a contact resistance between the first and the second resistance films), the touch panel detecting contact between the first resistive film and the second resistive film caused by pressing the first resistive film (Fujita, see paragraph [0004], where Fujita discloses that a coordinate detection unit that, when the first resistance film comes in contact with the second resistance film at two points, detects coordinates of the two points based on a voltage applied between the first electrode and the second electrode), and outputting a pressed position (Fujita, see detecting coordinates S10 in figure 4 and paragraph [0004], where Fujita discloses that a coordinate detection unit that, when the first resistance film comes in contact with the second resistance film at two points, detects coordinates of the two points based on a voltage applied between the first electrode and the second electrode), the touch panel comprising: a first detector that detects a contact area between the first resistive film and the second resistive film in pressing the first resistive film (Fujita, see paragraph [0036], where Fujita discloses that the controller 30 includes a CPU (Central Processing Unit) 31, an AD (Analog-Digital) converter 33, a memory 35, and the like. The AD converter 33 includes voltage detectors ADXl, ADX2, ADYl and ADY2. The voltage detector
ADXl is connected to the XH electrode 12. The voltage detector ADX2 is connected to the XL electrode 14. The voltage detector ADYl is connected to the YH electrode 22. The voltage detector ADY2 is connected to the YL electrode 24. The memory 35 stores voltages Vx0, Vy0, and V1 to V11); a second detector that detects a distance between two points when the two points are pressed on the first resistive film (Fujita, see paragraph [0036], where Fujita discloses that the controller 30 includes a CPU (Central Processing Unit) 31, an AD (Analog-Digital) converter 33, a memory 35, and the like. The AD converter 33 includes voltage detectors ADXl, ADX2, ADYl and ADY2. The voltage detector ADXl is connected to the XH electrode 12. The voltage detector ADX2 is connected to the XL electrode 14. The voltage detector ADYl is connected to the YH electrode 22. The voltage detector ADY2 is connected to the YL electrode 24. The memory 35 stores voltages Vx0, Vy0, and V1 to V11); and a corrector that improves a detected distance between the two points in accordance with a detected contact area (Fujita, see paragraph [0051], where Fujita discloses that the ADYl and the ADY2 detect voltages Vx2 and Vx3 in the X-axis direction (step S12). The ADXl and the ADX2 detect voltages Vy2 and Vy3 in the Y-axis direction (step S13). The coordinate detection unit 34 detects a direction of a line coupling contact points A and B by using the voltage Vx0 to Vx3 and the voltage Vy0 to Vy3 (step S14). The coordinate detection unit 34 calculates a middle point of
the two points (i.e., the contact points A and B) (step S15). The coordinate detection unit 34 detects an X-coordinate Xe of the middle point based on an average value of the voltages Vx2 and Vx3, and a Y-coordinate Y c of the middle point based on an average value of the voltages Vy2 and Vy3. The coordinate detection unit 34 calculates a distance between the two points (step S16). In the calculation of the distance, the coordinate detection unit 34 eliminates the influence of the contact
resistances by calculating the voltages caused by the contact resistances by using the voltages V2 to VS detected in step S11. Thereby, the distance between the two points can be calculated with sufficient accuracy. The coordinate detection unit 34 calculates the coordinates of the two point by using the distance and the coordinates Xe and Y c of the middle point (step Sl7). After step Sl7, the process is terminated).
Fujita differs from the claimed subject matter in that Fujita does not explicitly disclose corrected.
However in an analogous art, Fujita1 discloses corrected (Fujita1, see paragraph [0432], where Fujita1 discloses that the position detection method of the touch panel of this embodiment, the distance of 2 contact points in the X direction can be corrected based on the distance between 2 contact points in the Y direction. Thereby, the X coordinate positions of 2 contact points can be calculated based on the corrected distance of the 2 contact points in the X direction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Fujita with Fujita1. One would be motivated to modify Fujita by disclosing corrected as taught by Fujita1, and thereby providing an improved position detection method in a touch panel (Fujita1, see paragraph [0002]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3 and 4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 5 and 6 are allowable.
Referring to claim 2, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitations “a plurality of switches connected to the first to fourth electrodes; and a measurer that controls the plurality of switches so as to apply a voltage to the first electrode and the second electrode and ground the third electrode, measures a first voltage value applied to the fourth electrode, controls the plurality of switches so as to apply a voltage to the first electrode and the second electrode and ground the fourth electrode, and measures a second voltage value applied to the third electrode; wherein the first detector includes a determiner that determines, when two points are pressed on the first resistive film, a value twice the total of the first voltage value and the second voltage value as a value corresponding to a contact area of the two points, the second detector includes a calculator that controls the plurality of switches so that the first electrode is at a high potential and the second electrode is at a low potential, applies a voltage to the first resistive film through a first voltage dividing resistor, measures a first direction voltage applied to the first resistive film in the first direction when the two points are pressed, controls the plurality of switches so that the third electrode is at a high potential and the fourth electrode is at a low potential, applies a voltage to the second resistive film through a second voltage dividing resistor, measures a second direction voltage applied to the second resistive film in the second direction when the two points are pressed, and calculates the distance between the two points based on the first direction voltage and the second direction voltage, and the corrector corrects, based on the contact area of the two points and the distance between the two points when the two points are pressed by each of a plurality of inputters having different diameters of the tips, the distance between the two points when the two points are pressed by one of the plurality of inputters having a tip with a diameter larger than a diameter of a tip of another of the plurality of inputters and smaller than a diameter of a tip of the other of the plurality of inputters to the distance between the two points when the two points are pressed by the another of the plurality of inputters.”.
Referring to claim 3, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitations “wherein the plurality of inputters include a first inputter having a tip with a first diameter and a second inputter having a tip with a second diameter larger than the first diameter, the one of the plurality of inputters is a third inputter having a tip with a third diameter larger than the first diameter and smaller than the second diameter, the corrector generates a correction formula for correcting the distance between the two points when the two points are pressed by the third inputter, based on the contact area of the two points and the distance between the two points when the two points are pressed by the first inputter, and the contact area of the two points and the distance between the two points when the two points are pressed by the second inputter, and corrects the distance between the two points when the two points are pressed by the third inputter to the distance between the two points when the two points are pressed by the first inputter, based on the correction formula”.
Referring to claim 4, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitations “wherein the plurality of inputters include a first inputter having a tip with a first diameter and a second inputter having a tip with a second diameter larger than the first diameter, the one of the plurality of inputters is a third inputter having a tip with a third diameter larger than the first diameter and smaller than the second diameter, the contact area of the two points and the distance between the two points when the two points are pressed by the first inputter include a contact area and a distance between the two points of first two points, and a contact area and a distance between the two points of second two points, the second two points being arranged in the same direction as the first two points and having a distance between the two points larger than the first two points, the contact area and the distance between the two points when the two points are pressed by the second inputter include a contact area and a distance between the two points when the first two points are pressed by the second inputter, and a contact area and a distance between the two points when the second two points are pressed by the second inputter, in a coordinate system in which the contact area and the distance between the two points are respectively set as an X axis and a Y axis or a Y axis and an X axis, the corrector generates, based on a first straight line that passes through a first point indicating the contact area and the distance between the two points of the first two points when the two points are pressed by the first inputter and a second point indicating the contact area and the distance between the two points of the second two points when the two points are pressed by the first inputter, and a second straight line that passes through the first point and a third point indicating the contact area and the distance between the two points when the first two points are pressed by the second inputter or passes through the second point and a fourth point indicating the contact area and the distance between the two points when the second two points are pressed by the second inputter, a third straight line that passes through a fifth point indicating the contact area and the distance between two points when the two points are pressed by the third inputter and is parallel to the second straight line, as a correction formula, and the corrector corrects the distance between the two points when the two points are pressed by the third inputter to the distance between the two points indicated by an intersection point between the first straight line and the correction formula”.
Referring to claim 5, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitations “controlling a touch panel including a first resistive film having a first electrode and a second electrode provided at both ends in a first direction, a second resistive film having a third electrode and a fourth electrode provided at both ends in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction, a plurality of switches connected to the first to fourth electrodes, and a controller that controls the plurality of switches, the method for controlling the touch panel comprising: controlling the plurality of switches so as to apply a voltage to the first electrode and the second electrode and ground the third electrode, measuring a first voltage value applied to the fourth electrode when two points are pressed on the first resistive film, controlling the plurality of switches so as to apply a voltage to the first electrode and the second electrode and ground the fourth electrode, and measuring a second voltage value applied to the third electrode when two points are pressed on the first resistive film; determining a value twice the total of the first voltage value and the second voltage value as a value corresponding to a contact area of the two points when two points are pressed on the first resistive film; controlling the plurality of switches so that the first electrode is at a high potential and the second electrode is at a low potential, applying a voltage to the first resistive film via a first voltage dividing resistor, measuring a first direction voltage applied to the first resistive film in the first direction when the two points are pressed, controlling the plurality of switches so that the third electrode is at a high potential and the fourth electrode is at a low potential, applying a voltage to the second resistive film via a second voltage dividing resistor, measuring a second direction voltage applied to the second resistive film in the second direction when the two points are pressed, and calculating a distance between the two points based on the first direction voltage and the second direction voltage; and correcting, based on the contact area of the two points and the distance between the two points when the two points are pressed by each of a plurality of inputters, the distance between the two points when the two points are pressed by one of the plurality of inputters having a tip with a diameter larger than a diameter of a tip of another of the plurality of inputters and smaller than a diameter of a tip of the other of the plurality of inputters to the distance between the two points when the two points are pressed by the another of the plurality of inputters”.
Referring to claim 6, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitations “causing a controller in a touch panel to execute a process, the touch panel including a first resistive film having a first electrode and a second electrode provided at both ends in a first direction, a second resistive film having a third electrode and a fourth electrode provided at both ends in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction, a plurality of switches connected to the first to fourth electrodes, and the controller that controls the plurality of switches, the process comprising: controlling the plurality of switches so as to apply a voltage to the first electrode and the second electrode and ground the third electrode, measuring a first voltage value applied to the fourth electrode when two points are pressed on the first resistive film, controlling the plurality of switches so as to apply a voltage to the first electrode and the second electrode and ground the fourth electrode, and measuring a second voltage value applied to the third electrode when two points are pressed on the first resistive film; determining a value twice the total of the first voltage value and the second voltage value as a value corresponding to a contact area of the two points when two points are pressed on the first resistive film; controlling the plurality of switches so that the first electrode is at a high potential and the second electrode is at a low potential, applying a voltage to the first resistive film via a first voltage dividing resistor, measuring a first direction voltage applied to the first resistive film in the first direction when the two points are pressed, controlling the plurality of switches so that the third electrode is at a high potential and the fourth electrode is at a low potential, applying a voltage to the second resistive film via a second voltage dividing resistor, measuring a second direction voltage applied to the second resistive film in the second direction when the two points are pressed, and calculating a distance between the two points based on the first direction voltage and the second direction voltage; and correcting, based on the contact area of the two points and the distance between the two points when the two points are pressed by each of a plurality of inputters, the distance between the two points when the two points are pressed by one of the plurality of inputters having a tip with a diameter larger than a diameter of a tip of another of the plurality of inputters and smaller than a diameter of a tip of the other of the plurality of inputters to the distance between the two points when the two points are pressed by the another of the plurality of inputters”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure. Kanda (US 20140028591 A1) discloses acquiring a plurality of pressed positions, each of the plurality of pressed positions being a pressed position identified at each of a plurality of timings within a continuous time period, the continuous time period being a time period determined based on an operation time period in which a panel surface is pressed, and the pressed position being a position at which a pressing force is applied to the panel surface, identifying a tendency of change of the pressed positions based on the plurality of pressed positions, and determining each of the plurality of pressed positions as a specified position in a case where the identified tendency of change satisfies a predetermined condition, the specified position being a pressed position, on the panel surface, that is specified by a user.
Contact Information
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to NELSON ROSARIO whose telephone number is (571)270-1866. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday through Friday, 7:30am- 5:00pm EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Matthew Eason can be reached on (571) 270-7230. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/NELSON M ROSARIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624