DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Application 19/187,493 was filed on April 23, 2025 and is a continuation application of International Application No. PCT/KR2023/018224, filed on November 14, 2023, which claims priority to Korean Patent Application No. 10-2022-0158056, filed on November 23, 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on April 23, 2025 was filed before the mailing date of this non-final action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner notes method claims 1, 3-6, 15, 16, and 17 recites the following limitations:
“and performing, by a golf simulation device, a swing area login process when the golf service server completes the swing area reservation and the user authentication” (claim 1)
“and determining whether the selected swing area is an available swing area and whether a time zone list has been output when the selected swing area corresponds to the preemptible swing area” (claim 3)
“and selecting and allocating a swing area and a time zone when the selected swing area corresponds to the available swing area and the time zone list has been output or when other available swing areas and the time zone list have been output” (claim 3)
“and selecting a start time and also allocating a swing area when the selected swing area corresponds to the autonomous swing area” (claim 4)
“determining whether a selected swing area is an available swing area and whether a time zone list has been output when the selected swing area corresponds to a preemptible swing area” (claim 5)
“and changing the selected swing area to an autonomous swing area and then allocating it when the selected swing area does not correspond to the available swing area or when other available swing areas and the time zone list have not been output” (claim 5)
“and agreeing to reserve the swing area for a shorter period of time than that of the possessed usage ticket when the former period of time is not sufficient” (claim 6)
“automatically outputting a state of the swing area login when a preset login initiation condition is satisfied” (claim 15)
“comparing and determining a login initiation condition when a preset login determination loop condition is satisfied” (claim 16)
“and outputting a state of the swing area login to an output interface of another golf simulation device when it is determined by the golf simulation device or the golf service server that the swing area is changed” (claim 17)
Examiner notes that, under broadest reasonable interpretation, the underlined steps associated with the bolded conditional limitations above, do not need to be performed if the condition is not met. Thus, the broadest reasonable interpretation encompasses a method where only the steps that are not conditional are performed. See Ex Parte Schulhauser, Appeal No. 2013-007847 (P.T.A.B. Apr. 28, 2016).
Claim Objections
Claims 8, 11, and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 8 recites “transmitting, by the golf service server, a swing area login completion notification to the user terminal or the administrator terminal when the golf service server receives the swing area login response from the golf simulation device” (emphasis added). It appears that this limitation contains a typographical/grammatical error where the antecedent basis for “the user terminal” and “the administrator terminal” is missing. For the purposes of examination, claim 8 is interpreted to read, “transmitting, by the golf service server, a swing area login completion notification to a user terminal or an administrator terminal when the golf service server receives the swing area login response from the golf simulation device” (emphasis added). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 recites “providing, by the golf service server, a mission and a reward to the user terminal in conjunction with the user information according to the swing area login by the golf simulation device” (emphasis added). It appears that this limitation contains a typographical/grammatical error where the antecedent basis for “the user terminal” and “the administrator terminal” is missing. For the purposes of examination, claim 11 is interpreted to read, “providing, by the golf service server, a mission and a reward to a user terminal in conjunction with the user information according to the swing area login by the golf simulation device” (emphasis added). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12 is objected to by virtue of dependency on claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites, “A golf simulation device comprising: a communication interface configured to receive a swing area login request from a golf service server, and to transmit a swing area login response to the golf simulation device” (emphasis added). This limitation is unclear. Specifically, it is unclear how a golf simulation device transmits a response to itself. For the purposes of examination, claim 20 is interpreted to read, “A golf simulation device comprising: a communication interface configured to receive a swing area login request from a golf service server, and to transmit a swing area login response to the golf service server” (emphasis added). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Independent Claims
MPEP 2106 Step 2A- Prong 1:
Independent claim 1 recites, performing, by a golf service, a process for a swing area reservation and user authentication; and
performing a swing area process when the golf service completes the swing area reservation and the user authentication.
Independent claim 19 recites, receive a swing area allocation request,
transmit a swing area allocation response,
wherein the swing area completion notification is information indicating that a state of a login has been output according to a login initiation condition set in advance.
The limitations above are processes that under broadest reasonable interpretation cover “certain methods of organizing human activity” (including sales activities or behaviors, or business relations). Specifically, processing reservations for a golf simulation device is establishing business relationships and performing sales activities (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II)).
Additionally, the limitations include mental processes (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, or opinion) because they can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using pen and paper. Specifically, claims to process a swing area reservation and user authentication, can all be practically performed in the human mind, or by a human using pen and paper (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)).
Independent claim 20 recites, receive a swing area login request from a golf service, and to transmit a swing area login response;
output a state of a login as visual information, auditory information, tactile information, or a combination thereof; and
determine a time point at which the state of the login is output after receiving the swing area login request from the golf service,
wherein the swing area login response is information indicating that the state of the login has been output according to a login initiation condition set in advance.
The limitations above are processes that under broadest reasonable interpretation cover mental processes (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, or opinion) because they can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using pen and paper. Specifically, claims to process login requests and track login state, can all be practically performed in the human mind, or by a human using pen and paper (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)).
MPEP 2106 Step 2A- Prong 2:
The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. Claims 1 and 19 as a whole amount to: merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, or “apply it”; or generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use.
Independent claims 1, 19, and 20 recite the following additional elements to perform the above recited steps: a golf service server (claims 1, 19, and 20); a golf simulation device, (claims 1, 19, and 20), a login process (claims 1 and 19); a communication interface (claims 19 and 20); a user terminal or an administrator terminal (claim 19); a controller (claims 19 and 20); automatically output (claims 19 and 20), and output interface (claim 20). These additional elements are generic computer components performing generic computer functions at a high level of generality, and are recited at a high level of generality. As such, the additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component.
Individually and as a whole, these additional elements do not integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application because the claims do not: improve the functioning of the computer itself or any other technology or technical field; apply the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine; effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing; add meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment to transform the judicial exception into patent-eligible subject matter; amount to more than a recitation of the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) or are more than mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer.
MPEP 2106 Step 2B:
Independent claims 1, 19, and 20 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more (also known as an “inventive concept”) than the judicial exception. As discussed above, the additional elements are generic computer components performing generic computer functions at a high level of generality and/or generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Alone or in combination, the additional elements do not contribute significantly more than the judicial exception and as a result, the claims are ineligible.
Dependent Claims
Dependent claims 3-7, 10-12, 15, and 16, recite additional details that merely narrow the previously recited abstract idea limitations without reciting any additional elements. They are therefore, ineligible for the reasons as discussed above with respect to independent claim 1. The additional elements in claims 2, 8, 9, 13, 14, 17, and 18 are discussed below.
MPEP 2106 Step 2A- Prong 2:
Dependent claims 2, 8, 9, 14, 17, and 18, recite additional details that merely narrow the previously recited abstract idea. Claims 2, 8, 9, 14, 17, and 18 also recite the additional elements of: a user terminal (claims 2, 8, and 17), an administrator terminal (claims 2, 8, and 17), a database (claims 2 and 9), an output interface of the golf simulation device (claim 14), and an output interface of another golf simulation device (claims 17 and 18). Each of these additional elements are recited at a high level of generality such that when viewed as a whole, the additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Dependent claim 13, recites additional details that merely narrow the previously recited abstract idea. Claim 13 also recites the additional element of: virtual golf course content. This additional element is recited at a high level of generality such that when viewed as a whole, the additional element does no more than generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (i.e., providing golf-related information) (see MPEP 2106.05(h)).
MPEP 2106 Step 2B:
With respect to claims 2, 8, 9, 14, 17, and 18, as discussed above with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional element amounts to no more than: a recitation of the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) or are more than mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer. The same analysis applies here in Step 2B, i.e., applying the exception using a generic computer component, does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept at Step 2B.
Therefore, the additional elements of a user terminal (claims 2, 8, and 17), an administrator terminal (claims 2, 8, and 17), a database (claims 2 and 9), an output interface of the golf simulation device (claim 14), and an output interface of another golf simulation device (claims 17 and 18), do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept at Step 2B. Thus, even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e., an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. Thus, claims 2, 8, 9, 14, 17, and 18 are also ineligible.
With respect to claim 13, as discussed above with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional element amounts to no more than: generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use, and is not a practical application of the abstract idea. The same analysis applies here in Step 2B, i.e., (i) generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (see MPEP 2106.05(h)), does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept at Step 2B.
Therefore, the additional elements of virtual golf course content, does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept at Step 2B. Thus, even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e., an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. Thus, claim 13 is also ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 7-11, 13-16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 6,308,160 to Rex (Rex) in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0176227 to Lee et al. (Lee).
As to claim 1, Rex teaches, a golf swing area login method comprising:
performing, by a golf service server, a process for a swing area reservation and user authentication (“… The management system includes the remote host computer center to function as a central reservation system providing a communications link (via standard telephone service or online communications through the Worldwide Web portion of the Internet) between service providers, such as travel agents, golf equipment manufacturers and retailers, hotels, and the like, and the airlines and indoor golf facility …” and “… The remote host 40 [i.e., golf service server] can be a standard server device and/or can include a communications port, a central processing unit (CPU) with RAM and ROM and with a data storage device with a number of databases … When arriving at the golf facility 26, the traveler 70 checks in at the local host 28. If the traveler 70 has a tee time or training lesson scheduled, their confirmation code is verified [i.e., user authentication] in a scheduling database (not shown, but located either at the local host 26 or the remote host 40) and they are given a personal receiver 72 (e.g., a pager or similar device) which is returned prior to leaving the golf facility 26 …” [col. 2, line 41 – col. 3, line 35 and col. 5, line 66 – col. 7, line 60]);
performing, by a golf simulation device, a swing area (“… Once a tee time or lesson appointment is made, it can be documented on the traveler's itinerary and the traveler can be provided by the local host 28 with a confirmation code to facilitate check-in [i.e., a swing area process] at the golf facility 26 … Either through a tee time or "walking-on", the traveler 70 can play a round of golf (e.g., 9 or 18 holes) at one of the golf simulators 84 …” and “… At 140, when the traveler arrives at the airport terminal, the traveler is checked into the indoor golf facility by using their confirmation code (if applicable), by taking flight information (e.g., airline name and flight number), and notification information (i.e., do you desire notification at a particular time or at a preset time before your flight departs) …” [col. 6, line 57 – col. 8, line 36 and col. 9, lines 26-43]).
While Rex teaches a swing area process, Karbowski does not teach a swing area login process. However, Lee teaches a swing area login process (“The input part 40 is needed for the user to input various information. As the input part 40, a keyboard, a mouse or a touch screen can be used. In the screen golf, the information input by the user is needed for various cases. For example, when the user inputs ID or password for login or selects a golf course or a play difficulty level, the user needs to input the related information …” and “The server unit 2 may be a central server used by a service provider having a plurality of virtual golf devices to manage the plurality of virtual golf devices. A user needs to log in in order to receive the screen golf service … ” [0036 and 0079-0080]). Since each individual element and its function are shown in the art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself—that is in the substitution of the swing area login process of Lee for the swing area process of Rex. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious. Motivation to do so comes from the teachings of Lee that doing so would allow users to play screen golf in various ways in accordance with their taste [0018].
As to claim 5, Rex in view of Lee teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Rex in view of Lee further teaches, determining whether a selected swing area is an available swing area and whether a time zone list has been output when the selected swing area corresponds to a preemptible swing area; and changing the selected swing area to an autonomous swing area and then allocating it when the selected swing area does not correspond to the available swing area or when other available swing areas and the time zone list have not been output.
Examiner notes, under broadest reasonable interpretation, claim 5 recites contingent limitations where the conditions precedent are not met (i.e., “when the selected swing area corresponds to a preemptible swing area” and “when the selected swing area does not correspond to the available swing area or when other available swing areas and the time zone list have not been output”). Therefore, the steps of “determining whether a selected swing area is an available swing area and whether a time zone list has been output” and “changing the selected swing area to an autonomous swing area and then allocating it’ are not required to be performed in the method step.
As to claim 7, Rex in view of Lee teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Rex further teaches, processing a swing area login to synchronize user information with the content provided by the golf simulation device (“… The remote host can include a client database or information storage system to track each player's use of the various facilities to provide the client with information pertaining to their golf game (e.g., lessons taken, professionals used, courses played, and scores obtained)” and “At 170, which typically occurs when the traveler checks-out from or leaves the indoor golf facility, a client database at the remote host computer (or located otherwise) is updated with traveler information from their most recent use of the indoor golf facility …” [col. 3, lines 18-35 and col. 9, line 63 – col. 10, line 14]).
Rex does not teach, transmitting, by the golf service server, a swing area login request to the golf simulation device; and receiving, by the golf service server, a swing area login response from the golf simulation device. However, Lee teaches, transmitting, by the golf service server, a swing area login request to the golf simulation device; and receiving, by the golf service server, a swing area login response from the golf simulation device (“… Also, when the user inputs personal information such as ID and/or password for login, the control part 20 may check the input personal information to determine whether to approve the login” and “… The server unit 2 may be a central server used by a service provider having a plurality of virtual golf devices to manage the plurality of virtual golf devices. A user needs to log in in order to receive the screen golf service. When a user logs in, the server unit 2 checks the user's identity and determines whether to approve the login …” [0036 and 0078-0081]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date of the invention to include, transmitting, by the golf service server, a swing area login request to the golf simulation device; and receiving, by the golf service server, a swing area login response from the golf simulation device, as taught by Lee with the golf swing area login method of Rex. Motivation to do so comes from the teachings of Lee that doing so would allow users to play screen golf in various ways in accordance with their taste [0018].
As to claim 8, Rex in view of Lee teaches all of the limitations of claim 7 as discussed above. Rex does not teach, transmitting, by the golf service server, a swing area login completion notification to the user terminal or the administrator terminal when the golf service server receives the swing area login response from the golf simulation device. However, Lee teaches, transmitting, by the golf service server, a swing area login completion notification to the user terminal or the administrator terminal when the golf service server receives the swing area login response from the golf simulation device (“… Also, when the user inputs personal information such as ID and/or password for login, the control part 20 may check the input personal information to determine whether to approve the login” and “… The server unit 2 may be a central server used by a service provider having a plurality of virtual golf devices to manage the plurality of virtual golf devices. A user needs to log in in order to receive the screen golf service. When a user logs in, the server unit 2 checks the user's identity and determines whether to approve the login …” [0036 and 0078-0081]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date of the invention to include, transmitting, by the golf service server, a swing area login completion notification to the user terminal or the administrator terminal when the golf service server receives the swing area login response from the golf simulation device, as taught by Lee with the golf swing area login method of Rex. Motivation to do so comes from the teachings of Lee that doing so would allow users to play screen golf in various ways in accordance with their taste [0018].
As to claim 9, Rex in view of Lee teaches all of the limitations of claim 7 as discussed above. Rex further teaches, searching, by the database, for the user information and updating, by the database, information related to the user information (“… The remote host can include a client database or information storage system to track each player's use of the various facilities to provide the client with information pertaining to their golf game (e.g., lessons taken, professionals used, courses played, and scores obtained)” and “At 170, which typically occurs when the traveler checks-out from or leaves the indoor golf facility, a client database at the remote host computer (or located otherwise) is updated with traveler information from their most recent use of the indoor golf facility …” [col. 3, lines 18-35 and col. 9, line 63 – col. 10, line 14]).
Rex does not teach, transmitting, by the golf service server, a login completion processing request to a database when the golf service server receives a swing area login response from the golf simulation device; and receiving, by the golf service server, a login completion processing response from the database. However, Lee teaches, transmitting, by the golf service server, a login completion processing request to a database when the golf service server receives a swing area login response from the golf simulation device; and receiving, by the golf service server, a login completion processing response from the database (“In the virtual golf system, the server unit comprises a storage unit for storing user's personal information, and the play mode can be set based on the user's personal information without the user's selection” and “… When a user logs in, the server unit 2 checks the user's identity and determines whether to approve the login. The server unit 2 includes a storage unit 3 that stores information necessary for checking the identity of the user …” [0017 and 0078-0081]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date of the invention to include, transmitting, by the golf service server, a login completion processing request to a database when the golf service server receives a swing area login response from the golf simulation device; and receiving, by the golf service server, a login completion processing response from the database, as taught by Lee with the golf swing area login method of Rex. Motivation to do so comes from the teachings of Lee that doing so would allow users to play screen golf in various ways in accordance with their taste [0018].
As to claim 10, Rex in view of Lee teaches all of the limitations of claim 7 as discussed above. Rex further teaches, after performing the swing area login process: collecting, by the golf simulation device, swing data in conjunction with the user information according to the swing area login by the golf simulation device and transmitting, by the golf simulation device, the swing data, and analyzing, by the golf service server, the swing data and providing, by the golf service server, customized content (“… The remote host can include a client database or information storage system to track each player's use of the various facilities to provide the client with information pertaining to their golf game (e.g., lessons taken, professionals used, courses played, and scores obtained)” and “… The golf professional can give the traveler a golf lesson and/or can evaluate the swing of the traveler 70 with the use of various swing analysis equipment (e.g., video swing analyzers which can also provide a video for the traveler 70) and training equipment, some of which can be ordered or purchased at the golf equipment area …” [col. 3, lines 18-35 and col. 7, line 61 – col. 8, line 13]).
As to claim 11, Rex in view of Lee teaches all of the limitations of claim 7 as discussed above. Rex further teaches, after performing the swing area login process: providing, by the golf service server, a mission and a reward to the user terminal in conjunction with the user information according to the swing area login by the golf simulation device (“… The airlines can use the activities at the indoor golf center as rewards for traveling with their airline by allowing frequent flyer points to be accepted at the indoor golf center and by becoming exclusive sponsors or allies of such centers with only their advertisements being displayed at the indoor golf center …” [col. 4, line 46 – col. 5, line 6]).
As to claim 13, Rex in view of Lee teaches all of the limitations of claim 7 as discussed above. Rex further teaches, wherein the content provided by the golf simulation device corresponds to personalized virtual golf course content, competitive virtual golf course content, mission-type virtual golf course content, customized golf education and training content, or a combination thereof (“… The remote host can include a client database or information storage system to track each player's use of the various facilities to provide the client with information pertaining to their golf game (e.g., lessons taken, professionals used, courses played, and scores obtained)” and “… The golf professional can give the traveler a golf lesson and/or can evaluate the swing of the traveler 70 with the use of various swing analysis equipment (e.g., video swing analyzers which can also provide a video for the traveler 70) and training equipment, some of which can be ordered or purchased at the golf equipment area …” [col. 3, lines 18-35 and col. 7, line 61 – col. 8, line 13]).
As to claim 14, Rex in view of Lee teaches all of the limitations of claim 7 as discussed above. Rex does not teach, outputting a state of the swing area login as visual information, auditory information, tactile information, or a combination thereof via an output interface of the golf simulation device. However, Lee teaches, outputting a state of the swing area login as visual information, auditory information, tactile information, or a combination thereof via an output interface of the golf simulation device (“… Also, when the user inputs personal information such as ID and/or password for login, the control part 20 may check the input personal information to determine whether to approve the login …” and “… Although not shown in FIG. 11, the virtual golf device may include a sound unit informing the user of the golf play information and reproducing various sound effects according to the progress of the golf play” and “The interface apparatus 60 is not essential. Even if there is no interface apparatus, the user can use the input unit 41 or the like to select one play mode of the first and second modes before or during the screen golf play. Referring to FIG. 13, a menu for selecting user's play options is displayed on the screen …” [0036-0039 and 0067 and 0070] Examiner notes that, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, displaying play options or playing sound effects are a state of the swing are login because they occur after a login).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date of the invention to include, outputting a state of the swing area login as visual information, auditory information, tactile information, or a combination thereof via an output interface of the golf simulation device, as taught by Lee with the golf swing area login method of Rex. Motivation to do so comes from the teachings of Lee that doing so would allow users to play screen golf in various ways in accordance with their taste [0018].
As to claim 15, Rex in view of Lee teaches all of the limitations of claim 7 as discussed above. Rex in view of Lee further teaches, automatically outputting a state of the swing area login when a preset login initiation condition is satisfied.
Examiner notes, under broadest reasonable interpretation, claim 15 recites a contingent limitation where the conditions precedent are not met (i.e., “when a preset login initiation condition is satisfied”). Therefore, the step of “automatically outputting a state of the swing area login” is not required to be performed in the method step.
As to claim 16, Rex in view of Lee teaches all of the limitations of claim 7 as discussed above. Rex in view of Lee further teaches, comparing and determining a login initiation condition when a preset login determination loop condition is satisfied.
Examiner notes, under broadest reasonable interpretation, claim 15 recites a contingent limitation where the conditions precedent are not met (i.e., “when a preset login determination loop condition is satisfied”). Therefore, the step of “comparing and determining a login initiation condition” is not required to be performed in the method step.
As to claim 19, Rex teaches, a golf service server comprising: a communication interface configured to receive a swing area allocation request from a user terminal or an administrator terminal, to transmit a swing area allocation response to the user terminal or the administrator terminal (“… If a golf facility 26 is located at such a layover terminal 20, the travel agent 50 can request a tee time for a golf simulator [i.e., a swing area allocation] (discussed in more detail below) or an appointment for a golf lesson with a golf professional who gives lessons at that particular golf facility 26 …” and “… At 120, a travel agent member of the alliance forwards a travel itinerary (or request for a specific tee time or appointment time) to the indoor golf facility. It may be received at a remote host facility which can act as a central reservation facility for a number of individual indoor golf facilities …” [col. 6, line 57 – col. 7, line 8 and col. 8, line 49 – col. 9, line 43]).
Rex does not teach, to transmit a swing area login request to a golf simulation device, to receive a swing area login response from the golf simulation device, and to transmit a swing area login completion notification to the user terminal or the administrator terminal; and a controller configured to control the communication interface to transmit the swing area login completion notification after receiving the swing area login response from the golf simulation device, wherein the swing area login completion notification is information indicating that a state of a login has been automatically output according to a login initiation condition set in advance in the golf simulation device. However, Lee teaches, to transmit a swing area login request to a golf simulation device, to receive a swing area login response from the golf simulation device and to transmit a swing area login completion notification to the user terminal or the administrator terminal (“… Also, when the user inputs personal information such as ID and/or password for login, the control part 20 may check the input personal information to determine whether to approve the login” and “… A user needs to log in in order to receive the screen golf service. When a user logs in, the server unit 2 checks the user's identity and determines whether to approve the login. The server unit 2 includes a storage unit 3 that stores information necessary for checking the identity of the user …” [0036 and 0078-0080]);
and a controller configured to control the communication interface to transmit the swing area login completion notification after receiving the swing area login response from the golf simulation device, wherein the swing area login completion notification is information indicating that a state of a login has been automatically output according to a login initiation condition set in advance in the golf simulation device (“The input part 40 is needed for the user to input various information. As the input part 40, a keyboard, a mouse or a touch screen can be used … Information input through the input part 40 is transmitted to the control part 20, and the control part 20 processes the user's request based on the transmitted information …” and “… For example, if any one of the first and second modes may be selected and stored in the play option information, the corresponding play mode may be automatically selected when the corresponding user logs in …” [0036 and 0078-0080]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date of the invention to include, to transmit a swing area login request to a golf simulation device, to receive a swing area login response from the golf simulation device, and to transmit a swing area login completion notification to the user terminal or the administrator terminal; and a controller configured to control the communication interface to transmit the swing area login completion notification after receiving the swing area login response from the golf simulation device, wherein the swing area login completion notification is information indicating that a state of a login has been automatically output according to a login initiation condition set in advance in the golf simulation device, as taught by Lee with the golf service server of Rex. Motivation to do so comes from the teachings of Lee that doing so would allow users to play screen golf in various ways in accordance with their taste [0018].
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 6,308,160 to Rex (Rex) in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0176227 to Lee et al. (Lee), as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2014/0172472 to Florimond et al. (Florimond).
As to claim 2, Rex in view of Lee teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Rex further teaches, receiving, by the golf service server, a swing area allocation request from a user terminal or an administrator terminal (“… If a golf facility 26 is located at such a layover terminal 20, the travel agent 50 can request a tee time for a golf simulator [i.e., a swing area allocation] (discussed in more detail below) or an appointment for a golf lesson with a golf professional who gives lessons at that particular golf facility 26 …” and “… At 120, a travel agent member of the alliance forwards a travel itinerary (or request for a specific tee time or appointment time) to the indoor golf facility. It may be received at a remote host facility which can act as a central reservation facility for a number of individual indoor golf facilities …” [col. 6, line 57 – col. 7, line 8 and col. 8, line 49 – col. 9, line 43]);
searching, by the database, for the user information and then comparing and verifying, by the database, the user information (“Referring now to FIG. 2, one preferred embodiment of a golf facility 26 is illustrated. When arriving at the golf facility 26, the traveler 70 checks in at the local host 28. If the traveler 70 has a tee time or training lesson scheduled, their confirmation code is verified in a scheduling database (not shown, but located either at the local host 26 or the remote host 40) and they are given a personal receiver 72 (e.g., a pager or similar device) which is returned prior to leaving the golf facility 26 …” [col. 7, lines 35-60]);
receiving, by the golf service server, an authentication response for the user information from the database (“Referring now to FIG. 2, one preferred embodiment of a golf facility 26 is illustrated. When arriving at the golf facility 26, the traveler 70 checks in at the local host 28. If the traveler 70 has a tee time or training lesson scheduled, their confirmation code is verified in a scheduling database (not shown, but located either at the local host 26 or the remote host 40) and they are given a personal receiver 72 (e.g., a pager or similar device) which is returned prior to leaving the golf facility 26 …” [col. 7, lines 35-60]).
Rex does not teach, transmitting, by the golf service server, an authentication request for user information related to swing area allocation to a database when the golf service server receives the swing area allocation request; and transmitting, by the golf service server, a swing area allocation response to the user terminal or the administrator terminal when the golf service server receives the authentication response for the user information. However, Florimond teaches, transmitting, by the golf service server, an authentication request for user information related to swing area allocation to a database when the golf service server receives the swing area allocation request (“… The reservation system 102 receives booking data corresponding to a travel request for a travel customer (block 202) … The input of form of payment information may be performed manually by a travel agent operating the reservation device 104, or form of payment information may identify a customer record 144 associated with the travel customer, and the reservation system may identify the customer device 106 by accessing and analyzing information of the customer record 144 stored in the customer database 140. The reservation system 102 holds ticket issuance for the travel reservation (block 208) pending authentication of payment information and approval of a payment based on the authenticated payment information for the reserved travel booking …” and “… With reference to FIG. 8A, the reservation device 104 receives data for a travel request for a travel customer (block 302) from an operator/user, such as a travel agent. The reservation device 104 communicates booking data based on the received travel request data to the reservation system 102 (block 304) … The reservation system 102 holds issuance of the ticket for the request until payment has been authenticated and approved for the ticket (block 324), and the reservation system 102 communicates data to the reservation device 104 indicating that ticket issuance is being held (block 326)” [0035-0037 and 0043-0044]).
and transmitting, by the golf service server, a swing area allocation response to the user terminal or the administrator terminal when the golf service server receives the authentication response for the user information (“The reservation system 102 holds ticket issuance for the travel reservation (block 208) pending authentication of payment information and approval of a payment based on the authenticated payment information for the reserved travel booking … The holding of ticket issuance is maintained until authentication and approval occur …” and “… The reservation device 104 communicates a ticket issuance request to the reservation system 102 responsive to the received form of payment confirmation (block 322). The reservation system 102 holds issuance of the ticket for the request until payment has been authenticated and approved for the ticket (block 324), and the reservation system 102 communicates data to the reservation device 104 indicating that ticket issuance is being held (block 326)” [0037 and 0043-0044]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date of the invention to include, transmitting, by the golf service server, an authentication request for user information related to swing area allocation to a database when the golf service server receives the swing area allocation request; and transmitting, by the golf service server, a swing area allocation response to the user terminal or the administrator terminal when the golf service server receives the authentication response for the user information, as taught by Florimond with the golf swing area login method of Rex in view of Lee. One having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for the benefit of improving the security of booking reservations (see also Florimond [0005]).
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 6,308,160 to Rex (Rex) in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0176227 to Lee et al. (Lee), as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0138812 to Bae (Bae).
As to claim 3, Rex in view of Lee teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Rex does not teach, determining whether a selected swing area corresponds to a preemptible swing area or an autonomous swing area. However, Bae teaches, determining whether a selected swing area corresponds to a preemptible swing area or an autonomous swing area (“… That is, the right to participate in the performance is first given to a high-level user through the differential reservation right according to the level, and the high-level user can preempt a desired seat …” [0114] Examiner notes that, in light of Applicant’s specification, an “autonomous swing area” is interpreted to mean a swing area that is not a preemptible swing area).
Examiner notes, under broadest reasonable interpretation, claim 3 recites contingent limitations where the conditions precedent are not met (i.e., “when the selected swing area corresponds to the preemptible swing area” and “when the selected swing area corresponds to the available swing area and the time zone list has been output or when other available swing areas and the time zone list have been output”). Therefore, the steps of “determining whether the selected swing area is an available swing area and whether a time zone list has been output” and “selecting and allocating a swing area and a time zone” are not required to be performed in the method step.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date of the invention to include, determining whether a selected swing area corresponds to a preemptible swing area or an autonomous swing area, as taught by Bae with the golf swing area login method of Rex in view of Lee. One having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for the benefit of better allocating reservations.
As to claim 4, Rex in view of Lee teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Rex does not teach, determining whether a selected swing area corresponds to a preemptible swing area or an autonomous swing area. However, Bae teaches, determining whether a selected swing area corresponds to a preemptible swing area or an autonomous swing area, (“… That is, the right to participate in the performance is first given to a high-level user through the differential reservation right according to the level, and the high-level user can preempt a desired seat …” [0114] Examiner notes that, in light of Applicant’s specification, an “autonomous swing area” is interpreted to mean a swing area that is not a preemptible swing area).
Examiner notes, under broadest reasonable interpretation, claim 4 recites contingent limitations where the conditions precedent are not met (i.e., “when the selected swing area corresponds to the autonomous swing area”). Therefore, the step of “selecting a start time and also allocating a swing area” is not required to be performed in the method step.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date of the invention to include, determining whether a selected swing area corresponds to a preemptible swing area or an autonomous swing area, as taught by Bae with the golf swing area login method of Rex in view of Lee. One having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for the benefit of better allocating reservations.
Claim 6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 6,308,160 to Rex (Rex) in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0176227 to Lee et al. (Lee), as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0244265 to Van Sant et al. (Van Sant).
As to claim 6, Rex in view of Lee teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Rex does not teach, determining whether a selected swing area is available for a period of time of a possessed usage ticket. However, Van Sant teaches, determining whether a selected swing area is available for a period of time of a possessed usage ticket (“… Once purchased, the system provides the customer with a voucher [i.e., a possessed usage ticket] that memorializes the sale of the purchased round(s) for later redemption by the customer with the golf course …” and “… The processor will then call up available tee times 1030. Customers may then select which tee time they wish to redeem …” and “… In addition, if the customer narrows the request to only private courses, then the customer can be provided with the option to purchase a round from any number of courses that are available …” [0036-0037 and 0078-0081 and 0127]).
Examiner notes, under broadest reasonable interpretation, claim 6 recites contingent limitations where the conditions precedent are not met (i.e., “when the former period of time is not sufficient”). Therefore, the step of “agreeing to reserve the swing area for a shorter period of time than that of the possessed usage ticket” is not required to be performed in the method step.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date of the invention to include, determining whether a selected swing area is available for a period of time of a possessed usage ticket, as taught by Van Sant with the golf swing area login method of Rex in view of Lee. Motivation to do so comes from the teachings of Van Sant that doing so would provide golf courses with improved sales actualization and predictability of course usage [0034].
As to claim 12, Rex in view of Lee teaches all of the limitations of claim 11 as discussed above. Rex further teaches, providing the mission and the reward comprises providing a usage (“… The airlines can use the activities at the indoor golf center as rewards for traveling with their airline by allowing frequent flyer points to be accepted at the indoor golf center and by becoming exclusive sponsors or allies of such centers with only their advertisements being displayed at the indoor golf center …” [col. 4, line 46 – col. 5, line 6]).
Rex in view of Lee does not teach, a usage ticket; and in performing the process for a swing area reservation and user authentication, the swing area reservation is performed using the usage ticket. However, Van Sant teaches, a usage ticket (“… Once purchased, the system provides the customer with a voucher that memorializes the sale of the purchased round(s) for later redemption by the customer with the golf course …” [0036]);
and in performing the process for a swing area reservation and user authentication, the swing area reservation is performed using the usage ticket (“… A detailed discussion of the system surrounding the digital marketplace exchange for managing the offer, purchase of vouchers, payment, and redemption of vouchers is provided below …” and “The system may include a tee time scheduler 1000 to assist a customer 510 in redeeming their purchased round …” [0036-0037 and 0078-0081]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date of the invention to include, a usage ticket; and in performing the process for a swing area reservation and user authentication, the swing area reservation is performed using the usage ticket, as taught by Van Sant with the golf swing area login method of Rex in view of Lee. Motivation to do so comes from the teachings of Van Sant that doing so would provide golf courses with improved sales actualization and predictability of course usage [0034].
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 6,308,160 to Rex (Rex) in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0176227 to Lee et al. (Lee), as applied to claim 7 above, and in view of WIPO Patent Publication No. 2014073354 to Masuda et al. (Masuda).
As to claim 17, Rex in view of Lee teaches all of the limitations of claim 11 as discussed above. Rex in view of Lee teaches, outputting a state of the swing area login to an output interface of another golf simulation device when it is determined by the golf simulation device or the golf service server that the swing area is changed.
Examiner notes, under broadest reasonable interpretation, claim 17 recites a contingent limitation where the conditions precedent are not met (i.e., “when it is determined by the golf simulation device or the golf service server that the swing area is changed”). Therefore, the step of “outputting a state of the swing area login to an output interface of another golf simulation device” is not required to be performed in the method step.
Rex in view of Lee does not teach, determining, by the golf simulation device or the golf service server, whether to change the swing area based on location movement of a user terminal, input information of the user terminal, input information of an administrator terminal, or a combination thereof. However, Masuda teaches, determining, by the golf simulation device or the golf service server, whether to change the swing area based on location movement of a user terminal, input information of the user terminal, input information of an administrator terminal, or a combination thereof (“In step S22, the reservation service processing unit 56 acquires the play mode of the game machine GM that can be played during the waiting time calculated in step S21. Specifically, the reservation service processing unit 56 determines whether or not the reservation state data 29 on the game machine GM (hereinafter also referred to as "another game machine GM") different from the reservation game machine GM and the reservation situation data 29 on another game machine GM On the basis of the playing state information indicating whether or not the game machine GM is currently playing and the information on the playing state indicating whether or not it is currently playing, determines the playable game machine GM during the waiting time, and acquires information on the play mode used by the game machine GM. In this case, the reservation service processing unit 56 reads the reservation state data 29 from the storage device 51, and acquires information on the play situation from the other game machine GM via the network 6. For example, the reservation service processing unit 56 can play during the waiting time for the game machine GM that indicates that the reservation number of the reservation status data 29 is "0" and that the information on the play status is not currently played . Then, the reservation service processing unit 56 acquires the information on the play mode used by the game machine GM determined to be playable in this way. After the above step S22, the process proceeds to step S23” and “According to the present invention, it is possible to manage the reservation state information indicating the reservation status of each of a plurality of service providing terminals, wait for the service providing terminal based on the reservation state information on the service providing terminal for which the user made the reservation request Calculate time. Then, it notifies the available terminal information which is information on the service providing terminal (the terminal different from the service providing terminal by which the user made the reservation request) available during the waiting time. For example, when the user makes a reservation request, it notifies information on the service providing terminal that is not used by another user. Thereby, it is possible to urge the user to use the service providing terminal that is available during the waiting time. As a result, when the user uses the service providing terminal during the waiting time, the user can effectively utilize the waiting time. In addition, it becomes possible to promote use of various service providing terminals possessed by the service providing system” and “A second service providing system according to the present invention is a service providing system for providing a predetermined service by a plurality of service providing terminals … And service providing means for providing a service according to the length of the waiting time by a service providing terminal different from the service providing terminal which the reservation request accepting means accepted the reservation request. In this form, it provides a service that can be used appropriately during the waiting time. By using such a service during the waiting time, the user can effectively utilize the waiting time. In addition, it becomes possible to promote use of various service providing terminals possessed by the service providing system” [p. 9 and p. 13 and p. 14-15]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date of the invention to include, whether to change the swing area based on location movement of a user terminal, input information of the user terminal, input information of an administrator terminal, or a combination thereof, as taught by Masuda with the golf swing area login method of Rex in view of Lee. Motivation to do so comes from the teachings of Masuda that doing so would effectively utilize the waiting time of the service providing terminal [p. 1].
As to claim 18, Rex in view of Lee in view of Masuda teaches all of the limitations of claim 17 as discussed above. Rex does not teach, the state of the swing area login is maintained when it is determined by the golf simulation device or the golf service server that the swing area is not changed; and when the swing area has been changed from the golf simulation device to the other golf simulation device, the state of the swing area login is output to the output interface of the other golf simulation device, and the output of the state of the swing area login from the golf simulation device is ended. However, Lee teaches, the state of the swing area login is maintained when it is determined by the golf simulation device or the golf service server that the swing area is not changed; and when the swing area has been changed from the golf simulation device to the other golf simulation device, the state of the swing area login is output to the output interface of the other golf simulation device, and the output of the state of the swing area login from the golf simulation device is ended (“… Also, when the user inputs personal information such as ID and/or password for login, the control part 20 may check the input personal information to determine whether to approve the login” and “The server unit 2 may be a central server used by a service provider having a plurality of virtual golf devices to manage the plurality of virtual golf devices. A user needs to log in in order to receive the screen golf service. When a user logs in, the server unit 2 checks the user's identity and determines whether to approve the login …” [0036 and 0078-0080]).
Examiner notes that “when it is determined by the golf simulation device or the golf service server that the swing area is not changed” and “when the swing area has been changed from the golf simulation device to the other golf simulation device” are alternative conditions (i.e., when the swing area has changed and when it has not). Therefore, only one alternative is required to be performed in the method step.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date of the invention to include, the state of the swing area login is maintained when it is determined by the golf simulation device or the golf service server that the swing area is not changed; and when the swing area has been changed from the golf simulation device to the other golf simulation device, the state of the swing area login is output to the output interface of the other golf simulation device, and the output of the state of the swing area login from the golf simulation device is ended, as taught by Lee with the golf swing area login method of Rex. Motivation to do so comes from the teachings of Lee that doing so would allow users to play screen golf in various ways in accordance with their taste [0018].
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0176227 to Lee et al. (Lee) in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2015/0220855 to Takuma et al. (Takuma).
As to claim 20, Lee teaches, a golf simulation device comprising: a communication interface configured to receive a swing area login request from a golf service server, and to transmit a swing area login response to the golf simulation device (“… Also, when the user inputs personal information such as ID and/or password for login, the control part 20 may check the input personal information to determine whether to approve the login” and “… When a user logs in, the server unit 2 checks the user's identity and determines whether to approve the login …” [0036-0039 and 0078-0080]);
an output interface configured to output a state of a login as visual information, auditory information, tactile information, or a combination thereof (“… Also, when the user inputs personal information such as ID and/or password for login, the control part 20 may check the input personal information to determine whether to approve the login …” and “… Although not shown in FIG. 11, the virtual golf device may include a sound unit informing the user of the golf play information and reproducing various sound effects according to the progress of the golf play” and “The interface apparatus 60 is not essential. Even if there is no interface apparatus, the user can use the input unit 41 or the like to select one play mode of the first and second modes before or during the screen golf play. Referring to FIG. 13, a menu for selecting user's play options is displayed on the screen …” [0036-0039 and 0067 and 0070]);
wherein the swing area login response is information indicating that the state of the login has been automatically output according to a login initiation condition set in advance in the golf simulation device (“… For example, if any one of the first and second modes may be selected and stored in the play option information, the corresponding play mode may be automatically selected when the corresponding user logs in …” [0078-0080]).
Lee does not teach, and a controller configured to determine a time point at which the state of the login is output after receiving the swing area login request from the golf service server. However, Takuma teaches, and a controller configured to determine a time point at which the state of the login is output after receiving the swing area login request from the golf service server (“… The user's operations on the reservation site may include, for example, a search requesting operation of a golf course, a browsing operation of a webpage, a reservation operation, a logging-in operation to a reservation site, a logging-out operation, etc. …” and “… Then, the reservation notification unit 145 extracts the search histories and the browsing histories of the time frame detail page, among operation histories which includes an operation date and time between the log-in date and time, and the log-out date and time. The log-in date and time is a date and time when the user has started to use the reservation site …” [0078 and 0109 and 0]),
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date of the invention to include, and a controller configured to determine a time point at which the state of the login is output after receiving the swing area login request from the golf service server, as taught by Takuma with the golf simulation device of Lee. Motivation to do so comes from the teachings of Takuma that doing so would provide a user with information for making a decision of reservation so that user does not hesitate to reserve a reservation frame which has not been reserved by any person [0006].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0061611 to Lee et al. (Lee)
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2011/0301927 to Ok (Ok)
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0173371 to Lee et al. (Lee)
/S.S.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3628
/RUPANGINI SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3628