DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “wherein an inner diameter of the first end coil is smaller than an outer diameter of the boss” (see claim 10) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-9, 11, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakamura et al. (US 2002/0118978; “Nakamura”).
Regarding claim 1, Nakamura discloses a heating device (Fig. 1 [0056]) comprising:
a heater 8 (Fig. 1 [0057]);
a temperature sensor 1 to detect a temperature of the heater 8 (Fig. 1 [0057]);
a compression coil spring 6 (Fig. 1 [0058, 0080]) having:
a first end coil at one end of the compression coil spring (see annotated partial Fig. 1 below);
a second end coil at another end of the compression coil spring (see partial Fig. 1 below); and
an active coil between the first end coil and the second end coil (see partial Fig. 1 below), and directly attached to the first end coil (at some point, presumably on the rear side of Fig. 1, the active coil directly attaches to the first end coil);
a receiver (part of element 7; [0058]) receiving the second end coil (see partial Fig. 1 below); and
a sensor holder 4 including:
a holding portion 5 to hold the temperature sensor 1 at one side (bottom side) of the sensor holder 4 (Fig. 1 [0057]); and
a boss, into which the first end coil is inserted in an insertion direction (upward in Fig. 1), to support the first end coil at another side (upper side) of the sensor holder 4 (see partial Fig. 1 below),
the boss having a fixing portion (lower portion of the boss directly in contact with sensor holder 4) contacting an inner face of the first end coil, and the active coil spaced apart from the fixing portion in the insertion direction (see Fig. 1), and
a space between coils of the first end coil (see the spacing of the lowermost two coils of the first end coil on the right side of Fig. 1) and a space between coils of the second end coil (see the spacing of the uppermost two coils of the second end coil on the left side of Fig. 1) being less than a space between coils of the active coil (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2, Nakamura discloses the heating device according to claim 1, wherein the boss has a guide (upper tapered portion of boss) on the fixing portion, and the active coil has a portion facing the guide of the boss (see annotated partial Fig. 1 above).
Regarding claim 3, Nakamura discloses the heating device according to claim 2, wherein the guide has a taper tapering toward a tip of the guide (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Nakamura discloses the heating device according to claim 3, wherein the active coil has a portion facing the taper of the guide (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8, Nakamura discloses a fixing device 212 comprising the heating device according to claim 1 (Fig. 5 [0004, 0056]).
Regarding claim 9, Nakamura discloses an image forming apparatus comprising the fixing device according to claim 8 (Fig. 5 [0004, 0056]).
Regarding claim 11, Nakamura discloses the heating device according to claim 1, wherein the fixing portion (lower portion of the boss directly in contact with sensor holder 4) has a cylindrical shape and is pressed and fitted to an inside of the first end coil (at least during manufacturing, the fixing portion would have to be pressed and fitted to the inside of the first end coil in order to be inserted into the first end coil; see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 13, Nakamura discloses the heating device according to claim 1, the first end coil has an axial length (i.e., a length in the vertical direction of Fig. 1) that is greater than an axial length of the second end coil (see partial Fig. 1 above).
Claim(s) 1 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakamura (US 2002/0118978).
Regarding claim 1, Nakamura discloses a heating device (Fig. 10B [0091]) comprising:
a heater 8 (Fig. 10B [0092]);
a temperature sensor 1 to detect a temperature of the heater 8 (Fig. 10B [0092]);
a compression coil spring 5 (Fig. 10B [0092]) having:
a first end coil at one end of the compression coil spring (see partial Fig. 10B below);
a second end coil at another end of the compression coil spring (see partial Fig. 10B below); and
an active coil between the first end coil and the second end coil (see partial Fig. 10B below), and directly attached to the first end coil (at some point, presumably on the rear side of Fig. 10B, the active coil directly attaches to the first end coil);
a receiver receiving the second end coil (although not shown in Fig. 10B, a receiver receiving the second end coil must be present in order for the compression springs to be able to apply biasing force as required for the apparatus to function as intended); and
a sensor holder 13 (Fig. 10B [0092]) including:
a holding portion 13a to hold the temperature sensor 1 at one side (bottom side) of the sensor holder 13 (Fig. 10B [0092]); and
a boss 9b, into which the first end coil is inserted in an insertion direction (upward in Fig. 10B), to support the first end coil at another side (upper side) of the sensor holder 13 (see Fig. 10B),
the boss having a fixing portion contacting an inner face of the first end coil (as 13e is described as a “positioning hole,” contact between an inner face of the first end coil and fixing portion is able to occur at least during the manufacturing process), and the active coil spaced apart from the fixing portion in the insertion direction (see partial Fig. 10B below), and
a space between coils of the first end coil (see the spacing of the lowermost two coils of the first end coil on the left side of Fig. 10B) and a space between coils of the second end coil (see the spacing of the uppermost two coils of the second end coil on the left side of Fig. 10B) being less than a space between coils of the active coil (see partial Fig. 10B).
[AltContent: textbox (Fixing portion)]
Regarding claim 5, Nakamura discloses the heating device according to claim 1, wherein the boss 9b has a reduced diameter portion between the fixing portion and the holding portion 13a (boss 9b has a reduced diameter compared to the diameter of spring receiving surface 13c; Figs. 10A-10B [0092]), one end of the first end coil faces the reduced diameter portion (see Fig. 10B), and the reduced diameter portion has a diameter smaller than an inner diameter of the first end coil and is separated from the first end coil in a radial direction of the first end coil (see Fig. 10B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura (US 2002/0118978) in view of Noda et al. (US 2002/0018666; “Noda”).
Regarding claim 10, Nakamura discloses the heating device according to claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein an inner diameter of the first end coil is smaller than an outer diameter of the boss.
Noda teaches placing a spring 22a on a boss 12k, wherein an inner diameter of the first end coil is smaller than an outer diameter of the boss (Fig. 31 [0237]; the end of spring 22a is press-fitted to boss 12k, which requires an inner diameter of the first end coil to be smaller than an outer diameter of the boss 12k).
Based on the teachings of Noda, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure the inner diameter of the first end coil to be smaller than an outer diameter of the boss. One would have been motivated to do so in order to press-fit the spring and the boss to ensure that the elements do not separate.
Regarding claim 12, Nakamura discloses the heating device according to claim 2, further comprising a tapered portion (see “guide” in partial Fig. 1 above), but fails to disclose the boss further comprises a cylindrical guide protruding from a tip of the tapered portion.
Noda teaches placing a spring 22a on a boss 12k, the boss comprising a cylindrical guide 12n protruding from the boss 12k (Fig. 31 [0237]).
Based on the teachings of Noda, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a cylindrical guide protruding from the tip of the tapered portion of Nakamura. This structure would essentially be a mere extension of the tip of the tapered portion. It has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. In this instance, the predictable results would be effectively guiding the spring to the boss when manufacturing.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6-7 stand as objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, for reasons set forth in the previous Office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the amendments render the rejections moot. The Office respectfully disagrees as outlined in the rejections above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CARLA J THERRIEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852