Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “finger” as claimed in claim 20 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 19 recites limitation of natural frequency. The examiner is not sure what range is a natural frequency. A frequency of zero can be considered natural frequency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12, 14-16, 19, 21, 22, 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tachi (US 2025/0191450) in view of Oshino et al. (JP 2021-017199, see US 2025/0033544 for translation).
Regarding claim 1, Tachi discloses a chair, the chair 130 (fig 1) comprising: a seat portion and a back portion; a haptic device 114 attached at one selected from the group consisting of (i) the seat portion and (ii) the back portion; wherein, responsive to receiving an electronic input (para 0029 discloses input signal such media player), the haptic device vibrates to impart vibration at one or more selected from the group consisting of (i) the seat portion and (ii) the back portion.
Tachi fails to disclose responsive to the haptic device vibrating at a first frequency, a first region of the chair vibrates at a greater amplitude than a second region of the chair that is spaced from the first region; and wherein, responsive to the haptic device vibrating at a second frequency different than the first frequency, the second region of the chair vibrates at a greater amplitude than the first region of the chair.
Instead, Tachi discloses in para 0034 haptic device will vibrate with higher intensity with higher frequency. However, Tachi fails to disclose two different frequency intensities in two different regions.
Oshino et al. disclose cells 30, 32 vibrating at a first frequency, a first region of the chair vibrates at a greater amplitude than a second region of the chair that is spaced from the first region; and wherein, responsive to the haptic device vibrating at a second frequency different than the first frequency, the second region of the chair vibrates at a greater amplitude than the first region of the chair. Oshino et al. disclose in para 0240 that cells can vibrate with variable amplitude with variable frequency. Cell 30 can inflate under certain frequency while Cell 32 can deflate with a lower or no frequency.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Oshino et al. and use the variable frequency adjustment in different areas of the invention of Tachi in order to provide a more stimulating experience with low cost.
Regarding claim 2, Tachi as modified with Oshino et al. disclose the haptic device 32 (Oshino et al.) is disposed at the back portion and vibrates to impart vibration at the back portion.
Regarding claim 3, Tachi as modified with Oshino et al. disclose the haptic device is disposed at the seat portion 30 (Oshino et al.) and vibrates to impart vibration at the seat portion.
Regarding claim 4, Tachi discloses the electronic input corresponds to audio or video signals (para 0029) being experienced by a user of the chair simultaneous with the vibration.
Regarding claim 5, Oshino et al. disclose device 30/32 vibrating at the first frequency, vibration at the first region of the chair is perceivable by a user of the chair and vibration at the second region of the chair is imperceivable by the user of the chair (para 0240).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Oshino et al. and use the variable frequency adjustment in different areas of the invention of Tachi in order to provide a more stimulating experience with low cost.
Regarding claim 6, Oshino et al. disclose the device 30/32 vibrating at the second frequency, vibration at the second region of the chair is perceivable by a user of the chair and vibration at the first region of the chair is imperceivable by the user of the chair (para 0240).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Oshino et al. and use the variable frequency adjustment in different areas of the invention of Tachi in order to provide a more stimulating experience with low cost.
Regarding claim 7, Tachi as modified Oshino et al. disclose the haptic device vibrates to impart vibration at the seat portion 22 and at the back portion 26 (Oshino et al.).
Regarding claim 8, Tachi as modified with Oshino et al. disclose the first region 30 (Oshino et al. is at the seat portion.
Regarding claim 9, Oshino et al. disclose the second region (Oshino et al. teach 6 different cells 30 which are controlled individually. Therefore, each cell is considered an independent region), is at the seat portion and spaced from the first region.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Oshino et al. and use the variable frequency adjustment in different areas/regions of the invention of Tachi in order to provide a more stimulating experience with low cost.
Regarding claim 10, Tachi as modified with Oshino et al. disclose the second region 32 (Oshino et al.) is at the back portion.
Regarding claim 11, Tachi as modified with Oshino et al. disclose the first region 32 (Oshino et al.) is at the back portion.
Regarding claim 12, Oshino et al. the second region is at the back portion and spaced from the first region (Oshino et al. teach 6 different cells 32 which are controlled individually. Therefore, each cell is considered an independent region).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Oshino et al. and use the variable frequency adjustment in different areas/regions of the invention of Tachi in order to provide a more stimulating experience with low cost.
Regarding claim 14, Tachi discloses a vibration element 114 is disposed at a portion of the chair corresponding to at least one selected from the group consisting of (i) the first region and (ii) the second region.
Regarding claim 15, Tachi discloses the vibration element 114 comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of (i) a plate, (ii) a pin, (iii) a tuning fork, (iv) a screw and (v) a disc 214a.
Regarding claim 16, Tachi discloses the vibration element 114 is attached at the portion of the chair.
Regarding claim 19, Tachi as modified with Oshino et al. disclose a portion of the chair corresponding to the first region has a first natural frequency (when one cell in first row is deflated it is considered natural frequency), and wherein a portion of the chair corresponding to the second region has a second natural frequency different than the first natural frequency (when one cell in second row is deflated it is considered natural frequency).
Regarding claim 21, Tachi discloses a method of manufacturing a chair, the method comprising: providing a chair 130 having a seat portion and a back portion; providing a haptic device 114 attached at one selected from the group consisting of (i) the seat portion and (ii) the back portion; wherein, responsive to receiving an electronic input, the haptic device vibrates to impart vibration at one or more selected from the group consisting of (i) the seat portion and (ii) the back portion.
However, Tachi fails to disclose forming a first region of the chair to have a first natural frequency; forming a second region of the chair to have a second natural frequency different than the first natural frequency, wherein the second region is spaced from the first region; determining a first frequency, wherein responsive to the haptic device vibrating at the first frequency, the first region of the chair vibrates at a greater amplitude than the second region of the chair; and determining a second frequency different than the first frequency, wherein, responsive to the haptic device vibrating at the second frequency, the second region of the chair vibrates at a greater amplitude than the first region of the chair.
Instead, Oshina et al. disclose a first region (single cell 30/32 of seat back or seat) of the chair to have a first natural frequency; forming a second region (any other cells) of the chair to have a second natural frequency different than the first natural frequency, wherein the second region is spaced from the first region; determining a first frequency, wherein responsive to the haptic device vibrating at the first frequency, the first region of the chair vibrates at a greater amplitude than the second region of the chair; and determining a second frequency different than the first frequency, wherein, responsive to the haptic device vibrating at the second frequency, the second region of the chair vibrates at a greater amplitude than the first region of the chair (para 0240).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Oshino et al. and use the variable frequency adjustment in different areas of the invention of Tachi in order to provide a more stimulating experience with low cost.
Regarding claim 22, Tachi discloses based on the first frequency and the second frequency, determining a control function for the haptic device, wherein the control function comprises a series of electronic inputs for the haptic device that cause the haptic device to impart vibration in a selected pattern or profile (para 0029).
Regarding claim 24, Oshina et al. forming the first region 32 (seat back) of the chair to have the first natural frequency comprises forming the first region of the chair to have a first structure, and wherein forming the second region 30 (seat) of the chair to have the second natural frequency comprises forming the second region of the chair to have a second structure different than the first structure.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Oshino et al. and use the variable frequency adjustment in different areas of the invention of Tachi in order to provide a more stimulating experience with low cost.
Claim(s) 13, 17, 18, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tachi (US 2025/0191450) in view of Oshino et al. (JP 2021-017199, see US 2025/0033544 for translation) as applied to claims 1 and 21 above, and further in view of Cloutier (9,333,889).
Regarding claim 13, Cloutier discloses a portion of the chair corresponding to the first region comprises a first material 24, and wherein a portion of the chair corresponding to the second region comprises a second material 42 different than the first material.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Cloutier and use different material in different region on the invention Tachi in order to provide precise comfort according to the body part with low cost
Regarding claims 17 and 18, Cloutier discloses Regarding claim 17, Oshino et al. disclose the vibration element 20 is at least partially embedded with the portion of the chair, wherein a recess 60 is formed at a portion of the chair corresponding to at least one selected from the group consisting of (i) the first region and (ii) the second region.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Cloutier and embed the vibrating elements in the recess in the invention of Tachi in order to prevent any injuries and damages.
Regarding claim 23, Cloutier discloses forming the first region of the chair to have the first natural frequency comprises forming the first region of the chair with a first material 24, and wherein forming the second region of the chair to have the second natural frequency comprises forming the second region of the chair with a second material 42 different than the first material.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Cloutier and use different material in different region on the invention Tachi in order to provide precise comfort according to the body part with low cost
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tachi (US 2025/0191450) in view of Oshino et al. (JP 2021-017199, see US 2025/0033544 for translation) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Blair et al. (US 2023/0311734).
Regarding claim 20, Blair et al. disclose the haptic device 34 comprises a vibration element 40 that attaches at the one selected from the group consisting of (i) the seat portion and (ii) the back portion, and wherein the vibration element comprises (a) a first finger 46 that extends between the haptic device and the first region of the chair and (b) a second finger 46 (discloses multiple devices) that extends between the haptic device and the second region of the chair.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Blair et al. and use a finger with the haptic device in the invention of Tachi because it is simple and inexpensive.
Tachi further discloses in para 0029 when the haptic device vibrates at the first frequency, vibration travels from the haptic device along the first finger to the first region to vibrate the first region of the chair, and wherein, when the haptic device vibrates at the second frequency, vibration travels from the haptic device along the second finger to the second region to vibrate the second region of the chair.
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tachi (US 2025/0191450) in view of Oshino et al. (JP 2021-017199, see US 2025/0033544 for translation) as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2023/0191954).
Regarding claim 25, Kim et al. disclose forming the first region 110 of the chair to have the first natural frequency comprises forming the first region of the chair to have a first profile, and wherein forming the second region 120 of the chair to have the second natural frequency comprises forming the second region of the chair to have a second profile different than the first profile.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Kim et al. and use the haptic element in different profile of the invention Tachi in order to provide precise comfort according to the body part with low cost.
Conclusion
/SYED A ISLAM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636