Application is a divisional application from 18/331,679, 17/867,207, 16/931,637. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-9, 12-14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Moffatt (US 5727417).
Moffatt fig 6
Regarding claim 1, Moffatt discloses an axial pump (fig 6, hydraulic pump 42, c 4 ln 46-65) assembly for a hydraulic tool (id.), the axial pump assembly comprising:
a cycloidal disk (interior radius of thrust bearing 74) rotatable about an axis (fig 4, axis 56) and having an eccentric opening (eccentric openings through 74; eccentric because it is a tilted disc; and is therefore eccentric relative to the rotational axis) configured to receive a rotational input (rotation via motor 48, c 4 ln 46-65);
a ring (exterior radius of thrust bearing 74 is ring shaped) defining a cam track (upper surface of 74 provides a cam track for wobble ring 70; they are disposed at an angle and causes reciprocal motion by acting as a bearing surface for plungers 66, c 5 ln 15-55; this meets the plain meaning of the term “cam”), the ring engaged with the cycloidal disk so that rotation of the cycloidal disk causes corresponding rotation of the ring about the axis (fig 6 shows that 74 is a thrust bearing with rollers; this allows rotation of 74 around the axis as rollers rotate, c 5 ln 29-31); and
a plate (70, meets the plain meaning of plate) including a follower (plunger 66 extend from 90 to 70, c 5 ln 36) that engages with cam track so that rotation of the cam track causes corresponding reciprocating motion of the plate along the axis (plungers 66 engage with 70 to reciprocate, c 5 ln 34-55).
Regarding claim 3, Moffatt discloses the axial pump assembly of claim 1, wherein the eccentric opening is defined by a bushing (fig 6 shows a raised bushing on 75 that is for insertion into 74) that is received in a central opening defined in the cycloidal disk (fig 6 shows the central opening in 74).
Regarding claim 4, Moffatt discloses the axial pump assembly of claim 1 wherein a plurality of pins (fig 6 shows rollers of thrust bearing 74 and cylindrical and meet the plain meaning of pin) extends between the cycloidal disk and the plate (fig 6 shows rollers on thrust bearing 74, the width of each roller bearing pin extends toward plate; the roller bearings are cylindrical and meet the plain meaning of pin).
Regarding claim 6, Moffatt discloses the axial pump assembly of claim 4, wherein the plurality of pins extends through the ring (roller pins radiate through 74 and meet the plain meaning of “extends through”).
Regarding claim 7, Moffatt discloses the axial pump assembly of claim 6, wherein the cycloidal disk includes a plurality of holes arranged around the eccentric opening to receive the plurality of pins (fig 6 depicts thrust bearing 74 with a plurality of pins around the central eccentric opening).
Regarding claim 8, Moffatt discloses the axial pump assembly of claim 7, further comprising a plurality bushings that are positioned in the plurality of holes and receive the plurality of pins (the pins of thrust bearing 74 are implicitly fixed in the thrust bearing disk 74; whatever means by which those pins are held in the thrust bearing meets the plain meaning of bushing; the plain meaning of bushing is a bearing for a resolving shaft).
Regarding claim 9, Moffatt discloses the axial pump assembly of claim 4 further comprising a base that includes the plurality of pins (thrust bearing 74 has a lower half which meets the plain meaning of base portion).
Regarding claim 12 Moffat discloses an axial pump assembly for a hydraulic tool (fig 6, hydraulic pump 42, c 4 ln 46-65) (id.), the axial pump assembly comprising:
a rotational input (rotation via motor 48, c 4 ln 46-65) extending along and rotatable about an axis (fig 4, axis 56);
a cycloidal disk (interior radius of thrust bearing 74) having an eccentric opening (eccentric openings through 74; eccentric because it is a tilted disc; and is therefore eccentric relative to the rotational axis) that receives the rotational input (rotation via motor 48, c 4 ln 46-65) so that rotation of the rotational input causes rotation of the cycloidal disk about the axis (fig 4, axis 56), the cycloidal disk further defining a plurality of holes arranged around the eccentric opening (fig 6 depicts thrust bearing 74 with a plurality of pins with holes for the pins around the central eccentric opening);
a cam (upper surface of 74 provides a cam track for wobble ring 70; they are disposed at an angle and causes reciprocal motion by acting as a bearing surface for plungers 66, c 5 ln 15-55; this meets the plain meaning of the term “cam”) rotated by the cycloidal disk about the axis (fig 6 shows that 74 is a thrust bearing with rollers; this allows rotation of 74 around the axis as rollers rotate, c 5 ln 29-31);
a plate (70, meets the plain meaning of plate) that engages with the cam so that rotation of the cam causes corresponding reciprocating motion of the plate along the axis (plungers 66 engage with 70 to reciprocate, c 5 ln 34-55); and
a base (thrust bearing 74 has a lower half which meets the plain meaning of base portion) including a first plurality of pins (fig 6 shows rollers of thrust bearing 74 and cylindrical and meet the plain meaning of pin) that extend along the axis and through the plurality of holes in the cycloidal disk (roller pins radiate through 74 and meet the plain meaning of “extends through”) to the plate (fig 6 shows rollers on thrust bearing 74, the width of each roller bearing pin extends toward plate; the roller bearings are cylindrical and meet the plain meaning of pin) so that the plate is rotationally fixed to the base.
Regarding claim 13 Moffat discloses the axial pump assembly of claim 12 further comprising a bearing (under a BRI, the cylindrical rollers of thrust bearing 74 are between the base of 74 and the outer radial surface of 74, thereby broadly meeting the plain meaning “positioned between” in a conic direction) positioned between the base and the cam.
Regarding claim 14 Moffat discloses the axial pump assembly of claim 12, wherein the cam rotates at a reduced speed relative to the rotational input (fig 2, the cam is the upper surface of thrust bearing 74; inherently since the bearing 74 is the roller bearing surface between a stationary plate 70 and the rotational input from 52, bearing 74 must rotate slower to compensate for the rotation of 52 and the stationary 70).
Regarding claim 16 Moffat discloses the axial pump assembly of claim 12, wherein the plate is engaged with the cam via follower bushings (under a BRI the sockets 76 on the surface of 70 hold plungers 66 and meet the plain meaning of bushing; these bushings are used to apply force to plate 70 which presses plate 70 against thrust bearing 74; thereby “engaging” the plate and the cam as claimed; this meets the plain meaning of engaged).
Regarding claim 17 Moffat discloses the axial pump assembly of claim 12, wherein the rotational input is a shaft (fig 5, shows axis 56 on shaft 68 of 52 and the motor) of a motor (rotation via motor 48, c 4 ln 46-65) that extends through the base to the eccentric opening (the shaft 68 has a solid connection to the bushing of 75, where the eccentric bushing 75 is the interior of the eccentric opening of 74).
Regarding claim 18 Moffat discloses the axial pump assembly of claim 12, wherein the eccentric opening is defined in an eccentric bushing (fig 6 shows a raised bushing on 75 that is for insertion into 74) that is received in a central opening of the cycloidal disk (fig 6 shows the central opening in 74), and wherein a plurality bushings are positioned in the plurality of holes (the pins of thrust bearing 74 are implicitly fixed in the thrust bearing disk 74; whatever means by which those pins are held in the thrust bearing meets the plain meaning of bushing; the plain meaning of bushing is a bearing for a resolving shaft) to be between the first plurality of pins and the cycloidal disk.
Regarding claim 19 Moffat discloses a method of operating an axial pump assembly, the method comprising: driving a cycloidal disk (interior radius of thrust bearing 74) via a rotational input (rotation via motor 48, c 4 ln 46-65) that is received in an eccentric opening (eccentric openings through 74; eccentric because it is a tilted disc; and is therefore eccentric relative to the rotational axis) of the cycloidal disk, the rotational input defining an axis of rotation (fig 4, axis 56); rotating a cam (wobble ring 70 is disposed at an angle and causes reciprocal motion by acting as a bearing surface for plungers 66, c 5 ln 15-55; this meets the plain meaning of the term “cam”) about the axis of rotation with the cycloidal disk (fig 6 shows that 74 is a thrust bearing with rollers; this allows rotation of 74 around the axis as rollers rotate, c 5 ln 29-31); and reciprocating a plate (70, meets the plain meaning of plate) that is engaged with the cam so that rotation of the cam causes corresponding reciprocating motion of the plate along the axis of rotation (plungers 66 engage with 70 to reciprocate, c 5 ln 34-55).
Regarding claim 20 Moffat discloses the method of claim 19, wherein the cam rotates at a reduced speed relative to the rotational input (fig 2, the cam is the upper surface of thrust bearing 74; inherently since the bearing 74 is the roller bearing surface between a stationary plate 70 and the rotational input from 52, bearing 74 must rotate slower to compensate for the rotation of 52 and the stationary 70).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 5, 10, 11 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The nearest prior art is Moffatt.
In claim 2, Moffatt does not disclose “the cycloidal disk defines a geared periphery and the ring includes a plurality of pins that engage with the geared periphery to transmit rotation of the cycloidal disk to the ring.
In claim 5, Moffatt does not disclose, the ring rotates relative to each of the cycloidal disk and the plate.
In claim 10, Moffatt does not disclose, the base defines a recess that receives each of the cycloidal disk, the ring, and the plate.
In claim 15, Moffatt does not disclose the cycloidal disk defines a geared periphery that engages with a second plurality of pins extending away from the cam.
These claims distinguish over Moffatt because the clarify the structure of geared transfer of torsional energy between the ring, cycloidal disk and base (see fig A). This allows the transfer of rotation to reciprocal motion using a cycloidal drive (Applicant par 0104) which differs in form than the wobble plate drive of Moffatt. The structure is critical as it is required to make and use a cycloidal drive and does not amount to design choice, and there is no motivation to modify the prior art to incorporate said structure or provide said arrangement. Therefore claims 2, 5, 10, and 15 are objected to as allowable. Dependent claim 11 is correspondingly objected to as dependent on claim 10.
Therefore, the sum of these limitations is not disclosed by the prior art and it would not be obvious to combine references in an effort to meet all of the claimed elements.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Barezzani (US 2010/0000288) displays a similar cam and ring and base arrangement, but also lacks the cycloidal drive.
/GEOFFREY S LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 3746
/DOMINICK L PLAKKOOTTAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746