DETAILED ACTION
Priority
2. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of documents required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 03/23/2026 and 04/23/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and were considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-2, 9-10 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo et al. (US-PGPUB 2021/0173223) in view of Rho et al. (US-PGPUB 2016/0085086).
Regarding claim 1, Seo discloses an electronic device (Camera module 1000; see figs. 1-2 and paragraph 0055) comprising:
an image stabilizer configured to compensate for shaking of a camera (Lens driving device moves the lens barrel 1510 in X-axis and Y-axis directions, perpendicular to the optical axis direction (the Z-axis direction), to correct shaking at the time of capturing an image. The lens driving device includes a focusing unit and a shake correction unit; see paragraphs 0058-0059), wherein the image stabilizer comprises:
a lens array comprising at least one lens (Lens barrel 1510 can be a hollow cylindrical shape allowing a plurality of lenses for capturing a subject to be accommodated therein; see paragraph fig. 2 and paragraph 0056),
an actuator configured to drive the lens array in a first direction and a second direction orthogonal to the first direction (Lens driving device moves the lens barrel 1510 in X-axis and Y-axis directions, perpendicular to the optical axis direction (the Z-axis direction); see paragraph 0058), and
a housing mounted on the actuator (The case 1110 is coupled to the housing 1100 to surround an external surface of the housing 1100, and serves to protect internal components of the camera module 1000; see paragraph 0064), and
wherein the actuator comprises:
the carrier (items 1700 and 1400; see fig. 2) comprising multiple magnets (Magnets 1420 and 1720; see fig. 2) on a first side surface facing in the second direction (The frame 1400 includes a first magnet 1420; see fig. 2 and paragraph 0093) and a second side surface parallel to the first side surface (Holder 1700 is provided with a second magnet 1720. The first magnet 1420 and a second magnet 1720 are disposed to be substantially parallel to each other; see fig. 2 and paragraph 0095), and
a container configured to control electromagnetic forces of the multiple magnets, the container comprising multiple coils corresponding to the multiple magnets, respectively (The first coil 1430 and the second coil 1730 are fixed to the substrate 1130 together with the driving coil 1330 of the focusing unit, and the substrate 1130 is fixed to the housing 1100; see paragraph 0097 and fig. 2. The first magnet 1420 is disposed to oppose a first coil 1430; see paragraphs 0093-0094. The second magnet 1720 is disposed to oppose a second coil 1730; see paragraphs 0095-0096 and fig. 2).
However, Seo does not expressly disclose a stopper configured to restrict movement of a carrier in a third direction orthogonal to the first direction and the second direction.
On the other hand, Rho discloses a stopper configured to restrict movement of a carrier in a third direction orthogonal to the first direction and the second direction (A cover 140 is coupled with the base 110. The cover 140 has a stopper to restrict the movement of the lens carrier 111 along the optical axis (Z axis) while preventing the lens carrier 111 from moving off the optical axis (Z axis); see paragraph 0068).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Seo and Rho to provide a stopper configured to restrict movement of a carrier in a third direction orthogonal to the first direction and the second direction for the purpose of improving image quality by maintaining the camera module within allowable movement ranges.
Regarding claim 2, Seo and Rho disclose everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Seo discloses the multiple magnets comprise: a first magnet disposed on the first side surface (The frame 1400 includes a first magnet 1420; see fig. 2 and paragraph 0093); and a second magnet disposed on the second side surface (Holder 1700 is provided with a second magnet 1720. The first magnet 1420 and a second magnet 1720 are disposed to be substantially parallel to each other; see fig. 2 and paragraph 0095).
Regarding claim 9, Seo and Rho disclose everything claimed as applied above (see claim 2). In addition, Seo discloses the multiple coils comprise: a first coil disposed on the first side surface of the container and corresponding to the first magnet; and a second coil disposed on the first side surface of the container and corresponding to the first magnet (The first magnet 1420 is disposed to oppose a first coil 1430, provided in the housing 1100, in a first direction (an X-axis direction) perpendicular to the optical axis direction; see paragraphs 0093-0094, 0111 and fig. 2. Coil 1430 includes two coils; see part of fig. 2 below).
Part of Figure 2
Regarding claim 10, Seo and Rho disclose everything claimed as applied above (see claim 2). In addition, Seo discloses the multiple coils comprise: a third coil disposed on the second side surface of the container and corresponding to the second magnet; and a fourth coil disposed on the second side surface of the container and corresponding to the second magnet (The second magnet 1720 is disposed to oppose a second coil 1730, provided in the housing 1100, in the first direction (the X-axis direction) perpendicular to the optical axis direction; see paragraphs 0095-0096, 0111 and fig. 2. Coil 1730 includes two coils; see part of fig. 2 below).
Part of Figure 2
Regarding claim 15, Seo and Rho disclose everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Seo discloses the actuator comprises an auto-focus (AF) coil and a third magnet disposed in the first direction of the carrier and configured to move the carrier along the third direction (The lens driving device includes a focusing unit, moving a carrier 1300 in an optical axis direction to perform autofocusing. A driving portion of the focusing unit includes a magnet 1320 and a coil 1330. When power is applied to the coil 1330, the carrier 1300 can be moved in the optical axis direction (the Z-axis direction) by electromagnetic interaction between the magnet 1320 and the coil 1330; see paragraphs 0068, 0070-0074).
7. Claims 3-4 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo in view of Rho and further in view of Kobayashi (US-PGPUB 2010/0302437).
Regarding claim 3, Seo and Rho disclose everything claimed as applied above (see claim 2). In addition, Seo discloses the first magnet comprises a plurality of poles including the N-pole and the S-pole (The first magnet 1420 is provided with a plurality of poles including the N-pole and the S-pole; see paragraphs 0094, 0117).
However, Seo does not expressly disclose the first magnet comprises: a first magnetic element having a first pole; a second magnetic element having a second pole; and a third magnetic element having the first pole.
On the other hand, Kobayashi discloses the first magnet comprises: a first magnetic element having a first pole; a second magnetic element having a second pole; and a third magnetic element having the first pole (see MG1/MG2 in figures 14A, 14C, 14D and paragraphs 0116- 0117).
Since Seo already discloses providing a magnet with a plurality of poles, then it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Seo, Rho and Kobayashi to provide the first magnet comprises: a first magnetic element having a first pole; a second magnetic element having a second pole; and a third magnetic element having the first pole for the purpose of effectively applying a magnetic force to the coil.
Regarding claim 4, Seo, Rho and Kobayashi disclose everything claimed as applied above (see claim 3). In addition, Seo discloses the first magnet comprises a plurality of poles including the N-pole and the S-pole (The first magnet 1420 is provided with a plurality of poles including the N-pole and the S-pole; see paragraphs 0094, 0117).
However, Seo does not expressly disclose in the first magnet, the first magnetic element, the second magnetic element, and the third magnetic element are integrally coupled.
Nevertheless, Kobayashi discloses in the first magnet, the first magnetic element, the second magnetic element, and the third magnetic element are integrally coupled (see MG1/MG2 in figures 14A, 14C, 14D and paragraphs 0116- 0117).
Since Seo already discloses providing a magnet with a plurality of poles, then it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Seo, Rho and Kobayashi to provide in the first magnet, the first magnetic element, the second magnetic element, and the third magnetic element are integrally coupled for the purpose of effectively applying a magnetic force to the coil.
Regarding claim 6, Seo and Rho disclose everything claimed as applied above (see claim 2). In addition, Seo discloses the second magnet comprises a plurality of poles including the N-pole and the S-pole (The second magnet 1720 has a plurality of poles including the N and S poles; see paragraphs 0096, 0117).
However, Seo does not expressly disclose the second magnet comprises: a fourth magnetic element having a first pole; a fifth magnetic element having a second pole; and a sixth magnetic element having the first pole.
On the other hand, Kobayashi discloses the second magnet comprises: a fourth magnetic element having a first pole; a fifth magnetic element having a second pole; and a sixth magnetic element having the first pole (see MG1/MG2 in figures 14A, 14C, 14D and paragraphs 0116- 0117).
Since Seo already discloses providing a magnet with a plurality of poles, then it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Seo, Rho and Kobayashi to provide the second magnet comprises: a fourth magnetic element having a first pole; a fifth magnetic element having a second pole; and a sixth magnetic element having the first pole for the purpose of effectively applying a magnetic force to the coil.
Regarding claim 7, Seo, Rho and Kobayashi disclose everything claimed as applied above (see claim 6). In addition, Seo discloses the second magnet comprises a plurality of poles including the N-pole and the S-pole (The second magnet 1720 has a plurality of poles including the N and S poles; see paragraphs 0096, 0117).
However, Seo does not expressly disclose in the second magnet, the fourth magnetic element, the fifth magnetic element, and the sixth magnetic element are integrally coupled.
Nevertheless, Kobayashi discloses in the second magnet, the fourth magnetic element, the fifth magnetic element, and the sixth magnetic element are integrally coupled (see MG1/MG2 in figures 14A, 14C, 14D and paragraphs 0116- 0117).
Since Seo already discloses providing a magnet with a plurality of poles, then it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Seo, Rho and Kobayashi to provide in the second magnet, the fourth magnetic element, the fifth magnetic element, and the sixth magnetic element are integrally coupled for the purpose of effectively applying a magnetic force to the coil.
8. Claims 1-4, 6, 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al. (US-PGPUB 2021/0294070) in view of Rho et al. (US-PGPUB 2016/0085086).
Regarding claim 1, Tanaka discloses an electronic device (Lens driving apparatus; see fig. 1 and paragraph 0053) comprising:
an image stabilizer configured to compensate for shaking of a camera (The lens driving apparatus with a hand shake correction function; see paragraph 0217),
wherein the image stabilizer comprises:
a lens array comprising at least one lens (Lens body having a cylindrical lens barrel with at least one lens; see paragraph 0054),
an actuator configured to drive the lens array in a first direction and a second direction orthogonal to the first direction (Driving mechanism MK. The magnet holder is a member holding the magnetic field generating member 5 facing the coil 3 held in the lens holding member 2 and is typically connected to the base member 18 via a suspension wire, and is movably supported in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis by the suspension wire. Specifically, the magnet holder is configured to be moved in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis by a driving mechanism including the magnetic field generating member 5 and a coil other than the coil 3 disposed on the base member 18 so as to face the magnetic field generating member 5; see fig. 1, and paragraphs 0054-0055, 0217. Directions X-axis and Y-axis).
a housing mounted on the actuator (The yoke 4 so configured accommodates the coil 3 and the magnetic field generating member 5 within the housing portion 4s and is coupled to a base member 18 as illustrated in FIG. 2A to form a housing together with the base member 18; see figs. 1, 2A and paragraph 0063), and
wherein the actuator comprises:
the carrier comprising multiple magnets on a first side surface facing in the second direction and a second side surface parallel to the first side surface (The magnetic field generating member 5 includes a first magnetic field generating member 5A disposed facing the first side plate portion 4A1 and a second magnetic field generating member 5B disposed facing the second side plate portion 4A2; see fig. 1 and paragraphs 0064, 0206), and
a container configured to control electromagnetic forces of the multiple magnets, the container comprising multiple coils corresponding to the multiple magnets, respectively (Includes a first coil 3A disposed so as to face a first side plate portion 4A1, a second coil 3B disposed so as to face a second side plate portion 4A2. The first coil 3A is disposed to face the first magnetic field generating member 5A and the second coil 3B is disposed to face the second magnetic field generating member 5B; see figs. 1, 16A and paragraphs 0077. 0130).
However, Tanaka does not expressly disclose a stopper configured to restrict movement of a carrier in a third direction orthogonal to the first direction and the second direction.
On the other hand, Rho discloses a stopper configured to restrict movement of a carrier in a third direction orthogonal to the first direction and the second direction (A cover 140 is coupled with the base 110. The cover 140 has a stopper to restrict the movement of the lens carrier 111 along the optical axis (Z axis) while preventing the lens carrier 111 from moving off the optical axis (Z axis); see paragraph 0068).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tanaka and Rho to provide a stopper configured to restrict movement of a carrier in a third direction orthogonal to the first direction and the second direction for the purpose of improving image quality by maintaining the camera module within allowable movement ranges.
Regarding claim 2, Tanaka and Rho disclose everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Tanaka discloses the multiple magnets comprise: a first magnet disposed on the first side surface; and a second magnet disposed on the second side surface (The magnetic field generating member 5 includes a first magnetic field generating member 5A disposed facing the first side plate portion 4A1 and a second magnetic field generating member 5B disposed facing the second side plate portion 4A2; see fig. 1 and paragraphs 0064, 0206).
Regarding claim 3, Tanaka and Rho disclose everything claimed as applied above (see claim 2). In addition, Tanaka discloses the first magnet comprises: a first magnetic element having a first pole; a second magnetic element having a second pole; and a third magnetic element having the first pole (The first magnetic field generating member 5A can configured by one four-pole magnet. In FIGS. 16A to 16D, the N-pole of the magnet is represented by cross hatching, the S-pole of the magnet is represented by diagonal hatching; see paragraphs 0200, 0129, 0066, 0067 and fig. 16B).
Regarding claim 4, Tanaka and Rho disclose everything claimed as applied above (see claim 3). In addition, Tanaka discloses in the first magnet, the first magnetic element, the second magnetic element, and the third magnetic element are integrally coupled pole (The first magnetic field generating member 5A can configured by one four-pole magnet; see paragraphs 0200, 0129, 0066, 0067 and fig. 16B).
Regarding claim 6, Tanaka and Rho disclose everything claimed as applied above (see claim 2). In addition, Tanaka discloses the second magnet comprises: a fourth magnetic element having a first pole; a fifth magnetic element having a second pole; and a sixth magnetic element having the first pole (The second magnetic field generating member 5B can configured by one four-pole magnet. In FIGS. 16A to 16D, the N-pole of the magnet is represented by cross hatching, the S-pole of the magnet is represented by diagonal hatching; see paragraphs 0200, 0129, 0066, 0067 and fig. 16B).
Regarding claim 7, Tanaka and Rho disclose everything claimed as applied above (see claim 6). In addition, Tanaka discloses in the second magnet, the fourth magnetic element, the fifth magnetic element, and the sixth magnetic element are integrally coupled (The second magnetic field generating member 5B can configured by one four-pole magnet; see paragraphs 0200, 0129, 0066, 0067 and fig. 16B).
Regarding claim 15, Tanaka and Rho disclose everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Tanaka discloses the actuator comprises an auto-focus (AF) coil and a third magnet disposed in the first direction of the carrier and configured to move the carrier along the third direction (Magnets 8 and 9. The driving mechanism MK including magnets 5, 8 and 9 move the lens holding member 2 along an optical axis direction (Z-axis direction) with respect to the lens body; see fig. 1 and paragraphs 0054-0056).
9. Claims 1-2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (KR 20190063716A) in view of Rho et al. (US-PGPUB 2016/0085086).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses an electronic device (Camera module 1000; see fig. 1 and page 3, lines 1-4) comprising:
an image stabilizer configured to compensate for shaking of a camera (The lens driving device includes a shake correction unit 500 for correcting the shake; see page 3, lines 14-15),
wherein the image stabilizer comprises:
a lens array comprising at least one lens (A plurality of lenses are mounted on the lens barrel 210 along the optical axis; see page 3, lines 5-7 and fig. 2),
an actuator configured to drive the lens array in a first direction and a second direction orthogonal to the first direction (The frame 310 and the lens holder 320 are moved in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis (Z axis) with respect to the carrier 300 by a driving force generated by a plurality of magnets and a plurality of coils, X-axis and Y-axis; see page 7, lines 12-17 and page 10, lines 15-22), and
a housing mounted on the actuator (The case 110 is coupled to the housing 120 and functions to protect internal components of the camera module 100; see fig. 2, and page 4, lines 7-8),
wherein the actuator comprises:
the carrier (items 300, 320; see fig. 2) comprising multiple magnets on a first side surface facing in the second direction and a second side surface parallel to the first side surface (The magnet 410 is be mounted on one side of the carrier 300; see fig. 2 and page 4, lines 26-27. The second magnet 520a are mounted on the lens holder 320 see fig. 2 and page 7, lines 23-24. Magnet 520a is mounted parallel to magnet 410; see figs. 2, 6a), and
a container configured to control electromagnetic forces of the multiple magnets, the container comprising multiple coils corresponding to the multiple magnets, respectively (The substrate 600 is mounted on the side surface of the housing 120 such that the magnet 410 and the driving coil 430 are opposed to each other in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis (Z axis); see fig. 2 and page 4, lines 28-30. The second magnet 520a and the second drive coil 520b are perpendicular to the optical axis (Z axis); see fig. 2 and page 7, lines 28-32).
However, Lee does not expressly disclose a stopper configured to restrict movement of a carrier in a third direction orthogonal to the first direction and the second direction.
On the other hand, Rho discloses a stopper configured to restrict movement of a carrier in a third direction orthogonal to the first direction and the second direction (A cover 140 is coupled with the base 110. The cover 140 has a stopper to restrict the movement of the lens carrier 111 along the optical axis (Z axis) while preventing the lens carrier 111 from moving off the optical axis (Z axis); see paragraph 0068).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee and Rho to provide a stopper configured to restrict movement of a carrier in a third direction orthogonal to the first direction and the second direction for the purpose of improving image quality by maintaining the camera module within allowable movement ranges.
Regarding claim 2, Lee and Rho disclose everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Lee discloses the multiple magnets comprise: a first magnet disposed on the first side surface; and a second magnet disposed on the second side surface (The magnet 410 is be mounted on one side of the carrier 300; see fig. 2 and page 4, lines 26-27. The second magnet 520a are mounted on the lens holder 320 see fig. 2 and page 7, lines 23-24. Magnet 520a is mounted parallel to magnet 410; see figs. 2, 6a).
Regarding claim 9, Lee and Rho disclose everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Lee discloses the multiple coils comprise: a first coil disposed on the first side surface of the container and corresponding to the first magnet; and a second coil disposed on the first side surface of the container and corresponding to the first magnet (The sensing coil 470 includes two coils 470a and 470b arranged in the optical axis (Z-axis) direction; see fig. 2 and page 6, lines 8-10. Coil 430 and coil 470 face the magnet 410; see fig. 2; page 4, lines 28-30 and page 5, lines 26-28).
Allowable Subject Matter
10. Claims 5, 8, 11-12 and 13-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Citation of Pertinent Art
11. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Miyamori et al. (US-PGPUB 2010/0195206) discloses in the case where the magnet is two-pole magnetized, the "center line of the usable region" refers to a boundary line on which polarity changes between the N and S poles. Examples of the state of the magnet include, in addition to the case where an N-pole portion and a S-pole portion are physically integrated with each other, the case where the N-pole portion and the S-pole portion are separated from each other physically.
Contact Information
/CYNTHIA CALDERON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639 08/27/2026