DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-5, 11, 15-21, and 32 have been canceled. Claims 6, 22, 29, and 33 have been amended. Claims 6-10, 12-14, 22-31, and 33-35 remain pending in the application.
Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome the objections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 6/9/26.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/7/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding amended claim 6, Applicant argues Frazier (U.S. 3,991,574) fails to anticipate the claim because Frazier does not teach “wherein the working fluid is introduced into the energy storage container to reduce a volume occupied by the initial gas and thereby increase a gas pressure within the energy storage container” (see Remarks filed 8/7/26, Pages 6-8). The Examiner does not find this argument persuasive. Under a new interpretation of Frazier detailed below, the working fluid is interpreted as the hydraulic fluid because Frazier discloses that hydraulic fluid and the fluid used for generating steam are the same fluid (see Col. 1, Lines 52-63 - “…. The hydraulic fluid is then recirculated back to the main reservoir. The main reservoir also provides the fluid for the steam generator…”; Col. 5, Lines 25-33; Col. 6, Lines 34-65 and especially - “…the hydraulic fluid capable of being used in the vapor cycle…”)). In this interpretation, Frazier discloses that the working fluid (“…hydraulic fluid…”) is introduced into an energy storage container (32) to increase a gas pressure within the energy storage container (32)( see Figs. 1-2 and Col. 3, Line 15 - Col. 5, Line 33 (especially Col. 4, Lines 25-50)). Frazier further discloses that the energy storage container contains a bladder (Modified Fig. 1 below - I) filled with air (Col. 3, Lines 53-55) and a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that air is a compressible fluid and therefore the pressurization of element 32 described in Col. 4, Lines 25-50 would necessarily result in a reduction of the volume of element I of Modified Fig. 1 below. Therefore, Frazier discloses the limitation of amended claim 6 in question and the rejection of claim 6 is maintained.
Regarding amended claim 6, Applicant argues Frazier (U.S. 3,991,574) fails to anticipate the claim because Frazier does not teach “a heat transfer device comprising a heat exchange assembly configured to receive externally supplied thermal energy and to thermally drive mechanical motion of the piston assembly so as to pressurize the initial gas” (see Remarks filed 8/7/26, Pages 6-8). The Examiner does not find this argument persuasive. Frazier discloses a heat transfer device (A, energy input generating subsystem - Col. 3, Lines 19-21); the heat transfer device (A) comprising a heat exchange assembly (10, boiler - Col. 3, Line 27; 16, heat exchanger - Col. 3, Line 30; 46, condenser Col. 4, Line 8); the heat exchange assembly (10, 16) configured to receive externally suppled thermal energy (see Modified Fig. 1 at element G (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize a type of externally supplied thermal energy at element G as the burner of element 10 is clearly depicted receiving input from this element) and Col. 3, Lines 26-32); and the heat exchange assembly (10, 16) configured to thermally drive mechanical motion of a piston assembly (52, piston - Col. 4, Lines 53-55; 64, piston rings - Col. 5, Line 2)(see Figs. 1-2 and Col. 4, Line 51 - Col. 5, Line 33) so as to pressurize an initial gas (Modified Fig. 1 above - H (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element H as a type of initial gas; element H corresponds to the air referenced at Col. 3, Lines 51-57 - “…high pressure accumulator 32 may be of the air chamber type illustrated in which a bladder is preloaded with air…”))(see Figs. 1-2 and Col. 3, Line 15 - Col. 5, Line 33 (especially Col. 4, Lines 25-50)). Therefore, Frazier discloses the limitation in question and the rejection of claim 6 is maintained.
Applicant argues Claims 7, 9, and 11-13 are allowable for the same reasons as indicated above regarding claim 6 (see Remarks filed 8/7/26, Page 8). The Examiner does not find this argument persuasive for the same reasons as indicated above regarding claim 6.
Applicant argues claims 8, 10, and 14 are allowable for the same reasons as indicated above regarding claim 6 (see Remarks filed 8/7/26, Page 8). The Examiner does not find this argument persuasive for the same reasons as indicated above regarding claim 6.
Applicant argues claims 22-28 are allowable for the same reasons as indicated above regarding Frazier as it applies to claim 6 (see Remarks filed 8/7/26, Pages 8-10). The Examiner does not find this argument persuasive for the same reasons as indicated above regarding claim 6.
Applicant argues claims 29-30, and 32-35 are allowable for the same reasons as indicated above regarding Frazier as it applies to claim 6 (see Remarks filed 8/7/26, Pages 10-12). The Examiner does not find this argument persuasive for the same reasons as indicated above regarding claim 6.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because “according to claim 11” in line 1 should be --according to claim 6--.
Claim 13 is objected to because “according to claim 11” in line 1 should be --according to claim 6--.
Claim 34 is objected to because “according to claim 32” in line 1 should be --according to claim 29--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 6-7, 9, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Frazier (U.S. 3,991,574).
Re claim 6:
Frazier discloses an energy storage system (Fig. 1 (see Abstract)) comprising:
an energy storage container (32, high pressure accumulator - Col. 3, Lines 51-52) storing an initial gas (Modified Fig. 1 above - H (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element H as a type of initial gas; element H corresponds to the air referenced at Col. 3, Lines 51-57 - “…high pressure accumulator 32 may be of the air chamber type illustrated in which a bladder is preloaded with air…”));
a force generating device (24, power conversion piston unit - Col. 3, Lines 38-39) comprising a piston assembly (52, piston - Col. 4, Lines 53-55; 64, piston rings - Col. 5, Line 2) configured to mechanically pressurize the initial gas (Modified Fig. 1 above - H) through a working fluid (Col. 3, Lines 40-41 - “…hydraulic fluid..” (see Col. 1, Lines 52-63 - “…. The hydraulic fluid is then recirculated back to the main reservoir. The main reservoir also provides the fluid for the steam generator…”; Col. 5, Lines 25-33; Col. 6, Lines 34-65 and especially - “…the hydraulic fluid capable of being used in the vapor cycle…”))(see Figs. 1-2 and Col. 3, Line 15 - Col. 5, Line 33); and
a heat transfer device (A, energy input generating subsystem - Col. 3, Lines 19-21) comprising a heat exchange assembly (10, boiler - Col. 3, Line 27; 16, heat exchanger - Col. 3, Line 30; 46, condenser Col. 4, Line 8) configured to receive externally supplied thermal energy (see Modified Fig. 1 at element G (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize a type of externally supplied thermal energy at element G as the burner of element 10 is clearly depicted receiving input from this element) and Col. 3, Lines 26-32) and to thermally drive mechanical motion of the piston assembly (52, 64)(see Figs. 1-2 and Col. 4, Line 51 - Col. 5, Line 33) so as to pressurize the initial gas (Modified Fig. 1 above - H)( see Figs. 1-2 and Col. 3, Line 15 - Col. 5, Line 33 (especially Col. 4, Lines 25-50)), wherein the working fluid (Col. 3, Lines 40-41 - “…hydraulic fluid..”) is introduced into the energy storage container (32) to reduce a volume (Modified Fig. 1 above - I (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element I as a type of volume occupied by element H; element I corresponds to the bladder referenced in Col. 3, Lines 53-55)) occupied by the initial gas (Modified Fig. 1 above - H) and thereby increase a gas pressure within the energy storage container (32)(see Modified Fig. 1 above; Col. 3, Lines 37-57 and Col. 4, Lines 24-50 (element 32 is described as an accumulator with a bladder filled with air, which a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize as a compressible fluid, and such that the volume of the bladder would be reduced when pressurized as described)).
Re claim 7:
Frazier discloses the energy storage system (Fig. 1) according to claim 6 (as described above), wherein the force generating device (24) contains a piston (52, piston - Col. 4, Line 54 (see Figs. 1-2)).
Re claim 9:
Frazier discloses the energy storage system (Fig. 1) according to claim 6 (as described above), wherein the thermal energy comprises solar energy, geothermal energy, or waste heat (see Fig. 1 at 46 and Col. 5, Lines 25-33 - “…Some of the heat from the steam is reclaimed in this condensing process and also used to pre-heat the hydraulic fluid being fed to the boiler 10…” (also see Col. 15, Lines 29-43)).
Re claim 12:
Frazier discloses the energy storage system (Fig. 1) according to claim 6 (as described above), wherein the working fluid comprises water (Col. 3, Line 26 - “…steam…” and Col. 6, Lines 58-59).
Re claim 13:
Frazier discloses the energy storage system (Fig. 1) according to claim 6 (as described above), further comprising a heat provider (10, boiler - Col. 3, Line 27) connected to the heat transfer device (A)(see Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frazier (U.S. 3,991,574), as applied to claim 6 above, in view of Hecht (U.S. 2007/0289622)
Re claim 8:
Frazier discloses the energy storage system (Fig. 1) according to claim 6 (as described above), wherein the heat transfer device (A) contains a thermal conductor (Modified Fig. 1 above - F (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element F as a type of thermal conductor)) connected to a receiver (16, heat exchanger - Col. 3, Line 30)(see Modified Fig. 1 above), and a water storage unit (14, steam accumulator - Col. 3, Line 28) connected to the thermal conductor (Modified Fig. 1 above - F)(see Modified Fig. 1 above).
Frazier fails to disclose wherein the heat transfer device contains a concave lens nor a receiver receiving sunlight from the concave lens.
Hecht teaches wherein a heat transfer device (Fig. 5) contains a concave lens (313, collimating lens - Para 27 (see Fig. 5 where element 313 is labelled “concave lens”)), and a receiver (302, slotted wavelength separator - Para 27) receiving sunlight from the concave lens (313)(see Fig. 5 and Paras 26-27), and a thermal conductor (303, heat pipe - Para 27) connected to the receiver (302)(see Fig. 5 and Para 27).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the heat transfer device of Frazier after that of Hecht, thereby including a receiver receiving sunlight from a concave lens in the heat transfer device of Frazier in the way taught by Hecht, for the advantage of being able to efficiently utilize a highly concentrated heat source for efficient operation (Hecht; Para 27).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frazier (U.S. 3,991,574), as applied to claim 6 above, in view of Bell (U.S. 4,206,608).
Re claim 10:
Frazier discloses the energy storage system (Fig. 1) according to claim 6 (as described above), further comprising a generator (37, hydraulic power output units - Col. 3, Line 68 - Col. 4, Line 3) generating
Frazier fails to disclose a generator generating electricity.
Bell teaches a generator (42, 44, hydraulic motor and AC generator - Col. 4, Line 52-55) generating electricity (see Fig. 1 and Col. 4, Line 45-55).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the generator of Frazier after that of Bell, thereby generating electricity with the generator of Frazier in the way taught by Bell, for the advantage of being able to utilize pressurized hydraulic fluid for the generation of AC electricity (Bell; Col. 4, Lines 45-55).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frazier (U.S. 3,991,574), as applied to claim 13 above, in view of Held (U.S. 2013/0113221).
Re claim 14:
Frazier discloses the energy storage system (Fig. 1) according to claim 13 (as described above).
Frazier fails to disclose wherein the heat provider provides heat generated by geothermal heat.
Held teaches wherein a heat provider (Qin, heat source - Para 22) provides heat generated by geothermal heat (Para 22 - “…the heat source Qin may derive thermal energy from renewable sources of thermal energy such as, but not limited to, Solar thermal and geothermal sources.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the heat provider of Frazier after that of Held, thereby providing heat generated by geothermal heat by the heat provider in Frazier in the way taught by Held, for the advantage of utilizing a renewable source to provide thermal energy (Held; Para 22).
Claims 22-23, and 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frazier (U.S. 3,991,574), in view of Bell (U.S. 4,206,608).
Re claim 22:
Frazer discloses an energy storage system (Fig. 1 (see Abstract)) comprising:
an energy storage container (32, high pressure accumulator - Col. 3, Lines 51-57) storing an initial gas (Modified Fig. 1 above - H (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element H as a type of initial gas; element H corresponds to the air referenced at Col. 3, Lines 51-57 - “…high pressure accumulator 32 may be of the air chamber type illustrated in which a bladder is preloaded with air…”));
a force generating device (24, power conversion piston unit - Col. 3, Lines 38-39) providing a force to drive the initial gas to be pressurized (see Figs. 1-2 and Col. 3, Line 15 - Col. 5, Line 33 (especially Col. 4, Lines 24-29)) comprising a piston assembly (52, piston - Col. 4, Lines 53-55; 64, piston rings - Col. 5, Line 2) configured to provide a force to drive the initial gas (Modified Fig. 1 above - H) to be pressurized, through a working fluid (Col. 3, Lines 40-41 - “…hydraulic fluid..” (see Col. 1, Lines 52-63 - “…. The hydraulic fluid is then recirculated back to the main reservoir. The main reservoir also provides the fluid for the steam generator…”; Col. 5, Lines 25-33; Col. 6, Lines 34-65 and especially - “…the hydraulic fluid capable of being used in the vapor cycle…”))(see Figs. 1-2 and Col. 3, Line 15 - Col. 5, Line 33), wherein the working fluid (Col. 3, Lines 40-41 - “…hydraulic fluid...”) is introduced into the energy storage container (32) to reduce a volume (Modified Fig. 1 above - I (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element I as a type of volume occupied by element H; element I corresponds to the bladder referenced in Col. 3, Lines 53-55)) occupied by the initial gas (Modified Fig. 1 above - H) and thereby increase a gas pressure within the energy storage container (32)(see Modified Fig. 1 above; Col. 3, Lines 37-57 and Col. 4, Lines 24-50 (element 32 is described as an accumulator with a bladder filled with air, which a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize as a compressible fluid, and such that the volume of the bladder would be reduced when pressurized as described));
a heat transfer device (A, energy input generating subsystem - Col. 3, Lines 19-21) comprising a heat exchange assembly (10, boiler - Col. 3, Line 27; 16, heat exchanger - Col. 3, Line 30; 46, condenser Col. 4, Line 8) configured to receive externally supplied thermal energy (see Modified Fig. 1 at element G (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize a type of externally supplied thermal energy at element G as the burner of element 10 is clearly depicted receiving input from this element) and Col. 3, Lines 26-32) and mechanically drive the piston assembly (52, 64)(see Figs. 1-2 and Col. 3, Line 15 - Col. 5, Line 33 (thermal energy at element G of Modified Fig. 1 above is shown/described provided to element 10/16/46 to mechanically drive element 52/64 in a way consistent with the claimed invention when viewed in light of the specification as shown in Fig 1 of the instant disclosure at elements 23, 22, 21, 1, 2, 3, 4, and 12 and as described in Paras 20-37 of the instant specification)); and
a generator (37, hydraulic power output units - Col. 3, Line 68 - Col. 4, Line 3) generating
Frazier fails to disclose a generator generating electricity.
Bell teaches a generator (42, 44, hydraulic motor and AC generator - Col. 4, Line 52-55) generating electricity (see Fig. 1 and Col. 4, Line 45-55).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the generator of Frazier after that of Bell, thereby generating electricity with the generator of Frazier in the way taught by Bell, for the advantage of being able to utilize pressurized hydraulic fluid for the generation of AC electricity (Bell; Col. 4, Lines 45-55).
Re claim 23:
Frazier/Bell teaches the energy storage system (Frazier; Fig. 1) according to claim 22 (as described above).
Frazier further discloses wherein the force generating device (24) contains a piston (52, piston - Col. 4, Line 54 (see Figs. 1-2)).
Re claim 25:
Frazier/Bell teaches the energy storage system (Frazier; Fig. 1) according to claim 22 (as described above).
Frazier further discloses wherein the thermal energy comprises solar energy, geothermal energy, or waste heat (see Fig. 1 at 46 and Col. 5, Lines 25-33 - “…Some of the heat from the steam is reclaimed in this condensing process and also used to pre-heat the hydraulic fluid being fed to the boiler 10…” (also see Col. 15, Lines 29-43)).
Re claim 26:
Frazier/Bell teaches the energy storage system (Frazier; Fig. 1) according to claim 22 (as described above).
Frazier further discloses wherein the working fluid comprises water (Col. 3, Line 26 - “…steam…” and Col. 6, Lines 58-59).
Re claim 27:
Frazier/Bell teaches the energy storage system (Frazier; Fig. 1) according to claim 22 (as described above).
Frazier further discloses the energy storage system (Fig. 1) comprising a heat provider (10, boiler - Col. 3, Line 27) connected to the heat transfer device (A)(see Fig. 1).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frazier (U.S. 3,991,574) in view of Bell (U.S. 4,206,608), as applied to claim 22 above, and further in view of Hecht (U.S. 2007/0289622).
Re claim 24:
Frazier/Bell teaches the energy storage system (Frazier; Fig. 1) according to claim 22 (as described above).
Frazier further discloses wherein the heat transfer device (A) contains a thermal conductor (Modified Fig. 1 above - F (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element F as a type of thermal conductor)) connected to a receiver (16, heat exchanger - Col. 3, Line 30)(see Modified Fig. 1 above), and a water storage unit (14, steam accumulator - Col. 3, Line 28) connected to the thermal conductor (Modified Fig. 1 above - F)(see Modified Fig. 1 above).
Frazier/Bell fails to disclose/teach wherein the heat transfer device contains a concave lens nor a receiver receiving sunlight from the concave lens.
Hecht teaches wherein a heat transfer device (Fig. 5) contains a concave lens (313, collimating lens - Para 27 (see Fig. 5 where element 313 is labelled “concave lens”)), and a receiver (302, slotted wavelength separator - Para 27) receiving sunlight from the concave lens (313)(see Fig. 5 and Paras 26-27), and a thermal conductor (303, heat pipe - Para 27) connected to the receiver (302)(see Fig. 5 and Para 27).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the heat transfer device of Frazier/Bell after that of Hecht, thereby including a receiver receiving sunlight from a concave lens in the heat transfer device of Frazier in the way taught by Hecht, for the advantage of being able to efficiently utilize a highly concentrated heat source for efficient operation (Hecht; Para 27).
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frazier (U.S. 3,991,574) in view of Bell (U.S. 4,206,608), as applied to claim 27 above, and further in view of Held (U.S. 2013/0113221).
Re claim 28:
Frazier/Bell teaches the energy storage system (Frazier; Fig. 1) according to claim 27 (as described above).
Frazier/Bell fails to disclose/teach wherein the heat provider provides heat generated by geothermal heat.
Held teaches wherein a heat provider (Qin, heat source - Para 22) provides heat generated by geothermal heat (Para 22 - “…the heat source Qin may derive thermal energy from renewable sources of thermal energy such as, but not limited to, Solar thermal and geothermal sources.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the heat provider of Frazier/Bell after that of Held, thereby providing heat generated by geothermal heat by the heat provider in Frazier in the way taught by Held, for the advantage of utilizing a renewable source to provide thermal energy (Held; Para 22).
Claims 29-30, and 33-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frazier (U.S. 3,991,574) in view of Hecht (U.S. 2007/0289622).
Re claim 29:
Frazier discloses an energy storage system (Fig. 1 (see Abstract)) comprising:
an energy storage container (32, high pressure accumulator - Col. 3, Lines 51-57) storing an initial gas (Modified Fig. 1 above - H (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element H as a type of initial gas; element H corresponds to the air referenced at Col. 3, Lines 51-57 - “…high pressure accumulator 32 may be of the air chamber type illustrated in which a bladder is preloaded with air…”));
a force generating device (24, power conversion piston unit - Col. 3, Lines 38-39) comprising a piston assembly (52, piston - Col. 4, Lines 53-55; 64, piston rings - Col. 5, Line 2) configured to provide a force to drive the initial gas (Modified Fig. 1 above - H) to be pressurized (see Figs. 1-2 and Col. 3, Line 15 - Col. 5, Line 33 (especially Col. 4, Lines 24-29)), wherein the initial gas (Modified Fig. 1 above - H) is pressurized through a working fluid (Col. 3, Lines 40-41 - “…hydraulic fluid..” (see Col. 1, Lines 52-63 - “…. The hydraulic fluid is then recirculated back to the main reservoir. The main reservoir also provides the fluid for the steam generator…”; Col. 5, Lines 25-33; Col. 6, Lines 34-65 and especially - “…the hydraulic fluid capable of being used in the vapor cycle…”))(see Figs. 1-2 and Col. 3, Line 15 - Col. 5, Line 33) and further wherein the working fluid (Col. 3, Lines 40-41 - “…hydraulic fluid..”) is introduced into the energy storage container (32) to reduce a volume (Modified Fig. 1 above - I (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element I as a type of volume occupied by element H; element I corresponds to the bladder referenced in Col. 3, Lines 53-55)) occupied by the initial gas (Modified Fig. 1 above - H) and thereby increase a gas pressure within the energy storage container (32)(see Modified Fig. 1 above; Col. 3, Lines 37-57 and Col. 4, Lines 24-50 (element 32 is described as an accumulator with a bladder filled with air, which a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize as a compressible fluid, and such that the volume of the bladder would be reduced when pressurized as described)); and
a heat transfer device (A, energy input generating subsystem - Col. 3, Lines 19-21) comprising a heat exchange assembly (10, boiler - Col. 3, Line 27; 16, heat exchanger - Col. 3, Line 30; 46, condenser Col. 4, Line 8) thermally coupled to the piston assembly (52, 64)(see Figs. 1-2 (a type of thermal coupling is shown between elements 10/16/46 and 52/64 which is consistent with the claimed invention when viewed in light of the instant disclosure as shown in Fig. 1 of the instant disclosure at elements 23, 22, 21, 1, 2, 3, 4, and 12 and as described in Paras 20-37 of the instant specification)) configured to gather thermal energy (see Fig. 1 at elements 10, 16, and 46 and Col. 3, Lines 26-36 and Col. 5, Lines 25-33) driving the force generating device (24) to provide the force (see Figs. 1-2 and Col. 3, Line 15 - Col. 5, Line 33), the heat transfer device comprising a thermal conductor (Modified Fig. 1 above - F (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element F as a type of thermal conductor)) connected to a receiver (16, heat exchanger - Col. 3, Line 30)(see Modified Fig. 1 above), and a water storage unit (14, steam accumulator - Col. 3, Line 28) connected to the thermal conductor (Modified Fig. 1 above - F)(see Modified Fig. 1 above).
Frazier fails to disclose wherein the heat transfer device contains a concave lens nor a receiver receiving sunlight from the concave lens.
Hecht teaches wherein a heat transfer device (Fig. 5) contains a concave lens (313, collimating lens - Para 27 (see Fig. 5 where element 313 is labelled “concave lens”)), and a receiver (302, slotted wavelength separator - Para 27) receiving sunlight from the concave lens (313)(see Fig. 5 and Paras 26-27), and a thermal conductor (303, heat pipe - Para 27) connected to the receiver (302)(see Fig. 5 and Para 27).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the heat transfer device of Frazier after that of Hecht, thereby including a receiver receiving sunlight from a concave lens in the heat transfer device of Frazier in the way taught by Hecht, for the advantage of being able to efficiently utilize a highly concentrated heat source for efficient operation (Hecht; Para 27)
Re claim 30:
Frazier/Hecht teaches the energy storage system (Frazier; Fig. 1) according to claim 29 (as described above).
Frazier further discloses wherein the thermal energy comprises solar energy, geothermal energy, or waste heat (see Fig. 1 at 46 and Col. 5, Lines 25-33 - “…Some of the heat from the steam is reclaimed in this condensing process and also used to pre-heat the hydraulic fluid being fed to the boiler 10…” (also see Col. 15, Lines 29-43)).
Re claim 33:
Frazier/Hecht teaches the energy storage system (Frazier; Fig. 1) according to claim 32 (as described above).
Frazier further discloses wherein the working fluid comprises water (Col. 3, Line 26 - “…steam…” and Col. 6, Lines 58-59).
Re claim 34:
Frazier/Hecht teaches the energy storage system (Frazier; Fig. 1) according to claim 32 (as described above).
Frazier further discloses the energy storage system comprising a heat provider (10, boiler - Col. 3, Line 27) connected to the heat transfer device (A)(see Fig. 1).
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frazier (U.S. 3,991,574) in view of Hecht (U.S. 2007/0289622), as applied to claim 29 above, and further in view of Bell (U.S. 4,206,608).
Re claim 31:
Frazier/Hecht teaches the energy storage system (Frazier; Fig. 1) according to claim 29 (as described above).
Frazier further discloses the energy storage system (Fig. 1) comprising a generator (37, hydraulic power output units - Col. 3, Line 68 - Col. 4, Line 3) generating
Frazier/Hecht fails to disclose/teach a generator generating electricity.
Bell teaches a generator (42, 44, hydraulic motor and AC generator - Col. 4, Line 52-55) generating electricity (see Fig. 1 and Col. 4, Line 45-55).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the generator of Frazier/Hecht after that of Bell, thereby generating electricity with the generator of Frazier in the way taught by Bell, for the advantage of being able to utilize pressurized hydraulic fluid for the generation of AC electricity (Bell; Col. 4, Lines 45-55).
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frazier (U.S. 3,991,574) in view of Hecht (U.S. 2007/0289622), as applied to claim 34 above, and further in view of Held (U.S. 2013/0113221).
Re claim 35:
Frazier/Hecht teaches the energy storage system (Frazier; Fig. 1) according to claim 34 (as described above).
Frazier/Hecht fails to disclose/teach wherein the heat provider provides heat generated by geothermal heat.
Held teaches wherein a heat provider (Qin, heat source - Para 22) provides heat generated by geothermal heat (Para 22 - “…the heat source Qin may derive thermal energy from renewable sources of thermal energy such as, but not limited to, Solar thermal and geothermal sources.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the heat provider of Frazier/Hecht after that of Held, thereby providing heat generated by geothermal heat by the heat provider in Frazier in the way taught by Held, for the advantage of utilizing a renewable source to provide thermal energy (Held; Para 22)
Conclusion
/LOREN C EDWARDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746 9/25/26