DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1 - 20 are pending. Claims 1, 11, 16 are independent. File date on 4-24-2025.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
3. Initially it should be noted that the present application is a continuation application of application 17/700,604, now patent 12,309,579 having the same inventive entity. The Assignee in both applications is the same. The entire disclosures of the instant application and the patent are identical.
Claims 1 - 20 are rejected under the judicially created doctrine of nonstatutory type double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1 - 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,309,579. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claims 1, 11, 16 of the instant application (19/188224) are almost the same as Patent (12,309,579) Claims 1,11,16. Claim 1 of the 12,309,579 Patent as shown in the table below contains every element of Claim 1 of the instant application and as such the difference is not enough to distinguish the two claims. Claims 1, 11, 16 of the instant application therefore are not patently distinct from the earlier patent claims and as such are unpatentable over nonstatutory-type double patenting. A later patent/application claim is not patentably distinct from an earlier claim, if the later claim is unpatentable over the earlier claim.
Application 19/188224
Claim 1
Patent (12,309,579)
Claim 1
“determining a state or trust level for a particular context of communications between a source device and a destination device based on reference data, wherein the particular context concerns a first type of the communications, an application, or a service of the source device and the destination device and a second type of a first network associated with the destination device, wherein the first network facilitates the communications”
“detecting communications between a source device and a destination device, wherein the communications are facilitated over a first network associated with the destination device; determining a state or trust level for a particular context of the communications between the source device and the destination device based on reference data, wherein the particular context concerns a type of the communications, an application, or a service of the source device and the destination device and a type of the first network facilitating the communications”
“updating the state or trust level based on detecting a change in behavior of the communications of the source device, resulting in an updated state or trust level”
“after the determining the state or trust level, detecting a change in behavior of the communications of the source device” and “updating the state or trust level based on the detecting the change in behavior of the source device, resulting in an updated state or trust level”
“identifying a loss of trust condition based on the updated state or trust level”
“identifying a loss of trust condition based on the updated state or trust level”
“responsive to the identifying the loss of trust condition, restricting the communications between the source device and the destination device”
“responsive to the identifying the loss of trust condition, restricting the communications between the source device and the destination device”
“performing a trust rebuild process to address the loss of trust condition and to enable the source device to resume the communications between the source device and the destination device”
“performing a trust rebuild process in an attempt to address the loss of trust condition and to enable the source device to resume the communications between the source device and the destination device”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1, 4 - 6, 8 - 10, 16 - 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumoluyi et al. (US PGPUB No. 20150044994) in view of Agarwal et al. (US PGPUB No. 20230009515) and further in view of Mondello et al. (Patent No. TW I740409 B).
Regarding Claim 1, Kumoluyi discloses a device, comprising:
a) a processing system including a processor; and b) a memory that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processing system, facilitate performance of operations (Kumoluyi ¶ 039, ll 1-10: intruder detector, intruder identifier, and the security level controller may be incorporated into an integrated circuit (IC) or be configured in a circuit comprising a multitude of interconnecting components or any other type of circuit and/or processor; the functions of the various components are performed by various other components or combinations of components; circuit enables computing system components to perform operations), the operations comprising:
c) determining a state or trust level for a particular context of communications between a source device and a destination device based on reference data, (Kumoluyi ¶ 011, ll 1-14: various security sensors are scanned to determine the likely presence of an intruder within a predetermined trust zone; If an intruder is likely present, the security level is changed to the highest setting, and consequently a lower data rate (restrict communications, reduce data rate), while the intruder is identified),
d) updating the state or trust level based on detecting a change in behavior of the communications of the source device, resulting in an updated state or trust level; (Kumoluyi ¶ 032, ll 1-16: security method of the present invention provides a wireless variable security method that is configurable to the specific WTRUs operating within the network (behavior of devices operating), thus optimizing transmission speed and network security to the specific network condition; ¶ 023, ll 1-17: when the wireless system is utilizing asymmetric encryption techniques, the frequency of the key changes may be increased to provide a higher level of security; Trusted users may be alerted to the presence of a likely intruder and notified of the resulting increase in security level and associated decrease in data rates (change in behavior associated with network communications); Alternatively, when communications in a wireless network are both encrypted and unencrypted, an elevated security level may be provided by restricting all unencrypted communications, only allowing encrypted communications) and
e) identifying a loss of trust condition based on the updated state or trust level; (f) responsive to the identifying the loss of trust condition, restricting the communications between the source device and the destination device. (Kumoluyi ¶ 011, ll 1-14: various security sensors are scanned to determine the likely presence of an intruder within a predetermined trust zone; If an intruder is likely present, the security level is changed to the highest setting, and consequently a lower data rate (restrict communications, reduce data rate), while the intruder is identified)
Kumoluyi does not explicitly disclose for c) the particular context concerns a first type of the communications, an application, or a service of the source device and the destination device and a second type of a first network associated with the destination device, wherein the first network facilitates the communication.
However, Agarwal discloses wherein for c) determining a state or trust level for a particular context of communications between a source device and a destination device based on reference data, wherein the particular context concerns a first type of the communications, an application, or a service of the source device and the destination device and a second type of a first network associated with the destination device, wherein the first network facilitates the communication. (Agarwal ¶ 102: the user equipment device 902 is coupled to the communications network 906 via communications path 904. The communications network 906 may be one or more networks including the Internet, a mobile phone network, mobile voice or data network (e.g., a 4G, 5G, or LTE network), cable network, public switched telephone network, or other types of communications network or combinations of communications networks.; ¶ 013, ll 1-27: server may modify the trust score by performing additional contextual analysis; The additional contextual analysis comprises evaluating the trust score in light of the context for which the companion media asset is being searched for; if a search parameter used in the dynamic search template is tennis, then the companion media asset is contextually analyzed to determine if the trust score is reflective of the context, which is tennis; If the trust score is not based on the context, which is tennis, then the trust score is modified by the control circuitry in light of the tennis context; (communications is related to context))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kumoluyi for c) determining a reference state for a source device and a destination device in accordance with an oracle, wherein the oracle includes reference data relating to an accepted norm for a context, wherein the context concerns a type of communications between the source device and the destination device, an application, or a service as taught by Agarwal. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Agarwal for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system that enables determining a trust level based upon context information. (Agarwal ¶ 013, ll 1-27)
Kumoluyi-Agarwal does not explicitly disclose for g) performing a trust rebuild process to address the loss of trust condition enable the source device to resume the communications between the source device and the destination device
However, Mondello discloses:
g) performing a trust rebuild process to address the loss of trust condition and to enable the source device to resume the communications between the source device and the destination device. (Mondello page 2, ll 32-36: the Robust Internet of Things (RIoT) is an architecture used to provide trust services to computing devices; Trust services include device identification, authentication, and data integrity; The RIoT framework can be used to remotely rebuild the trust of devices that have been compromised by malware; page 3, ll 8-11: If software is used to manage the key, the vulnerability of the software component will cause the key to be leaked; For software systems, the main way to restore trust after a key is leaked is to install updated software and supply a new key for the device; This is time-consuming for servers and mobile devices)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kumoluyi-Agarwal for g) performing a trust rebuild process to address the loss of trust condition and to resume communications with destination device as taught by Mondello. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Mondello for the benefits achieved from a system that enables the rebuilding of trust after a loss of trust condition within a network environment. (Mondello page 2, ll 32-36; page 3, ll 8-11)
Regarding Claim 4, Kumoluyi-Agarwal-Mondello discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the change in the behavior of the source device comprises a first change in throughput, a second change in data packet size, a third change in response time, accessing of a different port, or a combination thereof. (Kumoluyi ¶ 011, ll 1-14: various security sensors are scanned to determine the likely presence of an intruder within a predetermined trust zone; If an intruder is likely present, the security level is changed to the highest setting, and consequently a lower data rate, while the intruder is identified; (selected: change in throughput, reduce data rate))
Regarding Claim 5, Kumoluyi-Agarwal-Mondello discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the change in the behavior is detected from:
a) historical information associated with behaviors relating to one or more of the source device and the destination device; b) specification information provided by a vendor or provider associated with one or more of the source device and the destination device; or a combination thereof. (Kumoluyi ¶ 032, ll 1-16: security method provides a wireless variable security method that is configurable to the specific WTRUs operating within the network (behavior of devices operating within environment; historical information), thus optimizing transmission speed and network security to the specific network condition; ¶ 023, ll 1-17: when the wireless system is utilizing asymmetric encryption techniques, the frequency of the key changes may be increased to provide a higher level of security; Trusted users may be alerted to the presence of a likely intruder and notified of the resulting increase in security level and associated decrease in data rates; Alternatively, when communications in a wireless network are both encrypted and unencrypted, an elevated security level may be provided by restricting all unencrypted communications, only allowing encrypted communications)
Regarding Claim 6, Kumoluyi-Agarwal-Mondello discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the source device comprises an Internet-of-Things (IoT) device, an uncrewed aerial vehicle (UAV), a sensory array network employed in a smart city application, or a combination thereof. (Kumoluyi ¶ 011, ll 1-14: various security sensors (sensory array network) are scanned to determine the likely presence of an intruder within a predetermined trust zone. If an intruder is likely present, the security level is changed to the highest setting, and consequently a lower data rate (restrict communications, reduce data rate), while the intruder is identified; (selected: a sensory array network employed))
Regarding Claim 8, Kumoluyi-Agarwal-Mondello discloses the device of claim 1,
Kumoluyi does not explicitly disclose one or more of: identifying and evaluating states for, or across, different communication paths; obtaining data from one or more external sources to modulate restoration of trust by application, device, or service; replaying prior transactions between the source device and the destination device; and analyzing network traffic associated with one or more of the source device and the destination device
However, Mondello discloses wherein the trust rebuild process involves one or more of: identifying and evaluating states for, or across, different communication paths; obtaining data from one or more external sources to modulate restoration of trust by the application, the device, or the service; replaying prior transactions between the source device and the destination device; and analyzing network traffic associated with one or more of the source device and the destination device. (Kumoluyi page 2, l 44 - page 3, l 1: The cryptographic services provided by RIoT include device identification, data protection and authentication; Regarding device identification, the device usually authenticates itself by proving that it possesses a cryptographic key; Regarding data protection, devices usually use passwords to encrypt and integrity protect data stored locally; Regarding authentication, the device sometimes needs to report its running code and its security configuration; (device identifies and provides secure information across different communication paths); (selected: identifying and evaluating states for, or across, different communication paths; obtaining data from one or more external sources to modulate restoration of trust by application, device, or service)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kumoluyi for identifying and evaluating states for, or across, different communication paths; obtaining data from one or more external sources to modulate restoration of trust by application, device, or service; replaying prior transactions between the source device and the destination device; and analyzing network traffic associated with one or more of the source device and the destination device as taught by Mondello. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Mondello for the benefits achieved from a system that enables the rebuilding of trust after a loss of trust condition within a network environment. (Mondello page 2, ll 32-36; page 3, ll 8-11)
Regarding Claim 9, Kumoluyi-Agarwal-Mondello discloses the device of claim 1.
Kumoluyi does not explicitly disclose determining impacts relating to, and costs associated with, trust level updates.
However, Mondello discloses wherein the operations further comprise identifying a priority of the particular context, and determining impacts relating to, and costs associated with, updates to the state or trust level based on the priority. (Mondello page 2, ll 32-36: the Robust Internet of Things (RIoT) is an architecture used to provide trust services to computing devices; Trust services include device identification, authentication, and data integrity; The RIoT framework can be used to remotely rebuild the trust of devices that have been compromised by malware; page 3, ll 8-11: If software is used to manage the key, the vulnerability of the software component will cause the key to be leaked; For software systems, the main way to restore trust after a key is leaked is to install updated software and supply a new key for the device; This is time-consuming for servers and mobile devices; (increased costs to implement reconstruction of trust state); page 3, ll 12-18: hardware-protected keys are a useful building block for the secure re-supply of compromised systems; A trusted platform module or TPM is an example of a security module that provides hardware protection of keys and also allows a device to report (authenticate) its running software; (context of components indicate rebuilding operations))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kumoluyi for determining impacts relating to, and costs associated with, trust level updates as taught by Mondello. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Mondello for the benefits achieved from a system that enables the rebuilding of trust after a loss of trust condition within a network environment. (Mondello page 2, ll 32-36; page 3, ll 8-11)
Regarding Claim 10, Kumoluyi-Agarwal-Mondello discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the particular context relates to an uncrewed aerial vehicle (UAV) mission, health-related monitoring, financial transactions, a security service or application, confidential computing, or a combination thereof. (Kumoluyi ¶ 011, ll 1-14: various security sensors are scanned to determine the likely presence of an intruder within a predetermined trust zone; If an intruder is likely present, the security level is changed to the highest setting, and consequently a lower data rate, while the intruder is identified; ¶ 020, ll 1-18: providing variable level security in a wireless communication network; system administrator may enable and disable the variable level security method as desired); (selected: a security service or application))
Regarding Claim 16, Kumoluyi discloses a method, comprising:
b) detecting, by the processing system, a change in behavior of the communications of the source device; c) determining, by the processing system, responsive to the detecting, a state change and a corresponding trust level; (Kumoluyi ¶ 032, ll 1-16: security method of the present invention provides a wireless variable security method that is configurable to the specific WTRUs operating within the network (behavior of devices operating), thus optimizing transmission speed and network security to the specific network condition; ¶ 023, ll 1-17: when the wireless system is utilizing asymmetric encryption techniques, the frequency of the key changes may be increased to provide a higher level of security; Trusted users may be alerted to the presence of a likely intruder and notified of the resulting increase in security level and associated decrease in data rates; Alternatively, when communications in a wireless network are both encrypted and unencrypted, an elevated security level may be provided by restricting all unencrypted communications, only allowing encrypted communications) and
d) identifying, by the processing system, a loss of trust condition based on the state change or the corresponding trust level. (Kumoluyi ¶ 011, ll 1-14: various security sensors are scanned to determine the likely presence of an intruder within a predetermined trust zone. If an intruder is likely present, the security level is changed to the highest setting (loss of trust), and consequently a lower data rate (restrict communications, reduce data rate), while the intruder is identified)
Kumoluyi does not explicitly disclose for a) determining a reference state for a source device and a destination device in accordance with an oracle, wherein the oracle includes reference data relating to an accepted norm for a context, wherein the context concerns a type of communications between the source device and the destination device, an application, or a service.
However, Agarwal discloses:
a) determining, by a processing system including a processor, a reference state for a source device and a destination device in accordance with an oracle, wherein the oracle includes reference data relating to an accepted norm for a context, wherein the context concerns a type of communications between the source device and the destination device, an application, or a service of the source device and the destination device. (Agarwal ¶ 102: the user equipment device 902 is coupled to the communications network 906 via communications path 904. The communications network 906 may be one or more networks including the Internet, a mobile phone network, mobile voice or data network (e.g., a 4G, 5G, or LTE network), cable network, public switched telephone network, or other types of communications network or combinations of communications networks.; ¶ 013, ll 1-27: server may modify the trust score by performing additional contextual analysis; The additional contextual analysis comprises evaluating the trust score in light of the context for which the companion media asset is being searched for; if a search parameter used in the dynamic search template is tennis, then the companion media asset is contextually analyzed to determine if the trust score is reflective of the context, which is tennis; If the trust score is not based on the context, which is tennis, then the trust score is modified by the control circuitry in light of the tennis context; (communications is related to context))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kumoluyi for a) determining a reference state for a source device and a destination device in accordance with an oracle, wherein the oracle includes reference data relating to an accepted norm for a context, wherein the context concerns a type of communications between the source device and the destination device, an application, or a service as taught by Agarwal. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Agarwal for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system that enables determining a trust level based upon context information. (Agarwal ¶ 013, ll 1-27)
Kumoluyi does not explicitly disclose for e) effecting trust reconstruction in an attempt to address loss of trust condition and to enable source device to continue communicating.
However, Mondello discloses:
e) effecting, by the processing system, trust reconstruction to address the loss of trust condition and to enable the source device to continue communicating with the destination device. (Mondello page 2, ll 32-36: the Robust Internet of Things (RIoT) is an architecture used to provide trust services to computing devices; Trust services include device identification, authentication, and data integrity; The RIoT framework can be used to remotely rebuild the trust of devices that have been compromised by malware; page 3, ll 8-11: If software is used to manage the key, the vulnerability of the software component will cause the key to be leaked; For software systems, the main way to restore trust after a key is leaked is to install updated software and supply a new key for the device. This is time-consuming for servers and mobile devices)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kumoluyi for e) effecting trust reconstruction in an attempt to address loss of trust condition and to enable source device to continue communicating as taught by Mondello. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Mondello for the benefits achieved from a system that enables the rebuilding of trust after a loss of trust condition within a network environment. (Mondello page 2, ll 32-36; page 3, ll 8-11)
Regarding Claim 17, Kumoluyi-Agarwal-Mondello discloses the method of claim 16.
Kumoluyi does not explicitly disclose the identifying loss of trust condition, and the trust reconstruction are performed using machine learning (ML) models.
However, Mondello discloses wherein one or more of the determining the state change and the corresponding trust level, the identifying the loss of trust condition, and the effecting the trust reconstruction are performed using one or more machine learning (ML) models. (Mondello page 2, ll 32-36: the Robust Internet of Things (RIoT) is an architecture used to provide trust services to computing devices; Trust services include device identification, authentication, and data integrity; The RIoT framework can be used to remotely rebuild the trust of devices that have been compromised by malware; page 3, ll 8-11: If software is used to manage the key, the vulnerability of the software component will cause the key to be leaked; For software systems, the main way to restore trust after a key is leaked is to install updated software and supply a new key for the device; This is time-consuming for servers and mobile devices; page 12, ll 1-8: the processor of the controller configured to perform machine learning and/or pattern recognition based on the sensor input it supports the implementation of an artificial intelligence (AI) system)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kumoluyi for the identifying loss of trust condition, and the trust reconstruction are performed using machine learning (ML) models as taught by Mondello. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Mondello for the benefits achieved from a system that enables the rebuilding of trust after a loss of trust condition within a network environment. (Mondello page 2, ll 32-36; page 3, ll 8-11)
Regarding Claim 18, Kumoluyi-Agarwal-Mondello discloses the method of claim 16.
Kumoluyi does not specifically disclose responsive to the monitoring, updating, by the processing system, a model based on data-based learning.
However, Mondello discloses further comprising, responsive to the detecting, updating, by the processing system, a model for the context based on data-based learning of identified acceptable conditions. (Mondello page 2, ll 32-36: the Robust Internet of Things (RIoT) is an architecture used to provide trust services to computing devices; Trust services include device identification, authentication, and data integrity; The RIoT framework can be used to remotely rebuild the trust of devices that have been compromised by malware; page 3, ll 8-11: If software is used to manage the key, the vulnerability of the software component will cause the key to be leaked; For software systems, the main way to restore trust after a key is leaked is to install updated software and supply a new key for the device; This is time-consuming for servers and mobile devices; page 12, ll 1-8: the processor of the controller configured to perform machine learning and/or pattern recognition based on the sensor input it supports the implementation of an artificial intelligence (AI) system))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kumoluyi for responsive to the monitoring, updating, by the processing system, a model based on data-based learning as taught by Mondello. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Mondello for the benefits achieved from a system that enables the rebuilding of trust after a loss of trust condition within a network environment. (Mondello page 2, ll 32-36; page 3, ll 8-11)
Regarding Claim 19, Kumoluyi-Agarwal-Mondello discloses the method of claim 16,
Kumoluyi does not explicitly disclose associating one or more costs with the trust reconstruction, wherein the effecting the trust reconstruction is in accordance with the one or more costs.
However, Mondello discloses further comprising associating one or more costs with the trust reconstruction, wherein the effecting the trust reconstruction is in accordance with the one or more costs. (Mondello page 2, ll 32-36: the Robust Internet of Things (RIoT) is an architecture used to provide trust services to computing devices; Trust services include device identification, authentication, and data integrity; The RIoT framework can be used to remotely rebuild the trust of devices that have been compromised by malware; page 3, ll 8-11: If software is used to manage the key, the vulnerability of the software component will cause the key to be leaked; For software systems, the main way to restore trust after a key is leaked is to install updated software and supply a new key for the device; This is time-consuming for servers and mobile devices; (increased costs to implement reconstruction of trust state))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kumoluyi for associating one or more costs with the trust reconstruction, wherein the effecting the trust reconstruction is in accordance with the one or more costs as taught by Mondello. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Mondello for the benefits achieved from a system that enables the rebuilding of trust after a loss of trust condition within a network environment. (Mondello page 2, ll 32-36; page 3, ll 8-11)
Regarding Claim 20, Kumoluyi-Agarwal-Mondello discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the source device is included in a group or class of source devices that are in communication with the destination device. (Kumoluyi ¶ 029, ll 1-13: An access point wirelessly connects a plurality of WTRUs to the Internet and an intranet; A trust zone extends a predetermined distance from the access point; The size or extent of the trust zone may be modified by the system administrator based on a variety of parameters)
6. Claims 11, 13 - 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumoluyi et al. (US PGPUB No. 20150044994) in view of Agarwal et al. (US PGPUB No. 20230009515).
Regarding Claim 11, Kumoluyi discloses a non-transitory machine-readable medium, comprising executable instructions that, when executed by a processing system of a destination device including a processor, facilitate implementing a trust orchestrator configured to provide adaptive trust management by performing operations, the operations comprising:
b) monitoring the communications associated with one or more source devices of the plurality of source devices; (Kumoluyi ¶ 011, ll 1-14: various security sensors are scanned to determine the likely presence of an intruder within a predetermined trust zone; If an intruder is likely present, the security level is changed to the highest setting, and consequently a lower data rate, while the intruder is identified; ¶ 020, ll 1-18: providing variable level security in a wireless communication network; system administrator may enable and disable the variable level security method as desired)
c) identifying actions to be performed based on monitored communications; (Kumoluyi ¶ 032, ll 1-16: security method of the present invention provides a wireless variable security method that is configurable to the specific WTRUs operating within the network (behavior of devices operating), thus optimizing transmission speed and network security to the specific network condition; ¶ 023, ll 1-17: when the wireless system is utilizing asymmetric encryption techniques, the frequency of the key changes may be increased to provide a higher level of security; Trusted users may be alerted to the presence of a likely intruder and notified of the resulting increase in security level and associated decrease in data rates; Alternatively, when communications in a wireless network are both encrypted and unencrypted, an elevated security level may be provided by restricting all unencrypted communications, only allowing encrypted communications)
d) computing adjusted trust levels for the actions; (Kumoluyi ¶ 032, ll 1-16: security method of the present invention provides a wireless variable security method that is configurable to the specific WTRUs operating within the network (behavior of devices operating), thus optimizing transmission speed and network security to the specific network condition; ¶ 023, ll 1-17: when the wireless system is utilizing asymmetric encryption techniques, the frequency of the key changes may be increased to provide a higher level of security; Trusted users may be alerted to the presence of a likely intruder and notified of the resulting increase in security level and associated decrease in data rates (change in behavior associated with network communications); Alternatively, when communications in a wireless network are both encrypted and unencrypted, an elevated security level may be provided by restricting all unencrypted communications, only allowing encrypted communications)
e) identifying a particular trust level that corresponds to a particular action; (Kumoluyi ¶ 011, ll 1-14: various security sensors are scanned to determine the likely presence of an intruder within a predetermined trust zone. If an intruder is likely present, the security level is changed to the highest setting (loss of trust), and consequently a lower data rate (restrict communications, reduce data rate), while the intruder is identified) and
f) responsive to a determination that the particular trust level is not acceptable based on a security parameter, preventing facilitation of the particular action. (Kumoluyi ¶ 011, ll 1-14: various security sensors are scanned to determine the likely presence of an intruder within a predetermined trust zone; If an intruder is likely present, the security level is changed to the highest setting, and consequently a lower data rate (restrict communications, reduce data rate), while the intruder is identified; (trust level is not acceptable and security actions are implemented))
Kumoluyi does not explicitly disclose for a) determining a trust level that corresponds to a reference state for a context of communications between a plurality of source devices and the destination device, wherein the context concerns a type of the communications, an application, or a service.
However, Agarwal discloses:
a) determining a trust level that corresponds to a reference state for a context of communications between a plurality of source devices and the destination device, wherein the context concerns a type of the communications, an application, or a service of the source devices and the destination device; (Agarwal ¶ 102: the user equipment device 902 is coupled to the communications network 906 via communications path 904. The communications network 906 may be one or more networks including the Internet, a mobile phone network, mobile voice or data network (e.g., a 4G, 5G, or LTE network), cable network, public switched telephone network, or other types of communications network or combinations of communications networks.; ¶ 013, ll 1-27: server may modify the trust score by performing additional contextual analysis; The additional contextual analysis comprises evaluating the trust score in light of the context for which the companion media asset is being searched for; if a search parameter used in the dynamic search template is tennis, then the companion media asset is contextually analyzed to determine if the trust score is reflective of the context, which is tennis; If the trust score is not based on the context, which is tennis, then the trust score is modified by the control circuitry in light of the tennis context; (communications is related to context))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kumoluyi for a) determining a trust level that corresponds to a reference state for a context of communications between a plurality of source devices and the destination device, wherein the context concerns a type of the communications, an application, or a service as taught by Agarwal. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Agarwal for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system that enables determining a trust level based upon context information. (Agarwal ¶ 013, ll 1-27)
Regarding Claim 13, Kumoluyi-Agarwal discloses the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 11, wherein the trust orchestrator is implemented in the destination device or is distributed across one or more nodes of a network associated with the destination device. (Kumoluyi ¶ 029, ll 1-13: An access point wirelessly connects a plurality of WTRUs to the Internet and an intranet; A trust zone extends a predetermined distance from the access point; The size or extent of the trust zone may be modified by the system administrator based on a variety of parameters; ¶ 006, ll 1-9: An access point connects WLAN to the Internet and an intranet, and routes data transmitted between a plurality of WTRUs specifically, within a trust zone extending a predetermined distance from the wireless access point 110; (management of trust zone implemented by collection of WTRUs (network-connected devices)))
Regarding Claim 14, Kumoluyi-Agarwal discloses the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 11, wherein the particular action comprises one or more of altering a communication path, deactivating a security feature, use of a different authentication or encryption protocol, or a combination thereof. (Kumoluyi ¶ 011, ll 1-14: various security sensors are scanned to determine the likely presence of an intruder within a predetermined trust zone; If an intruder is likely present, the security level is changed to the highest setting, and consequently a lower data rate (restrict communications, reduce data rate), while the intruder is identified; (selected: altering a communication path))
Regarding Claim 15, Kumoluyi-Agarwal discloses the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 11, wherein the operations, performed based on execution of the executable instructions, further comprise:
a) providing other information regarding a second trust level that corresponds to a second action; b) determining whether the second trust level is acceptable based on the security parameter; and c) responsive to a second determination that the second trust level is acceptable based on the security parameter, permitting a facilitation of the second action. (Kumoluyi ¶ 006, ll 1-9: the data rate of a network is inversely proportional to the security level of the network; increasing a wireless network's security decreases the rate at which data can be conveyed across the network; decreasing a wireless network’s security increase the rate at which data is conveyed across network; (first action: increase data rate implemented; second action: decrease data rate implemented))
7. Claims 2, 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumoluyi in view of Agarwal and further in view of Mondello and Pyntikov et al. (Patent No. RU 130429 U1).
Regarding Claim 2, Kumoluyi-Agarwal-Mondello discloses the device of claim 1.
Kumoluyi does not explicitly disclose source device is associated with second network that is in communication with first network.
However, Pyntikov discloses wherein the source device is associated with a second network that is in communication with the first network. (Pyntikov page 9, l 43-52: the organization of access of the terminal in execution to three sets of network resources with different levels of trust; the first software environment running on a computer device has access only to the first group of network resources with confidential information via communication channel using encryption; The second software environment, executed by the computer device after unloading the first software environment, has access to the second group of network resources for official use through the communication channel, using encryption with keys different from those used for encryption in the communication channel; The third software environment, executed by a computer device after unloading the first software environment, has access only to the third group of network resources with shared information via communication channel; (multiple network environments enabling communication between network-connected nodes))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kumoluyi for source device is associated with second network that is in communication with first network as taught by Pyntikov. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Pyntikov for the benefits achieved from a system comprising multiple network environments enabling communication between network-connected nodes. (Pyntikov page 9, l 43-52)
Regarding Claim 3, Kumoluyi-Agarwal-Mondello discloses the device of claim 2.
Kumoluyi does not explicitly disclose source device comprises use of a third network by the source device to communicate with the destination device, and third network employs an access technology that is different.
However, Pyntikov discloses wherein the change in the behavior of the source device comprises use of a third network by the source device to communicate with the destination device, and wherein the third network employs a first access technology that is different from a second access technology employed by the second network. (Pyntikov page 9, l 43-52: the organization of access of the terminal in execution to three sets of network resources with different levels of trust; the first software environment running on a computer device has access only to the first group of network resources with confidential information via communication channel using encryption; The second software environment, executed by the computer device after unloading the first software environment, has access to the second group of network resources for official use through the communication channel, using encryption with keys different from those used for encryption in the communication channel; The third software environment, executed by a computer device after unloading the first software environment, has access only to the third group of network resources with shared information via communication channel; (multiple network environments enabling communication between network-connected nodes))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kumoluyi for source device comprises use of a third network by the source device to communicate with the destination device, and third network employs an access technology that is different.as taught by Pyntikov. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Pyntikov for the benefits achieved from a system comprising multiple network environments enabling communication between network-connected nodes. (Pyntikov page 9, l 43-52)
8. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumoluyi in view of Agarwal and further in view of Mondello and Mao et al. (Patent No. CN112491615 A).
Regarding Claim 7, Kumoluyi-Agarwal-Mondello discloses the device of claim 1.
Kumoluyi does not explicitly disclose comparing updated state or trust level with one or more thresholds.
However, Mao discloses wherein the operations further comprise comparing the updated state or trust level with one or more thresholds, and wherein the identifying the loss of trust condition is based on a determination that the updated state or trust level satisfies the one or more thresholds. (Mao page 3, ll 15-18: according to the evaluation of the user in the conventional stage, calculating the comprehensive trust value of the information service, comparing the comprehensive trust value with the preset threshold value, updating the level of the information service according to the comparison result and updating the trust value of the information service)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kumoluyi for comparing updated state or trust level with one or more thresholds as taught by Mao. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Mao for the benefits achieved from a system that provides for updating a trust level parameter based upon a comparison with a threshold parameter value. (Mao page 3, ll 15-18)
9. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumoluyi in view of Agarwal and further in view of Yang et al. (US PGPUB No. 20100332669).
Regarding Claim 12, Kumoluyi-Agarwal discloses the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 11.
Kumoluyi does not specifically disclose querying trust orchestrator for trust level data.
However, Yang discloses wherein the operations, performed based on execution of the executable instructions, further comprise providing trust level data. (Yang ¶ 036, ll 1-15: For user3 to trust a caller as being user2, a question relevant to a co-experience regarding user1 would be generated through context query communication channel; The response from user2 would be used and analyzed by the context query communication channel as a reference for determination of the level of trust of user3 towards user2)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kumoluyi for querying trust orchestrator for trust level data as taught by Yang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Yang for the benefits achieved from a system that provides trust level information based upon a query. (Yang ¶ 036, ll 1-15)
Conclusion
/KYUNG H SHIN/ 6-26-2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447