DETAILED ACTION
The Art Unit location of your application in the PTO has changed. To aid in correlating any papers for this application, all further correspondence regarding this application should be directed to Group Art Unit 2651.
This communication is responsive to the claims filed 04/24/2025.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-29 of U.S. Patent No. 11,289,065. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-29 of U.S. Patent No. 11,289,065 are clearly anticipated or similar in scope to the rejected claims 1-15 of the U. S. Pat. App (No. 19/188,246) with only obvious wording variations. For example:
U. S. Pat. App No. 19/188,246
U.S. Patent No. 11,289,065
1. An assembly for generating sound, comprising: one or more wave generating surfaces configured such that movement of said wave generating surfaces generates a sound wave, wherein said one or more wave generating surfaces are configured for any one of reciprocating motion, cyclical motion, rotational motion or elliptical motion; a driver configured for driving one or more of the wave generating surfaces from a first position to a second position motion for generating sound by airflow arising from movement of the one or more wave generating surfaces; and one or more structures configured to modulate the airflow.
1. An assembly for generating sound, the assembly comprising: a first surface; a second surface; wherein the first surface is a magnetized diaphragm, the magnetized diaphragm comprising or having disposed thereon or therewithin, a permanent magnet or magnetically sensitive particles or one or more magnetically sensitive layers, wherein the magnetically sensitive particles or the one or more magnetically sensitive layers are at least one of: affixed onto the magnetized diaphragm, affixed within the magnetized diaphragm, coated onto the magnetized diaphragm, embedded within the magnetized diaphragm, and sandwiched within the magnetized diaphragm; wherein the second surface is coupled with an electromagnetic field generating structure or with a permanently magnetized means; and wherein the magnetized diaphragm and the second surface are positioned and interspaced relative to each other, such that at least one of the first surface and the second surface is impelled to move relative to the other of the first surface and the second surface, by an electromagnetic field generated by application of a current across the electromagnetic field generating structure that is coupled with the second surface, or by application of a magnetic field generated by the permanently magnetized means that is coupled with the second surface.
3. The assembly as claimed in claim 1, wherein the diaphragm has an extensible structure.
4. The assembly as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first surface and the second surface are interconnected by a plurality of resilient tethers.
5. The assembly as claimed in claim 1, wherein said magnetized diaphragm comprises a plurality of flexibly interconnected diaphragm segments.
6. The assembly as claimed in claim 1, wherein each of the first surface and the second surface are mounted on opposite sides of a spacer, such that said first surface and second surface are interspaced relative to each other.
7. The assembly as claimed in claim 1, wherein one or both of the first surface and the second surface comprises a spiral surface.
Claims 1-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,300,214. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,300,214 are clearly anticipated or similar in scope to the rejected claims 1-15 of the U. S. Pat. App (No. 19/188,246) with only obvious wording variations. For example:
U. S. Pat. App No. 19/300,246
U.S. Patent No. 12,300,214
1. An assembly for generating sound, comprising: one or more wave generating surfaces configured such that movement of said wave generating surfaces generates a sound wave, wherein said one or more wave generating surfaces are configured for any one of reciprocating motion, cyclical motion, rotational motion or elliptical motion; a driver configured for driving one or more of the wave generating surfaces from a first position to a second position motion for generating sound by airflow arising from movement of the one or more wave generating surfaces; and one or more structures configured to modulate the airflow.
1. An assembly for generating sound, comprising: one or more airflow generating surfaces configured such that movement of said airflow generating surfaces generates an airflow, wherein said one or more airflow generating surfaces are configured for reciprocating motion, cyclical motion, rotational motion or elliptical motion; a first mechanism configured for generating an airflow, the first mechanism comprising a driver configured for driving the one or more airflow generating surfaces from a first position to a second position in causing movement of the one or more airflow generating surfaces to generate airflow; and a second mechanism configured for airflow modulation, wherein the second mechanism comprises one or more actuators configured for said airflow modulation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wagenen (U. S. Pat. No. - 1,786,465).
Regarding claim 1, Wagenen discloses an assembly for generating sound, comprising: one or more wave generating surfaces (35) configured such that movement of said wave generating surfaces generates a sound wave, wherein said one or more wave generating surfaces are configured for one of reciprocating motion, cyclical motion, rotational motion and elliptical motion; a driver (27) configured for driving one or more of the wave generating surfaces from a first position to a second position motion for generating sound by airflow arising from movement of the one or more wave generating surfaces (Figs. 1, 4 and 10-11); and one or more structures (20, 25) configured to modulate the airflow (Figs. 10-11).
Regarding claim 3, Wagenen further discloses the assembly, wherein each of the one or more wave generating surfaces comprises a rotating blade (35) rotatably mounted on a motor; and wherein the assembly for generating sound is selectively switchable between a first mode of operation and a second mode of operation, wherein: in the first mode of operation, each said rotating blade has a first blade shape; in the second mode of operation, each said rotating blade has a second blade shape that is different from the first blade shape; and a change in a blade shape of each rotating blade from the first blade shape to the second blade shape is effected by said one or more actuators (Figs. 4 and 10).
Regarding claim 4, Wagenen further discloses the assembly, wherein a first actuator among the one or more actuators is configured to modify an airflow characteristic of at least one of said one or more wave generating surfaces or a direction or rate of motion of at least one of said one or more wave generating surfaces, and, wherein the first actuator is any of an electromagnetic actuator (20, 25), an electric actuator, an electrothermal actuator, a solenoid actuator, a motor actuator, a piezo actuator, a bimetallic strip actuator, a heated fluid actuator, a fluid flow actuator, a hydraulic actuator or a pneumatic actuator (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Wagenen further discloses the assembly, wherein: each of the one or more wave generating surfaces comprises a rotating blade (35) rotatably mounted on an external cylindrical structure (36); and each said rotating blade is mounted on the external cylindrical structure, such that the position of said rotating blade is selectively alterable from a first position to a second position for modulating airflow over said rotating blade (Figs. 4 and 10).
Regarding claim 11, Wagenen further discloses the assembly, wherein the one or more wave generating surfaces comprise two distinct sets of blades (35) mounted along a common axis, and configured such that at least one of relative rotation or relative separation of the two distinct sets of blades is controllable to control the airflow from said sets of blades (Fig. 10).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 6-10 and 12-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SUHAN NI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691