DETAILED ACTION
Non-Final Rejection
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1-5 in the reply filed on 13 August 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: the word “of” in line 1 does not appear to be necessary in the claim and a period is required at the end of the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ankney (U.S. Patent 5,734,310).
Regarding claim 1, Ankney discloses a valve assembly 10 comprising:
a valve cavity 40 having at least a first inlet 30 and at least a first outlet 34;
a shuttle 38 within said valve cavity configured to move linearly (horizontally in FIG. 1 orientation) from a first position (38 moved left in FIG. 1 such that 42 is in contact with 28) blocking said at least first inlet to a second position (FIG. 1) allowing the at least first inlet to fluidly communicate with the valve cavity; and
a molded insert (See annotated Image below) having an outer wall configured to conform to an inner wall of the valve cavity, and having an inner wall configured to surround the shuttle and permit the shuttle to move from the first position to the second position (FIG. 1; Col. 3 ln 20-Col. 4 ln 16).
Annotated Image (FIG. 1)
Regarding FIG. 2, Ankney discloses the shuttle is actuated electromagnetically, magnetically, or through a biasing force applied by a spring (FIG. 1; Col. 3 ln 51-65).
Regarding claim 5, Ankney discloses the molded insert having an outlet orifice (right side of insert in FIG. 1) configured to fluidly communicate with a fluid outlet of the valve cavity (FIG. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ankney in view of Gagnebin (U.S. Patent 5,235,324).
Regarding claim 3, Ankney discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above from claim 1.
Ankney is silent regarding the molded insert is manufactured from an elastomeric or plastic material that reduces acoustical noise generated by movement of the shuttle.
However, Gagnebin teaches a molded insert 7 manufactured from an elastomeric (silicone) or plastic material that reduces acoustical noise generated by movement of the shuttle (FIG. 1; Col. 3 ln 10-14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, to modify Ankney by manufacturing the insert from an elastomeric material, as taught by Gagnebin, for the purpose of providing a durable material that will robustly seal the flowpath while not causing interference with the electromagnet.
Regarding claim 4, Ankney discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above from claim 1.
Ankney further discloses the molded insert having an inlet orifice (left side of insert in FIG. 1) configured to mate with the first inlet of the valve cavity (FIG. 1) and to be interposed between the first inlet of the valve cavity and a first face (left side of 38) of the shuttle (moving along the x-axis, in the FIG. 1 orientation, as one travels from left to right the inlet orifice is right of the inlet of the valve cavity and left of the first face of the shuttle, therefore along the x-axis, the inlet orifice is interposed between the first inlet of the valve cavity and the first face of the shuttle) (FIG. 1).
However, to more align with the intent of the current application, Gagnebin teaches the insert 7 curves around the edge of the first inlet such that it is physically positioned between the end of the first inlet and the first face of the shuttle to limit contact between the inlet and the obturator 9 (shuttle) (FIG. 1A, 1B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, to modify Ankney by extending the insert so as to be positioned physically between the end of the inlet and the first face of the shuttle, as taught by Gagnebin, for the purpose of maintaining a robust seal when the shuttle is in the closed position while limiting the wear on the shuttle and inlet by dampening the contact between the two elements.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Heiman (U.S. Patent 3,809,123) discloses a magnetic valve assembly similar to the one disclosed in the present application.
/CHRISTOPHER D BALLMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3753
/CRAIG M SCHNEIDER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3753