DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the "pin piece 45" as recited in claims 4 and 9 must be clearly shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-2 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent 0569514 (“PALMER”).
Regarding Claims 1-2 and 6-7, PALMER discloses CLAIM 1-a table convenient to store and fold, comprising a tabletop (A, A) and table legs (D) rotatably connected to the tabletop, wherein the tabletop comprises two table plates (A, A) rotatably connected to each other, each of the two table plates (A, A) is rotatably connected to two table legs (D), and a first locking mechanism (C) for limiting a free rotation of the two table plates (A, A)is arranged at a junction of the two table plates; a guide piece (G) fixedly arranged in a length direction of the tabletop is arranged in a middle of each of the two table plates, and each of the table legs (D) is connected to the guide piece through a linkage rod (F); a first end of the linkage rod (F) is slidably connected to the guide piece (G), and a second end of the linkage rod is rotatably connected to each of the table legs (D); and in a storage process of the table legs (D), the table legs (D) rotate the first end of the linkage rod from a vertical direction to a transverse direction to act on the first locking mechanism © in a sliding process of the guide piece, and the first locking mechanism (C) limiting a rotation of the two table plates is switched to the first locking mechanism releasing the limitation on the rotation of the two table plates; CLAIM 2-wherein when the table legs are stored, a space for accommodating the table legs (D) is formed between two tabletops, a height of the space is greater than or equal to an overlapping height of the two table legs, and two ends of each of the table legs are covered by each of the two table plates; CLAIM 6- wherein each of the two table plates (A, A)comprises a plate piece and a surrounding edge arranged at a periphery of the plate piece, wherein the surrounding edge protrudes from a lower side of the plate piece, the table legs are located in the surrounding edge, and all or part of a space is formed in the surrounding edge (as seen in Fig. 3); CLAIM 7-wherein the two table plates (A, A) are connected by a hinge, and the hinge is mounted on the surrounding edge.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 202858218 (“LENG”) in view of US 20180279768 (“LENG’ 768”)
Regarding Claim 1, LENG discloses a table (10) convenient to store and fold, comprising a tabletop (11) and table legs (12) rotatably connected to the tabletop (11), wherein the tabletop (11) comprises two table plates (11) rotatably connected to each other, each of the two table plates (11) is rotatably connected to two table legs (12), and
a first locking mechanism (211, 221) for limiting a free rotation of the two table plates (11) is arranged at a junction of the two table plates (11);
a guide piece (21) fixedly arranged in a length direction of the tabletop (11) is arranged in a middle of each of the two table plates (11), and each of the table legs (12) is connected to the guide piece (21) through a linkage rod (25); a first end of the linkage rod (25) is slidably connected to the guide piece (21), and a second end of the linkage rod (25) is rotatably connected to each of the table legs (12); and
in a storage process of the table legs (12), the table legs (12) rotate the first end of the linkage rod (25) from a vertical direction to a transverse direction to act on the first locking mechanism (211, 221) in a sliding process of the guide piece (21), and the first locking mechanism (211, 221) limiting a rotation of the two table plates (11) is switched to the first locking mechanism (211, 221) releasing the limitation on the rotation of the two table plates (11).
LENG discloses a locking mechanism but does not disclose a locking mechanism at the junction of the two table plate.
LENG ’768 teaches a similar foldable table with a first locking mechanism (20) for limiting a free rotation of the two table plates (10) is arranged at a junction of the two table plates (10). It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that the table taught by LENG could be improved by position the first locking mechanism at the junction as demonstrated by LENG ‘768 so that the tables cannot rotate relatively, when unfolded and used, to improve overall reliability and stability.
Regarding Claim 2, as modified LENG discloses wherein when the table legs (12) are stored, a space for accommodating the table legs (12) is formed between two tabletops (11, as seen in Fig. 3), a height of the space is greater than or equal to an overlapping height of the two table legs (12), and two ends of each of the table legs (12) are covered by each of the two table plates (11).
Regarding Claim 3, as modified LENG discloses wherein the two table legs (12) are arranged on a same table plate (11), and the two table legs (12) are fixedly connected by a connecting rod (as seen in Figs. 1-3).
Regarding Claim 6, as modified LENG discloses wherein each of the two table plates (11)comprises a plate piece and a surrounding edge arranged at a periphery of the plate piece, wherein the surrounding edge protrudes from a lower side of the plate piece, the table legs (12) are located in the surrounding edge, and all or part of a space is formed in the surrounding edge.
Regarding Claim 7, as modified LENG discloses wherein the two table plates (11) are connected by a hinge, and the hinge is mounted on the surrounding edge.
Regarding Claim 9, as modified LENG discloses wherein the first locking mechanism (211, 221) comprises a pin piece (211), the two table plates (11) are respectively provided with two open holes (221, as seen in Fig. 5) for the pin piece (211) to insert, and the two table plates (11) are locked when the pin piece (211) is inserted into the two open holes (221) at a same time; and in the storage process of the table legs (12), the pin piece (211) is driven by the linkage rod (25) to be separated from one of the two open holes (221), and the two table plates (11) are rotatably stored.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LENG and LENG ’768 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20070215011 (“Khan”).
The combination discloses the claimed invention but does expressly discloses the table having telescopic legs.
Khan demonstrates it is well known in the art to provide a folding table with telescopic leg. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the legs of LENG to telescope as demonstrated by Khan, such a modification would allow the folding table to be adapted for use by individuals of various heights.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/KIMBERLEY S WRIGHT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637