DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“projection module is configured to project and display…” in claim 1;
“an input receiving module…configured to receive…” in claim 2;
“communication module…configured to receive …”in claims 3 and 13;
“a cooling device control module...adapted to receive... “, “light source control module...configured to receive...and adjust…”, “a sensing module...configured to transmit...” in claims 5 and 6; and
“a prompt processing module...to generate…”in claims 8 and 21.
[0034] of the Specification discloses that “projection module 112” includes “projection display unit 1121” that includes “a light valve and a projection lens”.
[0044] “The input receiving module may be, for example, a transmission interface such as HDMI, DP, VGA, USB.”
[0042] “the communication module 310a may be an external accessory (such as a dongle) adapted to the controller 30;” [0043] “...the communication module 310a is, for example, a wired or wireless communication interface” that “may include a Wireless Fidelity (WiFi) communication interface, a Bluetooth communication interface, a ZigBee communication interface, and/or other wireless communication interfaces;” “The wired communication interface may include a local area network (LAN) interface, a Universal Serial Bus (USB), a Universal Asynchronous Receiver/Transmitter (UART) interface, and/or other wired communication interfaces.”
[0050] “the sensing module 418 is, for example, at least one of a time of flight (ToF) module, a color sensing module, a temperature sensing module, and an image capture module, etc.” [0078] “the TOF module may include a g-sensor”.
[0055] “the prompt processing module 415 is, for example, a liquid-crystal screen”; [0056] “the prompt module 415 includes, for example, an LED.”
No definitive structure was given to “cooling device control module” and “light source control module”.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3 recites the limitation “the projection device of claim 1, wherein the communication module is externally connected or built-in to the projection device”. These limitations should be amended to read --- the projection device of claim 1, further comprising a communication module, wherein the communication module is externally connected or built-in to the projection device---.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitations “a cooling device control module” and “light source control module” in claims 5 and 6 each invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Various parts of the Specification and the drawings provided operation/function descriptions or only further define them as or having additional generic, place holder component “module” that do not specify structure. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 10, 13-14, 16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(2)(1) as being anticipated by Sakai (US 2019/0116342).
Regarding claim 1, Sakai discloses a projection device, configured to receive at least one control command (Fig. 1; [0035]-[0037], e.g., a projector 100 receives a control command from an information processing device 200), wherein the projection device comprises a projection module and a processor (Fig. 2; [0044], [0061], e.g., a projection unit 50 and a processor 160), wherein:
the projection module is configured to project and display a projection image ([0044], e.g., e.g., projects the image on the screen SC1); and
the processor is coupled to the projection module and controls the projection device according to the at least one control command ([0042], [0062], [0065], e.g., the processor 160 controls the projection unit 50 based on data about projection settings transmitted from the information processing device 200),
wherein the projection device is limited to not having an on-screen display (OSD) menu program, and the projection image provided by the projection module controlled by the processor does not have an OSD menu ([0061]-[0064], e.g., the processor 160 does not have an OSD menu program and the projection image does not have an OSD menu).
Regarding claim 3, Sakai further discloses the projection device of claim 1, wherein the communication module is externally connected or built-in to the projection device (Fig. 2; [0042], e.g., the communication unit 175 is built-in to the projection device 100), and the communication module is coupled to the processor of the projection device and configured to receive the at least one control command and transmit the at least one control command to the processor (e.g., receives projection settings and transmit the projection settings to the processor 160).
Regarding claim 10, Sakai further discloses a projection system ([0035], e.g., system 5), comprising a controller (e.g., an information processing device 200) and the projection device of claim 1, wherein the controller is adapted to be communicatively connected to the projection device ([0040], e.g., communicatively connected to the projection device via a communication unit), and the controller provides the at least one control command to the projection device, so that the processor controls at least one function of the projection device according to the at least one control command ([0042], [0062], e.g., controls focus adjustment according to projection settings transmitted from the information processing device 200).
Regarding claim 13, Sakai further discloses the projection system of claim 10, wherein the projection system comprises a communication module adapted to be externally connected to the projection device and configured to receive the at least one control command from the controller and transmit the at least one control command to the processor; or the projection device further comprises the communication module built into the projection device (Fig. 2; [0042], e.g., the communication unit 175 is built-in to the projection device 100), and the communication module is coupled to the processor of the projection device and configured to receive the at least one control command from the controller and transmit the at least one control command to the processor (e.g., receives projection settings and transmit the projection settings to the processor 160).
Regarding claim 14, Sakai further discloses the projection system of claim 13, wherein the controller is a portable electronic device ([0074], e.g., the information processing device 200 is a portable electronic device), the portable electronic device has an application program (Fig. 3; [0076], e.g., the projector setting program 250 is an application program), when the application program is started, a screen of the portable electronic device displays a function menu (Figs 6A-7C; [0083]-[0084], e.g., display a function menu on the display of the device 200), the function menu has at least one function option ([0094], e.g., focus/distortion correction), and the at least one function option is adapted to provide the at least one control command for controlling the at least one function of the projection device ([0108], e.g., transmit the control command to control the focus/distortion correction of the projector by operating the focus/distortion correction setting).
Regarding claim 16, Sakai discloses a method of controlling a projection device, adapted for a projection system (Fig. 1; [0034]-[0037], e.g., , controlling a projector 100 of a projection system 5), wherein the projection system comprises a controller and the projection device (e.g., the processing device 200 and the projection device 100), the projection device is adapted to project a projection image (e.g., project a projection image on a screen SC) and comprises a processor (Fig. 2; [0061], e.g., a processor 160), the projection device is limited to not having an OSD menu program, and therefore the projection image projected by the projection device controlled by the processor does not have an OSD menu ([0061]-[0064], e.g., the processor 160 does not have an OSD menu program and the projection image does not have an OSD menu), and the method comprises the following steps:
receiving at least one control command from the controller via the projection device ([0036], [0042], e.g., receive a control command from the information processing device 200 via the communication unit 175); and
controlling at least one function of the projection device according to the at least one control command via the processor ([0062], e.g., the processor 60 controls a zoom function based on the control command).
Regarding claim 18, Sakai further discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the projection system comprises a communication module adapted to be externally connected to the projection device, or the projection device comprises the communication module built into the projection device (Fig. 2; [0042], e.g., the communication unit 175 is built-in to the projection device 100), and the communication module is coupled to the processor of the projection device; and the step of receiving the at least one control command from the controller via the projection device further comprises:
receiving the at least one control command via the communication module and transmitting the at least one control command to the processor (e.g., receives projection settings and transmit the projection settings to the processor 160).
Regarding claim 19, Sakai further discloses the method of claim 18, wherein the controller is a portable electronic device ([0074], e.g., the information processing device 200 is a portable electronic device), the portable electronic device has an application program (Fig. 3; [0076], e.g., the projector setting program 250 is an application program), and the method further comprises the following steps:
launching and executing the application program via the portable electronic device ([0083]);
displaying a function menu via the portable electronic device (Figs 6A-7C; [0084], e.g., display a function menu on the display of the device 200), wherein the function menu has at least one function option ([0094], e.g., focus/distortion correction); and providing the at least one control command by operating the at least one function option to control the at least one function of the projection device ([0108], e.g., transmit the control command to control the focus/distortion correction of the projector by operating the focus/distortion correction setting).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4, 11-12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakai (US 2019/0116342) in view of Kaise et al. (US 2011/0069234).
Regarding claim 2, Sakai further discloses the projection device of claim 1, further comprising: an input receiving module coupled to the processor and the projection module and configured to receive image data (Fig. 2; [0042], e.g., the communication unit 175 is configured to receive image data).
Sakai does not specifically disclose wherein the input receiving module decodes the image data into display data having a preset specification and provides the display data to the projection module.
However, Kaise discloses a projection device (Figs 1-2; [0027], a projector 10) comprising:
an input receiving module coupled to a processor and a projection module (Fig. 2; [0028]-[0030], [0038], e.g., the receiver 62 is coupled to a processor 70 and a projection unit) and configured to receive image data (Fig. 2; [0030], e.g., receives an image signal), wherein the input receiving module decodes the image data into display data having a preset specification and provides the display data to the projection module ([0030], [0038], the receiver 62 can decode the received image signal to display data having a preset specification and the projection unit is controlled to project an image corresponding to the display data).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the teachings of Kaise in the invention of Sakai for providing an input receiving module coupled to a processor for decoding a received image signal to display data so that a project module can project an image corresponding the image data output from the input receiving module.
Regarding claim 4, Sakai does not specifically disclose the projection device of claim 1, further comprising an infrared receiver coupled to the processor, wherein the infrared receiver is configured to receive the at least one control command and transmit the at least one control command to the processor.
However, Kaise discloses a projection device (Figs 1-2; [0027], a projector 10) comprising an infrared receiver coupled to a processor ([0026], e.g., a remote controller signal reception unit 20 is coupled to a processor 70), wherein the infrared receiver is configured to receive at least one control command and transmit the at least one control command to the processor ([0029], [0042]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the teachings of Kaise in the invention of Sakai for providing an infrared receiver coupled to a processor so that a projector can receive a control command from a controller via the infrared receiver.
Regarding claim 11, Sakai does not specifically disclose the projection system of claim 10, wherein the projection device also comprises an infrared receiver coupled to the processor, and the infrared receiver is configured to receive the at least one control command from the controller and transmit the at least one control command to the processor.
However, Kaise discloses a projection device (Figs 1-2; [0027], a projector 10) comprising an infrared receiver coupled to a processor ([0026], e.g., a remote controller signal reception unit 20 is coupled to a processor 70), wherein the infrared receiver is configured to receive at least one control command and transmit the at least one control command to the processor ([0029], [0042]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the teachings of Kaise in the invention of Sakai for providing an infrared receiver coupled to a processor so that a projector can receive a control command from a controller via the infrared receiver.
Regarding claim 12, Sakai in view of Kaise further discloses the projection system of claim 11, wherein the controller has at least one button, and the at least one button is adapted to be pressed to correspondingly provide the at least one control command for controlling the at least one function of the projection device (Sakai, Fig. 3; [0077], e.g., keyboard has at least one button. Kaise, e.g., the remote controller 50 has at least one button).
Regarding claim 17, Sakai does not specifically disclose the method of claim 16, wherein the projection device further comprises an infrared receiver coupled to the processor; and the step of receiving the at least one control command from the controller via the projection device further comprises: receiving the at least one control command via the infrared receiver and transmitting the at least one control command to the processor.
However, Kaise discloses a projection device (Figs 1-2; [0027], a projector 10) comprising an infrared receiver coupled to a processor ([0026], e.g., a remote controller signal reception unit 20 is coupled to a processor 70), wherein the infrared receiver is configured to receive at least one control command and transmit the at least one control command to the processor ([0029], [0042]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the teachings of Kaise in the invention of Sakai for providing an infrared receiver coupled to a processor so that a projector can receive a control command from a controller via the infrared receiver.
Claim(s) 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakai (US 2019/0116342) in view of Kado (US 2017/0214897).
Regarding claim 5, Sakai does not specifically disclose the projection device of claim 1, further comprising: a cooling device control module coupled to the processor; a light source control module coupled to the processor; and a sensing module coupled to the processor and configured to transmit a sensing result to the processor, wherein the processor correspondingly controls the cooling device control module and the light source control module according to the sensing result.
However, Kado discloses a projection device (Fig. 1; [0027], e.g., projector 1) comprising:
a cooling device control module coupled to a processor (Fig. 3; [0034]-[0036], e.g., a cooling-fan control unit 54 is coupled to a control unit 50);
a light source control module coupled to the processor (e.g., a light-source control unit 51 is coupled to the control unit 50); and
sensing module coupled to the processor and configured to transmit a sensing result to the processor (e.g., an outside-air-sensor control unit 53 is coupled to the control unit 50 and transmits a sensing result),
wherein the processor correspondingly controls the cooling device control module and the light source control module according to the sensing result (Gig. 10; [0071]-[0075], e.g., controls the light-source control unit 51 and the cooling-fan control unit 54 based on the outside air temperature).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the teachings of Kado in the invention of Sakai for providing a cooling device control module, a light source control module and sensing module in order to perform a cooling process depending on outside air temperature (see [0080] of Kado).
Regarding claim 6, Sakai in view of Kado further discloses the projection device of claim 5, wherein the light source control module is configured to receive a control signal from the processor and adjust a brightness of the projection image projected by the projection module according to the control signal ([0075]), and the cooling control module is adapted to receive another control signal from the processor and control a heat dissipation element of the projection device to dissipate a heat according to the other control signal ([0076]).
Regarding claim 7, Sakai does not specifically disclose the projection device of claim 1, further comprising: at least one physical button disposed on a casing of the projection device, wherein the at least one physical button is adapted to be pressed to correspondingly control at least one function of the projection device.
However, Kado discloses a projection device (Fig. 1; [0027], e.g., projector 1) comprising: at least one physical button disposed on a casing of the projection device ([0028], e.g., a plurality of buttons 11are disposed on a casing of the projector), wherein the at least one physical button is adapted to be pressed to correspondingly control at least one function of the projection device (e.g., control power or select an operating mode).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the teachings of Kado in the invention of Sakai for providing a plurality of physical buttons on a casing of a projector in order to control power or operating mode.
Claim(s) 8-9 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakai (US 2019/0116342) in view of TOKUYAMA (US 2021/0099680).
Regarding claim 8, Sakai does not specifically disclose the projection device of claim 1, further comprising: a prompt processing module coupled to the processor, wherein when the processor executes the at least one control command, the processor also controls the prompt processing module to generate a prompt signal corresponding to the at least one control command.
However, TOKUYAMA discloses a projection device (Fig. 5; [0046], e.g., projector 20A) comprising:
a prompt processing module coupled to a processor (Fig. 6; [0048]-[0049], e.g., a notification 45 coupled to a processor 24), wherein when the processor executes a control command, the processor also controls the prompt processing module to generate a prompt signal corresponding to the control command ([0049], e.g., outputs a notification signal representing that the task of stop processing is set, during the setting of the task of stop processing).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the teachings of TOKUYAMA in the invention of Sakai for outputting a notification signal via a notification unit when a processor executes a control command in order to notify the user that the control command is set.
Regarding claim 9, Sakai in view of TOKUYAMA further discloses the projection system of claim 8, wherein the prompt signal comprises at least one of a prompt icon, a prompt voice or sound effect, and a prompt flashing light (TOKUYAMA, [0049], e.g., an indicator lamp such as a light-emitting diode or an output device such as a speaker can be employed as the notification unit 45).
Regarding claim 21, Sakai does not specifically disclose the method of claim 16, wherein the projection device comprises a prompt processing module, and the step of controlling the at least one function of the projection device according to the at least one control command via the processor further comprises: controlling the prompt processing module to generate a prompt signal corresponding to the at least one control command, wherein the prompt signal comprises at least one of a prompt icon, a prompt voice or sound effect, and a prompt flashing light.
However, TOKUYAMA discloses a projection device (Fig. 5; [0046], e.g., projector 20A) comprising:
a prompt processing module coupled to a processor (Fig. 6; [0048]-[0049], e.g., a notification 45 coupled to a processor 24), wherein when the processor executes a control command, the processor also controls the prompt processing module to generate a prompt signal corresponding to the control command ([0049], e.g., outputs a notification signal representing that the task of stop processing is set, during the setting of the task of stop processing), wherein the prompt signal comprises at least one of a prompt icon, a prompt voice or sound effect, and a prompt flashing light (e.g., an indicator lamp such as a light-emitting diode or an output device such as a speaker can be employed as the notification unit 45).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the teachings of TOKUYAMA in the invention of Sakai for outputting a notification signal via a notification unit when a processor executes a control command in order to notify the user that the control command is set.
Claim(s) 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakai (US 2019/0116342) in view of Komiyama (US 2018/0332633).
Regarding claim 15, Sakai further discloses the projection system of claim 14, wherein the function menu corresponding to the projection device is displayed on the portable electronic device according to device information (Figs 6A-7C; [0038], e.g., the function menu is displayed on the display of the device 200 according to model information of a projector).
Sakai does not specifically disclose wherein when the application program is executed, the portable electronic device is paired with the projection device, and after the pairing is completed, the portable electronic device obtains device information corresponding to the projection device, and therefore the function menu corresponding to the projection device is displayed on the portable electronic device according to the device information.
However, Komiyama discloses a projection system comprising a projector device and a portable electronic device (Figs 1-2; [0029], e.g., a projector 200, a smart phone 100) wherein when an application program is executed, the portable electronic device is paired with the projection device (Figs 4A-4B; [0048], [0076]-[00781], e.g., the smartphone 100 is paired with the projection device 200), and after the pairing is completed, the portable electronic device obtains device information corresponding to the projection device ([0083]-[0084], [0090], e.g., obtains the name or type of model of the projector 200 and operation mode information from the state information received via the communication unit 104).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the teachings of Komiyama in the invention of Sakai for executing a pairing process between a portable electronic device and a projector and obtaining device information corresponding to the projector so that a function menu according to the device information can be displayed on a display of the portable electronic device.
Regarding claim 20, Sakai further discloses the method of claim 19, wherein the steps further comprise: displaying the function menu corresponding to the projection device via the portable electronic device according to device information (Figs 6A-7C; [0038], e.g., the function menu is displayed on the display of the device 200 according to model information of a projector).
Sakai does not specifically disclose wherein the steps further comprise: pairing the portable electronic device with the projection device; obtaining device information corresponding to the projection device via the portable electronic device after the pairing is completed; and displaying the function menu corresponding to the projection device via the portable electronic device according to the device information.
However, Komiyama discloses a projection system comprising a projector device and a portable electronic device (Figs 1-2; [0029], e.g., a projector 200, a smart phone 100) wherein when an application program is executed, the portable electronic device is paired with the projection device (Figs 4A-4B; [0048], [0076]-[00781], e.g., the smartphone 100 is paired with the projection device 200), and after the pairing is completed, the portable electronic device obtains device information corresponding to the projection device ([0083]-[0084], [0090], e.g., obtains the name or type of model of the projector 200 and operation mode information from the state information received via the communication unit 104).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the teachings of Komiyama in the invention of Sakai for executing a pairing process between a portable electronic device and a projector and obtaining device information corresponding to the projector so that a function menu according to the device information can be displayed on a display of the portable electronic device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yonezawa (US 2009/0027629) discloses a projection device configured to receive at least one control command, wherein the projection device comprises a projection module and a processor, wherein the projection device is limited to not having an on-screen display (OSD) menu program, and ae projection image provided by the projection module controlled by the processor does not have an OSD menu.
TOMONO et al. (US 2019/0278468) discloses a projection system comprising a projector and a terminal device, wherein the terminal device is provided with a display panel, a touch sensor, a display control section adapted to make the display panel display a user interface for performing setting of the projector in accordance with a type of the projector, a configuration information processing section adapted to edit UI configuration data based on an input corresponding to the user interface, and an NFC tag storing the UI configuration data edited so as to be able to be read by the projector.
/HONG ZHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2629