DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Foreign Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 24 April 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 37 CFR 1.98. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 23 April 2025. These drawings are accepted.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
a. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
b. In line 19 of claim 3, “the upper end of the shaft” should be changed to
--an upper end of the shaft-- in order to provide a clear antecedent.
c. In line 1 of claim 12, “according to claim 2 o, wherein” should be corrected to read --according to claim 2, wherein--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
a. In lines 1-2 of claim 11, “wherein the shaft has an outer diameter of 5.5 mm or more and 7.0 mm” is indefinite because it gives two distinct value(s)/range(s) for the outer diameter, i.e., “5.5 mm or more” and “7.0 mm.”
b. In line 3 of claim 14, it is indefinite as to whether “the center axis” refers to that set forth in line 2 of independent claim 1, or that set forth in line 7 of independent claim 1.
c. Claim 15 inherits the indefiniteness associated with base claim 14 and stands rejected as well.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,308,047. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because pending claim 1 is anticipated by patented claims 1 and 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,308,047 as follows:
With respect to pending claim 1, U.S. Patent No. 12,308,047 claims a spindle motor comprising: a shaft that extends along a center axis extending in a vertical direction (lines 1-3 of patented claim 1); a base part that has a through hole to which a lower end portion of the shaft is fixed (lines 4-5 of patented claim 1); a stator core in an annular shape that is disposed on an upper surface of the base part and surrounds the shaft (lines 6-7 of patented claim 1); a rotor that rotates around the center axis (line 8 of patented claim 1); and a bearing part that rotatably supports the rotor with the shaft as a center axis (lines 9-10 of patented claim 1), wherein the bearing part includes: an upper annular member and a lower annular member which protrude radially outward from an outer peripheral surface of the shaft and are disposed to be spaced apart from each other in an axial direction (lines 15-19 of patented claim 1); and a sleeve in a cylindrical shape that has an insertion hole into which the shaft is inserted, covers the outer peripheral surface of the shaft, and extends in the axial direction (lines 19-23 of patented claim 1), and wherein the base part has an annular protruding portion in an annular shape that protrudes axially upward from the upper surface of the base part and surrounds the shaft (lines 2-4 of patented claim 5), wherein the stator core is held on an outer peripheral surface of the annular protruding portion (lines 5-6 of patented claim 5), and wherein a radially inner end of the annular protruding portion overlaps at least a portion of the upper annular member and the lower annular member when viewed in the axial direction (lines 6-10 of patented claim 5).
Claims 1-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 and 6-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,308,047 in view of Sugi et al. (US 2015/0228300). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because pending claims 1-4 and 6-15 are obvious over patented over claims 1-4 and 6-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,308,047 in view of Sugi et al. (US 2015/0228300) as follows:
With respect to pending claim 1, U.S. Patent No. 12,308,047 claims a spindle motor comprising: a shaft that extends along a center axis extending in a vertical direction (lines 1-3 of patented claim 1); a base part that has a through hole to which a lower end portion of the shaft is fixed (lines 4-5 of patented claim 1); a stator core in an annular shape that is disposed on an upper surface of the base part and surrounds the shaft (lines 6-7 of patented claim 1); a rotor that rotates around the center axis (line 8 of patented claim 1); and a bearing part that rotatably supports the rotor with the shaft as a center axis (lines 9-10 of patented claim 1), wherein the bearing part includes: an upper annular member and a lower annular member which protrude radially outward from an outer peripheral surface of the shaft and are disposed to be spaced apart from each other in an axial direction (lines 15-19 of patented claim 1); and a sleeve in a cylindrical shape that has an insertion hole into which the shaft is inserted, covers the outer peripheral surface of the shaft, and extends in the axial direction (lines 19-23 of patented claim 1).
With respect to pending claim 1, U.S. Patent No. 12,308,047 does not claim “wherein the base part has an annular protruding portion in an annular shape that protrudes axially upward from the upper surface of the base part and surrounds the shaft, wherein the stator core is held on an outer peripheral surface of the annular protruding portion, and wherein a radially inner end of the annular protruding portion overlaps at least a portion of the upper annular member and the lower annular member when viewed in the axial direction.”
Sugi et al. (US 2015/0228300) teach that a base part (21, see Fig. 2, for instance) having an annular protruding portion (between shaft 41 and coils 222) in an annular shape that protrudes axially upward from an upper surface of the base part and surrounds a shaft (41, as shown in Fig. 2, for instance), wherein a stator core (221) is held on an outer peripheral surface of the annular protruding portion (as shown in Fig. 2, for instance), and wherein a radially inner end (adjacent fixing region 8d, see Figs. 18 and 19, for instance) of the annular protruding portion overlaps at least a portion of an upper annular member (422) and an lower annular member (421) when viewed in the axial direction (as shown in Fig. 2 relative to Fig. 19, for instance, i.e., due to the spacing created by adhesive 71d, for instance) is a notoriously old and well known spindle motor configuration.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have claimed wherein the base part has an annular protruding portion in an annular shape that protrudes axially upward from the upper surface of the base part and surrounds the shaft, wherein the stator core is held on an outer peripheral surface of the annular protruding portion, and wherein a radially inner end of the annular protruding portion overlaps at least a portion of the upper annular member and the lower annular member when viewed in the axial direction as taught/suggested by Sugi et al. (US 2015/0228300) since such is a notoriously old and well known spindle motor configuration in the art, and selecting a known spindle motor configuration on the basis of its suitability for the intended use is considered to be within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
With respect to pending claim 2, U.S. Patent No. 12,308,047 claims wherein the sleeve has: an upper inner peripheral surface that radially faces the upper annular member and is inclined axially upward in a direction away from the shaft (lines 2-5 of patented claim 2); and a lower inner peripheral surface that radially faces the lower annular member and is inclined axially downward in a direction away from the shaft (lines 5-8 of patented claim 2), wherein the upper inner peripheral surface has first dynamic pressure grooves and second dynamic pressure grooves which are disposed adjacent to each other in the axial direction and are respectively defined in plurality in a circumferential direction (lines 9-13 of patented claim 2), wherein the first dynamic pressure grooves and the second dynamic pressure grooves are inclined axially upward in different directions in the circumferential direction (lines 14-16 of patented claim 2), wherein the lower inner peripheral surface has third dynamic pressure grooves and fourth dynamic pressure grooves which are disposed adjacent to each other in the axial direction and are respectively defined in plurality in the circumferential direction (lines 17-21 of patented claim 2), wherein the third dynamic pressure grooves and the fourth dynamic pressure grooves are inclined axially upward in different directions in the circumferential direction (lines 22-24 of patented claim 2), wherein the shaft has an outer diameter of 5.5 mm or more and less than 6.5 mm (lines 25-26 of patented claim 2), and wherein a distance in the axial direction between a boundary between the first dynamic pressure grooves and the second dynamic pressure grooves and an upper end of the shaft is 0.60 times or more and 0.85 times or less a distance in the axial direction between the boundary between the first dynamic pressure grooves and the second dynamic pressure grooves and a boundary between the third dynamic pressure grooves and the fourth dynamic pressure grooves (lines 26-35 of patented claim 2).
With respect to pending claim 3, U.S. Patent No. 12,308,047 claims wherein the sleeve has: an upper inner peripheral surface that radially faces the upper annular member and is inclined axially upward in a direction away from the shaft (lines 2-5 of patented claim 3); and a lower inner peripheral surface that radially faces the lower annular member and is inclined axially downward in a direction away from the shaft (lines 5-8 of patented claim 3), wherein the upper inner peripheral surface has first dynamic pressure grooves and second dynamic pressure grooves which are disposed adjacent to each other in the axial direction and are respectively defined in plurality in a circumferential direction (lines 9-13 of patented claim 3), wherein the first dynamic pressure grooves and the second dynamic pressure grooves are inclined axially upward in different directions in the circumferential direction (lines 14-16 of patented claim 3), wherein the lower inner peripheral surface has third dynamic pressure grooves and fourth dynamic pressure grooves which are disposed adjacent to each other in the axial direction and are respectively defined in plurality in the circumferential direction (lines 17-21 of patented claim 3), wherein the third dynamic pressure grooves and the fourth dynamic pressure grooves are inclined axially upward in different directions in the circumferential direction (lines 22-24 of patented claim 3), wherein the shaft has an outer diameter of 6.5 mm or more and 7.0 mm or less (lines 25-26 of patented claim 3), and wherein a distance in the axial direction between a boundary between the first dynamic pressure grooves and the second dynamic pressure grooves and the upper end of the shaft is 0.50 times or more and 0.80 times or less a distance in the axial direction between the boundary between the first dynamic pressure grooves and the second dynamic pressure grooves and a boundary between the third dynamic pressure grooves and the fourth dynamic pressure grooves (lines 26-35 of patented claim 3).
With respect to pending claim 4, U.S. Patent No. 12,308,047 claims wherein a lower end of the lower annular member is disposed higher than an upper end of the stator core in the axial direction (lines 1-3 of patented claim 4).
With respect to pending claim 5, U.S. Patent No. 12,308,047 does not claim “wherein a space is included between an inner peripheral surface of the annular protruding portion and the outer peripheral surface of the shaft.”
Sugi et al. (US 2015/0228300) teach that a space (defined by adhesive 71d, for instance, see Fig. 19) included between an inner peripheral surface of the annular protruding portion and the outer peripheral surface of the shaft is a notoriously old and well known spindle motor configuration.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have claimed wherein a space is included between an inner peripheral surface of the annular protruding portion and the outer peripheral surface of the shaft as taught/suggested by Sugi et al. (US 2015/0228300) since such is a notoriously old and well known spindle motor configuration in the art, and selecting a known spindle motor configuration on the basis of its suitability for the intended use is considered to be within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
With respect to pending claim 6, U.S. Patent No. 12,308,047 claims wherein the shaft has a hollow hole that extends axially upward from a lower end of the shaft (lines 1-3 of patented claim 6).
With respect to pending claim 7, U.S. Patent No. 12,308,047 claims wherein an upper end of the hollow hole is disposed higher than an upper end of the through hole in the axial direction (lines 1-3 of patented claim 7).
With respect to pending claim 8, U.S. Patent No. 12,308,047 claims wherein a lower end of the lower annular member is disposed higher than an upper end of the hollow hole in the axial direction (lines 1-3 of patented claim 8).
With respect to pending claim 9, U.S. Patent No. 12,308,047 claims wherein an upper end of the hollow hole is disposed at a position overlapping the stator core in a radial direction (lines 1-3 of patented claim 9).
With respect to pending claim 10, U.S. Patent No. 12,308,047 claims wherein the shaft has: a curved surface portion that is defined in a curved surface shape at a radially outer end portion of a lower end of the shaft (lines 1-5 of patented claim 10); and a shaft inclined portion that is defined continuously with an upper end portion of the curved surface portion and has an outer diameter that increases toward an axially upper side (lines 5-9 of patented claim 10).
With respect to pending claim 11, U.S. Patent No. 12,308,047 claims wherein the shaft has an outer diameter of 5.5 mm or more and 7.0 mm (lines 1-3 of patented claim 11).
With respect to pending claim 12, U.S. Patent No. 12,308,047 claims wherein the distance in the axial direction between the boundary between the first dynamic pressure grooves and the second dynamic pressure grooves and the upper end of the shaft is 8.5 mm or more (lines 1-5 of patented claim 12).
With respect to pending claim 13, U.S. Patent No. 12,308,047 claims wherein the through hole has a hole inclined portion at an upper end portion of the through hole, and an inner diameter of the hole inclined portion decreases toward an axially lower side (lines 1-4 of patented claim 13).
With respect to pending claim 14, U.S. Patent No. 12,308,047 claims a disk driving device comprising: the spindle motor (lines 1-2 of patented claim 14); a disk that is rotated about the center axis by the spindle motor (lines 3-4 of patented claim 14); an access part that performs at least one of reading and writing information with respect to the disk (lines 5-6 of patented claim 14); and a housing that houses the spindle motor, the disk, and the access part (lines 7-8 of patented claim 14).
With respect to pending claim 15, U.S. Patent No. 12,308,047 claims wherein an inside of the housing is filled with a gas having a density lower than that of air (lines 2-3 of patented claim 15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 6, 8, 13, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sugi et al. (US 2015/0228300).
Sugi et al. (US 2015/0228300) teach a spindle motor (12/12d, see Figs. 1-2 and 18-19, for instance) comprising a shaft (41/41d) that extends along a center axis (J1) extending in a vertical direction (as shown in Figs. 2 and 18, for instance); a base part (21/21d) that has a through hole (230/230d) to which a lower end portion (412/412d) of the shaft is fixed (as shown in Figs. 2 and 18, for instance); a stator core (221) in an annular shape that is disposed on an upper surface of the base part and surrounds the shaft (as shown in Fig. 2, for instance); a rotor (3) that rotates around the center axis; and a bearing part (4/4d) that rotatably supports the rotor with the shaft as a center axis, wherein the bearing part includes an upper annular member (422) and a lower annular member (421) which protrude radially outward from an outer peripheral surface of the shaft and are disposed to be spaced apart from each other in an axial direction (as shown in Fig. 2, for instance); and a sleeve (5) in a cylindrical shape that has an insertion hole into which the shaft is inserted (as shown in Fig. 2, for instance), covers the outer peripheral surface of the shaft (as shown in Fig. 2, for instance), and extends in the axial direction (as shown in Fig. 2, for instance), and wherein the base part has an annular protruding portion in an annular shape that protrudes axially upward from the upper surface of the base part and surrounds the shaft (as shown below in annotated Fig. 2, for instance), wherein the stator core is held on an outer peripheral surface of the annular protruding portion (as shown below in annotated Fig. 2, for instance),
and wherein a radially inner end of the annular protruding portion overlaps at least a portion of the upper annular member and the lower annular member when viewed in the axial direction (as shown in Fig. 19 relative to Fig. 2, for instance, i.e., the space created by adhesives 71d and 72d would cause the radially inner end of the annular protruding portion to overlap at least a portion of the upper annular member and the lower annular member when viewed in the axial direction) [as per claim 1]; wherein a space (corresponding to adhesives 71d and 72d) is included between an inner peripheral surface (231d) of the annular protruding portion and the outer peripheral surface of the shaft (as shown in Fig. 19, for instance) [as per claim 5]; wherein the shaft has a hollow hole that extends axially upward from a lower end of the shaft (as shown in Figs. 2 and 4, for instance) [as per claim 6]; wherein a lower end of the lower annular member is disposed higher than an upper end of the hollow hole in the axial direction (as shown in Fig. 2, for instance) [as per claim 8]; wherein the through hole has a hole inclined portion (833d) at an upper end portion of the through hole, and an inner diameter of the hole inclined portion decreases toward an axially lower side (as shown in Fig. 18, for instance) [as per claim 13]; wherein the spindle motor is a component of a disk driving device comprising the spindle motor (as shown in Fig. 1, for instance); a disk (11) that is rotated about the center axis by the spindle motor; an access part (13) that performs at least one of reading and writing information with respect to the disk; and a housing (14) that houses the spindle motor, the disk, and the access part (as shown in Fig. 1, for instance) [as per claim 14]; and wherein an inside (143) of the housing is filled with a gas having a density lower than that of air (see paragraph [0043], for instance, i.e., “interior space 143 of the housing 14 is preferably filled with a low-density gas, such as, for example, helium gas”) [as per claim 15].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugi et al. (US 2015/0228300) in view of Herndon et al. (US 2002/0089252).
Sugi et al. (US 2015/0228300) teach the spindle motor as detailed in paragraph 12, supra. Sugi et al. (US 2015/0228300), however, remain silent as to “wherein a lower end of the lower annular member is disposed higher than an upper end of the stator core in the axial direction” as per claim 4, and “wherein an upper end of the hollow hole is disposed higher than an upper end of the through hole in the axial direction” as per claim 7.
Herndon et al. (US 2002/0089252) teach that a lower end of the lower annular member (i.e., lower conical member in FIG. 2, for instance) being disposed higher than an upper end of a stator core (216) in an axial direction, and an upper end of a hollow hole (in shaft 204) being disposed higher than an upper end of a through hole (in base 202) in the axial direction is a notoriously old and well known spindle motor configuration (as shown in FIG. 2, for instance). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have had a lower end of the lower annular member of Sugi et al. (US 2015/0228300) be disposed higher than an upper end of the stator core in the axial direction, and an upper end of the hollow hole of Sugi et al. (US 2015/0228300) be disposed higher than an upper end of the through hole in the axial direction, as taught/suggested by Herndon et al. (US 2002/0089252). The rationale is as follows:
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have had a lower end of the lower annular member of Sugi et al. (US 2015/0228300) be disposed higher than an upper end of the stator core in the axial direction, and an upper end of the hollow hole of Sugi et al. (US 2015/0228300) be disposed higher than an upper end of the through hole in the axial direction, as taught/suggested by Herndon et al. (US 2002/0089252) since such is a notoriously old and well known spindle motor configuration, and selecting a known spindle motor configuration on the basis of its suitability for the intended use is considered to be within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugi et al. (US 2015/0228300) in view of Matsuzaki et al. (US 6,342,743).
Sugi et al. (US 2015/0228300) teach the spindle motor as detailed in paragraph 12, supra. Sugi et al. (US 2015/0228300), however, remain silent as to “wherein an upper end of the hollow hole is disposed at a position overlapping the stator core in a radial direction.”
Matsuzaki et al. (US 6,342,743) teach that an upper end of a hollow hole (at lower end of shaft 31, see Fig. 3, for instance) being disposed at a position overlapping a stator core (39) in a radial direction is a notoriously old and well known spindle motor configuration (as shown in Fig. 3, for instance). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have had an upper end of the hollow hole of Sugi et al. (US 2015/0228300) be disposed at a position overlapping the stator core in a radial direction as taught/suggested by Matsuzaki et al. (US 6,342,743). The rationale is as follows:
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have had an upper end of the hollow hole of Sugi et al. (US 2015/0228300) be disposed at a position overlapping the stator core in a radial direction as taught/suggested by Matsuzaki et al. (US 6,342,743) since such is a notoriously old and well known spindle motor configuration, and selecting a known spindle motor configuration on the basis of its suitability for the intended use is considered to be within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugi et al. (US 2015/0228300) in view of Moro et al. (US 2019/0379255).
Sugi et al. (US 2015/0228300) teach the spindle motor as detailed in paragraph 12, supra. Sugi et al. (US 2015/0228300), however, remain silent as to “wherein the shaft has: a curved surface portion that is defined in a curved surface shape at a radially outer end portion of a lower end of the shaft; and a shaft inclined portion that is defined continuously with an upper end portion of the curved surface portion and has an outer diameter that increases toward an axially upper side.”
Moro et al. (US 2019/0379255) teach that a shaft (23) having a curved surface portion that is defined in a curved surface shape at a radially outer end portion of a lower end of the shaft; and a shaft inclined portion that is defined continuously with an upper end portion of the curved surface portion and has an outer diameter that increases toward an axially upper side is a notoriously old and well known spindle motor configuration (as shown in Figs. 2 and 3, for instance). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have had the shaft of Sugi et al. (US 2015/0228300) have a curved surface portion that is defined in a curved surface shape at a radially outer end portion of a lower end of the shaft; and a shaft inclined portion that is defined continuously with an upper end portion of the curved surface portion and has an outer diameter that increases toward an axially upper side, as taught/suggested by Moro et al. (US 2019/0379255). The rationale is as follows:
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have had the shaft of Sugi et al. (US 2015/0228300) have a curved surface portion that is defined in a curved surface shape at a radially outer end portion of a lower end of the shaft; and a shaft inclined portion that is defined continuously with an upper end portion of the curved surface portion and has an outer diameter that increases toward an axially upper side, as taught/suggested by Moro et al. (US 2019/0379255) since such is a notoriously old and well known spindle motor configuration, and selecting a known spindle motor configuration on the basis of its suitability for the intended use is considered to be within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugi et al. (US 2015/0228300).
Sugi et al. (US 2015/0228300) teach the spindle motor as detailed in paragraph 12, supra, further wherein the shaft has an outer diameter (as shown in Fig. 2, for instance). Sugi et al. (US 2015/0228300), however, remain silent as to the outer diameter being “5.5 mm or more and 7.0 mm.”
Official notice is taken of the fact that it is notoriously old and well known in the spindle motor art to modify the parameters of spindle motor components during the course of routine optimization/experimentation. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have had the outer diameter in Sugi et al. (US 2015/0228300) be 5.5 mm or more and 7.0 mm. The rationale is as follows:
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have had the outer diameter in Sugi et al. (US 2015/0228300) be 5.5 mm or more and 7.0 mm since such a range, absent any criticality (i.e., unobvious and/or unexpected result(s)), is generally achievable through routine optimization/experimentation, and since discovering the optimum or workable ranges, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). Moreover, in the absence of any criticality (i.e., unobvious and/or unexpected result(s)), the parameter set forth above would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. This includes Yu (US 5,734,211), Yamauchi et al. (US 2006/0191881), Sekii et al. (US 2008/0078084), Sekii et al. (US 2009/0231754), Iguchi et al. (US 2010/0202080), Sugi et al. (US 2012/0092792), Sugi et al. (US 2012/0162818), Sugi et al. (US 2015/0179212), and Shuto et al. (US 2017/0169851), which each individually teaches a spindle motor bearing part arrangement.
Conclusion
/CRAIG A. RENNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2688