DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP 2024084142, filed on 05/23/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Baumann et al. (hereinafter “Baumann”) (DE 102017207934 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Baumann discloses: A method (figs. 2A-2F) of manufacturing a formed product (K)(fig. 2F) by pressing a blank (K’)(fig. 2A) with a first press mold (O) and a second press mold, (U) the method comprising:
arranging the blank between the first press mold and the second press mold spaced apart from each other; (fig. 2A) and
forming a top plate portion, (TP)(modified fig. 2D above) a vertical wall portion, (Ka)(fig. 2F) and a flange portion (F)(modified fig. 2D above) while forming a fold (area on blank between 12B and 32)(fig. 2D) on an extension portion (E)(modified fig. 2A above) by bringing the first press mold and the second press mold close to each other (figs. 2A-2D) in a state where the blank is arranged between the first press mold and the second press mold to thereby press the blank by the first press mold and the second press mold, (figs. 2A-2D)
the blank including a top plate (T)(modified fig. 2A above) corresponding portion that corresponds to the top plate portion of the formed product, a vertical wall (VW) corresponding portion that corresponds to the vertical wall portion of the formed product, and the extension portion, (E)
the extension portion being an area extending to an outer side from an outer-side edge of the vertical wall corresponding portion, the outer side being a downstream side in a direction from the vertical wall corresponding portion to a side opposite where the top plate corresponding portion is located, in a plane parallel to the blank, (modified figs. 2A and 2D above)
the flange portion being a portion that is formed of the extension portion and that extends from an outer-side edge of the vertical wall portion in a direction intersecting with the vertical wall portion, the flange portion having a shape curved to form a stretch flange, (modified figs. 2A and 2D above) and
the fold extending along a longitudinal direction of an outer-side edge of the flange portion. (modified fig. 2D above)
Regarding claim 2, Baumann discloses: The method of manufacturing a formed product according to claim 1, further comprising:
removing a portion of the extension portion that is on the outer side relative to the fold after forming the flange portion. (figs. 2D-2F)
Regarding claim 3, Baumann discloses: The method of manufacturing a formed product according to claim 1, wherein the top plate portion includes a recessed portion (M)(fig. 15B) recessed in a thickness direction of the top plate portion. (fig. 15B)[para. 0042]
Regarding claim 5, Baumann discloses: The method of manufacturing a formed product according to claim 1,
wherein the formed product is an automobile component. [para. 0042]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baumann as applied to claims 1-3 above, and further in view of Tanaka et al. (hereinafter “Tanaka”) (US 20160375477 A1)
Regarding claim 4, Baumann discloses: The method of manufacturing a formed product according to claim 3, wherein the top plate portion includes a recessed portion (M)(fig. 15B) recessed in a thickness direction of the top plate portion.
Baumann fails to disclose: wherein the recessed portion is formed in advance in the blank before arranging the blank between the first press mold and the second press mold spaced apart from each other.
Tanaka teaches: A similar method of manufacturing a formed product (figs. 18A-18D)
wherein the top plate portion (TP)(modified fig. 18C above) includes a recessed portion (74)(fig. 18B) recessed in a thickness direction of the top plate portion, (fig. 18B)
wherein the recessed portion is formed in advance in the blank (fig. 18B) before arranging the blank between the first press mold (503, fig. 11C)[para. 0158] and the second press mold (504, fig. 11C)[para. 0158] spaced apart from each other.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to add the step of forming the recessed portion in advance before arranging the blank between the first press mold and the second press mold as taught by Tanaka to the method of Baumann in order to pre-process a blank. [para. 0157 of Tanaka]
After modification, Baumann in view of Tanaka teaches:
The method of manufacturing a formed product according to claim 3,
wherein the recessed portion is formed in advance in the blank before arranging the blank between the first press mold and the second press mold spaced apart from each other.
Pertinent Prior Art
The following art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
US 20200078849 A1 teaches a method of manufacturing a formed product with a recessed portion and a fold on a flange.
US 20130316132 A1 teaches a method of manufacturing a formed product with a hat shape.
US 20200384522 A1 teaches a method of manufacturing a formed product and removing a piece of a flange.
DE 102016125671 A1 teaches a method of manufacturing a formed product and removing a piece of a flange.
Conclusion
/J.S.I./Examiner, Art Unit 3725
/Christopher L Templeton/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3725