DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 5-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Limitation “detecting a location of the bubble cloud with the ultrasound transducer array” is not in the specification. As see in applicant’s specification paragraph [0071] and Fig. 1, the imaging probe not the ultrasound transducer array. The therapy transducer array has hole to insert the imaging/monitor probe/transducer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
2. Claims 2 and 11-12 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (Controlled Ultrasound Tissue Erosion (provided in the IDS)), in view of Hall (US 2008/0154132) and further in view of Rabiner (US 2003/0236539).
3. Addressing claim 2, Xu discloses:
an ultrasound transducer (see Figs. 1-2, therapy transducer);
a motorized positioning system coupled to the ultrasound transducer (see page 727; first paragraph, left column and Fig. 1; 3-axis positioning system; this is the same motorized positioning system as disclosed in applicant’s Fig. 1 and paragraph [0022]);
a generator operatively coupled to the ultrasound transducer, the generator and ultrasound transducer being configured to generate cavitation in a target tissue of a subject for controlled mechanical fractionation of the target tissue (see abstract, Figs. 1, 12 and page 726, Introduction section; function generator; tissue erosion is tissue fractionation);
at least one processor operatively coupled to the generator and being configured to provide histotripsy therapy to the subject by: outputting an ultrasound pulse sequence from the ultrasound transducer array resulting in cavitation forming a bubble cloud (see Fig. 1, page 734, Discussion section, left column, page 726, Introduction section; the system inherently has a processor; the system produces cavitation by therapy transducer for histotripsy therapy);
changing a position of the bubble cloud by mechanically moving the motorized positioning system (see page 727; first paragraph, left column and Fig. 1; 3-axis positioning system move the therapy to change a position of the bubble cloud).
Xu does not explicitly disclose an array, detecting a location of the bubble cloud with the ultrasound transducer array and changing a position of the bubble cloud by mechanically moving the motorized positioning system such that the bubble cloud is spatially positioned within the target tissue in response to the location of the bubble cloud. Xu discloses transducer; therapy transducer and monitor transducer together (see page 727, first paragraph, left column and Fig. 1; Xu discloses a therapy transducer with inner diameter hole for a monitoring transducer just like the device disclose by applicant in Fig. 1 and [0071]); however, he does not clearly and explicitly disclose the transducer is an array and monitor is detecting a location of the bubble cloud. Hall explicitly discloses a transducer array and detecting a location of the bubble cloud by imaging/monitoring transducer (see claims 3, 9, 11, [0021], [0027-0028] and Fig. 1; image to see interaction with bubble also detect/image bubble, bright spot is the bubble produce hyperecho scattering; HIFU/therapy transducer is a phased array system; Xu in view of Hall explicitly discloses detecting a location of the bubble cloud with the ultrasound transducer array (examiner interpret this limitation as see in applicant’s Fig. 1 and paragraph [0071]; basically a therapy transducer with a hole for monitoring transducer). Rabiner discloses changing a position of the bubble cloud by actuating the transducer array such that the bubble cloud is spatially positioned within the target tissue in response to the location of the bubble cloud (see Fig. 8, [0009], [0018], [0020], [0023], [0030], [0034], [0067] and [0075]; ultrasound probe 15 aligned with the thrombus 16 in the blood vessel to generate microbubble cloud position at the thrombus to remove the thrombus; Xu discloses changing a position of the bubble cloud by mechanically moving the motorized positioning system and Rabiner discloses align ultrasound probe/transducer with target such that the bubble cloud is spatially positioned within the target tissue in response to the location of the bubble cloud therefore Xu in view of Hall and Rabiner discloses changing a position of the bubble cloud by mechanically moving the motorized positioning system or electronically moving the bubble cloud such that the bubble cloud is spatially positioned within the target tissue in response to the location of the bubble cloud). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Xu to use an array, detecting a location of the bubble cloud and changing a position of the bubble cloud by actuating transducer such that the bubble cloud is spatially positioned within the target tissue in response to the location of the bubble cloud as taught by Hall and Rabiner because this would improve the efficiency of the treatment (see Hall’s paragraph [0004]; improve cost and successful outcome; Rabiner’s paragraph [0030]; effectively remove tissue, effective, reliable and cost effective).
4. Addressing claims 11-12, Xu discloses:
addressing claim 11, comprising an amplifier operatively coupled to the generator and the ultrasound transducer array (see Fig. 1, amplifier connect to function generator and transducer).
addressing claim 12, wherein the ultrasound transducer array further comprises a central hole configured to receive an ultrasound imager (see page 727, left column, first paragraph; “a 3.7-cm inner diameter hole for a monitoring/imaging transducer).
There is no art rejection for claims 5-10.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/28/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues Hall does not use the same transducer array as the one that generated the bubble cloud as required by claim 2. Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because the specification does not disclose the same transducer array is use for both detecting bubble cloud and therapy generated bubble cloud. Further, Xu discloses the same device therapy transducer with a hole for inserting the imaging/monitor probe/transducer for monitoring target tissue treatment as applicant’s specification; however, he does not explicitly disclose imaging/monitoring target is imaging/detecting bubble cloud. Hall explicitly discloses imaging/monitoring target is detecting/imaging/monitor bubble cloud. Xu in view of Hall discloses the same device to perform the claim function. Applicant argues Rabiner does not disclose detecting a location of a bubble cloud in any form. Applicant argues Rabiner does not disclose changing a position of the bubble cloud by mechanically moving the motorized positioning system. Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because examiner does not rely on Rabiner to disclose this limitation. Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because examiner does not rely on Rabiner to disclose this limitation. Applicant argues since Rabiner does not detect a location, it cannot actuate a transducer array in response to the location, as claimed. Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because the limitation is being rejected as a combination of references. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Further, one does not need to detect bubble cloud location in order to actuate a transducer array in response to the location of the bubble cloud. As see in Xu’s Fig. 1, one can align the therapy transducer with the target tissue and assume the transducer produce bubble cloud at the target tissue. If the transducer is not aligned with target tissue then one assume that bubble cloud is not at the target tissue therefore actuate the transducer to align with the target tissue to have the bubble cloud generated within the target tissue. This is actuate a transducer array in response to the location of the bubble cloud. The location is assume and not detected. The combination of references would allow one to detect the bubble allow and changing a position of the bubble cloud by mechanically moving the motorized positioning system such that the bubble cloud is spatially positioned within the target tissue in response to the detected location of the bubble cloud.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HIEN N NGUYEN/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3797