DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 2 of Hess et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,713,931).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Claims 1 and 2 of Hess disclose a portable alarm system including a base unit having a processor electrically connected to a wireless transceiver, the base unit receiving wireless alarm signals from first and second physically separated sensors; the processor being selectively programmed by a user to communicate a wireless signal to a monitoring station in response to a wireless signal from the first sensor and not communicate a wireless signal to the monitoring station in response to a wireless signal from the second sensor; and instead causing a wireless communication to be sent to a mobile electronic device in response to the wireless signal from the second sensor. Hess further recites activating a cellular modem and communicating with the monitoring station through the cellular modem in response to the first sensor.
It would have been obvious that the cellular modem used by Hess to communicate with the monitoring station is part of the base unit communication hardware and that the selectively programmed sensor-specific response may include communicating to the monitoring station via the cellular modem for one sensor while communicating to a mobile electronic device for another sensor. The presently claimed subject matter merely recasts the same sensor-specific routing/notification functionality in broader form and does not define a patentably distinct invention over claims 1 and 2 of Hess.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cohn et al. (US 2010/0277315 A1) in view of Jacob et al. (US 2014/0201315 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Cohn teaches a portable alarm system comprising a base unit having a processor connected to a cellular modem and a wireless transceiver, because Cohn teaches an SMA controller/base unit having “a processor 210” coupled to a “cellular transceiver 240,” “WIFI transceiver 235,” broadband connection, and memory (paras 0051-0055; Fig. 2). Cohn further teaches that the SMA controller bridges the sensor network to broadband and cellular networks and carries “alarm and activity events to servers in the operator domain for processing” (para 0056).
Cohn teaches receiving, by the base unit, alarm signals from a first sensor and a second sensor, at least one of the first sensor and the second sensor being physically separated from the base unit, because Cohn teaches RF/wireless sensors including “door or window sensors, motion detectors, smoke detectors, glass break detectors, inertial detectors, water detectors, carbon dioxide detectors, and key fob devices,” where the SMA controller reacts to state changes of these detectors (para 0033). Cohn also teaches that a user can search for activated sensors, display discovered sensors, edit sensor-zone information, and store sensor-zone information in local memory (paras 0068-0070; Fig. 6).
Cohn teaches the processor being selectively programmed by a user, because Cohn teaches that the SMA controller has a configurable architecture that allows a user to adapt the system to the user’s specific needs and stores configuration information for security sensors, monitoring devices, and automation devices (paras 0008-0009). Cohn further teaches that a user can edit sensor-zone information, including zone name and zone function, and that the zone function “determines behavior of the Zone” (paras 0071-0073).
Cohn teaches sending a signal to a monitoring station via the cellular modem in response to an alarm signal from the first sensor, because Cohn teaches that external servers provide a connection to a “traditional Security central station,” which can contact authorities when an alarm condition is detected by the SMA controller (para 0030). Cohn further teaches that alarm events are processed by servers and sent to central monitoring station 190 through telephony server 180 (paras 0040-0042). Cohn also teaches cellular communication between the SMA controller and server, including that the cellular channel handles “all non-alarm and alarm events” when used (para 0047).
Cohn teaches not sending a signal to the monitoring station in response to an alarm signal from the second sensor, because Cohn teaches user-selectable zone functions that alter how the security system acts and reacts to signals from sensors. In particular, Cohn teaches a “Perimeter” zone that will “Generate an alarm immediately if tripped while the system is armed,” while a “24-Hour Inform” zone “Will never generate an alarm, even if the system is armed” (paras 0073-0074; Table 1). Thus, Cohn teaches configuring different sensors/zones to cause different alarm behavior, including one sensor/zone that generates an alarm and another sensor/zone that does not generate an alarm.
Cohn teaches sending a signal to a mobile electronic device in response to the second sensor, because Cohn teaches that home monitoring provides alerts and associated data to a user, including to “a mobile device” (para 0005). Cohn also teaches that the servers automatically provide information to a user via “remote devices such as mobile phones, computers, and pagers” (para 0030), and that the notification module determines “if and how a user should be notified of events,” including by “telephone call, electronic mail, text message, page, and the like” based on the user’s configuration (para 0048).
To the extent Cohn does not expressly state that a particular second sensor is programmed to send a notification to a mobile electronic device while not sending a signal to the monitoring station, Jacob teaches this feature. Jacob teaches receiving data listing events detected by sensors that trigger a notification report, receiving data listing remote devices to which the notification report is transmitted, receiving notification rules, determining whether sensor event data corresponds to a triggering event, generating a notification report, and transmitting the notification report to remote devices (paras 0008-0010). Jacob further teaches that a user may set events that trigger notifications and set notification rules using a touchscreen, smartphone, tablet, laptop, or web interface (para 0012). Jacob also teaches different notification recipients for different detected events, such as a fire notification being sent broadly while an opened garage door notification is sent only to a next-door neighbor (para 0037).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cohn’s user-configurable SMA controller with Jacob’s event-specific notification rules so that different sensors or sensor events cause different programmed communication actions, including reporting one sensor alarm to a monitoring station while sending another sensor event notification to a mobile electronic device without generating a monitoring-station alarm. The motivation would have been to provide user-customized alarm and notification handling, reduce unnecessary central-station reporting for lower-priority events, and direct selected sensor events to appropriate user-designated recipients, as expressly contemplated by Cohn’s configurable zone behavior and Jacob’s user-defined event notification rules.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jang et al (US 2019/0182792) paragraph 0006, 0028 and 0081-0082
/OMEED ALIZADA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686