DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-13, 15, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Falempin et al (9,816,463). Falempin et al [Fig. 4] teach A rotating detonation combustor comprising: a forward wall 3 [with passages 8] disposed at an inlet end of the rotating detonation combustor; a radially inner wall [below 2A] surrounding a longitudinal axis and extending downstream from the forward wall to an outlet end of the rotating detonation combustor; a radially outer wall 4 extending downstream from the forward wall to the outlet end, the radially outer wall surrounding the radially inner wall to define at least one plenum [downstream 2A, 2B in Fig. 4] between the radially inner wall and the radially outer wall; one or more intermediate dividers 14 proximate to the inlet end and defining at least two mixing zones, wherein the one or more intermediate dividers 14 are disposed radially between the radially inner wall and the radially outer wall, and the one or more intermediate dividers extend axially from the forward wall 3 [contains 8] at only a forward end of the rotating detonation combustor such that the at least one plenum is downstream of the one or more intermediate dividers; a plurality of oxidizer inlets 8 disposed at the inlet end and in fluid communication with the at least two mixing zones 2A, 2B; and a plurality of fuel inlets F2 disposed at the inlet end and in fluid communication with the at least two mixing zones; wherein fuel delivered through a first fuel inlet F2 to a first mixing zone [e.g. 2A or 2B] of the at least two mixing zones is independently controllable via [valves 10] relative to fuel delivered through a second fuel inlet to a second mixing zone [e.g. 2B or 2A, respectively] of the at least two mixing zones, the first mixing zone and the second mixing zone being separated from each other by at least one of the one or more intermediate dividers 15 [note each of fuel passages 15 are taught as independent of the other; multiple valves 10 are taught to control the fuel; fuel in each of chambers 2A and 2B are independently controlled and can be shut off independently of the other, see col. 6, lines 13-42; col. 8, lines 26-32].(2) wherein the rotating detonation combustor is configured to produce one or more detonation waves in the at least one plenum between the radially inner wall and the radially outer wall.(3) wherein the plurality of oxidizer inlets 8 is oriented to direct oxidizer in an axial direction. (4) wherein the plurality of oxidizer inlets 8 is disposed in the forward wall. (5) wherein the plurality of fuel inlets F2 is oriented to direct fuel in a radial direction [see Fig. 3 and col. 6, lines 43-48 which teaches the cooling circuit of Fig. 3 may be used on Fig. 4]. (6) wherein the plurality of fuel inlets includes at least one fuel inlet F2 disposed in each of the radially inner wall 15 and the radially outer wall 15 and in fluid communication with the at least two mixing zones. (8) wherein the one or more intermediate dividers include a first intermediate divider [below 2A] that is disposed radially outward of the radially inner wall and a second intermediate divider [above 2A] that is disposed radially between the first intermediate divider and the radially outer wall [note that more than two chambers 2A, 2B are taught, see col. 4, lines 31-33]. (7) wherein the plurality of fuel inlets includes one or more fuel inlets F2 disposed in the one or more intermediate dividers 14. (10) at least one fuel inlet F2 disposed in each of the radially inner wall 15 and the radially outer wall F2 and in fluid communication with the at least two mixing zones [of 2A, 2B, see Fig. 3 and col. 6, lines 43-48 which teaches the cooling circuit of Fig. 3 may be used on Fig. 4]. (11) wherein the first fuel inlet F2 extends between an outer surface of the first intermediate divider and an inner surface of the first intermediate divider 14. (12) wherein the second fuel inlet F2 extends between the inner surface of the first intermediate divider and the outer surface of the first intermediate divider 14 [see Fig. 3 and col. 6, lines 43-48 which teaches the cooling circuit of Fig. 3 may be used on Fig. 4]. (13) a third fuel inlet F2 configured to introduce fuel into the second mixing zone, the third fuel inlet F2 extending between an outer surface of the second intermediate divider [unillustrated, but present for three or more chambers, see col. 4, lines 31-33] and an inner surface of the second intermediate divider. (15) a fourth fuel inlet F2 configured to introduce fuel into a third mixing zone of the at least two mixing zones, the fourth fuel inlet extending between the inner surface of the second intermediate divider [unillustrated] and the outer surface of the second intermediate divider. (17) wherein the at least one fuel inlet F2 disposed in the radially inner wall introduces fuel into the first mixing zone and the at least one fuel inlet F2 disposed in the radially outer wall introduces fuel into the third mixing zone [for third chamber, see col. 4, lines 31-33].
Claim(s) 1-13, 15, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vise et al (2018/0355822). Vise et al teach A rotating detonation combustor comprising: a forward wall [includes the nozzle assembly 128, see annotations in dashed lines] disposed at an inlet end of the rotating detonation combustor; a radially inner wall 120, 150 surrounding a longitudinal axis and extending downstream from the forward wall to an outlet end of the rotating detonation combustor; a radially outer wall 118, 150 extending downstream from the forward wall to the outlet end, the radially outer wall 118, 150 surrounding the radially inner wall 120, 150 to define at least one plenum 122 between the radially inner wall and the radially outer wall; one or more intermediate dividers [see annotations] proximate to the inlet end and defining at least two mixing zones 148, wherein the one or more intermediate dividers are disposed radially between the radially inner wall 120, 150 and the radially outer wall 118, 150, and the one or more intermediate dividers [see annotations] extend axially from the forward wall at only a forward end of the rotating detonation combustor such that the at least one plenum 122 is downstream of the one or more intermediate dividers; a plurality of oxidizer inlets disposed at the inlet end and in fluid communication with the at least two mixing zones 148; and a plurality of fuel inlets disposed at the inlet end and in fluid communication with the at least two mixing zones 148, wherein fuel delivered through a first fuel inlet [e.g. for any of 201, 202, and 203] to a first mixing zone of the at least two mixing zones is independently controllable [see ¶ 0087-0088, which teaches the flow of fuel 162 to each of the first 166, second 168, and third 170 arrays/ mixing zones are controlled and by “independently adjustable fuel manifolds, lines, valves”] relative to fuel delivered through a second fuel inlet to a second mixing zone [e.g. for any of 202, 203, and 201] of the at least two mixing zones, the first mixing zone and the second mixing zone being separated from each other by at least one of the one or more intermediate dividers [see annotations].(2) wherein the rotating detonation combustor is configured to produce one or more detonation waves in the at least one plenum 122 between the radially inner wall 120, 150 and the radially outer wall 118, 150.(3) wherein the plurality of oxidizer inlets is oriented to direct oxidizer in an axial direction. (4) wherein the plurality of oxidizer inlets is disposed in the forward wall.(5) wherein the plurality of fuel inlets 162 is oriented to direct fuel in a radial direction. (6) wherein the plurality of fuel inlets includes at least one fuel inlet 162 disposed in each of the radially inner wall 120, 150 and the radially outer wall 118, 150 and in fluid communication with the at least two mixing zones 148. (7) wherein the plurality of fuel inlets includes one or more fuel inlets 162 disposed in the one or more intermediate dividers.(8) wherein the one or more intermediate dividers include a first intermediate divider that is disposed radially outward of the radially inner wall 120, 150 and a second intermediate divider that is disposed radially between the first intermediate divider and the radially outer wall 118, 150. (9) wherein the first intermediate divider and the second intermediate divider [appear] uniformly spaced between the radially inner wall and the radially outer wall 118, 150. (10) at least one fuel inlet 162 disposed in each of the radially inner wall and the radially outer wall 118, 150 and in fluid communication with the at least two mixing zones 148. (11) wherein the first fuel inlet 162 extends between an outer surface of the first intermediate divider and an inner surface of the first intermediate divider. (12) wherein the second fuel inlet 162 extends between the inner surface of the first intermediate divider and the outer surface of the first intermediate divider. (13) a third fuel inlet 162 configured to introduce fuel into the second mixing zone, the third fuel inlet extending between an outer surface of the second intermediate divider and an inner surface of the second intermediate divider. (15) a fourth fuel inlet 162 configured to introduce fuel into a third mixing zone of the at least two mixing zones 148, the fourth fuel inlet extending between the inner surface of the second intermediate divider and the outer surface of the second intermediate divider. (17) wherein the at least one fuel inlet 162 disposed in the radially inner wall introduces fuel into the first mixing zone and the at least one fuel inlet 162 disposed in the radially outer wall 118, 150 introduces fuel into the third mixing zone.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13, 15, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vise et al (2018/0355822) and optionally in view of Mizener et al (2018/0080412) and optionally either Claflin (2012/0151898) or Falempin et al (9,816,463). Vise et al already teach (9) wherein the first intermediate divider and the second intermediate divider [appear] uniformly spaced between the radially inner wall and the radially outer wall 118, 150. Alternately, Vise teaches in Fig. 6 is illustrated such that the radial spacing / gap 121 for each of the three annotated chambers appears to be the equal and would teach one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a uniform spacing /equal spacing as an option as part of using the workable ranges in the art. Furthermore, Mizener (Figs. 16A, 16B) also appear to illustrate uniform spacing / equal spacing using equal radial gaps. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make wherein the first intermediate divider and the second intermediate divider are uniformly spaced between the radially inner wall and the radially outer wall, as an obvious matter of using the workable ranges in the art in light of the illustrations of Vise or Mizener. In the treatment of claim 1, the forward wall [includes the nozzle assembly 128, see annotations in dashed lines] disposed at an inlet end of the rotating detonation combustor were deemed to constitute a forward wall disposed at an inlet end of the rotating detonation combustor. Alternately, Claflin teaches the forward wall disposed at an inlet end 128 of the rotating detonation combustor [see Figs. 1, 2] and note 28 forms a closed end / wall for the nozzles [see paragraph 0008]. Falempin et al teach [Figs. 3, 4] teach a forward wall 3 disposed at an inlet end of the rotating detonation combustor for the nozzles 8. To the extent not already disclosed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ a forward wall for the nozzle assembly of Vise et al, as taught by Claflin or Falempin et al, in order to provide a closed detonation chamber and/or provide secure mounting of the nozzle assembly.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Falempin et al (9,816,463) in view of either Mizener et al (2018/0080412) or Deng et al “The feasibility of mode control in rotating detonation engine.” Falempin et al teach (20) A rotating detonation combustor comprising: a forward wall [with passages 8] disposed at an inlet end of the rotating detonation combustor; a radially inner wall [below 2A] surrounding a longitudinal axis and extending downstream from the forward wall to an outlet end of the rotating detonation combustor; a radially outer wall 4 extending downstream from the forward wall to the outlet end, the radially outer wall surrounding the radially inner wall to define at least one plenum [downstream 2A, 2B in Fig. 4] between the radially inner wall and the radially outer wall; one or more intermediate dividers 14 proximate to the inlet end and defining at least two mixing zones, wherein the one or more intermediate dividers 14 are disposed radially between the radially inner wall and the radially outer wall, and the one or more intermediate dividers extend axially from the forward wall 3 at only a forward end of the rotating detonation combustor such that the at least one plenum is downstream of the one or more intermediate dividers; a plurality of oxidizer inlets 8 disposed at the inlet end and in fluid communication with the at least two mixing zones 2A, 2B; wherein the plurality of oxidizer inlets 8 is oriented to direct oxidizer in an axial direction; and a plurality of fuel inlets F1, F2 disposed at the inlet end and in fluid communication with the at least two mixing zones, wherein the plurality of fuel inlets is oriented to direct fuel in a radial direction [see Fig. 3 and col. 6, lines 43-48 which teaches the cooling circuit of Fig. 3 may be used on Fig. 4], and wherein the rotating detonation combustor is configured to produce one or more detonation waves in the at least one plenum between the radially inner wall and the radially outer wall. Falempin et al do not necessarily teach the rotating detonation combustor is configured to produce at least two detonation waves in the at least one plenum between the radially inner wall and the radially outer wall, and wherein the at least two detonation waves travel in opposite circumferential directions within the at least one plenum. Mizener et al teach the rotating detonation combustor is configured to produce at least two detonation waves in the at least one plenum 1860 between the radially inner wall and the radially outer wall, and wherein the at least two detonation waves travel in opposite circumferential directions within the at least one plenum [note Fig. 18 may be applied to concentric detonation chambers/plenum being an aggregate of multiple chambers] and the waves for each concentric region are in opposite/ counter rotating directions [see ¶ 0149] to reduce the torque associated with rotation. Deng et al teach the rotating detonation combustor is configured to produce at least two detonation waves in the at least one plenum between the radially inner wall and the radially outer wall, and wherein the at least two detonation waves travel in opposite circumferential directions within the at least one plenum [see section 3.3 starting on page 1546]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ produce at least two detonation waves in the at least one plenum between the radially inner wall and the radially outer wall, and wherein the at least two detonation waves travel in opposite circumferential directions within the at least one plenum, as taught by either Falempin et al or Deng et al, to e.g. accommodate reducing the torque associated with rotation or as the typical practice in the art.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vise et al (2018/0355822) in view of either Mizener et al (2018/0080412) or Deng et al “The feasibility of mode control in rotating detonation engine.” Vise et al teach A rotating detonation combustor comprising: a forward wall [includes the nozzle assembly 128, see annotations in dashed lines] disposed at an inlet end of the rotating detonation combustor; a radially inner wall 120, 150 surrounding a longitudinal axis and extending downstream from the forward wall to an outlet end of the rotating detonation combustor; a radially outer wall 118, 150 extending downstream from the forward wall to the outlet end, the radially outer wall 118, 150 surrounding the radially inner wall 120, 150 to define at least one plenum 122 between the radially inner wall and the radially outer wall; one or more intermediate dividers [see annotations] proximate to the inlet end and defining at least two mixing zones 148, wherein the one or more intermediate dividers are disposed radially between the radially inner wall 120, 150 and the radially outer wall 118, 150, and the one or more intermediate dividers [see annotations] extend axially from the forward wall at only a forward end of the rotating detonation combustor such that the at least one plenum 122 is downstream of the one or more intermediate dividers; a plurality of oxidizer inlets disposed at the inlet end and in fluid communication with the at least two mixing zones 148; wherein the plurality of oxidizer inlets is oriented to direct oxidizer in an axial direction; and a plurality of fuel inlets 162 disposed at the inlet end and in fluid communication with the at least two mixing zones 148, wherein the plurality of fuel inlets 162 is oriented to direct fuel in a radial direction, and wherein the rotating detonation combustor is configured to produce two or more detonation waves in the at least one plenum between the radially inner wall and the radially outer wall.Vise et al do not necessarily teach the rotating detonation combustor is configured to produce at least two detonation waves in the at least one plenum between the radially inner wall and the radially outer wall, and wherein the at least two detonation waves travel in opposite circumferential directions within the at least one plenum. Mizener et al teach the rotating detonation combustor is configured to produce at least two detonation waves in the at least one plenum 1860 between the radially inner wall and the radially outer wall, and wherein the at least two detonation waves travel in opposite circumferential directions within the at least one plenum [note Fig. 18 may be applied to concentric detonation chambers/plenum being an aggregate of multiple chambers] and the waves for each concentric region are in opposite/ counter rotating directions [see ¶ 0149] to reduce the torque associated with rotation. Deng et al teach the rotating detonation combustor is configured to produce at least two detonation waves in the at least one plenum between the radially inner wall and the radially outer wall, and wherein the at least two detonation waves travel in opposite circumferential directions within the at least one plenum [see section 3.3 starting on page 1546]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ produce at least two detonation waves in the at least one plenum between the radially inner wall and the radially outer wall, and wherein the at least two detonation waves travel in opposite circumferential directions within the at least one plenum, as taught by either Falempin et al or Deng et al, to e.g. accommodate reducing the torque associated with rotation or as the typical practice in the art.
Claim(s) 1-13, 15, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Falempin et al (9,816,463) alone or in combination with either Mizener et al (2018/0080412) or Deng et al “The feasibility of mode control in rotating detonation engine,” as applied above, and for claim 9 further in view of either Vise et al (2018/0355822) or Mizener et al (2018/0080412). Falempin et al [Fig. 4] teach the claimed invention and teach on col. 6, lines 43-48 that the cooling circuit of Fig. 3 may be used on Fig. 4. Accordingly, the claims are anticipated including with the use of radial fuel injection from the outer wall, inner wall, and first and second intermediate dividers. Alternately, this is treated under obviousness.
Falempin [Fig. 3] teach (20) … wherein the plurality of fuel inlets is oriented to direct fuel in a radial direction. (5) wherein the plurality of fuel inlets F2 is oriented to direct fuel in a radial direction. (6) wherein the plurality of fuel inlets includes at least one fuel inlet F2 disposed in each of the radially inner wall 15 and the radially outer wall 15 and in fluid communication with the at least two mixing zones. (7) wherein the plurality of fuel inlets includes one or more fuel inlets F2 disposed in the one or more intermediate dividers 14. (10) at least one fuel inlet F2 disposed in each of the radially inner wall 15 and the radially outer wall F2 and in fluid communication with the at least two mixing zones [of 2A, 2B]. (11) a first fuel inlet F2 configured to introduce fuel into a first mixing zone of the at least two mixing zones and extending between an outer surface of the first intermediate divider 14 and an inner surface of the first intermediate divider 14. (12) a second fuel inlet F2 configured to introduce fuel into a second mixing zone of the at least two mixing zones and extending between the inner surface of the first intermediate divider and the outer surface of the first intermediate divider. (13) a third fuel inlet F2 configured to introduce fuel into the second mixing zone, the third fuel inlet F2 extending between an outer surface of the second intermediate divider [unillustrated, but present for three or more chambers, see col. 4, lines 31-33].] and an inner surface of the second intermediate divider. (15) a fourth fuel inlet F2 configured to introduce fuel into a third mixing zone of the at least two mixing zones, the fourth fuel inlet extending between the inner surface of the second intermediate divider [unillustrated] and the outer surface of the second intermediate divider. (17) wherein the at least one fuel inlet F2 disposed in the radially inner wall introduces fuel into the first mixing zone and the at least one fuel inlet F2 disposed in the radially outer wall introduces fuel into the third mixing zone [for third chamber, see col. 4, lines 31-33]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ the claimed features as set forth above using Fig. 3 in combination with Fig. 4, as Falempin et al teach on col. 6, lines 43-48 that the cooling circuit of Fig. 3 may be used on Fig. 4 and cooling of the outer wall, inner wall, and first and second intermediate dividers allows for thermal protection of the walls, and preheating of the fuel prior to combustion, resulting in greater combustion efficiency. Falempin et al do not teach (9) wherein the first intermediate divider and the second intermediate divider are uniformly spaced between the radially inner wall and the radially outer wall. However, Vise et al teach at least a broad interpretation of the first intermediate divider and the second intermediate divider is uniformly spaced between the radially inner wall and the radially outer wall. Vise teaches in Fig. 6 is illustrated such that the radial spacing / gap 121 for each of the three annotated chambers appears to be the equal and would teach one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a uniform spacing /equal spacing as an option as part of using the workable ranges in the art. Furthermore, Mizener (Figs. 16A, 16B) also appear to illustrate uniform spacing / equal spacing using equal radial gaps. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make wherein the first intermediate divider and the second intermediate divider are uniformly spaced between the radially inner wall and the radially outer wall, as an obvious matter of using the workable ranges in the art in light of the illustrations of Vise or Mizener. Note that for claims 8+ which require a first intermediate divider that is disposed radially outward of the radially inner wall and a second intermediate divider that is disposed radially between the first intermediate divider and the radially outer wall, this is already covered by the teaching of Falempin et al of using more than the two illustrated chambers 2A, 2B, and adding e.g. 2C (unillustrated). Note both Vise and Falempin illustrated the use of first intermediate divider that is disposed radially outward of the radially inner wall and a second intermediate divider that is disposed radially between the first intermediate divider and the radially outer wall, and the use of at least a first, second and third mixing zone. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ first intermediate divider that is disposed radially outward of the radially inner wall and a second intermediate divider that is disposed radially between the first intermediate divider and the radially outer wall and a first, second and third mixing zone, by duplication of parts of Falempin et al, as consistent with Falempin et al’s teaching of using more than two chambers and of which Mizener and Vise et al, show such a multiplication of chambers for increased power output.
Claim(s) 8-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over any of the prior art, as applied above, and further in view of Matt et al (4,455,840). The prior art already teach the claimed invention. Alternately Matt teaches (8) wherein the one or more intermediate dividers include a first intermediate divider 21 that is disposed radially outward of the radially inner wall and a second intermediate divider 21 that is disposed radially between the first intermediate divider and the radially outer wall. (11) wherein the first fuel inlet 23 or 24 extends between an outer surface of the first intermediate divider and an inner surface of the first intermediate divider [see Fig. 2 which shows the fuel inlets 23, 24 extend from the outer surface of the diver wall to the inner surface of the first and second intermediate divider / all the way through the divider in the radial direction]. (12) wherein the second fuel inlet 24 or 23 extends between the inner surface of the first intermediate divider and the outer surface of the first intermediate divider (13) a third fuel inlet 23 or 24 configured to introduce fuel into the second mixing zone, the third fuel inlet extending between an outer surface of the second intermediate divider and an inner surface of the second intermediate divider. (15) a fourth fuel inlet 24 or 23 configured to introduce fuel into a third mixing zone of the at least two mixing zones, the fourth fuel inlet extending between the inner surface of the second intermediate divider and the outer surface of the second intermediate divider. Matt et al teach at the first, second, third, and fourth fuel inlets 24, 23 disposed in each of first and second intermediate divider 22 of the at least one of first and second intermediate divider and in fluid communication with the at least two mixing zones [above and below] and which allow using separate flow paths for ignition vs normal operation and which enhance the mixing of fuel and oxidizer, col. 1, lines 35+ and also allows for adjusting the individual flows from either 24 or 23 depending on desired fuel quantities. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ first, second, third, fourth inlets extending through each of the first and second intermediate dividers, as taught by Matt et al, in order to which enhance the mixing of fuel and oxidizer and allow for additional control over the fuel.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments concerning Falempin et al and Vise et al are directed to the new limitations added by amendment. These limitations are fully met by the prior art as applied above.
Applicant’s arguments concerning Falempin and Fig. 1 are not persuasive as Figs. 3, 4 were the ones primarily applied. Moreover, the allegedly missing features of claim 1 are taught in the reference, see col. 6, lines 13-42; col. 8, lines 26-32. Similarly, Vise et al in ¶ 0087-0088, teaches the flow of fuel 162 to each of the first 166, second 168, and third 170 arrays/ mixing zones are controlled and by “independently adjustable fuel manifolds, lines, valves”. Accordingly, applicant’s arguments fail to persuade.
As for applicant’s arguments concerning claim 20 these are contained in the already applied Mizener et al reference as well as the newly cited Deng et al publication.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
The fax number for the organization where this application is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Ted Kim/
Telephone
571-272-4829
Primary Examiner
Fax
571-273-8300
April 27, 2026