Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu, et al., US 2022/0135068 A1, in view of Xu, et al., US 2022/0018674 A1.
As per Claim 1, Hu teaches a method (¶ 46) comprising:
determining a state of a vehicle in an environment (¶ 52; through sensor system 110 of Figure 1); and
determining, based at least in part on the state and as a tree structure (¶ 87), a plurality of nodes, a node of the plurality of nodes associated with a potential future state and an action of a set of actions (¶¶ 87-89; based on “dynamic nodes” and “adjacent nodes”).
Hu does not expressly teach: determining, based at least in part on a machine learned model, an estimated cost associated with the node; and determining a trajectory for controlling the vehicle based at least in part on the estimated cost. Xu teaches:
determining, based at least in part on a machine learned model, an estimated cost associated with the node (¶¶ 39-40; with cost module 305 of Figure 3 based on machine learning system 123 of Figure 1); and
determining a trajectory for controlling the vehicle based at least in part on the estimated cost (¶¶ 87, 91, 96).
At the time of the invention, a person of skill in the art would have thought it obvious to combine the tree structure process of Hu with the mapping steps of Xu, in order to reduce required travel times for a vehicle from starting point to a destination.
As per Claim 2, Hu does not expressly teach determining, for an additional node of the plurality of nodes, an additional cost using a cost function. Xu teaches determining, for an additional node of the plurality of nodes, an additional cost using a cost function (¶¶ 52, 55). See Claim 1 above for the rationale based on obviousness, motivations and reasons to combine.
As per Claim 3, Hu teaches:
that the set of actions comprises a first maneuver (¶ 75; “to make a right turn”) and a second maneuver (¶ 75; “to stop for a stop sign); and
determining the trajectory comprises determining a trajectory that passes through a first node associated with the first maneuver (¶ 76) and a second node associated with the second maneuver (¶ 79; per “spatial constraint node generator 502” of Figure 5).
As per Claim 4, Hu teaches: determining a total cost that includes the estimated cost with the node and corresponding estimated costs of one or more parent nodes from which the node depends (¶ 71; per a “cost map”), wherein determining the trajectory is further based on the total cost (¶ 94; after calculating a “path cost”).
As per Claim 5, Hu teaches: determining a root node of the tree structure (¶ 87) based at least in part on the state of the vehicle (¶ 89; based on “velocity”).
As per Claim 6, Hu teaches: determining a set of nodes associated with additional future states by sampling a state space that is constrained based least in part on a corresponding state of the vehicle indicated by the node, wherein the additional future states are based on the node (¶¶ 130-131).
As per Claim 7, Hu teaches that the action comprises a control policy for the vehicle (¶¶ 60-61), the control policy including a series of positions for the vehicle to follow, associated with different times (¶ 61; as per path data 228 of Figure 2).
As per Claim 8, Hu does not expressly teach that determining the estimated cost associated with the node is further based on at least one of environment state data or dynamic object data. Xu teaches that determining the estimated cost associated with the node is further based on at least one of environment state data or dynamic object data (¶ 80; based on “traffic affecting events/conditions 501” of Figure 5). See Claim 1 above for the rationale based on obviousness, motivations and reasons to combine.
As per Claim 9, Hu teaches that at least some actions of the set of actions are associated with controlling the vehicle over different time periods, the different time periods having different time lengths (¶ 46; “connecting a sequence of channel segments corresponding to different time intervals”).
As per Claim 10, Hu teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing processor-executable instructions (¶ 122) that, when executed by one or more processors, cause one or more processors to perform operations comprising:
determining a state of a vehicle in an environment (¶ 52; through sensor system 110 of Figure 1); determining, based at least in part on the state and as a tree structure (¶ 87), a plurality of nodes, a node of the plurality of nodes associated with a potential future state and an action of a set of actions (¶¶ 87-89; based on “dynamic nodes” and “adjacent nodes”). Hu does not expressly teach: determining, based at least in part on a machine learned model, an estimated cost associated with the node; and determining a trajectory for controlling the vehicle based at least in part on the estimated cost. Xu teaches:
determining, based at least in part on a machine learned model, an estimated cost associated with the node (¶¶ 39-40; with cost module 305 of Figure 3 based on machine learning system 123 of Figure 1); and
determining a trajectory for controlling the vehicle based at least in part on the estimated cost (¶¶ 87, 91, 96).
See Claim 1 above for the rationale based on obviousness, motivations and reasons to combine.
As per Claim 11, Hu does not expressly teach determining, for an additional node of the plurality of nodes, an additional cost using a cost function. Xu teaches determining, for an additional node of the plurality of nodes, an additional cost using a cost function (¶¶ 52, 55). See Claim 1 above for the rationale based on obviousness, motivations and reasons to combine.
As per Claim 12, Hu teaches:
that the set of actions comprises a first maneuver (¶ 75; “to make a right turn”) and a second maneuver (¶ 75; “to stop for a stop sign); and
determining the trajectory comprises determining a trajectory that passes through a first node associated with the first maneuver (¶ 76) and a second node associated with the second maneuver (¶ 79; per “spatial constraint node generator 502” of Figure 5).
As per Claim 13, Hu teaches: determining a total cost that includes the estimated cost with the node and corresponding estimated costs of one or more parent nodes from which the node depends (¶ 71; per a “cost map”), wherein determining the trajectory is further based on the total cost (¶ 94; after calculating a “path cost”).
As per Claim 14, Hu teaches: determining a root node of the tree structure (¶ 87) based at least in part on the state of the vehicle (¶ 89; based on “velocity”).
As per Claim 15, Hu teaches: determining a set of nodes associated with additional future states by sampling a state space that is constrained based least in part on a corresponding state of the vehicle indicated by the node, wherein the additional future states are based on the node (¶¶ 130-131).
As per Claim 16, Hu teaches that the action comprises a control policy for the vehicle (¶¶ 60-61), the control policy including a series of positions for the vehicle to follow, associated with different times (¶ 61; as per path data 228 of Figure 2).
As per Claim 17, Hu does not expressly teach that determining the estimated cost associated with the node is further based on at least one of environment state data or dynamic object data. Xu teaches that determining the estimated cost associated with the node is further based on at least one of environment state data or dynamic object data (¶ 80; based on “traffic affecting events/conditions 501” of Figure 5). See Claim 1 above for the rationale based on obviousness, motivations and reasons to combine.
As per Claim 18, Hu teaches that at least some actions of the set of actions are associated with controlling the vehicle over different time periods, the different time periods having different time lengths (¶ 46; “connecting a sequence of channel segments corresponding to diffent time intervals”).
As per Claim 19, Hu teaches a system comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing processor-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (¶ 122), cause one or more processors to perform operations comprising:
receiving sensor data from a sensor associated with a vehicle (¶ 52; through sensor system 110 of Figure 1);
determining a root node of a tree structure based at least in part on the sensor data, the root node indicating at least a current state of the vehicle (¶ 77; “the current location”); and
determining a plurality of candidate future states as prediction nodes for the vehicle in a tree search, a prediction node of the prediction nodes associated with a candidate action of a set of candidate actions (¶¶ 87-89; based on “dynamic nodes” and “adjacent nodes”). Hu does not expressly teach: determining, based at least in part on a machine-learned model, an estimated cost associated with the prediction node; determining, as an optimization of the tree structure and based at least in part on a total cost including the estimated cost, a trajectory from the root node to a final node; and controlling the vehicle based at least in part on the trajectory. Xu teaches:
determining, based at least in part on a machine-learned model, an estimated cost associated with the prediction node (¶¶ 39-40; with cost module 305 of Figure 3 based on machine learning system 123 of Figure 1);
determining, as an optimization of the tree structure and based at least in part on a total cost including the estimated cost, a trajectory from the root node to a final node (¶¶ 87, 91, 96); and
controlling the vehicle based at least in part on the trajectory (¶¶ 113-114, 122-123).
See Claim 1 above for the rationale based on obviousness, motivations and reasons to combine.
As per Claim 20, Hu does not expressly teach determining, based at least in part on the machine-learned model, the estimated cost associated with the prediction node comprises: generating the estimated cost based on at least one of environment state data, dynamic object, or prediction node data that indicates how the prediction node is reached in the tree search. Xu teaches determining, based at least in part on the machine-learned model, the estimated cost associated with the prediction node comprises: generating the estimated cost (¶¶ 30, 32) based on at least one of environment state data (¶¶ 35-36; as collected from vehicle sensors 103a-103n of Figure 1), dynamic object, or prediction node data that indicates how the prediction node is reached in the tree search. See Claim 1 above for the rationale based on obviousness, motivations and reasons to combine.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 12,311,981 (“the ‘981 patent”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘981 patent claims a vehicle with a set of sensors that collect data from an environment surrounding the vehicle, collects, node data, uses machine-learning models to evaluate the positions and statuses of static and dynamic objects in the environment surrounding the vehicle, estimates a travel cost based on the nodes and objects, and determines a trajectory that reduces the estimated travel based on the estimates.
Conclusion
ATUL TRIVEDI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3661
/ATUL TRIVEDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3661