DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7, 10-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 12307597 and 10861229. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each are obvious variants of one another.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 11562533. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each are obvious variants of one another.
Below are the correspondence between the instant application and the patents.
Instant Application
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
12307597
1+2
3
4
5
6
7
8
1
11562533
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
9
8
10
10861229
1+2
3
4
5
6
7
8
1
Instant Application
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
12307597
9+10
11
12
13
14
15+16
17
20
18
19
11562533
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
20
18
19
10861229
9+10
11
12
13
14
15+16
17
20
18
19
Claim 8-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim1-2, 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12307597 in view of Zhong.
Regarding claim 8, claim1-2, 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12307597 teaches Zhong teaches:
The data block assembly module according to claim 7,
However, U.S. Patent No. 12307597 does not, but Zhong teaches:
wherein the first portion and the second portion are interleaved. (FIG. 4 [0114], “For instance, for vertex A, primitive generator 47A may store attribute information ATTR0 and ATTR1, which may be the same attribute information for the vertex A of the primitive in the first view and for the corresponding vertices of corresponding primitives in the other views. For vertex A, primitive generator 47A may store POS0, which is the position information for vertex A, and POS1, which is the position information for the corresponding vertex in the corresponding primitive of the other view. The same is true for vertex B and C.” The interpretation of the “interleaved” are based on the explanation of the spec [0035].)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have combined the teachings of U.S. Patent No. 12307597 with the specific teachings of Zhong to interleaved store the first portion and second portion to improve system efficiency.
Regarding claim 9, claim 1-2, 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12307597 teaches Zhong teaches:
The data block assembly module according to claim 1,
However, U.S. Patent No. 12307597 does not, but Zhong teaches:
wherein: the plurality of vertex parameters comprises attribute data. (FIG. 4, ATTR0, ATTR1)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have combined the teachings of U.S. Patent No. 12307597 with the specific teachings of Zhong to include specific data for the vertex with reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 8-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim1-2, 7 of U.S. Patent No. 10861229 in view of Zhong.
Regarding claim 8, claim1-2, 7 of U.S. Patent No. 10861229 teaches Zhong teaches:
The data block assembly module according to claim 7,
However, U.S. Patent No. 10861229 does not, but Zhong teaches:
wherein the first portion and the second portion are interleaved. (FIG. 4 [0114], “For instance, for vertex A, primitive generator 47A may store attribute information ATTR0 and ATTR1, which may be the same attribute information for the vertex A of the primitive in the first view and for the corresponding vertices of corresponding primitives in the other views. For vertex A, primitive generator 47A may store POS0, which is the position information for vertex A, and POS1, which is the position information for the corresponding vertex in the corresponding primitive of the other view. The same is true for vertex B and C.” The interpretation of the “interleaved” are based on the explanation of the spec [0035].)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have combined the teachings of U.S. Patent No. 10861229 with the specific teachings of Zhong to interleaved store the first portion and second portion to improve system efficiency.
Regarding claim 9, claim 1-2, 7 of U.S. Patent No. 10861229 teaches Zhong teaches:
The data block assembly module according to claim 1,
However, U.S. Patent No. 10861229 does not, but Zhong teaches:
wherein: the plurality of vertex parameters comprises attribute data. (FIG. 4, ATTR0, ATTR1)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have combined the teachings of U.S. Patent No. 10861229 with the specific teachings of Zhong to include specific data for the vertex with reasonable expectation of success.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-12, 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Zhong et al. (US 2016/0350892 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhong teaches:
A data block assembly module for processing primitive data in a graphics processing system, ([0031], “A primitive generator on the GPU may receive the attribute information for the vertices of a primitive and generate attribute information for vertices of a corresponding primitive. In this disclosure, the term corresponding primitive refers to the primitive in the second view that includes similar graphics content as the primitive in the first view. It is that the graphics content of the two primitives of the different views are the same that causes the viewer to perceive a 3D volume.” FIG. 4 shows that the primitive data is assembled into primitive blocks. Abstract: “A graphics processing unit (GPU) may combine attribute information for two or more corresponding vertices of corresponding primitives in different views.”) the data block assembly module comprising:
an input configured to receive primitive data that describes each of a first view and a second view; ([0114], “As illustrated in FIG. 4, front-end of primitive generator 47A receives vertices A, B, and C for a primitive of a first view. In this example, the front-end of primitive generator 47A may determine attribute information for a primitive of a second view and store this information as combined attribute information in local memory 67.”) and
a processor arranged to generate a data block, ([0114], “In this example, the front-end of primitive generator 47A may determine attribute information for a primitive of a second view and store this information as combined attribute information in local memory 67.”) the data block comprising:
vertex data for a plurality of vertices, (FIG. 4: each line is a vertex data. “
”) and
primitive data for a plurality of primitives, wherein the primitive data for a primitive comprises a reference to one or more of the plurality of vertices; ([0114], “As illustrated in FIG. 4, front-end of primitive generator 47A receives vertices A, B, and C for a primitive of a first view.” Above fig. 4 shows A, B, C reference to the vertices.)
wherein the vertex data comprises, for each vertex in the plurality of vertices: (FIG. 4, vertices references A,B, C., FIG. 6, 7 shows more primitives.)
for each of a plurality of vertex parameters, a single vertex parameter value for both the first and second views. (FIG. 4, [0114], “For instance, for vertex A, primitive generator 47A may store attribute information ATTR0 and ATTR1, which may be the same attribute information for the vertex A of the primitive in the first view and for the corresponding vertices of corresponding primitives in the other views.”)
Regarding claim 2, Zhong teaches:
The data block assembly module according to claim 1, wherein the processor comprises logic configured to store, in a data block, the primitive data for the plurality of primitives, ([0114], “As illustrated in FIG. 4, front-end of primitive generator 47A receives vertices A, B, and C for a primitive of a first view. In this example, the front-end of primitive generator 47A may determine attribute information for a primitive of a second view and store this information as combined attribute information in local memory 67. For instance, for vertex A, primitive generator 47A may store attribute information ATTR0 and ATTR1, which may be the same attribute information for the vertex A of the primitive in the first view and for the corresponding vertices of corresponding primitives in the other views. For vertex A, primitive generator 47A may store POS0, which is the position information for vertex A, and POS1, which is the position information for the corresponding vertex in the corresponding primitive of the other view. The same is true for vertex B and C.”) and for each vertex in the plurality of vertices, to store, in the data block, for each of the plurality of vertex parameters, the single vertex parameter value for both the first and second views. (FIG. 4, [0114], “For instance, for vertex A, primitive generator 47A may store attribute information ATTR0 and ATTR1, which may be the same attribute information for the vertex A of the primitive in the first view and for the corresponding vertices of corresponding primitives in the other views.”)
Regarding claim 4, Zhong teaches:
The data block assembly module according to claim 1, wherein the processor comprises logic configured to determine which vertex parameters are in the plurality of vertex parameters ([0114], “As illustrated in FIG. 4, front-end of primitive generator 47A receives vertices A, B, and C for a primitive of a first view. In this example, the front-end of primitive generator 47A may determine attribute information for a primitive of a second view and store this information as combined attribute information in local memory 67. For instance, for vertex A, primitive generator 47A may store attribute information ATTR0 and ATTR1, which may be the same attribute information for the vertex A of the primitive in the first view and for the corresponding vertices of corresponding primitives in the other views. For vertex A, primitive generator 47A may store POS0, which is the position information for vertex A, and POS1, which is the position information for the corresponding vertex in the corresponding primitive of the other view. The same is true for vertex B and C.”) by:
inspecting, for each vertex parameter, code configured to generate a vertex parameter value for the first view and a vertex parameter value for the second view; ([0114], “As illustrated in FIG. 4, front-end of primitive generator 47A receives vertices A, B, and C for a primitive of a first view. In this example, the front-end of primitive generator 47A may determine attribute information for a primitive of a second view and store this information as combined attribute information in local memory 67. For instance, for vertex A, primitive generator 47A may store attribute information ATTR0 and ATTR1, which may be the same attribute information for the vertex A of the primitive in the first view and for the corresponding vertices of corresponding primitives in the other views. For vertex A, primitive generator 47A may store POS0, which is the position information for vertex A, and POS1, which is the position information for the corresponding vertex in the corresponding primitive of the other view. The same is true for vertex B and C.”)and
in response to determining that, for a vertex parameter, the code is not capable of generating a vertex parameter value for the first view for any vertex that does not match the vertex parameter for the second view for the same vertex, assigning the vertex parameter to the plurality of vertex parameters. ([0114], “As illustrated in FIG. 4, front-end of primitive generator 47A receives vertices A, B, and C for a primitive of a first view. In this example, the front-end of primitive generator 47A may determine attribute information for a primitive of a second view and store this information as combined attribute information in local memory 67. For instance, for vertex A, primitive generator 47A may store attribute information ATTR0 and ATTR1, which may be the same attribute information for the vertex A of the primitive in the first view and for the corresponding vertices of corresponding primitives in the other views.”)
Regarding claim 5, Zhong teaches:
The data block assembly module according to claim 1, wherein the processor further comprises logic arranged to store control data identifying which vertex parameters are in the plurality of vertex parameters. ( Zhong, [0118]-[0119], “FIG. 5 is text illustrating an example of adding instructions in a vertex shader. As described above, in some examples, compiler 18, graphics driver 14, and/or graphics driver wrapper 16 may be configured to add instructions into vertex shader program 28 to generate modified vertex shader program 30, where modified vertex shader program 30 is configured to process the combined attribute information. For ease, the example of FIG. 5 is described with respect to compiler 18 performing such functions, but may be performed by other modules individually or in combination with compiler 18. Compiler 18 retrieves the source code for vertex shader program 28 from system memory 26. As illustrated by the thick boxes, compiler 18 may add source code to the source code of vertex shader program 28 to include source code for generating position information for a plurality of views (e.g., numViews) and outputting the position information. The result is the source code for modified vertex shader program 30 that is configured to process combined attribute information.”)
Regarding claim 6, Zhong teaches:
The data block assembly module according to claim 1, wherein the data block comprises data for stereoscopic rendering, the input is configured to receive primitive data for the first view and the second view, and the first view is a left view and the second view is a right view. ([0004], “The two images of the stereoscopic view are referred to as a left-eye image and a right-eye image, respectively.” Abstract: “The GPU may process the combined attributed information to generate graphics data for the stereoscopic view.”)
Regarding claim 7, Zhong teaches:
The data block assembly module according to claim 1, wherein the data block (
) comprises:
a first portion comprising only vertex parameter values for the first view for vertex parameters that are not in the plurality of vertex parameters; (FIG. 4, POS0)
a second portion comprising only vertex parameter values for the second view for vertex parameters that are not in the plurality of vertex parameters; (FIG. 4, POS1) and a third portion comprising only vertex parameter values for the plurality of vertex parameters. (FIG. 4, ATTR0, ATTR1)
Regarding claim 8, Zhong teaches:
The data block assembly module according to claim 7, wherein the first portion and the second portion are interleaved. (FIG. 4 [0114], “For instance, for vertex A, primitive generator 47A may store attribute information ATTR0 and ATTR1, which may be the same attribute information for the vertex A of the primitive in the first view and for the corresponding vertices of corresponding primitives in the other views. For vertex A, primitive generator 47A may store POS0, which is the position information for vertex A, and POS1, which is the position information for the corresponding vertex in the corresponding primitive of the other view. The same is true for vertex B and C.” The interpretation of the “interleaved” are based on the explanation of the spec [0035].)
Regarding claim 9, Zhong teaches:
The data block assembly module according to claim 1, wherein:the plurality of vertex parameters comprises attribute data. (FIG. 4, ATTR0, ATTR1)
Regarding claim 10, Zhong teaches:
The data block assembly module according to claim 1, wherein the processor is implemented in hardware. (FIG. 3A, GPU 20)
Regarding claim 16, Zhong teaches:
A data structure stored in a memory element for storing primitive data for at least a first view and a second view, ([0088], “Primitive generator 47A or 47B receive attribute information from vertex array 46. Vertex arrays 46 may be a memory unit of system memory 26 configured to store first attribute information for a vertex of a first primitive of a first view (e.g., generated from the execution of application 32).”[0114], “As illustrated in FIG. 4, front-end of primitive generator 47A receives vertices A, B, and C for a primitive of a first view. In this example, the front-end of primitive generator 47A may determine attribute information for a primitive of a second view and store this information as combined attribute information in local memory 67.”)
wherein the primitive data comprises a plurality of parameters, (FIG. 4: each line is a vertex data. “
”)
the data structure comprising: vertex data for a plurality of vertices; andprimitive data for a plurality of primitives, wherein the primitive data for a primitive comprises a reference to one or more of the plurality of vertices;wherein the vertex data comprises, for each vertex in the plurality of vertices:for each of a plurality of vertex parameters, a single vertex parameter value for both the first and second views. (According to the MPEP 2111.05, The data structure defined here invoke printed matter doctrine, since it only claims the content of information without functional or structural relationship exits. Since there is no functional relationship exits, the printed matter is not given patentable weight in evaluating novelty or nonobviousness (In re DiStefano, 808 F.3d 845, 117 USPQ2d 1265, 1267-68.)
Claim 17-20 still define the data structure, so still are printed matter.(
17. The data structure according to claim 16, comprising data for stereoscopic rendering and wherein the first view is a left view and the second view is a right view.
18. The data structure according to claim 16, wherein the plurality of vertex parameters comprises attribute data.
19. The data structure according to claim 16, wherein vertex parameters not in the plurality of vertex parameters comprises parameters defining a position of the vertex.
20. The data structure according to claim 19, wherein vertex parameters not in the plurality of vertex parameters further comprises parameters defining reflections.)
Claim 11-12, 14-15 recites similar limitations of claim 1-2, 4-5 respectively, thus are rejected using the same rejection rationale respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhong in view of Deguchi (US 2001/0000963 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Zhong in view of Yang teaches:
The data block assembly module according to claim 1, wherein the processor comprises logic configured to determine which vertex parameters are in the plurality of vertex parameters(logic shown in FIG. 11 and corresponding paragraphs.) by:
in response to determining that, for a vertex parameter and for each vertex, the vertex parameter value for the first view and the vertex parameter for the second view match, assigning the vertex parameter to the plurality of vertex parameters. ([0114], “In this example, the front-end of primitive generator 47A may determine attribute information for a primitive of a second view and store this information as combined attribute information in local memory 67. For instance, for vertex A, primitive generator 47A may store attribute information ATTR0 and ATTR1, which may be the same attribute information for the vertex A of the primitive in the first view and for the corresponding vertices of corresponding primitives in the other views.”)
However, Zhong does not explicitly teach:
Deciding whether two parameters are match or not by comparing, for each vertex and each vertex parameter, a vertex parameter value for the first view and a vertex parameter value for the second view;
Deguchi teaches a method of:
Deciding whether two parameters are match or not by comparing, two parameters (126: “If it is determined in step S34 that the attribute n is not a pattern attribute, then b is set to 1 (step S43 shown in FIG. 19). The vertex coordinate data n of the attribute n is compared with the vertex coordinate data b of the higher order attribute b in the file 41 (step S44), and it is determined whether or not all vertex coordinates match one another (step S45). If there is a vertex whose coordinates do not match those of the corresponding vertex, it is determined whether or not the vertex coordinate data b refers to the final record in the file 41”)
Zhong teaches operations based on whether paramters from two vertex match or not, but does not explicitly teach how to decide whether two parameters match or not. Deguchi teaches a method of deciding whether two parameters match or not by comparing.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have combined the teachings of Deguchi into Zhong to explicitly decide whether a vertex parameter value for the first view and a vertex parameter value for the second view match or not.
Claim 13 recites similar limitations of claim 3, thus are rejected using the same rejection rationale.
Conclusion
/YANNA WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2615