DETAILED ACTION
The amendment dated 09/22/2026 has been considered and entered. The response states that the claims are allowable for demonstrating criticality of the composition as discussed in the interview summary dated 09/17/2026. However, while the examples were found to be superior, they have not been compared to the closest prior art. Therefore, the argument is not persuasive, and the rejections are maintained.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 37 is objected to because of the following informalities: The claim recites values of w = 0, n = 1 and z = 1 but also provides a structure having specific w, n and z values of 0, 1 and 1 respectively, which is repetitive. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 6, 9 – 22, 24 – 31, 36 – 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rowland (US 2016/0017252)
In regard to claims 1 – 6, Rowland teaches diphenylamine antioxidants (abstract). The antioxidants are useful in engine oils [0003, 0004 and 0090]. The diphenylamine comprises from about 70% to about 100% of dialkylated diphenylamine, such as predominately (at 50% or more) a 4,4’-di-alkyl diphenylamine, and about 15% or less or about 5% or less of monoalkylated diphenylamine, with alkyl groups having from 8 to 24, or 8 to 12 carbon atoms [0015 – 0018, 0028 – 0033]. The alkylated diphenylamine (DPA) can be nonylated-DPA [0086, 0087, Examples 4 & 5]. The presence of tri-alkyl and unsubstituted DPA are not required. Unsubstituted DPA can be present at from 2% or less, or 0.5% or less in the composition, and the tri-alkylated DPA is less than 15%, or less than 5% [0033].
In regard to claims 6, Rowland teaches the composition useful in engine oils having the diphenylamine antioxidant. Rowland does not require the presence of tri-alkyl DPA or unsubstituted DPA according to limitations c) and d) of the claim. 4,4’-dialkyl groups which allows one of w or z to be 1 and the other 0, and n to be 1 in the structure of the formula III is preferred as previously stated. Engine oils are known to generally contain base oils in the claimed amount the presence of the claimed additives which is obvious. Alternatively, at least in view of Tang et al. (US 2022/0098509) which is drawn to lubricating oil compositions such as engine oils similar to Rowland, and which comprises diphenylamine antioxidants, dispersants and detergents as claimed, the claimed limitations are obvious [Tang, abstract, 0009, 0076, 0091].
Tang teaches dispersants are present at from 2 to 20% in base oil, thus providing a balance of oil at 80% or higher [0010]. In the examples, Tang teaches additives such as antioxidants, dispersants, detergents etc., are present at amounts of up to about 40% at the most with a balance of base oil [0139, Table]. Thus, it would have been obvious for persons of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claims were filed to have used the diphenylamine additives of Rowland in the composition of Tang, as Tang allows for the presence of diphenylamine antioxidants in the composition.
In regard to claims 9 – 13, Rowland and alternatively in view of Tang teaches the composition having the claimed limitation as previously discussed. The ratio of the di-alkyl to the mono-alkyl DPA overlaps the claimed limitation as previously discussed. Rowland teaches the same diphenylamine additives and thus the composition would be expected to have the same properties as claimed. Tri-alkylated diphenylamines can be present at 15% or less or less than 5% and mono-alkylated diphenylamines can be present at 15% or less or less than 5%, and thus the ratio of the tri-alkyl DPA to the mono-alkyl DPA would overlap the claimed range [0033, 0035]. The composition comprises similar ingredients and would be expected to have similar properties as claimed.
In regard to claims 14, 15, Rowland and Tang teach the composition having the claimed limitations. Tang teaches the presence of zinc dialkyl dithiophosphate (zddp), hindered phenol, molybdenum compound [0064, 0075, 0163]. Tang teaches sulfurized olefin antioxidants [0084].
In regard to claim 16, Rowland and Tang teach the composition. Tang teaches salicylate detergent which may be neutral or overbased and thus has the tbn of the claim [0086, 0087].
In regard to claim 17, Rowland and Tang teach the composition having the optional ingredients such as additional antioxidant, zinc dialkyldithiophosphate antiwear, etc., as previously stated.
In regard to claim 18, Rowland and Tang teach the composition. Tang teaches the composition can comprise dispersants. The dispersant has a polyolefin with Mn of 400 to 10,000 [0030]. The dispersant comprises an imide such as a succinimide and the dispersant can be functionalized [0034, 0035]. Tang teaches similar imide with olefin polymers that are similarly functionalized partially or fully as discussed in paragraph 0154 of applicant’s specification, and thus similar functionality distribution would be expected [0037]. Also, the polymer can be linear polyalphaolefin and thus would generally have a functionality distribution of less than 2 [0027].
Alternatively, Di Biase et al. (US 2013/0225462) teaches engine oil having functionalized monomer or polymer, which includes homopolymers and copolymers, such as terpene which can be present in dispersants or detergents thus allowing for the presence of 5 or more functional groups (i.e., the detergent or dispersant also provides at least one functional group to the terpene) [abstract, 0221, 0477 and 0527]. Terpenes are homopolyisoprene. Homopolymers have Fd of about 0.
Thus, persons of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claim was filed would have found it obvious to have used the dispersant or detergents of Di Biase in the composition of Rowland and Tang, as DiBiase teaches useful detergents, dispersants and additive ingredients for engine oils which Rowland and Tang allows.
In regard to claim 19, Rowland and Tang teach the composition for engines. Tang teaches the engine oil can comprise phosphorus from zddp at from 0.01 to 0.12%, or 0.08% (i.e., 800 ppm) or less [0066]. Since no other phosphorus component is required the zddp provides the phosphorus content of the oil.
In regard to claims 20 – 22, 24, Rowland and Tang teach the composition having the claimed limitations. Tang teaches the presence of dispersants such as polyisobutylene succinimide dispersant (PIBSA-PAM), detergents comprising calcium or magnesium sulfonates, salicylates, molybdenum compounds, and polyol fatty acid ester friction modifier such as molybdenum dithiocarbamate, sunflower oil or monoester of polyol and aliphatic carboxylic acid (typically fatty acid) [0031, 0091 and 0132]. The process of making the DPA does not carry patentable weight, or is at least provided for so long as the compound itself is taught.
In regard to claim 25, Rowland teaches the diphenylamine antioxidant as previously stated. Again, the mono and tri-alkyl DPA groups can each be present at 15% or lower (i.e., 0 to 15%) and are groups having n = 1, z = 1 and n = 1, w = 1, z = 1 respectively.
In regard to claims 26 – 29, Rowland and alternatively in view of Tang teach the diphenylamine useful in lubricants and thus provide the claimed concentrate. Tang teaches the presence of the additives as concentrate in oil in amounts overlapping the claim [0024].
In regard to claims 30, 31, Rowland and Tang teach the composition for use in engines. Tang teaches the engine is gasoline or diesel engine thus providing fuel which would be combusted in the engine [0144]. When the composition is added to the engine, i.e., into the crankcase, it provides the method of lubricating the internal combustion engine. The engine would be expected to have similar temperatures as claimed.
In regard to claim 36, Rowland teaches the composition having the claimed limitations as previously stated.
In regard to claim 37, Rowland teaches the composition wherein the alkylated groups are predominantly para at over 50% of the alkylation, thus allowing for the other alkylation position to be ortho or meta at below 50% [0016]. In one embodiment, alkylation can be ortho or meta [0032].
In regard to claim 38, Rowland teaches the composition having the claimed diphenylamine which would be expected to have similar properties.
In regard to claim 39, Rowland teaches the composition where the DPA is prepared from propylene trimer [0046].
In regard to claims 40, 41, Rowland teaches the composition having the claimed ingredients as previously stated. The process of preparing the polymer does not carry patentable weight, or is at least provided since the claimed structures themselves are taught.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the inventive examples support criticality of the claimed amounts of mono, di, tri-alkyl and unsubstituted DPA in the antioxidant composition and lubricating oil. The inventive examples were considered but not found to be persuasive.
The inventive examples are not commensurate in scope.
The inventive examples are drawn to lubricating oil compositions having 1% of the antioxidant composition present therein. This is not commensurate in scope with claims drawn to antioxidant composition or concentrate that can allow much higher amounts of the antioxidant in oil.
The results are not persuasive.
The results were not compared to the closest prior art.
The results demonstrate superior performance for composition comprising predominant dialkylated DPA over those having higher amounts of mono or tri-alkylated DPA. The closest prior art by Rowland allows for compositions comprising predominantly up to 100% of di-alkylated DPA. This is the closest prior art and the inventive examples should be compared to composition having 100% di-alkylated DPA of the prior art.
For the oxidation test, the comparative oil A3 appears to perform better than inventive Oil H3 which fails to demonstrate superiority of the claimed composition.
Therefore, the inventive examples are not commensurate in scope with the claims for demonstrating a showing of unexpected results sufficient to rebut the case of obviousness.
Applicant points to claim 18 as independently allowable. The argument is moot.
DiBiase teaches functionalized detergents and dispersants that provide polyisoprene having the Fv and Fd values of the claim.
Conclusion
/TAIWO OLADAPO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771