DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-12 and 14-16 in the reply filed on 7/29/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 13 and 17-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/29/2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of Species B2 in the reply filed on 7/29/2026 is acknowledged. The arguments are found persuasive, as Applicant argues the inventions of claim 1 and claim 9 can be the same invention, and the requirement between Species A and B is withdrawn.
Claims 1-12 and 14-16 are now pending examination.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “actuation instrument” in claim 9.
Claim 9 recites the limitation of an “actuation instrument”. The term “instrument” is used as a substitute for “means” and is modified by functional language “actuation”. There is no corresponding structure in the claim, therefore invoking 112(f). Based on the specification, the corresponding structure for “actuation instrument” is “an end effector with two or more jaws” (Paragraph 0055) or equivalents thereof, according to the species selection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hoffman et al. (US 20060259041 A1) (noted on IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Hoffman discloses a band ligator (20) having a proximal end (550) and a distal end (Figure 2; Paragraph 0032), said band ligator comprising:
a band-mounting portion (200) (Figure 2; Paragraph 0032);
one or more ligating bands (210) mounted on said band-mounting portion (Figure 2; Paragraph 0033); and
an actuator element (220) operably associated with said one or more ligating band to actuate said band ligator to deploy a ligating band distally from said band-mounting portion (Figure 2, 3A-B; Paragraph 0033);
wherein said band ligator and said actuator element are configured to be deployed within a patient without an actuation instrument (biopsy forceps) operably engaging said actuator element for user access to actuate said actuator element (the biopsy forceps are fully capable of being initially operatively associated with said band ligator after said band ligator has been delivered to tissue to be ligated, as they can be inserted after the bands are placed to potentially reposition or adjust the bands.).
Regarding claim 2, Hoffman further discloses (Original) The band ligator of claim 1, wherein the proximal end of said band ligator is configured to be mounted on a distal end of an elongate member (10) for delivery to tissue to be ligated with said actuator element adjacent the distal end of the elongate member and the proximal end of said band ligator (Paragraph 0030).
Regarding claim 3, Hoffman further discloses wherein said band ligator defines a proximal lumen (240) open along the proximal end of said band ligator and said actuator element extends across the proximal lumen of said band ligator (Figure 2A, 3D; Paragraph 0033).
Regarding claim 4, Hoffman further discloses wherein said actuator element extends across said proximal lumen within said proximal lumen (Figure 2A, 3D; Paragraph 0033).
Regarding claim 5, Hoffman further discloses wherein said actuator element has a free end (proximal end of 220) coupled to the proximal end of said band ligator (Paragraph 0034).
Regarding claim 6, Hoffman further discloses a filament (208+209) interengaging with said one or more ligating bands and extending from a distal band to a proximal band along the exterior of said band ligator to be operably coupled with said actuator element at the proximal end of said band ligator (Figure 3D; Paragraph 0040-41).
Regarding claim 7, Hoffman further discloses wherein said band ligator does not include components extending proximally beyond the proximalmost end of said band ligator (there is no disclosure of the any components extending beyond the proximalmost end of the band ligator, thus they are seen as not extending as such).
Regarding claim 8, Hoffman further discloses wherein said actuator element does not extend proximally beyond the proximalmost end of said band ligator (there is no disclosure of the actuator element extending beyond the proximalmost end of the band ligator, thus it is seen as not extending as such) (Paragraph 0034).
Regarding claim 9, Hoffman discloses a band ligator system comprising:
a band ligator (20) (Figure 2; Paragraph 0032) comprising:
a band-mounting portion (200) (Figure 2; Paragraph 0032);
one or more ligating bands (210) mounted on said band-mounting portion (Figure 2; Paragraph 0033); and
an actuator element (220) operably associated with said one or more ligating band to actuate said band ligator to deploy a ligating band distally from said band-mounting portion (Figure 2, 3A-B; Paragraph 0033);
and an actuation instrument (biopsy forceps) formed separately and independently of said band ligator (Paragraph 0028) (As indicated above, the limitation “actuation instrument” invokes 112(f). The corresponding structure in Hoffman is a pair of biopsy forceps, which is equivalent to jaws, as disclosed in the present disclosure.);
wherein:
said band ligator is configured to be mounted with respect to an elongate member (11) for delivery to tissue to be ligated without the actuation instrument operatively associated with said band ligator (Figure 3A; Paragraph 0032); and
said actuation instrument is configured to be initially operatively associated with said band ligator after said band ligator has been delivered to tissue to be ligated (the biopsy forceps are fully capable of being initially operatively associated with said band ligator after said band ligator has been delivered to tissue to be ligated, as they can be inserted after the bands are placed to potentially reposition or adjust the bands.).
Regarding claim 10, Hoffman further discloses wherein: said band ligator is configured for use with a medical instrument (100), the elongate member extending distally from a control handle (550) of the medical instrument (Figure 1B; Paragraph 0032); and when said band ligator is delivered to tissue to be ligated, mounted with respect to the elongate member of the medical instrument, said actuator element is positioned distal to the control handle of the medical instrument without said actuation instrument extending proximally to the control handle of the medical instrument (Figure 1B; 7A-B).
Regarding claim 11, Hoffman further discloses wherein said actuation instrument is insertable through a lumen extending through the elongate member after said band ligator has been delivered to tissue to be ligated to operably engage said actuator element to actuate said actuator element to deploy a ligating band (Paragraph 0028).
Regarding claim 12, Hoffman further discloses wherein said actuation instrument includes an end effector configured to grasp and manipulate said actuator element (forceps are structured with an end effector capable of grasping thus the biopsy forceps of Hoffman would be fully capable of grasping and manipulating the actuator element.).
Regarding claim 14, Hoffman further discloses wherein said end effector includes a plurality of jaws movable relative to one another between an open configuration and a closed configuration (Paragraph 0028) (forceps inherently include two jaws movable between an open configuration and a closed configuration).
Regarding claim 15, Hoffman further discloses wherein said actuation instrument includes a handle movable to actuate said end effector to grasp said actuator element (Paragraph 0028) (forceps inherently include a handle to actuate the end effector, which is fully capable of grasping said actuator element).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoffman as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Jinno et al. (US 20100198253 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Hoffman discloses the system of claim 9 but fails to explicitly disclose wherein said actuation instrument includes a handle configured to move in only one direction to deploy one ligating band at a time from said band ligator.
However, Jinno is directed to forceps and teaches it is known for forceps to have one degree of freedom, thus the forceps including the handle are configured to move in one direction (Paragraph 0008). As a result, said handle would be configured to deploy one ligating band at a time from said band ligator.
One of ordinary skill in the art would know it is typical of forceps to move in one direction. The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR, 550 U.S. at 416, 82 USPQ2d at 1395; B/E Aerospace, Inc. v. C&D Zodiac, Inc., 962 F.3d 1373, 1379, 2020 USPQ2d 10706 (Fed. Cir. 2020); Sakraida v. AG Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273, 282, 189 USPQ 449, 453 (1976); Anderson’s-Black Rock, Inc. v. Pavement Salvage Co., 396 U.S. 57, 62-63, 163 USPQ 673, 675 (1969); Great Atl. & P. Tea Co. v. Supermarket Equip. Corp., 340 U.S. 147, 152, 87 USPQ 303, 306 (1950). "[I]t can be important to identify a reason that would have prompted a person of ordinary skill in the relevant field to combine the elements in the way the claimed new invention does." KSR, 550 U.S. at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.
Conclusion
/Z.J./Examiner, Art Unit 3771
/SHAUN L DAVID/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771