DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA and is in response to communications filed on 7/29/2025 in which claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of parent Application No. 17900365, filed on 8/31/2022.
Drawings
Drawings have been acknowledged and are acceptable for examination purposes.
Specification
Specification has been acknowledged and is acceptable for examination purposes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) the abstract idea as indicated below in Step 2A Prong One. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because of the reasons state below for Step 2A Prong Two. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because of the reasons stated below for Step 2B.
STEP 1: TWO CRITERIA FOR SUBJECT MATTER ELIGIBILITY
First, the claimed invention must be to one of the four statutory categories. 35 U.S.C. 101 defines the four categories of invention that Congress deemed to be the appropriate subject matter of a patent: processes, machines, manufactures and compositions of matter.
The claims fall into the category of process in a computer system environment that is tangibly embodied in a manner so as to be executable.
Second, the claimed invention also must qualify as patent-eligible subject matter, i.e., the claim must not be directed to a judicial exception unless the claim as a whole includes additional limitations amounting to significantly more than the exception. The judicial exceptions (also called "judicially recognized exceptions" or simply "exceptions") are subject matter that the courts have found to be outside of, or exceptions to, the four statutory categories of invention, and are limited to abstract ideas, laws of nature and natural phenomena (including products of nature).
STEP 2A: TWO PRONGS
PRONG 1: RECITES ABSTRACT IDEA, LAW OF NATURE, NATURAL PHENOMENON
Claims 1-20 are directed to an abstract idea, specifically, a mental process – concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion).
Independent claim 1 recites in part:
A … method comprising:
in response to detecting an activity event indicating a first end-user has accessed an application, … identifying end-users of the application who are connections of the first end-user, wherein updating comprises:
…;
…;
comparing the first and second lists; and
…; and in response to receiving a query:
processing the query by reading data records from the database that identify end-users of the application who are connections of the first end-user ….
The limitations above are broadly and reasonably interpreted as a mental process, as a form or mental evaluation or judgement. For example, one can mentally observe a list of friends or connections based on interactions.
PRONG TWO: DOES NOT INTEGRATE INTO PRACTICAL APPLICATION
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The computer-implemented method is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component.
The limitation of “updating an application-to-connection database with data records”, “obtaining a first list of connections of the first end-user; obtaining a second list of connections of the first end-user;”, “updating the database based on the comparison”, and “and returning data indicating the identified end-users” as drafted, amounts to insignificant extra-solution activity, as a form of collecting, displaying, and manipulating data. The term “updating” is broad, and consistent with the specification as in paragraph [0025], can include “add a new data record, or update an existing data record”, which is a form of collecting data, and updating fields which does not provide integration into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(g) - Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity.
The claim limitations are abstract ideas are performed by as “computer-implemented”, in a “system”, “apparatus”, but general computer components such as these don’t provide integration into a practical application. The specification offers only general open-ended descriptions of a computing device, without any technological details of how one operates, and the specification does not describe any particular improvement in the technology. Accordingly, these recitations represent further mere instructions to apply the abstract idea on a computer, by invoking generic computer components as a tool under MPEP 2106.05(f) or generally linking the abstract idea to the field of use of computing components under MPEP 2106.05(h).
Looking at the claim limitations as an ordered combination and taking the claim as a whole, there still is not integration into a practical application. The claims also don’t appear to improve the functioning of a computer or require the use of a specific machine. For instance, the conclusory step of the claims is identifying users of an application that are also connections of the first user and returning data indicating as such. The terms in this limitation are both abstract and vague. Returning data that is an indication could be many different things in this context. See MPEP 2106.04(d)(1) and 2106.05(a). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they don’t impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
STEP 2B: DOES NOT AMOUNT TO SIGNIFICANTLY MORE
As per MPEP 2106.05(II) the considerations discussed above for mere instructions to apply the exception and merely linking to a field of use are carried over for Step 2B.
The computing device invoking service components remain mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Similarly, the “processing” and “reading” abstract ideas are performed by these computing devices, and also remain mere instructions to apply the abstract idea on a computer, or generally linking the abstract idea to the field of use of database retrieval.
Even considering these additional elements as a combination and taking the claim as a whole, they do not amount to significantly more. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea. The claim doesn’t include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Claims 2 and 5 are dependent on claim 1, and include updating the database based on thresholds and/or comparisons, which doesn’t provide integration into a practical application or add significantly more to the abstract idea because this is merely observation of data and judgement to produce a result. Similar claims 9, 12, 16 and 19 are also rejected for similar reasons.
Claims 3-4, and 6-7 are dependent on claim 1, and include more specific components of a database such as NoSQL, types of relationships, publications, and social graphs, which don’t provide integration into a practical application or add significantly more to the abstract idea because these are instances of non-functional descriptive components of a computing system. Similar claims 10-11, 13-14, 17-18, and 20 are also rejected for similar reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 8-9, 11, 15-16, and 18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Rathod et al. US 20160255139 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Rathod”).
As per claim 1, Rathod teaches:
A computer-implemented method comprising:
in response to detecting an activity event indicating a first end-user has accessed an application (Rathod, [0088] – Triggers. [0208] – Enables the end-user to log into an end-user account that may be managed by a network application),
updating an application-to-connection database with data records identifying end-users of the application who are connections of the first end-user (Rathod, [0087] – User data may comprises content(s) or database(s) of web site(s) and/or server(s) of web site(s), application associate data, database(s), resources, device associate data, web service associate data, data of social network, data, resources, digital contents and index data of search engines, data provided, updated, inputted, synchronized, shared, published by registered and/or un-registered users, connected users, 3.sup.rd parties providers, developers, partners, service providers, connected users, experts, automated sources), wherein updating comprises:
obtaining a first list of connections of the first end-user (Rathod, [0003], [0005] – Identify, access & select from presented list(s) of connections or connectable users. [0041] – Contact list(s) of connected or related users);
obtaining a second list of connections of the first end-user (Rathod, [0003], [0005] – Identify, access & select from presented list(s) of connections or connectable users. [0041] – Contact list(s) of connected or related users, wherein the list of connected users is interpreted as the first list and a list of related users is interpreted as a second list);
comparing the first and second lists (Rathod, [0171] – Compare connections); and
updating the database based on the comparison (Rathod, [0171] – Updating instructions. [0198] – Update or save & remove one or more structured or relational entries or records of updated status or details of particular activity, actions, event, transaction, status, note, user generated or shared content); and
in response to receiving a query:
processing the query by reading data records from the database that identify end-users of the application who are connections of the first end-user and returning data indicating the identified end-users (Rathod, [0005] – The suggestions may be provided responsive to an action by the user, such as the submission of a search query, accepting or sending a connection request, liking or commenting on an item, posting or answering a question on a social network. [0120] – One or more suggestions are provided to the user responsive to a query from the user for suggestions. [0160] – Matchmaking queries comprising: enabling user(s) to input, select, update one or more search criteria, match making preferences, filters, categories, keywords, lists, fields & associate value(s) or rang(s) of value(s), location(s), date(s) & time(s) or date & time range(s), select past, present or current or line & prospective or future type, type of users or connectable users or entities, user contacts or connections).
As per claim 2, Rathod teaches:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein updating the database based on the comparison comprises removing data records for connections of the first end-user who are excluded from the first list of connections and included in the second list of connections (Rathod, [0109] – Dynamically present request(s) specific connection(s) or user(s) comprising presenting as per updated user preferences, user initiated re-ordering of list of connections, connections added, attached, detached, removed& updated by user, changes or updating of user's activities, actions, transactions, status, senses, events, behavior, locations, places, date & time, environment or surrounding associate with user including entities or things or items or people surrounding of user, views of user, selected or updated presentation settings & preferences including selection of type or presentation interface, filtering or sorting by user, selection of view(s) from list or types of views).
As per claim 4, Rathod teaches:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the activity event is published to a publication/subscription service that triggers the updating of the application-to-connection database (Rathod, [0025], [089] – User(s) clients, type(s) of membership(s) including premium, paid, subscribers, subscriptions).
Claims 8-9, and 11 are directed to a system performing steps recited in claims 1-2, and 4 with substantially the same limitations. Therefore, the rejections made to claims 1-2, and 4 are applied to claims 8-9, and 11.
Claims 15-16, and 18 are directed to an apparatus performing steps recited in claims 1-2, and 4 with substantially the same limitations. Therefore, the rejections made to claims 1-2, and 4 are applied to claims 15-16, and 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 10, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rathod in view of Mietke et al. US 20220222225 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Mietke”).
As per claim 3, Rathod doesn’t explicitly teach NoSQL commands, however, Mietke teaches:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the application-to-connection database comprises a NoSQL database having a single table with multiple row schemas for storing different types of relationship data between end-users and applications (Mietke, [0033] – NoSQL commands. [0037] – Identify links between tables include schema data (e.g., table names, column names, constraints, foreign keys, indexes, sequences, etc.). Security data (e.g., users)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rathod’s invention in view of Mietke in order to include a schema for storing different types of relationship data; this is advantageous because it allows the system to identify links between schema data such as indexes and security data (Mietke, paragraph [0037]).
Claim 10 is directed to a system performing steps recited in claim 3 with substantially the same limitations. Therefore, the rejection made to claim 3 is applied to claim 10.
Claim 17 is directed to an apparatus performing steps recited in claim 3 with substantially the same limitations. Therefore, the rejection made to claim 3 is applied to claim 17.
Claims 5, 7, 12, 14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rathod in view of Pearson et al. US 20170199920 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Pearson”).
As per claim 5, Rathod doesn’t teach a time to live parameter for friends, however, Baird as modified with Pearson teaches:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: determining a time to live parameter for the second list of connections; and
automatically deleting the second list of connections when a time indicated by the time to live parameter is reached (Pearson, [0051] – Therefore, a relationship decay function can be implemented in several different ways. For example, (1) a sliding window that only considers the most recent (say) 6 months of data).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rathod’s invention as modified in view of Pearson in order to delete friends based on a time to live parameter; this is advantageous because it considers decay of data which is a form of relevancy (Pearson, paragraph [0051]).
As per claim 7, Rathod teaches:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the first list of connections is obtained from a social graph service, and wherein the second list of connections represents a cached version of previously obtained connection relationships (Pearson, [0367] – Update the cache of the previous state of the address book).
Claims 12 and 14 are directed to a system performing steps recited in claims 5 and 7 with substantially the same limitations. Therefore, the rejections made to claims 5 and 7 are applied to claims 12 and 14.
Claim 19 is directed to an apparatus performing steps recited in claim 5 with substantially the same limitations. Therefore, the rejection made to claim 5 is applied to claim 19.
Claims 6, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rathod in view of Ozog et al. US 9363221 B1 (hereinafter referred to as “Ozog”).
As per claim 6, Rathod doesn’t adequately teach bidirectional data records for comparison and updates, however, Ozog teaches:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein updating the database comprises adding bidirectional data records to reflect that the first end-user is a connection of each identified end-user and each identified end-user is a connection of the first end-user (Ozog, column 22, lines 45-60 – Users may indicate relationships such as friend, foe, and neutral to other users. In another embodiment, friends or foes of users and associated relationships may be indicated based on the relationships between users (e.g., a friend of a foe is a foe, a foe of a foe is friendly/neutral, etc.)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rathod’s invention in view of Ozog in order to include bidirectional data records; this is advantageous because it allows the system to keep updated lists based on various criteria such as location or time (Ozog, column 22, lines 20-28).
Claim 13 is directed to a system performing steps recited in claim 6 with substantially the same limitations. Therefore, the rejection made to claim 6 is applied to claim 13.
Claim 20 is directed to an apparatus performing steps recited in claim 6 with substantially the same limitations. Therefore, the rejection made to claim 6 is applied to claim 20.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Huhn et al. US 20120310956 A1 teaches generating friend recommendations using an address book graph and a friend graph (Abstract).
Yu et al. 9-04-2019, “Video Games and Social Relation”, https://scholarcommons.scu.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=1043&context=engl_176, 2019.
Contact Information
March 31, 2026
/MATTHEW J ELLIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2152