Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-6, 8-12, 15-16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamashita et al. Pub. No. US 2018/0075808 A1 [Yamashita] in view of Kwan et al. Pub. No. US 2009/0027364 A1 [Kwan].
1. Yamashita discloses a display system [Fig. 2] for driving pixels of a pixel array [28], the display system comprising:
display driver circuitry [20a] configured to: receive image frame data comprising a plurality of frame zones [Fig. 9], each frame zone comprising:
intensity values for a plurality of bit planes [¶ 72]; and
process the image frame data to determine, for at least one pixel of the pixel array, a pixel drive value and a pixel drive time interval for each bit plane of the plurality of bit planes of at least one frame zone corresponding to the at least one pixel [¶ 128]; and
a display backplane [¶ 45] comprising:
pixel driver circuitry comprising a pixel circuit to drive the at least one pixel of the pixel array such that an intensity of the at least one pixel varies for each bit plane according to the corresponding pixel drive value and the corresponding pixel drive time interval [¶ 72].
Yamashita is silent on the global bias feature.
However, Kwan teaches a display driving circuit [Fig. 5] with a global timing circuit [512]. As described in paragraph 116 and throughout, the “global timing control unit 512 receives operational codes ("opcodes") from a system (not shown), decodes the opcodes into operational instructions, and asserts operational instructions (e.g., no-op instructions, data write commands, load row address commands, etc.) on bus 513 to administer the global operations of display system 500.” This global timing system controls the display driver, i.e., biases, the image producing pixels [see Fig. 5 where this carried out by 516 to 504(r), 504(g) and 504(b)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yamashita with Kwan to have this global bias feature, since such a modification optimizes image quality while minimizing power usage which is a long-felt need in the art.
2. Yamashita in view of Kwan teaches wherein: the pixel drive value comprises a pixel drive voltage or a pixel drive current [Yamashita ¶¶ 6-10 where gate/scan drivers output currents].
5. Yamashita in view of Kwan teaches a sequence memory for storing one or more programmable mappings that modify at least one of the pixel drive value and the pixel drive time interval based on at least one of: desired performance, ambient lighting compensation, or temperature compensation [Kwan ¶ 371 where memory mapping is necessary].
6. Yamashita in view of Kwan teaches wherein the display driver circuitry converts at least one of the pixel drive values or the pixel drive time intervals according to the programmable mappings [where memory mapping is necessary in the modified invention].
8. Yamashita in view of Kwan teaches wherein the image frame data is received from an image or video data source comprising one or more of an image, image data, or a video source [Yamashita ¶ 45 display images].
9. Yamashita in view of Kwan is silent on wherein the image frame data is received from a host, said host comprising a processor that executes applications stored on or streamed to the host. However, the examiner takes official notice that it is notoriously old and well known to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have a host, e.g., a server, as required, since such a modification provides for improvements in the usability of the device.
10. Yamashita in view of Kwan teaches wherein: the pixels comprise light emitting diodes; and the pixel drive values comprise pixel drive currents [Yamashita ¶ 6, for instance].
11. Yamashita in view of Kwan teaches wherein: the pixels comprise liquid crystal on silicon; and the pixel drive values comprise voltages [Yamashita ¶ 83].
12. Yamashita in view of Kwan teaches wherein at least one of the display backplane or the display driver circuitry is an integrated circuit [Kwan ¶ 3].
15. Yamashita discloses a method of driving pixels of a pixel array [Figs. 1-2], the method comprising:
receiving image frame data comprising a plurality of frame zones [Fig. 9], each frame zone comprising:
intensity values for a plurality of bit planes [¶ 72];
processing the image frame data to determine, for at least one pixel of the pixel array, a pixel drive value and a pixel drive time interval for each bit plane of the plurality of bit planes of at least one frame zone corresponding to the at least one pixel [¶ 128]; and
driving the at least one pixel of the pixel array such that an intensity of the at least one pixel varies for each bit plane according to the corresponding pixel drive value and the corresponding pixel drive time interval [¶ 72].
Yamashita is silent on the global bias feature.
However, Kwan teaches a display driving circuit [Fig. 5] with a global timing circuit [512]. As described in paragraph 116 and throughout, the “global timing control unit 512 receives operational codes ("opcodes") from a system (not shown), decodes the opcodes into operational instructions, and asserts operational instructions (e.g., no-op instructions, data write commands, load row address commands, etc.) on bus 513 to administer the global operations of display system 500.” This global timing system controls the display driver, i.e., biases, the image producing pixels [see Fig. 5 where this carried out by 516 to 504(r), 504(g) and 504(b)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yamashita with Kwan to have this global bias feature, since such a modification optimizes image quality while minimizing power usage which is a long-felt need in the art.
16. Yamashita in view of Kwan teaches wherein: the pixel drive value comprises a pixel drive voltage or a pixel drive current [Yamashita ¶¶ 6-10 where gate/scan drivers output currents].
20. Yamashita discloses a device [Fig. 2] comprising:
a pixel array [28];
display driver circuitry [20a] configured to: receive image frame data comprising a plurality of frame zones [Fig. 9], each frame zone comprising:
intensity values for a plurality of bit planes [¶ 72]; and process the image frame data to determine, for at least one pixel of the pixel array, a pixel drive value and a pixel drive time interval for each bit plane of the plurality of bit planes of at least one frame zone corresponding to the at least one pixel [¶ 128]; and
a display backplane comprising: pixel driver circuitry comprising a pixel circuit to drive the at least one pixel of the pixel array such that an intensity of the at least one pixel varies for each bit plane according to the corresponding pixel drive value and the corresponding pixel drive time interval [¶ 72].
Yamashita is silent on the global bias feature.
However, Kwan teaches a display driving circuit [Fig. 5] with a global timing circuit [512]. As described in paragraph 116 and throughout, the “global timing control unit 512 receives operational codes ("opcodes") from a system (not shown), decodes the opcodes into operational instructions, and asserts operational instructions (e.g., no-op instructions, data write commands, load row address commands, etc.) on bus 513 to administer the global operations of display system 500.” This global timing system controls the display driver, i.e., biases, the image producing pixels [see Fig. 5 where this carried out by 516 to 504(r), 504(g) and 504(b)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yamashita with Kwan to have this global bias feature, since such a modification optimizes image quality while minimizing power usage which is a long-felt need in the art.
Claim(s) 3-4 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamashita et al. Pub. No. US 2018/0075808 A1 [Yamashita] in view of Kwan et al. Pub. No. US 2009/0027364 A1 [Kwan] and further in view of Iverson et al. Pub. No. US 2021/0210046 A1 [Iverson].
3. Yamashita in view of Kwan is silent on a digital to analog converter driven by a register for converting a digital control word into a bias voltage to control a drive current of the pixel driver circuitry for all pixels of the pixel array. However Iverson teaches a digital to analog converter driven by a register for converting a digital control word into a bias voltage to control a drive current of the pixel driver circuitry for all pixels of the pixel array [¶¶ 42-43 information to drive colors]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yamashita in view of Kwan with Iverson, since such a modification optimizes circuit performance.
4. Yamashita in view of Kwan and further in view of Iverson teaches wherein the display backplane includes circuitry that provides both bit plane digital data and the bias voltage to the pixel driver circuitry for driving all pixels of the pixel array [Iverson ¶ 26 where some circuitry is necessary for pixels].
17. Yamashita in view of Kwan is silent on converting a digital control word into a bias voltage to control a drive current for all pixels of the pixel array. However Iverson teaches converting a digital control word into a bias voltage to control a drive current for all pixels of the pixel array [¶¶ 42-43 information to drive colors]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yamashita in view of Kwan with Iverson, since such a modification optimizes circuit performance.
18. Yamashita in view of Kwan and further in view of Iverson teaches driving all pixels of the pixel array in accordance with both bit plane digital data and the bias voltage [Iverson ¶ 26 where some circuitry is necessary for pixels].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 13-14 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
7. The frame zone limitations in combination with each and every other limitation and when rewritten as detailed above make the claim allowable over the prior art of record.
13. The deactivate limitations in combination with each and every other limitation and when rewritten as detailed above make the claim allowable over the prior art of record.
19. See reasons for claim 7.
Conclusion
/Gustavo Polo/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622