DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claim 1-30 are pending and under examination.
Response to Amendment
The amendments to the claims, received 12/16/2025, are accepted and the previous claim objections are withdrawn. However, based on the amended claims, new claim objections have been set forth.
The amended claims have overcome the 112(b) rejection(s) previously set forth in the Final Office Action mailed on 09/16/2025.
In view of Applicant’s amended claims and remarks, the previous prior art rejection over Fava has been maintained (see below).
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3 recites “the assay protocol is created using comprises…” which appears to be grammatically incorrect and should recite “the assay protocol comprises…”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6-11, 13-17 and 19-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fava et al. (US 2002/0147515; already of record – hereinafter “Fava”), where CRS (A255 Robot Arm User Guide; already of record – hereinafter “CRS”) is used as supporting documentation, in view of Wang et al. (US 2015/0320022; already of record – hereinafter “Wang”), and further in view of Food and Drug Administration 21 CFR Part 211 (Current Good Manufacturing Practice for Finished Pharmaceuticals; in effect on 01/01/2022; already of record – hereinafter “FDA 211”).
Regarding claim 1, Fava disclose an automated system for conducting a GMP-compliant assay (Fava; figs. 1-4, [0020]), comprising:
a computer system (Fava disclose a laboratory automation workcell system LAWS comprising a process control PC, data manager DM, laboratory information system LIS, Laboratory information system driver U, a graphical user interface GUI, and an automation managing system AMS; figs. 1 & 2, [0015, 0017]), wherein the computer system stores an assay protocol for a GMP-compliant assay (Fava disclose the laboratory automation workcell system may be configured to automate a specific assay or a number of assays, wherein creation of a protocol is performed by a user; [0031, 0037-0039, 0041-0042, 0044, 0073-0077]), and wherein the computer system is capable of collecting data associated with at least one sample subjected to the assay protocol and producing a GMP-compliant dataset (The Food and Drug Administration 21 CFR Part 211 (Current Good Manufacturing Practice for Finished Pharmaceuticals; in effect on 01/01/2022 states under § 211.68 Automatic, mechanical, and electronic equipment “(b) Appropriate controls shall be exercised over computer or related systems to assure that changes in master production and control records or other records are instituted only by authorized personnel. Input to and output from the computer or related system of formulas or other records or data shall be checked for accuracy. The degree and frequency of input/output verification shall be based on the complexity and reliability of the computer or related system. A backup file of data entered into the computer or related system shall be maintained except where certain data, such as calculations performed in connection with laboratory analysis, are eliminated by computerization or other automated processes. In such instances a written record of the program shall be maintained along with appropriate validation data. Hard copy or alternative systems, such as duplicates, tapes, or microfilm, designed to assure that backup data are exact and complete and that it is secure from alteration, inadvertent erasures, or loss shall be maintained.”. Fava disclose control over changes in master production and control records or other records are instituted only by authorized personnel; 0044-0045, 0076-0077]). Fava also disclose a backup file of data entered into the computer or related system shall be maintained; [0077, 0083]) and
at least one automated equipment capable of subjecting the at least one sample to the assay protocol (Fava; [0017, 0020, 0032-0033, 0037-0039, 0041-0042, 0085]), wherein the computer system causes automated operation of the at least one automated equipment (Fava; [0020, 0041-0042]),
wherein the GMP-compliant dataset includes an audit trail of the dataset (Fava; [0044-0045, 0076, 0083]), identification of location data for the at least one sample throughout execution of the assay protocol (Fava; [0044-0045, 0077, 0083]), and a record of any changes to the assay protocol, software and/or at least one automated equipment controlled by the computer system (Fava; [0076]).
Fava does not teach the assay is for dupilumab, wherein the at least one sample comprises dupilumab, and the dataset is for dupilumab.
However, Wang disclose the analogous art of conducting an assay for dupilumab on at least one sample comprising dupilumab (Wang; [0193]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the assay performed by Fava with the assay for dupilumab, and to modify the at least one sample with the at least one sample comprising dupilumab, as taught by Wang, because Wang teaches assay performed on the at least one sample comprising Dupilumab determines the neutralizing effect against IL-4 (Wang; [0193]). Further, it would have been obvious to make the dupilumab assay of Wang automated as in Fava for the advantage of increased reproducibility, higher throughput, and use of less personal, because automating the dupilumab assay of Wang is merely automating a manual activity which is not considered patentably distinguishable over the prior art. In re Venner, 262 F.2d 91, 95, 120 USPQ 193, 194 (CCPA 1958) (Appellant argued that claims to a permanent mold casting apparatus for molding trunk pistons were allowable over the prior art because the claimed invention combined "old permanent-mold structures together with a timer and solenoid which automatically actuates the known pressure valve system to release the inner core after a predetermined time has elapsed." The court held that broadly providing an automatic or mechanical means to replace a manual activity which accomplished the same result is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art.). See MPEP 2144.04(III). The modification resulting in the dataset of Fava being for dupilumab. One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success since Fava and Wang teach performing an assay on at least one sample.
If it is deemed that modified Fava does not teach the automated system is GMP-compliant for conducting a GMP-compliant assay, or the dataset being GMP-compliant, FDA 211 disclose the analogous art of collecting data associated with at least one sample subjected to an assay protocol (FDA 211, p. 27, “§ 211.194 Laboratory records”, subsection (a)), wherein the data collection is GMP-compliant for conducting a GMP-compliant assay (FDA 211, p. 27, “§ 211.194 Laboratory records”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the automated system of modified Fava to be GMP-compliant, as directed by the FDA, because the GMP-compliant guidelines set forth by the Food and Drug Administration are used in drug product commercialization and distribution to humans or animals in which laboratory records of all tests, including assays, are required. The modification therefore comprising a GMP-compliant assay and GMP-compliant dataset. One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success since modified Fava and FDA 211 both teach collecting data on an assay for a drug product.
Regarding claim 2, modified Fava teach the system of claim 1 above, wherein the GMP-compliant assay for dupilumab is a bioassay (The modification of the assay performed by Fava with the assay for dupilumab, and the at least one sample with the at least one sample comprising dupilumab, as taught by Wang, and the modification of the automated system of modified Fava to be GMP-compliant, as directed by the FDA, have previously been discussed in claim 1 above. The in vitro IgE class-switching assay taught by Wang is a bioassay).
Regarding claim 3, modified Fava teach the system of claim 1 above, wherein the assay protocol is created using comprises workflow visualization, real-time control, monitoring, and error management on multiple devices in an integrated software platform (Fava disclose the laboratory automation workcell system may be configured to automate a specific assay or a number of assays, wherein creation of a protocol is performed by a user; fig. 1, [0015. 0031, 0037-0039, 0041-0059, 0061-0065, 0073-0084]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Fava teach the system of claim 1 above, wherein the assay protocol is optimized using data collected from the at least one sample comprising dupilumab subjected to the assay protocol (The modification of the assay performed by Fava with the assay for dupilumab, and the at least one sample with the at least one sample comprising dupilumab, as taught by Wang, has previously been discussed in claim 1 above. Fava disclose optimizing the assay protocol using data from the at least one sample; [0026-0027, 0067, 0071-0072]).
Regarding claim 6, modified Fava teach the system of claim 1 above, wherein the assay protocol is subjected to quality control review between 1 and 31 times per month, between 1 and 10 times per month, between 1 and 7 times per week, 1 time per week, 2 times per week, or 3 times per week.
Note: “wherein the protocol is subjected to quality control review between 1 and 31 times per month, between 1 and 10 times per month, between 1 and 7 times per week, 1 time per week, 2 times per week, or 3 times per week” relates to function/intended use. However, functional language does not add any further structure to an apparatus beyond that of a capability. See MPEP 2114 and 2111.04. Apparatus claims must distinguish over the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. Therefore, if the prior art structure is capable of performing the function, then the prior art meets the limitation in the claims.
Regarding claim 7, modified Fava teach the system of claim 1 above, wherein the computer system causes automated operation of the at least one automated equipment using a scheduling software (Fava; [0004, 0026-0027, 0030, 0040, 0043, 0069]).
Regarding claim 8, modified Fava teach the system of claim 7 above, wherein the scheduling software comprises workflow visualization, real-time control, monitoring, and error management on multiple devices in an integrated software platform (Fava; fig. 1, [0015, 0041-0059, 0061-0065, 0073-0084]).
Regarding claim 9, modified Fava teach the system of claim 1 above, wherein the at least one automated equipment includes a robotic arm (Fava; [0032, 0059]).
Regarding claim 10, modified Fava teach the system of claim 9 above, wherein the robotic arm is configured to move in the x, y, and z axes (Fava disclose equipment includes a CRS Robotics A255 articulated robot 13 mounted on a 4.5 meter long Inpecto TR-10/4 air bearing track (a double pair of pincers are designed to transfer Microtiter plates and Tip Racks and Sample Tubes to and from all Resources in the LAWS; [0032, 0059]. CRS part 1, page 1, paragraph 1 and corresponding figure disclose a robotic arm configured to move in the x, y, and z axes).
Regarding claim 11, modified Fava teach the system of claim 1 above, wherein the at least one automated equipment includes at least one liquid handler and/or reagent dispenser (Fava; [0033]).
Regarding claim 13, modified Fava teach the system of claim 1 above, wherein the at least one sample comprising dupilumab is selected from a group consisting of cell culture fluid, harvested cell culture fluid, filtrate, chromatography eluate, drug substance, and drug product (The modification of the assay performed by Fava with the assay for dupilumab, and the at least one sample with the at least one sample comprising dupilumab, as taught by Wang, has previously been discussed in claim 1 above. Dupilumab is a drug substance and a drug product).
Regarding claim 14, modified Fava teach the system of claim 1 above, wherein collecting data comprises subjecting the at least one sample comprising dupilumab to at least one measurement (The modification of the assay performed by Fava with the assay for dupilumab, and the at least one sample with the at least one sample comprising dupilumab, as taught by Wang, has previously been discussed in claim 1 above. Fava; [0023, 0033-0036, 0042, 0084]).
Regarding claim 15, modified Fava teach the system of claim 14 above, wherein the at least one measurement is selected from a group consisting of spectrophotometry, ultraviolet detection, fluorescence detection, luminescence detection, radioactivity detection, Raman spectroscopy, mass spectrometry, biolayer interferometry, surface plasmon resonance, and absorbance detection (Fava; [0034-0037]).
Regarding claim 16, modified Fava teach the system of claim 1 above, wherein the at least one sample comprising dupilumab is contained in a microplate (The modification of the assay performed by Fava with the assay for dupilumab, and the at least one sample with the at least one sample comprising dupilumab, as taught by Wang, has previously been discussed in claim 1 above. Fava; [0032, 0083]).
Regarding claim 17, modified Fava teach the system of claim 1 above, wherein collecting data includes using at least one data analysis software (Fava; [0023, 0027]).
Regarding claim 19, modified Fava teach the system of claim 1 above, wherein the GMP-compliant dataset of dupilumab includes a unique identifier for the at least one sample comprising dupilumab (The modification of the assay performed by Fava with the assay for dupilumab, and the at least one sample with the at least one sample comprising dupilumab, as taught by Wang, and the modification of the automated system of modified Fava to be GMP-compliant, as directed by the FDA, have previously been discussed in claim 1 above. Fava disclose the dataset includes a unique identifier for the at least one sample; [0018, 0022, 0083-0085]).
Regarding claim 20, modified Fava teach the system of claim 1 above, wherein the GMP-compliant dataset of dupilumab includes a unique identifier for a container containing the at least one sample comprising dupilumab (The modification of the assay performed by Fava with the assay for dupilumab, and the at least one sample with the at least one sample comprising dupilumab, as taught by Wang, and the modification of the automated system of modified Fava to be GMP-compliant, as directed by the FDA, have previously been discussed in claim 1 above. Fava disclose the dataset includes a unique identifier for a container containing the at least one sample; [0018, 0022, 0083-0085]).
Regarding claim 21, modified Fava teach the system of claim 20 above, wherein the unique identifier is a barcode (Fava; [0018, 0022, 0083-0085]).
Regarding claim 22, modified Fava teach the system of claim 21 above, wherein the barcode is generated using a label printer (Fava; [0018, 0022, 0083-0085]).
Regarding claim 23, modified Fava teach the system of claim 21 above, wherein the container is labeled with the barcode using a label printer (Fava; [0018, 0022, 0083-0085]).
Regarding claim 24, modified Fava teach the system of claim 21 above, wherein the automated operation comprises scanning the barcode at each step of subjecting the at least one sample comprising dupilumab to the assay protocol to generate location data for the at least one sample comprising dupilumab (The modification of the assay performed by Fava with the assay for dupilumab, and the at least one sample with the at least one sample comprising dupilumab, as taught by Wang, has previously been discussed in claim 1 above. Fava disclose standard export files associated with the barcode of each plate that is updated each time the barcode is scanned during the assay process; [0044-0045, 0077, 0083]).
Regarding claim 25, modified Fava teach the system of claim 1 above, wherein the GMP-compliant assay for dupilumab is a cell-based assay (The modification of the assay performed by Fava with the assay for dupilumab, and the at least one sample with the at least one sample comprising dupilumab, as taught by Wang, and the modification of the automated system of modified Fava to be GMP-compliant, as directed by the FDA, have previously been discussed in claim 1 above. Wang teach the assay is an in vitro IgE class-switching assay with primary B cells isolated from humanized IL-4Rα mice; [0193]).
Regarding claim 26, modified Fava teach the system of claim 1 above, further comprising a qualification system for qualifying the computer system and the at least one automated equipment (The modification of the assay performed by Fava with the assay for dupilumab, and the at least one sample with the at least one sample comprising dupilumab, as taught by Wang, and the modification of the automated system of modified Fava to be GMP-compliant, as directed by the FDA, have previously been discussed in claim 1 above. Accordingly, the LAWS system of modified Fava comprising a qualification system for qualifying the computer system and the at least one automated equipment).
Regarding claim 27, modified Fava teach the system of claim 26 above, wherein the qualification system is capable of qualifying the performance of the computer system and the at least one automated equipment (The modification of the assay performed by Fava with the assay for dupilumab, and the at least one sample with the at least one sample comprising dupilumab, as taught by Wang, and the modification of the automated system of modified Fava to be GMP-compliant, as directed by the FDA, have previously been discussed in claim 1 above. Accordingly, the LAWS system of modified Fava comprising a qualification system capable of qualifying the performance of the computer system and the at least one automated equipment).
Regarding claim 28, modified Fava teach the system of claim 1 above, further comprising a validation system for validating the data associated with the at least one sample comprising dupilumab subjected to the GMP-compliant assay protocol (The modification of the assay performed by Fava with the assay for dupilumab, and the at least one sample with the at least one sample comprising dupilumab, as taught by Wang, and the modification of the automated system of modified Fava to be GMP-compliant, as directed by the FDA, have previously been discussed in claim 1 above. Accordingly, the LAWS system of modified Fava comprising a validation system for validating the data associated with the at least one sample comprising dupilumab subjected to the GMP-compliant assay protocol).
Regarding claim 29, modified Fava teach the system of claim 28 above, wherein the validation system is capable of validating the data associated with the at least one sample comprising dupilumab subjected to the GMP-compliant assay protocol prior to producing the GMP-compliant dataset (The modification of the assay performed by Fava with the assay for dupilumab, and the at least one sample with the at least one sample comprising dupilumab, as taught by Wang, and the modification of the automated system of modified Fava to be GMP-compliant, as directed by the FDA, have previously been discussed in claim 1 above. Accordingly, the LAWS system of modified Fava comprising a validation system for validating capable of validating the data associated with the at least one sample comprising dupilumab subjected to the GMP-compliant assay protocol prior to producing the GMP-compliant dataset).
Regarding claim 30, modified Fava teach the system of claim 1 above, further comprising a qualification system for qualifying the computer system and the at least one automated equipment, and a validation system for validating the data associated with the at least one sample comprising dupilumab subjected to the GMP-compliant assay protocol (The modification of the assay performed by Fava with the assay for dupilumab, and the at least one sample with the at least one sample comprising dupilumab, as taught by Wang, and the modification of the automated system of modified Fava to be GMP-compliant, as directed by the FDA, have previously been discussed in claim 1 above. Accordingly, the LAWS system of modified Fava comprising a qualification system for qualifying the computer system and the at least one automated equipment, and a validation system for validating the data associated with the at least one sample comprising dupilumab subjected to the GMP-compliant assay protocol).
Claim 3 and 8 are additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fava, where CRS is used as supporting documentation, in view of Wang, in view of FDA 211, and further in view of Greka et al. (US 2021/0169827; already of record – hereinafter “Greka”).
Regarding claim 3, modified Fava teach the system of claim 1 above, comprising the assay protocol.
Modified Fava does not teach wherein the assay protocol is created using comprises workflow visualization, real-time control, monitoring, and error management on multiple devices in an integrated software platform.
However, Greka teaches the analogous art of an automated system comprising automated equipment, wherein the automated system uses Cellario (Greka; [0329]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the computer system of modified Fava to use Cellario for scheduling software, as taught by Greka, because Greka teaches Cellario software allows the automated equipment of the automated system to be choreograph so that the protocol may be performed.
NOTE: When the claimed invention and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, the prior art products necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product. See MPEP 2112.01. As stated in In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255 (CCPA 1977): Where, as here, the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, the PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his claimed product. Whether the rejection is based on “inherency” under 35 U.S.C. § 102, on “prima facie obviousness” under 35 U.S.C. § 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same, and its fairness is evidenced by the PTO’s inability to manufacture products or to obtain and compare prior art products. See MPEP 2112. A review of applicant’s as-filed specification states “In a specific aspect, the scheduling software is Cellario”, see paragraphs [0013, 0031]. In this case, Greka disclose an identical product.
Regarding claim 8, modified Fava teach the system of claim 7 above, comprising the scheduling software.
Modified Fava does not teach wherein the scheduling software is comprises workflow visualization, real-time control, monitoring, and error management on multiple devices in an integrated software platform.
However, Greka teaches the analogous art of an automated system comprising automated equipment, wherein the automated system uses Cellario (Greka; [0329]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the computer system of modified Fava to use Cellario for scheduling software, as taught by Greka, because Greka teaches Cellario software allows the automated equipment of the automated system to be choreograph so that the protocol may be performed.
NOTE: When the claimed invention and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, the prior art products necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product. See MPEP 2112.01. As stated in In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255 (CCPA 1977): Where, as here, the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, the PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his claimed product. Whether the rejection is based on “inherency” under 35 U.S.C. § 102, on “prima facie obviousness” under 35 U.S.C. § 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same, and its fairness is evidenced by the PTO’s inability to manufacture products or to obtain and compare prior art products. See MPEP 2112. A review of applicant’s as-filed specification states “In a specific aspect, the scheduling software is Cellario”, see paragraphs [0013, 0031]. In this case, Greka disclose an identical product.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fava, where CRS is used as supporting documentation, in view of Wang, in view of FDA 211, and further in view of Mishima et al. (US 2006/0190187; already of record – hereinafter “Mishima”).
Regarding claim 5, modified Fava disclose the system of claim 1 above, comprising the assay protocol.
Modified Fava does not teach wherein the assay protocol is protected by a password.
However, Mishima teach the analogous art of an automated system (Mishima; figs. 1 & 2, [0053-0054]), wherein the automated system is protected by a password (Mishima; figs. 21-23, S2, [0110]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the automated system comprising the protocol of modified Fava with the password protected system, as in Mishima, because Mishima teach the password grands access to a user’s confirmation database for the application program stored on the hard disk, and authenticates the user by determining whether or not there is an account recording the logon ID and password, whether or not the account is valid, and whether or not the account expiration time has expired; Mishima; [0110]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success since modified Fava and Mishima both teach systems that perform automated assays on samples.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fava, where CRS is used as supporting documentation, in view of Wang, in view of FDA 211, and further in view of Noggle et al. (US 2013/0345094; already of record – hereinafter “Noggle”).
Regarding claim 12, modified Fava teach the system of claim 11 above, comprising the at least one liquid handler and/or reagent dispenser configured to dispense (Fava; [0033]).
Modified Fava does not teach wherein the at least one liquid handler and/or reagent dispenser is configured to dispense between 0.5 µL to 1000 µL per channel, monitor air displacement, and comprises dynamic positioning system, and capacitance and pressure sensors.
However, Noggle teach the analogous art of at least one liquid handler and/or reagent dispenser configured to dispense (Noggle; fig. 5A, #100, [0218]), wherein the at least one liquid handler and/or reagent dispenser is configured to dispense between 0.5 µL to 1000 µL per channel, monitor air displacement, and comprises dynamic positioning system, and capacitance and pressure sensors (Noggle teach a Hamilton STARlet liquid handling robot; [0218]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the at least one liquid handler and/or reagent dispenser configured to dispense of modified Fava with the Hamilton STARlet liquid handling robot, as taught by Noggle, because Noggle teach the Hamilton STARlet liquid handling robot can be controlled by programmable software on a PC and is equipped with a modular arm for 4/8/12 channel pipetting (Noggle; [0230]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success since modified Fava and Noggle both teach laboratory automation with liquid handlers.
NOTE: When the claimed invention and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, the prior art products necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product. See MPEP 2112.01. As stated in In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255 (CCPA 1977): Where, as here, the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, the PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his claimed product. Whether the rejection is based on “inherency” under 35 U.S.C. § 102, on “prima facie obviousness” under 35 U.S.C. § 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same, and its fairness is evidenced by the PTO’s inability to manufacture products or to obtain and compare prior art products. See MPEP 2112. A review of applicant’s as-filed specification states “In a specific aspect, the at least one liquid handler and/or reagent dispenser is a Hamilton STARlet”, see paragraphs [0015, 0033]. In this case, Noggle disclose an identical product.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fava, where CRS is used as supporting documentation, in view of Wang, in view of FDA 211, and further in view of XU (US 2021/0011033; already of record – hereinafter “XU”).
Regarding claim 18, modified Fava teach the system of claim 17 above, comprising the at least one data analysis software (Fava; [0023, 0027]).
Modified Fava does not teach wherein the at least one data analysis software comprises pre-configured assay protocols, curve-fitting algorithms, cross-plate analysis, interpolation and automatic calculation metrics, data acquisition and visualization functions.
However, XU teach the analogous art of conducting an assay (XU; [0122]) and using at least one software comprising pre-configured assay protocols, curve-fitting algorithms, cross-plate analysis, interpolation and automatic calculation metrics, data acquisition and visualization functions to analyze data (XU teach using Softmax software to plot the standard curve of assay results; [0122]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the at least one data analysis software of modified Fava with Softmax software, as taught by XU, because XU teach Softmax software can be used to plot the standard curve for an assay (XU; [0122]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success since modified Fava and XU both teach data analysis of an assay using software.
NOTE: When the claimed invention and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, the prior art products necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product. See MPEP 2112.01. As stated in In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255 (CCPA 1977): Where, as here, the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, the PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his claimed product. Whether the rejection is based on “inherency” under 35 U.S.C. § 102, on “prima facie obviousness” under 35 U.S.C. § 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same, and its fairness is evidenced by the PTO’s inability to manufacture products or to obtain and compare prior art products. See MPEP 2112. A review of applicant’s as-filed specification states “In a specific aspect, the at least one data analysis software is SoftMax”, see paragraphs [0020, 0038]. In this case, XU disclose an identical product.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 29 and 42-44 of copending Application No. 18/409,065 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1 and 13-15 of copending Application No. 18/409,065 disclose:
An automated system for conducting a GMP-compliant assay for dupilumab (18/409,065 – Claims 29 and 42-44), comprising:
a computer system, wherein the computer system stores an assay protocol for a GMP-compliant assay for dupilumab (18/409,065 – Claims 29 and 42-44), and wherein the computer system is capable of collecting data associated with at least one sample comprising dupilumab subjected to the assay protocol and producing a GMP-compliant dataset of dupilumab (18/409,065 – Claims 29 and 42-44); and
at least one automated equipment capable of subjecting the at least one sample comprising dupilumab to the assay protocol (18/409,065 – Claims 29 and 42-44), wherein the computer system causes automated operation of the at least one automated equipment (18/409,065 – Claims 29 and 42-44),
wherein the GMP-compliant dataset of dupilumab includes an audit trail of the dataset (18/409,065 – Claims 29 and 42-44), identification of location data for the at least one sample comprising dupilumab throughout execution of the assay protocol (18/409,065 – Claims 29 and 42-44), and a record of any changes to the assay protocol, software and/or the at least one automated equipment controlled by the computer system (18/409,065 – Claims 29 and 42-44).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 12/16/2025 have been considered but were not found persuasive.
Applicant argues, see pages 6-8 of their remarks, that Fava’s disclosure on the automated system is limited to its ability to save modified protocols with specific identification and version number and maintain the history and status of samples, and saving a modified protocol does not teach or suggest to a person skilled in the art the additional steps and features of automatically generating an audit trail documenting every change to a protocol, and that information regarding the history and status of the samples fails to teach or suggest the method of securely maintaining the data showing the location of samples throughout the execution of the assay protocol. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Fava disclose “The Process Controller acquires the programs to be run, controls the timing with the internal database that maintains the history and status of each plate processed through the system. It communicates with Resource Drivers, while it creates a log file and data export files for the Laboratory Information System. Finally, the Resource Drivers communicate with the Resources in a modular and concurrent way.” (Fava; [0044]), “Actually, each Resource Driver has its own small database in which it keeps track of all plates that it is containing or processing at that moment in time. This allows the Process Controller and the Sample Carrier Device Driver to fully control and check the status of each plate as necessary” (Fava; [0077]), and “While creating the Protocol in this way, a text window is shown in which the script of low-level commands are displayed. It is possible at any moment during the Protocol definition (or when recalling an earlier defined Protocol) to modify, add or delete any line of this script. Protocols are saved, into the protocol Database, with a specific identification and version number so that they can be used in any future moment.” (Fava; [0076]). Accordingly, Fava teach an automated system for conducting an assay which includes storing the assaying protocol to include any changes and record of associated usage data, wherein any change to the protocol is stored and tracked, collecting data associated with the at least one sample subjected to the assay protocol as part of the automated operation of the assay protocol, and generating a dataset from the collected data as part of the automated operation of the assay protocol including an audit trail, identification of location data, and a record of any changes to the assay protocol.
Applicant further argues on pages 8-9 of their remarks towards the combination of Fava in view of Wang that Wang does not provide any indication that the assay is suitable for automated use in a GMP-compliant setting, and cites Example 2 described in Applicant’s specification which evaluates the performance of the automated assay against the manual assay, and that no motivation is provided in Wang for deriving the claimed invention. The examiner respectfully disagrees. First, automating a manual activity is not considered patentably distinguishable over the prior art. In re Venner, 262 F.2d 91, 95, 120 USPQ 193, 194 (CCPA 1958) (Appellant argued that claims to a permanent mold casting apparatus for molding trunk pistons were allowable over the prior art because the claimed invention combined "old permanent-mold structures together with a timer and solenoid which automatically actuates the known pressure valve system to release the inner core after a predetermined time has elapsed." The court held that broadly providing an automatic or mechanical means to replace a manual activity which accomplished the same result is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art.). See MPEP 2144.04(III). Second, Applicant’s Example 2 concludes in paragraph [0152] of their printed publication that “these results demonstrated that the automated assay behaved in a manner consistent with or better than the manual assay.”. Additionally, Fava discloses the automated system is designed for different assays (Fava; [0005, 0042]) and utilizes equivalent laboratory equipment including plates, tip racks, sample carrier devices, a turntable, container handling devices, a barcode reader, plate storage carousels, tip rack storage carousel, a plate sealer, liquid handlers and/or reagent dispensers, robotic arms, a plate shaker, an incubator, a plate washer, and assay devices for detection (Fava; [0032-0033]) for performing assay protocols in an automated manner, which would behave in a manner consistent with or better than the manual method of Wang. That being said, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the assay performed by Fava with the assay for dupilumab, and to modify the at least one sample with the at least one sample comprising dupilumab, as taught by Wang, because Wang teaches assay performed on the at least one sample comprising Dupilumab determines the neutralizing effect against IL-4 (Wang; [0193]).
Applicant argues on pages 9-10 of their remarks towards the combination of Fava in view of FDA 211 that FDA 211 avoids prescribing specific, detailed methods for implementing these standards, and does not specify a specific system or method for generating GMP-compliant assay records. The examiner respectfully disagrees. The Food and Drug Administration 21 CFR Part 211 (Current Good Manufacturing Practice for Finished Pharmaceuticals; in effect on 01/01/2022 states under § 211.68 Automatic, mechanical, and electronic equipment “(b) Appropriate controls shall be exercised over computer or related systems to assure that changes in master production and control records or other records are instituted only by authorized personnel. Input to and output from the computer or related system of formulas or other records or data shall be checked for accuracy. The degree and frequency of input/output verification shall be based on the complexity and reliability of the computer or related system. A backup file of data entered into the computer or related system shall be maintained except where certain data, such as calculations performed in connection with laboratory analysis, are eliminated by computerization or other automated processes. In such instances a written record of the program shall be maintained along with appropriate validation data. Hard copy or alternative systems, such as duplicates, tapes, or microfilm, designed to assure that backup data are exact and complete and that it is secure from alteration, inadvertent erasures, or loss shall be maintained.”. Fava disclose control over changes in master production and control records or other records are instituted only by authorized personnel (Fava; 0044, 0076-0077]). Fava also disclose a backup file of data entered into the computer or related system shall be maintained (Fava; [0077, 0083]). In short, the system of Fava would satisfy many of the GMP guidelines but is absent to a specific teaching of the term “GMP-Compliant”. That said, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the automated system of modified Fava to be GMP-compliant, as directed by the FDA, because the GMP-compliant guidelines set forth by the Food and Drug Administration are used in drug product commercialization and distribution to humans or animals in which laboratory records of all tests, including assays, are required. The modification therefore comprising a GMP-compliant assay and GMP-compliant dataset. One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success since modified Fava and FDA 211 both teach collecting data on an assay for a drug product.
Applicant’s arguments on pages 10-13 have been fully considered but are moot as the Office Action does not rely on theses references as teaching the argued limitations.
Applicant’s argument on page 14 has been fully considered but was not found persuasive. Applicant argues towards the double patenting rejection that a terminal disclaimer for copending application no. 18/409,065 was filed August 25, 2025 and thus when the claims of copending application no. 18/409,065 have been patented, the rejection has been overcome. The examiner respectfully disagrees. The subsequent terminal disclaimer review decision, mailed 09/08/2025, has not overcome the double patenting rejection as the review decision was “DISAPPROVED” due to the TD signature not originating from the applicant, patentee or attorney or agent of record. 37 CFR 1.321(a) and (b).
Citations to art
In the above citations to documents in the art, an effort has been made to specifically cite representative passages, however rejections are in reference to the entirety of each document relied upon. Other passages, not specifically cited, may apply as well.
Other References Cited
The prior art of made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure include:
Kochar et al. (US 2022/0365106) disclose methods, devices and systems for associating consumable data with an assay consumable used in a biological assay.
Farrelly et al. (US 2007/0184546) disclose a robotic laboratory automation workcell including equipment that is integrated using a conveyor and controlled by a controller with specialized software to automate the proteomics research process.
Wagner et al. (US 2022/0284574) disclose platforms, systems, and methods including a cell culture system.
Preston et al. (US 2018/0068359) disclose systems and methods for manufacturing control that utilize blockchain technology and smart contracts.
Conclusion
E-mail communication Authorization
Per updated USPTO Internet usage policies, Applicant and/or applicant’s representative is encouraged to authorize the USPTO examiner to discuss any subject matter concerning the above application via Internet e-mail communications. See MPEP 502.03. To approve such communications, Applicant must provide written authorization for e-mail communication by submitting the following statement via EFS Web (using PTO/SB/439) or Central Fax (571-273-8300):
Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with the undersigned and practitioners in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 and 37 CFR 1.34 concerning any subject matter of this application by video conferencing, instant messaging, or electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file.
Written authorizations submitted to the Examiner via e-mail are NOT proper. Written authorizations must be submitted via EFS-Web (using PTO/SB/439) or Central Fax (571-273-8300). A paper copy of e-mail correspondence will be placed in the patent application when appropriate. E-mails from the USPTO are for the sole use of the intended recipient, and may contain information subject to the confidentiality requirement set forth in 35 USC § 122. See also MPEP 502.03.
/C.A.T./Examiner, Art Unit 1798
/BENJAMIN R WHATLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1798