DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In the amendment filed on July 31, 2026, the following has occurred: claim(s) 1-2, 6-10, 12-17, 19-22 have been amended, the Abstract has been amended to comply with the word length requirement, the Specification has been amended to correct typographical errors, and the Drawings have been amended to correct typographical errors. Now, claim(s) 1-22 are pending and the amendments have been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim(s) 1-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is
directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Clam 1: Step 1
Claims 1-20 are drawn to a system, claim 21 is drawn to a non-transitory computer-readable medium, and claim 22 is drawn to a method, and of which are within the four statutory categories (i.e., a machine and a process). Claims 1-22 are further directed to an abstract idea on the grounds set out in detail below.
Clam 1: Step 2A Prong One
Claim 1 recite(s):
detecting, a first user input corresponding to a user request to initiate a workout session;
in response to detecting the first user input, initiating a workout session;
while the workout session is active, detecting, one or more user inputs corresponding to a user request to activate a workout-based check-in session, including selection of a displayed check-in option
These limitations, as drafted, given the broadest reasonable interpretation but for the
recitation of generic computer components, encompass managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following
rules or instructions), which is a subgrouping of Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity. For example, detecting a first user input corresponding to a user request to initiate a workout session, initiating a workout session, and detecting, one or more user inputs corresponding to a user request to activate a workout-based check-in session could be carried out by a person following instructions.
Claim 1: Step 2A Prong Two
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the remaining
elements amount to no more than general purpose computer components programmed to perform
the abstract idea, insignificant extra-solution activity, and generally linking the abstract idea to a
technical environment.
Claim 1, directly or indirectly, recites the following generic computer components configured to implement the abstract idea “one or more processors; and”, “memory storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for:”, “…via the one or more input devices,”. As set forth in the MPEP 2106.04(d) “merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer” is an example of when an abstract idea has not been integrated into a practical application.
Additionally, the claim recites “in response to detecting the one or more user inputs corresponding to the user request to activate the workout-based check-in session with an external computer system, initiating a process for activating a workout-based check-in session with the external computer system separate from the computer system, wherein, while the workout-based check-in session is active, the computer system automatically transmits notifications to the external computer system based on satisfaction of notification criteria pertaining to the computer system;”, “while the workout-based check-in session with the external computer system is active: in accordance with a determination that notification criteria are satisfied, transmitting check-in notification information to the first external computer system, wherein the check-in notification information causes the first external computer system to output information corresponding to the computer system”, “the external computer system, after receiving the check-in notification information, displays an affordance that,” at a high degree of generality, amount no more than receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information). As set forth in MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), computer functions as well-understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic
manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity, is an
example of when an abstract idea has not been integrated into a practical application.
Additionally, the claim recites “with the external computer system separate from the computer system” and “when selected at the external computer system, causes the external computer system to initiate a call with the computer system” at a high degree of generality, amount no more than generally linking the abstract idea to a particular technical environment. The recitation is also similar to adding the words “apply it” to the abstract idea. As set forth in MPEP 2106.05(f), merely reciting the words “apply it” or an equivalent, is an example of when an abstract idea has not been integrated into a practical application.
Claim 1: Step 2B
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to
significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of
the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of using a computer configured to perform above identified functions amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. See Alice 573 U.S. at 223 (“mere recitation of a generic computer cannot transform a patent-ineligible abstract idea
into a patent-eligible invention.”)
Insignificant, extra solution, data gathering activity has been found to not amount to
significantly more than an abstract idea (See MPEP 2106.05(g)). Therefore, whether considered
alone or in combination, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the
abstract idea.
Additionally, generally linking the abstract idea to a particular technological environment
does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea (See MPEP 2106.05(h) and Affinity
Labs of Texas v. DirectTV, LLC, 838 F.3d 1253, 120 USP12d 1201 (Fed. Cir. 2016)).
Dependent claims 2-20 incorporate the abstract idea identified above and recite additional limitations that expand on the abstract idea. For example, claims 2-17, 20 further describe receiving or transmitting data over a network. Finally, claims 18-19 describe identifying power levels of a device. Therefore, these claims recite limitations that fall into the Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity grouping of abstract ideas.
Dependent claims recite additional subject matter which amount to limitations consisted
with the additional elements in independent claim 1 (such as claims 2-17, 20 recites additional
limitations that amount to insignificant, extra solution, data gathering activity).
Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation and do not impose a meaningful limit to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
The claims are not patent eligible.
Claims 21-22 recite similar functions to claim 1, but in non-transitory computer-readable storage medium and method form. Independent claim 22 lacks the additional elements of “one or more processors; and memory storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for:”. The claims are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, 7-8, 10-15, 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moll-Carrillo et al. (U.S. Patent Pre-Grant Publication No. 2013/0249708) in view of Lyke et al. (U.S. Patent Pre-Grant Publication No. 2021/0201691) in further view of Czarnecki et al. (U.S. Patent Pre-Grant Publication No. 2015/0312409).
As per independent claim 1, Moll-Carrillo discloses a computer system configured to communicate with one or more display generation components and one or more input devices, comprising:
one or more processors (See [0045]: The processing unit 105 and the system memory 107 are connected, either directly or indirectly, through a bus 113 or alternate communication structure to one or more peripheral devices); and
memory storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors (See [0044]-[0045]: The processing unit 105 and the system memory 107 are connected, either directly or indirectly, through a bus 113 or alternate communication structure to one or more peripheral devices), the one or more programs including instructions for:
detecting, via the one or more input devices, a first user input corresponding to a user request to initiate a workout session (See Fig. 17 and [0133]-[0136]: The user or athlete may begin with, for example, a workout selection interface 1710 as selected by a workout icon to start a workout, which the Examiner is interpreting a mobile device to encompass one or more input devices);
in response to detecting the first user input, initiating a workout session (See Fig. 18 and [0138]: FIG. 18 illustrates that once the workout begins, the user or athlete may lock out or otherwise deactivate one or more functions and/or one or more user input interfaces.)
While Moll-Carrillo teaches a system for detecting, via the one or more input devices, a first user input corresponding to a user request to initiate a workout session; and
in response to detecting the first user input, initiating a workout session, Moll-Carrillo may not explicitly teach while the workout session is active, detecting, via the one or more input devices, one or more user inputs corresponding to a user request to activate a workout-based check-in session with the external computer system separate from the computer system, including selection of a displayed check-in option;
in response to detecting the one or more user inputs corresponding to the user request to activate the workout-based check-in session with the external computer system, initiating a process for activating a workout-based check-in session with the external computer system separate from the computer system, wherein, while the workout-based check-in session is active, the computer system automatically transmits notifications to the external computer system based on satisfaction of notification criteria pertaining to the computer system; and
while the workout-based check-in session with the external computer system is active:
in accordance with a determination that notification criteria are satisfied, transmitting check-in notification information to the external computer system, wherein: the check-in notification information causes the external computer system to output information corresponding to the computer system.
Lyke teaches a system for while the workout session is active, detecting, via the one or more input devices, one or more user inputs corresponding to a user request to activate a workout-based check-in session with the external computer system separate from the computer system, including selection of a displayed check-in option (See Fig. 3 and [0060]-[0061], [0081]-[0082], [0171]: A user may navigate the workout (“PREV”, “NEXT”) with virtual buttons and, a user may also scroll through the workout using a horizontal user interface (UI) gesture (swipe back/forth) to select between activities, which the Examiner is interpreting the dynamic feedback to encompass a workout-based check-in session with the external computer system separate from the computer system, including selection of a displayed check-in option as the user device is in communication with a health tracking network);
in response to detecting the one or more user inputs corresponding to the user request to activate the workout-based check-in session with the external computer system, initiating a process for activating a workout-based check-in session with the external computer system separate from the computer system, wherein, while the workout-based check-in session is active, the computer system automatically transmits notifications to the external computer system based on satisfaction of notification criteria pertaining to the computer system (See [0056]-[0061], [0171]: During a workout or other day-to-day activity, the user can receive dynamic feedback based on the expected profile; e.g., the user can be immediately notified and coached when they are over/under performing, which the Examiner is interpreting the dynamic feedback to encompass the computer system automatically transmits notifications to the external computer system based on satisfaction of notification criteria pertaining to the computer system as the user's performance is compare to expected profiles to identify if the user is meeting their goals ([0058])); and
while the workout-based check-in session with the external computer system is active:
in accordance with a determination that notification criteria are satisfied, transmitting check-in notification information to the external computer system, wherein: the check-in notification information causes the external computer system to output information corresponding to the computer system (See Fig. 5A-5B and [0081]-[0082], [0088], [0166]-[0170]: The server is specifically configured to analyze workout data records and/or readiness/recovery information from a number of users to generate expected profiles that describe e.g., the physiological and/or psychological behavior of similar users in terms of heuristics and performance metrics, which the Examiner is interpreting the health tracking network to encompass the external computer system ([0081]), and interpreting actual performance that deviates from the expected performance beyond an acceptable range may trigger execution of a heuristic and/or feedback to encompass the check-in notification information causes the external computer system to output information corresponding to the computer system as the system can use a server apparatus that could display outputs ([0166]-[0170]).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed to modify the system of Moll-Carrillo to include while the workout session is active, detecting, via the one or more input devices, one or more user inputs corresponding to a user request to activate a workout-based check-in session with the external computer system separate from the computer system, including selection of a displayed check-in option; in response to detecting the one or more user inputs corresponding to the user request to activate the workout-based check-in session with the external computer system, initiating a process for activating a workout-based check-in session with the external computer system separate from the computer system, wherein, while the workout-based check-in session is active, the computer system automatically transmits notifications to the external computer system based on satisfaction of notification criteria pertaining to the computer system; and while the workout-based check-in session with the external computer system is active: in accordance with a determination that notification criteria are satisfied, transmitting check-in notification information to the external computer system, wherein the check-in notification information causes the external computer system to output information corresponding to the computer system as taught by Lyke. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Moll-Carrillo with Lyke with the motivation of providing improved methods for providing workout recommendations and coaching (See Description of Related Technology of Lyke in [0005]).
While Moll-Carillo/Lyke discloses a system for while the workout-based check-in session with the external computer system is active:
in accordance with a determination that notification criteria are satisfied, transmitting check-in notification information to the external computer system, Moll-Carillo/Lyke may not explicitly teach wherein:
the external computer system, after receiving the check-in notification information, displays an affordance that, when selected at the external computer system, causes the external computer system to initiate a call with the computer system.
Czarnecki teaches a system wherein:
the external computer system, after receiving the check-in notification information (See [0116]-[0118], [0120]: The response message RM may include information regarding a current situation, a future situation, or both a current situation and a future situation of the first user USER1, or may be a simple response message, which the Examiner is interpreting first device to encompass the computer system, and second device to encompass the external computer system, and interpreting the response message to encompass the check-in notification information as the response message details the situation of the user of the first device), displays an affordance that, when selected at the external computer system, causes the external computer system to initiate a call with the computer system (See Fig. 4 and [0120], [0181]: The second device transmits a phone call or a message and, in response thereto, the first device transmits a response message, which the Examiner is interpreting the second device transmitting a phone call to encompass an affordance that, when selected at the external computer system, causes the external computer system to initiate a call with the computer system when combined with Lyke’s disclosure of “actual performance that deviates from the expected performance beyond an acceptable range may trigger execution of a heuristic and/or feedback”.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed to modify the system of Moll-Carrillo/Lyke to include the external computer system, after receiving the check-in notification information, displays an affordance that, when selected at the external computer system, causes the external computer system to initiate a call with the computer system as taught by Czarnecki. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Moll-Carrillo/Lyke with Czarnecki with the motivation of providing an improvement to the user convenience by selecting a form of a message to be transmitted based on a current situation of a user (See Detailed Description of Czarnecki in [0408]).
Claim(s) 21-22 mirrors claim 1 only within (a) different statutory category/categories, and is rejected for the same reason as claim 1.
As per claim 4, Moll-Carrillo/Lyke/Czarnecki discloses the system of claim 1 as described above. Moll-Carrillo further teaches the one or more programs further including instructions for:
while the workout session is active, concurrently displaying, via the one or more display generation components:
the check-in option (See Fig. 21 and [0139]: The mobile device touchscreen may enable the user to share workout with a webpage, which the Examiner is interpreting to encompass the "check-in" option, when combined with Lyke); and
an end workout option that, when selected, causes the computer system to initiate a process for ending the workout session (See Fig. 21 and [0139]: The mobile device touchscreen may enable the user to end their current workout.)
As per claim 5, Moll-Carrillo/Lyke/Czarnecki discloses the system of claim 1 as described above. Moll-Carrillo further teaches the one or more programs further including instructions for:
while the workout session is active, concurrently displaying, via the one or more display generation components:
the check-in option (See Fig. 21 and [0139]: The mobile device touchscreen may enable the user to share workout with a webpage, which the Examiner is interpreting to encompass the "check-in" option, when combined with Lyke); and
a pause workout option that, when selected, causes the computer system to pause the workout session (See Fig. 20-21 and [0139]: The mobile device touchscreen may enable the user to pause their current workout.)
As per claim 7, Moll-Carrillo/Lyke/Czarnecki discloses the system of claim 1 as described above. Moll-Carrillo further teaches the one or more programs further including instructions for:
while the workout-based check-in session with the external computer system is active, detecting one or more user inputs corresponding to a user request to end the workout-based check-in session (See Fig. 21 and [0139]: The mobile device touchscreen may enable the user to end their current workout); and
in response to detecting the one or more user inputs corresponding to the user request to end the workout-based check-in session, ending the workout-based check-in session (See Fig. 22 and [0139]-[0140]: Once the user or athlete has ended their workout, information associated with their workout may be graphically displayed as illustrated by FIG. 22), wherein:
the determination that notification criteria are satisfied includes a determination that the user of the computer system has ended the workout-based check-in session (See Fig. 22 and [0139]-[0140]: Once the user or athlete has ended their workout, information associated with their workout may be graphically displayed as illustrated by FIG. 22); and
the check-in notification information is transmitted to the external computer system in accordance with a determination that the user of the computer system has ended the workout-based check-in session (See [0139]-[0141]: The information associated with the workout may be uploaded via the mobile telephone's wireless data connection, which the Examiner is interpreting the information associated with the workout to encompass a determination that the user of the computer system has ended the workout-based check-in session.)
As per claim 8, Moll-Carrillo/Lyke/Czarnecki discloses the system of claim 1 as described above. Moll-Carrillo further teaches the one or more programs further including instructions for:
while the workout-based check-in session with the external computer system is active, detecting one or more user inputs corresponding to a user request to end the workout session (See Fig. 21 and [0139]: The mobile device touchscreen may enable the user to end their current workout); and
in response to detecting the one or more user inputs corresponding to the user request to end the workout session, ending the workout session (See Fig. 22 and [0139]-[0140]: Once the user or athlete has ended their workout, information associated with their workout may be graphically displayed as illustrated by FIG. 22), wherein:
the determination that notification criteria are satisfied includes a determination that the workout session has ended (See Fig. 22 and [0139]-[0140]: Once the user or athlete has ended their workout, information associated with their workout may be graphically displayed as illustrated by FIG. 22); and
the check-in notification information is transmitted to the external computer system in accordance with a determination that workout session has ended (See [0139]-[0141]: The information associated with the workout may be uploaded via the mobile telephone's wireless data connection, which the Examiner is interpreting the information associated with the workout to encompass a determination that the user the check-in notification information is transmitted to the external computer system in accordance with a determination that workout session has ended.)
As per claim 10, Moll-Carrillo/Lyke/Czarnecki discloses the system of claim 1 as described above. Moll-Carrillo further teaches the one or more programs further including instructions for:
while the workout-based check-in session with the external computer system is active, detecting that a connected device that was in communication with the computer system is no longer in communication with the computer system (See [0154]: If a wireless connection is not available, workout data may be synchronized by using a physical data transfer connection (e.g., Universal Serial Bus (USB) connection), which the Examiner is interpreting the identification that there is not a wireless connection to encompass detecting that a connected device that was in communication with the computer system is no longer in communication with the computer system), wherein:
the determination that notification criteria are satisfied includes a determination that the connected device is no longer in communication with the computer system (See [0154]: If a wireless connection is not available, workout data may be synchronized by using a physical data transfer connection (e.g., Universal Serial Bus (USB) connection), which the Examiner is interpreting the identification that there is not a wireless connection to encompass the claimed portion); and
the check-in notification information is transmitted to the external computer system in accordance with a determination that the connected device is no longer in communication with the computer system (See [0154]: If a wireless connection is not
available, workout data may be synchronized by using a physical data transfer connection (e.g., Universal Serial Bus (USB) connection), which the Examiner is interpreting synchronizing through an intermediary communication device to encompass a determination that the connected device is no longer in communication with the computer system.)
As per claim 11, Moll-Carrillo/Lyke/Czarnecki discloses the system of claim 1 as described above. Moll-Carrillo further teaches the one or more programs further including instructions for:
while the workout session is active, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a workout session user interface, wherein the workout session user interface displays one or more physical activity metrics that correspond to the workout session (See Fig. 22 and [0144]-[0153]: The Examiner is interpreting athletic workout data may be displayed on a mobile communication device to encompass the claimed portion), and displaying the workout session user interface includes:
in accordance with a determination that a workout-based check-in session is active, displaying a check-in indication that is indicative of an active workout-based check-in session (See Fig. 22 and [0144]-[0153]: The Examiner is interpreting athletic workout data may be displayed on a mobile communication device and the direct upload to webpage.com to encompass the claimed portion as the Examiner is interpreting the webpage.com to encompass check-in session); and
in accordance with a determination that workout-based check-in session is not active, forgoing display of the check-in indication (See Fig. 25: Fig. 25 illustrates example function buttons and commands that may be used during a workout, which the Examiner is interpreting forgoing display of the check-in indication.)
As per claim 12, Moll-Carrillo/Lyke/Czarnecki discloses the system of claim 1 as described above. Moll-Carrillo further teaches the one or more programs further including instructions for:
while the workout-based check-in session with the external computer system is active, detecting that user notification criteria are satisfied (See [0111]: The athletic display data configuration device can notify the participants of the winner of the challenge, and of the status of each participant during the challenge, which the Examiner is interpreting the notifying of the participants to encompass detecting that user notification criteria are satisfied); and
in response to detecting that the user notification criteria are satisfied, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a first user interface that pertains to the workout-based check-in session (See [0111]: The athletic display data configuration device can notify the participants of the winner of the challenge, and of the status of each participant during the challenge, which the Examiner is interpreting the athletic display data configuration device to encompass a first user interface that pertains to the workout-based check-in session.)
As per claim 13, Moll-Carrillo/Lyke/Czarnecki discloses the system of claims 1 and 12 as described above. Moll-Carrillo may not explicitly teach wherein the first user interface includes a continue check-in option that, when selected, causes the computer system to maintain the workout-based check-in session without transmitting check-in notification information to the external computer system.
Lyke teaches a system wherein the first user interface includes a continue check-in option that, when selected, causes the computer system to maintain the workout-based check-in session without transmitting check-in notification information to the external computer system (See [0056]: The user may continuously update and/or augment input on their personal fitness goals and continue to track their workout history, sleep, nutrition, which the Examiner is interpreting continuously update and/or augment input to encompass a continue check-in option that, when selected, causes the computer system to maintain the workout-based check-in session without transmitting check-in notification information to the external computer system.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed to modify the system of Moll-Carrillo to include the first user interface includes a continue check-in option that, when selected, causes the computer system to maintain the workout-based check-in session without transmitting check-in notification information to the external computer system as taught by Lyke. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Moll-Carrillo with Lyke with the motivation of providing improved methods for providing workout recommendations and coaching (See Description of Related Technology of Lyke in [0005]).
As per claim 14, Moll-Carrillo/Lyke/Czarnecki discloses the system of claims 1 and 12 as described above. Moll-Carrillo further teaches wherein:
the first user interface includes an end check-in option that, when selected, causes the computer system to end the workout-based check-in session (See Fig. 21 and [0139]: The mobile device touchscreen may enable the user to end their current workout, which the Examiner is interpreting ending the current workout to encompass end the workout-based check-in session); and
the one or more programs further including instructions for:
while displaying the first user interface, detecting, via the one or more input devices, a selection input corresponding to selection of the end check-in option (See Fig. 21 and [0139]: The mobile device touchscreen may enable the user to end their current workout, which the Examiner is interpreting to encompass the claimed portion); and
in response to detecting the selection input corresponding to selection of the end check-in option:
causing the workout-based check-in session to be terminated (See Fig. 21 and [0139]: The mobile device touchscreen may enable the user to end their current workout, which the Examiner is interpreting to encompass the claimed portion); and
transmitting, to the external computer system, check-in termination information which causes the external computer system to display an indication that the workout-based check-in session has been terminated (See [0139]-[0141]: The information associated with the workout may be uploaded via the mobile telephone's wireless data connection, which the Examiner is interpreting the information associated with the workout to encompass an indication that the workout-based check-in session has been terminated.)
As per claim 15, Moll-Carrillo/Lyke/Czarnecki discloses the system of claims 1 and 12 as described above. Moll-Carrillo may not explicitly teach the one or more programs further including instructions for:
while the workout-based check-in session with the external computer system is active:
in accordance with a determination that the first user interface has been displayed for a threshold duration of time without user input interacting with the first user interface, transmitting, to the external computer system, first check-in notification information pertaining to the workout-based check-in session that causes the external computer system to output first information corresponding to the computer system, wherein the first check-in notification information includes information pertaining to a location of the computer system and the first check-in notification information causes the external computer system to display information pertaining to the location of the computer system.
Lee teaches a system the one or more programs further including instructions for:
while the workout-based check-in session with the external computer system is active:
in accordance with a determination that the first user interface has been displayed for a threshold duration of time without user input interacting with the first user interface, transmitting, to the external computer system, first check-in notification information pertaining to the workout-based check-in session that causes the external computer system to output first information corresponding to the computer system, wherein the first check-in notification information includes information pertaining to a location of the computer system and the first check-in notification information causes the external computer system to display information pertaining to the location of the computer system (See [0056], [0157], [0190]: The user may continuously update and/or augment input on their personal fitness goals and continue to track their workout history, sleep, nutrition, and location information is available for the user, which the Examiner is interpreting the identification and tracking of a user's location to encompass the first check-in notification information includes information pertaining to a location of the computer system and the first check-in notification information causes the external computer system to display information pertaining to the location of the computer system as the user workout data records can be accessible via e.g., external APIs to a variety of other tools.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed to modify the system of Moll-Carrillo to include while the workout-based check-in session with the first external computer system is active: in accordance with a determination that the first user interface has been displayed for a threshold duration of time without user input interacting with the first user interface, transmitting, to the external computer system, first check-in notification information pertaining to the workout-based check-in session that causes the external computer system to output first information corresponding to the computer system, wherein the first check-in notification information includes information pertaining to a location of the computer system and the first check-in notification information causes the external computer system to display information pertaining to the location of the computer system as taught by Lyke. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Moll-Carrillo with Lyke with the motivation of providing improved methods for providing workout recommendations and coaching (See Description of Related Technology of Lyke in [0005]).
As per claim 20, Moll-Carrillo/Lyke/Czarnecki discloses the system of claim 1 as described above. Moll-Carrillo may not explicitly teach the one or more programs further including instructions for:
displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a messaging session user interface that corresponds to a messaging session that includes the user of the computer system and a first remote user that is associated with the external computer system;
while displaying the messaging session user interface, detecting, via the one or more display generation components, a first set of user inputs; and
in response to detecting the first set of user inputs:
in accordance with a determination that a workout session is active when the first set of user inputs is detected, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a selectable user interface object that, when selected, causes the computer system to initiate a process for activating a workout-based check-in session with the external computer system separate from the computer system; and
in accordance with a determination that a workout session is not active when the first set of user inputs is detected, forgoing display of the selectable user interface object.
Lyke teaches a system for the one or more programs further including instructions for:
displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a messaging session user interface that corresponds to a messaging session that includes the user of the computer system and a first remote user that is associated with the external computer system (See Fig. 3 and [0053], [0081], [0158]: An exemplary network architecture configured to enable workout coaching based on workout history and/or readiness/recovery information is shown in Fig. 3, which the Examiner is interpreting workout coaching to encompass workout coaching based on workout history and/or readiness/recovery information is shown);
while displaying the messaging session user interface, detecting, via the one or more display generation components, a first set of user inputs (See [0059]-[0064]: The exemplary user interface can provide dynamic feedback in response to such user input and/or during the workout, which the Examiner is interpreting the user input to encompass a first set of user inputs); and
in response to detecting the first set of user inputs:
in accordance with a determination that a workout session is active when the first set of user inputs is detected, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a selectable user interface object that, when selected, causes the computer system to initiate a process for activating a workout-based check-in session with external computer system separate from the computer system (See [0059]-[0064]: The Examiner is interpreting the prompting by the user to select a subjective emotional state to encompass a selectable user interface object that, when selected, causes the computer system to initiate a process for activating a workout-based check-in session with external computer system separate from the computer system as dynamic feedback to users is available ([0059])); and
in accordance with a determination that a workout session is not active when the first set of user inputs is detected, forgoing display of the selectable user interface object (See [0179]-[0180]: The exemplary user device may be further configured enable entry and/or display of collected data , which the Examiner is interpreting display of collected data to encompass forgoing display of the selectable user interface object when a determination that a workout session is not active when the first set of user inputs is detected.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed to modify the system of Moll-Carrillo to include the one or more programs further including instructions for: displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a messaging session user interface that corresponds to a messaging session that includes the user of the computer system and a first remote user that is associated with the external computer system; while displaying the messaging session user interface, detecting, via the one or more display generation components, a first set of user inputs; and in response to detecting the first set of user inputs: in accordance with a determination that a workout session is active when the first set of user inputs is detected, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a selectable user interface object that, when selected, causes the computer system to initiate a process for activating a workout-based check-in session with external computer system separate from the computer system; and in accordance with a determination that a workout session is not active when the first set of user inputs is detected, forgoing display of the selectable user interface object as taught by Lyke. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Moll-Carrillo with Lyke with the motivation of providing improved methods for providing workout recommendations and coaching (See Description of Related Technology of Lyke in [0005]).
Claims 2-3, 6, 9, 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moll-Carrillo et al. (U.S. Patent Pre-Grant Publication No. 2013/0249708) in view of Lyke et al. (U.S. Patent Pre-Grant Publication No. 2021/0201691) in view of Czarnecki et al. (U.S. Patent Pre-Grant Publication No. 2015/0312409) in further view of Lee (U.S. Patent Pre-Grant Publication No. 2016/0112474).
As per claim 2, Moll-Carrillo/Lyke/Czarnecki discloses the system of claim 1 as described above. Moll-Carrillo/Lyke/Czarnecki may not explicitly teach wherein initiating the process for activating the workout-based check-in session with the external computer system comprises:
displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a contact selection user interface that includes a plurality of contact options for the workout-based check-in session, including:
a first contact option corresponding to a first contact that, when selected, causes the computer system to initiate a process for activating a workout-based check-in session with the first contact; and
a second contact option corresponding to a second contact different from the first contact that, when selected, causes the computer system to initiate a process for activating a workout-based check-in session with the second contact.
Lee teaches a system wherein initiating the process for activating the workout-based check-in session with the external computer system comprises:
displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a contact selection user interface that includes a plurality of contact options for the workout-based check-in session (See [0056]: The content management module maps a content to a contact point stored in the electronic device, the content may be a phone number, a Social Networking Service (SNS) Identification (ID), and an e-mail address of a party, which the Examiner is interpreting the content management module to encompass a contact selection user interface), including:
a first contact option corresponding to a first contact that, when selected, causes the computer system to initiate a process for activating a workout-based check-in session with the first contact (See Fig. 8D and [0078]-[0079]: The content providing module 230 of the electronic device 800 may determine a plurality of contents selected by the user as the content to be shared with the party 821, which the Examiner is interpreting party 821 to encompass a first contact, and interpreting the content to be shared to encompass a workout-based check-in session); and
a second contact option corresponding to a second contact different from the first contact that, when selected, causes the computer system to initiate a process for activating a workout-based check-in session with the second contact (See Fig. 5C, 8D and [0078]-[0079]: The content providing module 230 of the electronic device 800 may determine a plurality of contents selected by the user as the content to be shared with the party 821, which the Examiner is interpreting party 821 to encompass a second contact as a second user can be selected on Fig. 5C, and interpreting the content to be shared to encompass a workout-based check-in session.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed to modify the system of Moll-Carrillo/Lyke/Czarnecki to include initiating the process for activating the workout-based check-in session with the external computer system comprises: displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a contact selection user interface that includes a plurality of contact options for the workout-based check-in session, including: a first contact option corresponding to a first contact that, when selected, causes the computer system to initiate a process for activating a workout-based check-in session with the first contact; and a second contact option corresponding to a second contact different from the first contact that, when selected, causes the computer system to initiate a process for activating a workout-based check-in session with the second contact as taught by Lee. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Moll-Carrillo/Lyke/Czarnecki with Lee with the motivation of efficiently sharing various types of content between electronic devices (See Summary of Lee in [0007]).
As per claim 3, Moll-Carrillo/Lyke/Czarnecki discloses the system of claim 1 and Moll-Carrillo/Lyke/Czarnecki/Lee discloses the system of claim 2 as described above. Moll-Carrillo/Lyke/Czarnecki may not explicitly teach wherein the first contact option is displayed within a first region of the contact selection user interface based on a determination that the user of the computer system has previously activated a workout-based check-in session with the first contact.
Lee teaches a system wherein the first contact option is displayed within a first region of the contact selection user interface based on a determination that the user of the computer system has previously activated a workout-based check-in session with the first contact (See Fig. 9 and [0086]-[0087]: The screen can be configured to show User #1's interaction over "past 30 days", "past 7 days", "yesterday", which the Examiner is interpreting the identification of past interactions to encompass a first region of the contact selection user interface based on a determination that the user of the computer system has previously activated a workout-based check-in session with the first contact.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed to modify the system of Moll-Carrillo/Lyke/Czarnecki to include the first contact option is displayed within a first region of the contact selection user interface based on a determination that the user of the computer system has previously activated a workout-based check-in session with the first contact as taught by Lee. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Moll-Carrillo/Lyke/Czarnecki with Lee with the motivation of efficiently sharing various types of content between electronic devices (See Summary of Lee in [0007]).
As per claim 6, Moll-Carrillo/Lyke/Czarnecki discloses the system of claim 1 as described above. Moll-Carrillo teaches a system for the one or more programs further including instructions for:
while the workout-based check-in session with the external computer system is active, detecting that computer system movement criteria are satisfied, wherein the computer system movement criteria pertain to movement of the computer system (See Fig. 3 and [0056], [0151]-[0152]: The athletic information monitoring device 201 includes accelerometers for measuring the movement of the user's foot, the computing unit 313 may analyze the processed signals from the athletic information monitoring device 201 to generate a set of athletic data describing the user's speed at specific instances during the users athletic activity and the total distance traveled by the user at each of those specific instances, which the Examiner is interpreting the criteria to determine which users will be treated as participating users to encompass detecting that computer system movement criteria are satisfied, wherein the computer system movement criteria pertain to movement of the computer system); and
in response to detecting that the computer system movement criteria are satisfied, displaying a first alert (See [0105]-[0109]: The athletic data display configuration device may notify the participants, by sending an electronic mail message or by displaying a special-purpose interface, which the Examiner is interpreting the notification to participants to encompass a first alert), wherein:
the determination that notification criteria are satisfied includes a determination that the user has not interacted with the first alert within a threshold duration of time; and
the check-in notification information is transmitted to the external computer system in accordance with a determination that the user has not interacted with the first alert within the threshold duration of time.
While Moll-Carrillo teaches a system in response to detecting that the computer system movement criteria are satisfied, displaying a first alert, Moll-Carrillo/Lyke/Czarnecki may not explicitly teach in response to detecting that the computer system movement criteria are satisfied, displaying a first alert, wherein:
the determination that notification criteria are satisfied includes a determination that the user has not interacted with the first alert within a threshold duration of time; and
the check-in notification information is transmitted to the external computer system in accordance with a determination that the user has not interacted with the first alert within the threshold duration of time.
Lee teaches a system in response to detecting that the computer system movement criteria are satisfied, displaying a first alert, wherein:
the determination that notification criteria are satisfied includes a determination that the user has not interacted with the first alert within a threshold duration of time (See Fig. 7, 8B and [0081]-[0082]: If the content sharing event does not occur, the electronic device returns to operation 701, and determines whether the content sharing event occurs within pre-determined intervals during which the application is being executed); and
the check-in notification information is transmitted to the external computer system in accordance with a determination that the user has not interacted with the first alert within the threshold duration of time (See Fig. 7, 8B and [0081]-[0082]: If the content sharing event does not occur, the electronic device returns to operation 701, and determines whether the content sharing event occurs within pre-determined intervals during which the application is being executed, which the Examiner is interpreting operation 701 to encompass the claimed portion.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed to modify the system of Moll-Carrillo/Lyke/Czarnecki to include in response to detecting that the computer system movement criteria are satisfied, displaying a first alert, wherein: the determination that notification criteria are satisfied includes a determination that the user has not interacted with the first alert within a threshold duration of time; and the check-in notification information is transmitted to the external computer system in accordance with a determination that the user has not interacted with the first alert within the threshold duration of time as taught by Lee. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Moll-Carrillo/Lyke/Czarnecki with Lee with the motivation of efficiently sharing various types of content between electronic devices (See Summary of Lee in [0007]).
As per claim 9, Moll-Carrillo/Lyke/Czarnecki discloses the system of claim 1 as described above. Moll-Carrillo/Lyke/Czarnecki may not explicitly teach the one or more programs further including instructions for:
while the workout-based check-in session with the external computer system is active, detecting one or more user inputs corresponding to a user request to transmit an emergency call; and
in response to detecting the one or more user inputs corresponding to the user request to transmit an emergency call, transmitting an emergency call, wherein:
the determination that notification criteria are satisfied includes a determination that the user of the computer system has initiated an emergency call; and
the check-in notification information is transmitted to the external computer system in accordance with a determination that the user of the computer system has initiated an emergency call.
Lee teaches a system for the one or more programs further including instructions for:
while the workout-based check-in session with the external computer system is active, detecting one or more user inputs corresponding to a user request to transmit an emergency call (See Fig. 5E and [0103]: The cellular module provides a voice call, a video call, a text message service or an Internet service through a communication network, which the Examiner is interpreting a voice call to encompass an emergency call); and
in response to detecting the one or more user inputs corresponding to the user request to transmit an emergency call, transmitting an emergency call (See [0103]-[0105]: The cellular module provides a voice call, a video call, a text message service or an Internet service through a communication network, which the Examiner is interpreting a voice call to encompass an emergency call), wherein:
the determination that notification criteria are satisfied includes a determination that the user of the computer system has initiated an emergency call (See [0047], [0103]-[0105]: The cellular module provides a voice call, a video call, a text message service or an Internet service through a communication network, which the Examiner is interpreting a voice call to encompass an emergency call as notification information can be sent to the user of the device or an external electronic device ([0047])); and
the check-in notification information is transmitted to the external computer system in accordance with a determination that the user of the computer system has initiated an emergency call (See [0047], [0103]-[0105]: The cellular module provides a voice call, a video call, a text message service or an Internet service through a communication network, which the Examiner is interpreting a voice call to encompass an emergency call as notification information can be sent to the user of the device or an external electronic device ([0047]).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed to modify the system of Moll-Carrillo/Lyke/Czarnecki to include the one or more programs further including instructions for: while the workout-based check-in session with the external computer system is active, detecting one or more user inputs corresponding to a user request to transmit an emergency call; and in response to detecting the one or more user inputs corresponding to the user request to transmit an emergency call, transmitting an emergency call, wherein: the determination that notification criteria are satisfied includes a determination that the user of the computer system has initiated an emergency call; and the check-in notification information is transmitted to the external computer system in accordance with a determination that the user of the computer system has initiated an emergency call as taught by Lee. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Moll-Carrillo/Lyke/Czarnecki with Lee with the motivation of efficiently sharing various types of content between electronic devices (See Summary of Lee in [0007]).
As per claim 16, Moll-Carrillo/Lyke/Czarnecki discloses the system of claims 1, 12, and 15 as described above. Moll-Carrillo/Lyke/Czarnecki may not explicitly teach the one or more programs further including instructions for:
while the workout-based check-in session with the external computer system is active:
in accordance with a determination that the first user interface has been displayed for the threshold duration of time without user input interacting with the first user interface: ceasing display of the first user interface; and
displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a second user interface different from the first user interface, wherein the second user interface indicates that first check-in notification information has been transmitted to the external computer system.
Lee teaches a system the one or more programs further including instructions for:
while the workout-based check-in session with the external computer system is active:
in accordance with a determination that the first user interface has been displayed for the threshold duration of time without user input interacting with the first user interface: ceasing display of the first user interface (See [0068]: The content stored in the contact point displays an image captured to distinguish the content from previously stored contents, which the Examiner is interpreting ceasing display of the first user interface); and
displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a second user interface different from the first user interface, wherein the second user interface indicates that first check-in notification information has been transmitted to the external computer system (See [0066]-[0068]: The content stored in the contact point displays an image captured to distinguish the content from previously stored contents, which the Examiner is interpreting the image to encompass a second user interface as the content confirming module of the electronic device is interpreted to encompass indicates that first check-in notification information has been transmitted to the external computer system.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed to modify the system of Moll-Carrillo/Lyke/Czarnecki to include the one or more programs further including instructions for: while the workout-based check-in session with the external computer system is active: in accordance with a determination that the first user interface has been displayed for the threshold duration of time without user input interacting with the first user interface: ceasing display of the first user interface; and displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a second user interface different from the first user interface, wherein the second user interface indicates that first check-in notification information has been transmitted to the external computer system as taught by Lee. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Moll-Carrillo/Lyke/Czarnecki with Lee with the motivation of efficiently sharing various types of content between electronic devices (See Summary of Lee in [0007]).
As per claim 17, Moll-Carrillo/Lyke/Czarnecki discloses the system of claims 1, 12, and 15, and Moll-Carrillo/Lyke/Czarnecki/Lee discloses the system of claim 16 as described above. Moll-Carrillo further teaches wherein the second user interface includes a stop sharing option that, when selected, causes the computer system to cease sharing location information pertaining to the location of the computer system with the external computer system (See Fig. 21 and [0139]: The mobile device touchscreen may enable the user to end their current workout, which the Examiner is interpreting to encompass the claimed portion as the workout is no longer tracked.)
As per claim 18, Moll-Carrillo/Lyke/Czarnecki discloses the system of claims 1 and 11 as described above. Moll-Carrillo/Lyke/Czarnecki may not explicitly teach the one or more programs further including instructions for:
while the workout-based check-in session is active, and while displaying the workout session user interface, detecting that the computer system has transitioned from a first power mode to a low power mode, wherein, in the low power mode, the computer system activates one or more power saving measures that are not activated in the first power mode; and
in response to detecting that the computer system has transitioned from the first power mode to the low power mode, updating the check-in indication to indicate that the computer system is in the low power mode.
Lee teaches a system the one or more programs further including instructions for:
while the workout-based check-in session is active, and while displaying the workout session user interface, detecting that the computer system has transitioned from a first power mode to a low power mode, wherein, in the low power mode, the computer system activates one or more power saving measures that are not activated in the first power mode (See [0127]: The power management module manages power of the electronic device, which the Examiner is interpreting to encompass detecting that the computer system has transitioned from a first power mode to a low power mode, wherein, in the low power mode, the computer system activates one or more power saving measures that are not activated in the first power mode); and
in response to detecting that the computer system has transitioned from the first power mode to the low power mode, updating the check-in indication to indicate that the computer system is in the low power mode (See [0127]-[0130]: The indicator displays a specific status of the electronic device, which the Examiner is interpreting to encompass the claimed portion when combined with the teachings of dynamic feedback by Lyke.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed to modify the system of Moll-Carrillo/Lyke/Czarnecki to include the one or more programs further including instructions for: while the workout-based check-in session is active, and while displaying the workout session user interface, detecting that the computer system has transitioned from a first power mode to a low power mode, wherein, in the low power mode, the computer system activates one or more power saving measures that are not activated in the first power mode; and in response to detecting that the computer system has transitioned from the first power mode to the low power mode, updating the check-in indication to indicate that the computer system is in the low power mode as taught by Lee. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Moll-Carrillo/Lyke/Czarnecki with Lee with the motivation of efficiently sharing various types of content between electronic devices (See Summary of Lee in [0007]).
As per claim 19, Moll-Carrillo/Lyke/Czarnecki discloses the system of claims 1 and 11, and Moll-Carrillo/Lyke/Czarnecki/Lee discloses the system of claim 18 as described above. Moll-Carrillo/Lyke/Czarnecki may not explicitly teach the one or more programs further including instructions for:
in response to detecting that the computer system has transitioned from the first power mode to the low power mode, transmitting low power information to the external computer system that causes the external computer system to display an indication that the computer system is in the low power mode.
Lee teaches a system the one or more programs further including instructions for:
in response to detecting that the computer system has transitioned from the first power mode to the low power mode, transmitting low power information to the external computer system that causes the external computer system to display an indication that the computer system is in the low power mode (See [0123]-[0130]: The indicator displays a specific status of the electronic device, which the Examiner is interpreting to encompass the claimed portion when combined with the teachings of dynamic feedback by Lyke.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed to modify the system of Moll-Carrillo/Lyke/Czarnecki to include the one or more programs further including instructions for: in response to detecting that the computer system has transitioned from the first power mode to the low power mode, transmitting low power information to the external computer system that causes the external computer system to display an indication that the computer system is in the low power mode as taught by Lee. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Moll-Carrillo/Lyke/Czarnecki with Lee with the motivation of efficiently sharing various types of content between electronic devices (See Summary of Lee in [0007]).
Response to Arguments
In the Remarks filed on July 31, 2026, the Applicant argues that the newly amended and/or added claims overcome the Claim Objection(s), 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection(s), and 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection(s). The Examiner acknowledges that the newly added and/or amended claims overcome the Claim Objection(s). However, the Examiner does not acknowledge that the newly added and/or amended claims overcome the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection(s) and 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection(s).
The Applicant argues that:
(1) Applicant respectfully disagrees. Even if the claims recite the alleged abstract idea, a point which Applicant does not concede, the alleged abstract idea is integrated into a practical application that is specific to the computing and user interface arts, as required by Step 2A Prong 2 of the USPTO's 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (hereinafter 2019 PEG). The claimed computer system provides a specific improvement to user interfaces for managing a work-out based notification system between two computer systems by displaying an affordance to initiate a call with the computer system when check-in notification information is sent to the external computer system. The claimed invention is patent eligible at least because it provides a specific improvement to a computer system through the use of improved interfaces for managing work-out based notifications between two computer systems. The claimed invention provides a solution to the ''generally cumbersome and inefficient'' techniques for displaying user interfaces for managing workout-based notifications. Specification at [0004]. Specifically, the existing techniques use complex and time-consuming user interfaces, thereby wasting user time and device energy, which is ''particularly important in battery operated devices." Id. Representative amended claim 1 is directed to an improved user interface for managing work-out based notification. In particular, the external computer system displays an affordance that, when selected, causes the external computer system to initiate a call with the computer system. Display of the affordance facilitates efficient communication between the external computer system and the computer system and allows the user of the external computer system to quickly and easily initiate a call with the computer system. The user interface enhances the operability of the device and makes the device more efficient ''by helping the user to provide proper inputs and reducing user mistakes when operating/interacting with the device[.]'' Specification at [0036]. This reduces the number of inputs necessary to initiate a call, provides additional control without cluttering the user interface, and reduces power usage and improves battery life. Id. Accordingly, the claimed invention provides improvements to the functioning of a computer, and therefore the representative amended claim 1 is patent eligible. Representative amended claim 1 recites additional elements that integrate any alleged abstract idea into a practical application and therefore the claims are not directed to an abstract idea under Step 2A Prong 2. Specifically, the additional elements provide an improvement to the functioning of a computer. Accordingly, based on the foregoing, Applicant respectfully requests that the Office withdraw the rejection under 35 USC § 101 of representative amended claim 1, and all claims depending therefrom;
(2) claims 1, 4-5, 7-8, 10-15, and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Moll-Carillo in view of Lyke. Applicant respectfully submits that representative independent claim 1 as amended (and all claims depending therefrom) are allowable over the reference for at least the following reasons. Neither Moll-Carillo nor Lyke disclose ''the external computer system, after receiving the check-in notification information, displays an affordance that, when selected at the external computer system, causes the external computer system to initiate a call with the computer system'' as required by representative amended independent claim 1, nor are they alleged to.1 Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests the § 103 rejections of claims 1, 4-5, 7-8, 10-15, and 20-22 be withdrawn and the claims allowed;
(3) claims 2-3, 6, 9, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Moll-Carillo, in view of Lyke, and further in view of Lee (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2016/0112474). Claims 2-3, 6, 9, and 16-19 depend directly or indirectly from independent claim 1, which is allowable for at least the reasons discussed above. Lee does not cure the deficiencies of Moll-Carillo and Lyke, nor is it alleged to. Accordingly, claims 2-3, 6, 9, and 16-19 are allowable for the reasons stated above. Applicant thus respectfully requests that the§ 103 rejections of claims 2-3, 6, 9, and 16-19 be withdrawn and the claims allowed;
In response to argument (1), the Examiner does not find the Applicant’s argument(s) persuasive. The Examiner does not acknowledge that the alleged abstract idea is integrated into a practical application as the Applicant’s additional elements amount to no more than general purpose computer components programmed to perform the abstract idea, insignificant extra-solution activity, and generally linking the abstract idea to a technical environment. The Examiner does not acknowledge that the Applicant’s claims recite “a specific improvement to user interfaces for managing a work-out based notification system between two computer systems by displaying an affordance to initiate a call with the computer system when check-in notification information is sent to the external computer system” as the Applicant’s technology is directed to displaying and communicating data that relates to monitored exercise. The Examiner maintains that the Applicant’s newly amended claimed limitations are similar to “iii. Gathering and analyzing information using conventional techniques and displaying the result, TLI Communications, 823 F.3d at 612-13, 118 USPQ2d at 1747-48”, which the courts have indicated may not be sufficient to show an improvement to technology (See MPEP 2106.05(a)(II)) and “vi. Instructions to display two sets of information on a computer display in a non-interfering manner, without any limitations specifying how to achieve the desired result, Interval Licensing LLC v. AOL, Inc., 896 F.3d 1335, 1344-45, 127 USPQ2d 1553, 1559-60 (Fed. Cir. 2018)” which the courts have indicated may not be sufficient to show an improvement in computer-functionality (See MPEP 2106.05(a)(I)). The 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection(s) stand.
In response to argument (2), the Examiner finds the Applicant’s argument(s) persuasive. The Examiner has supplemented the combination of Moll-Carillo and Lyke with Czarnecki et al. (U.S. Patent Pre-Grant Publication No. 2015/0312409) to teach the newly amended claims as described above in the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection(s). The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection(s) stand.
In response to argument (3), the Examiner does not find the Applicant’s argument(s) persuasive. The Examiner maintains that the combination of Moll-Carillo, Lyke, Czarnecki, and Lee teach the claims 2-3, 6, 9, and 16-19. The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection(s) stand.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
McIntosh (U.S. Patent Pre-Grant Publication No. 2009/0253554), describes a system may be used for improving a workout environment for a specific user or group of users, tracking exercise information, and providing future workout information. The system, and method of using the system, allows for a specific user or group of users to control their workout environmental conditions.
Kemp et al. (U.S. Patent Pre-Grant Publication No. 2013/0137552), describes a device that has controller module that selects music element for executing fitness exercise, monitoring biofeedback data obtained from user, monitoring device data obtained from fitness device (20-1-20-n) and controlling other components of device.
Peterlin et al. (“Older adults’ perceptions of online physical exercise management”), describes the challenges of digitally transforming physical exercises for older adults (aged more than 55 years) to be performed in virtual environments (during the COVID-19 pandemic) as a long-term proactive strategic initiative in response to the global ageing society and technological development trend.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Bennett Stephen Erickson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3683