Status of Claims
Receipt is acknowledged of claims, filed on 04/24/2025, which has been placed of record and entered in the file.
Claims 1-20 are pending for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
Receipt is acknowledged of an Information Disclosure Statement, filed 04/24/2025, which has been placed of record in the file. An initialed, signed and dated copy of the PTO-1449 or PTO-SB-08 form is attached to this Office action.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following features must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
Base (claim 1)
Storage region (claim 1)
Passage (claim 1)
Actuator (claim 1)
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function;
the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; and
the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-25 of U.S. Patent No. 10,399,712 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are either anticipated by the claims of the ‘712 with only minor changes to grammar and synonyms or otherwise are an obvious variant.
Regarding claim 1, claims 1, and 9 of the ‘712 patent also claims Metering system (Col 12 lines 59-60), comprising:
a base at least partially defining a storage region, the storage region configured to hold a loose material, the base at least partially defining a cavity (Col 12 lines 61-64);
a movable component defining a passage (Col 12 lines 65-67); and
an actuator configured to move the movable component between a first position and a second position (Col 12 lines 65-67 and Col 13 lines 57-60),
when the movable component is in the first position, the cavity is in fluid communication with the storage region such that the cavity is configured to receive a portion of loose material from the storage region, and when the movable component is in the second position, the cavity is in fluid communication with the passage such that the passage is configured to receive the portion of the loose material from the cavity (Col 12 lines 65-67 to Col 13 lines 1-20).
Regarding claims 2-20, the claims are either anticipated by the claims 1-25 of the ‘712 with only minor changes to grammar and synonyms or otherwise are an obvious variant.
Claims 1-20 are further rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-25 of U.S. Patent No. 11447277 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are either anticipated by the claims of the ‘277 with only minor changes to grammar and synonyms or otherwise are an obvious variant.
Regarding claim 1, claims 1 of the ‘277 patent also claims Metering system (Col 12 lines 63-65), comprising:
a base at least partially defining a storage region, the storage region configured to hold a loose material, the base at least partially defining a cavity (Col 12 lines 63-67 to Col 13 lines 1-3);
a movable component defining a passage; and an actuator configured to move the movable component between a first position and a second position (Col 13 lines 4-12),
when the movable component is in the first position, the cavity is in fluid communication with the storage region such that the cavity is configured to receive a portion of loose material from the storage region, and when the movable component is in the second position, the cavity is in fluid communication with the passage such that the passage is configured to receive the portion of the loose material from the cavity (Col 13 lines 13-20 and Col 14 lines 1-22).
Regarding claims 2-20, the claims are either anticipated by the claims 1-25 of the ‘277 with only minor changes to grammar and synonyms or otherwise are an obvious variant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, and 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stewart (US 3718164 A).
Regarding claim 1, Stewart discloses a metering system for loose material (powder, 21; See also Abstract), the metering system comprising:
a base (Hopper 20, with base plate 10; Fig. 2) at least partially defining a storage region (interior of 10 and 20; collectively called hopper region), the storage region configured to hold a loose material (Powder, 21), the base (10) at least partially defining a cavity (11)
a movable (12) component defining a passage (13); and
an actuator (25) configured to move the movable component (12) between a first position (Closed; Fig. 3) and a second position (open; Fig. 4),
when the movable component (12) is in the first position (Fig. 3), the cavity (11) is in fluid communication with the storage region (hopper region) such that the cavity (11) is configured to receive a portion of loose material (21) from the storage region (hopper region), and
when the movable component (12) is in the second position (open; Fig. 4), the cavity (11) is in fluid communication with the passage (13) such that the passage (13) is configured to receive the portion of the loose material (21) from the cavity (11).
Stewart further discloses:
Regarding claim 3, further comprising: a plurality of walls (hopper walls) cooperating with the base (10 and 12) to define the storage region (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 4, wherein the plurality of walls includes a first wall, a second wall opposite the first wall, and a pair of end walls, each of the pair of end walls between the first wall and the second wall (Stewarts hopper 20 inherently includes opposing first and second walls and a pair of end walls between them to form the enclosed storage region to hold the powder, as is standard for a rectangular hopper accommodating multiple apertures; See Fig.1).
Regarding claim 5, wherein positions of the first wall and the second wall are fixed with respect to the base (Stewart’s hopper 20 walls are fixed to base plate 10).
Claim(s) 1-5, 13 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Williams (US 20120000165 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Williams discloses a metering system for loose material (“MST” [0017]), the metering system comprising:
a base (12, 14, 26) at least partially defining a storage region (feed system 50; Fig. 1A), the storage region configured to hold a loose material (“MST”), the base (12, 14, 26) at least partially defining a cavity (16)
a movable (36) component defining a passage (34, 37 and 41); and
an actuator (32) configured to move the movable component (36) between a first position (Fig. 1A) and a second position (Fig. 1B),
when the movable component (36) is in the first position (Fig. 1A), the cavity (space inside of 16) is in fluid communication with the storage region ([0024]) such that the cavity (space inside of 16) is configured to receive a portion of loose material (MST) from the storage region ([0024]), and
when the movable component (36) is in the second position (Fig. 1B), the cavity (space inside of 16) is in fluid communication with the passage (34, 37 and 41) such that the passage (34, 37 and 41) is configured to receive the portion of the loose material (MST) from the cavity (space inside of 16; [0023]-[0025]).
Williams further teaches:
Regarding claim 2, further comprising: a pressure source (via 18) configured to be fluidly connected to the cavity, the pressure source configured to facilitate movement of the portion of the loose material from the cavity through the passage ([0025]).
Regarding claim 3, further comprising: a plurality of walls (hopper walls) cooperating with the base (12, 14, 26) to define the storage region (Fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 4, wherein the plurality of walls includes a first wall, a second wall opposite the first wall, and a pair of end walls, each of the pair of end walls between the first wall and the second wall (William hopper inherently includes opposing first and second walls and a pair of end walls between them to form the enclosed storage region to hold the MST, as is standard for a rectangular hopper accommodating multiple apertures; See Fig.A1).
Regarding claim 5, wherein positions of the first wall and the second wall are fixed with respect to the base (William’s hopper walls are fixed; Fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 13, wherein the actuator (32) includes an electric motor or a pneumatic actuator ([0023]).
Regarding claim 20, further comprising: a source of atomized water (20; Fig. 1A) configured to be fluidly connected to the cavity (Fig. 1A; [0005] “the apparatus can also include an atomized water source for supplying water to the cavity and/or dosing tube between dosing operations so as to remove residual MST contained therein”).
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Weir (US 2877937 A).
Regarding claim 1, Weir discloses a metering system for loose material (“spices, flour, sugar” Col 1 lines 15-21), the metering system comprising:
a base (1) at least partially defining a storage region (fixed body member,1 installed in the container partially defines the storage region above compartments; See Col 3 lines 1-15; and Figs. 1-2 showing body 1 as base with compartments open to container storage), the storage region configured to hold a loose material (container interior above body (1) configured to hold loose material for delivery to compartments) holds lose material for deliver), the base at least partially defining a cavity (fixed body 1 defines multiple compartments (2A-2D); Fig. 4)
a movable (rotatable cap 8) component defining a passage (10); and
an actuator (manual rotation rim, 12) configured to move the movable component (8) between a first position (position where inlet 11 aligns with cavity 2B; Fig. 4) and a second position (position where inlet 11 aligns with cavity 2c/d upon rotation; Col 3 lines 1-65),
when the movable component (8) is in the first position (position where inlet 11 aligns with cavity 2B; Fig. 4), the cavity (fixed body 1 defines multiple compartments (2A-2D); Fig. 4) is in fluid communication with the storage region ([container body 1]) such that the cavity is configured to receive a portion of loose material (sugar, flour etc) from the storage region (space inside container body 1; Col 3 lines 1-65), and
when the movable component (8) is in the second position (position where inlet 11 aligns with cavity 2c/d upon rotation; Col 3 lines 1-65), the cavity (space inside container body 1) is in fluid communication with the passage (10) such that the passage (10) is configured to receive the portion of the loose material from the cavity (space inside of container body 1; Fig. 4-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams (US 20120000165 A1) in view of Brown (US 3,244,328).
Regarding claim 10, Williams discloses a metering system for loose material (“MST” [0017]) including the movable component (36) is in the first position (Fig. 1A); but is silent with regards to a vacuum source configured to be fluidly connected to the cavity and facilitate movement of the portion of the loose material from the storage region to the cavity.
Brown in a related invention teaches a metering system for loose material including a vacuum source (Fig. 1) configured to be fluidly connected to the cavity and facilitate movement of the portion of the loose material from the storage region to the cavity (Col 3 lines 29-64)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the metering system of Williams by incorporating a vacuum source as taught by Brown in order to increase the speed of filling.
Regarding claim 11, further comprising: a pressure source (18 of william) configured to be fluidly connected to the cavity; and a valve (Controller 30; [0005] and [0027] “for controlling the apparatus and sequencing the various components thereof”) fluidly connected to the cavity, the pressure source, and the vacuum source but Williams is silent regarding the valve being a three-way valve. Brown further teaches a manifold (19) that selectively connects vacuum and pressure sources to the cavities via implied valving or control means for switching between vacuum and pressure modes.
it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Williams as modified to include a three-way valve fluidly connected to the cavity, pressure source, and vacuum source, as a routine and predictable implementation of Browns manifold and/or Williams controller. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that incorporating a three way valve is a simple substitution of one known fluid control element for another. This modification would allow efficient, controlled cycling without separate connections, ensuring complete fill and discharge while maintaining uniform bulk density
Regarding claim 12, further comprising: a controller (30 of williams) configured to selectively communicate pressurized gas from the pressure source or vacuum to the cavity ([0026]-[0027] of Williams).
Claim 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stewart (US 3718164 A) in view of Williams (US 20120000165 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Stewart discloses a metering system for loose material including the actuator as rejected in claim 1 above but is silent with regards to the actuator includes an electric motor or pneumatic actuator.
Williams in a related invention teaches a metering system for loose material wherein the actuator (32) includes an electric motor or a pneumatic actuator ([0023]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the actuator of Stewart by substitution it with pneumatic actuator as taught by Williams for simpler integration and reduced maintenance in high-speed production setting, and that one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted one known element for another and the results of the substitution would have yielded predictable results, namely, actuating the movable element.
Regarding claim 14, wherein the base (10 and 20 of Stewart) defines a first cavity and a second cavity, the first cavity including the cavity (Stewart’s base plate discloses multiple apertures 11; Figs. 1-4).
Claim 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams (US 20120000165 A1) in view of Williams (US 20110277878 A1; Hereinafter William’s ‘878).
Regarding claim 16, Williams discloses a metering system for loose material (“MST” [0017]) including the base (12, 14, 26) that defines a throughole (Fig. 1A); but is silent with regards to a pin at least partially in a through hole, and the pin cooperates with a wall of the through hole to define the cavity.
William’s ‘878 in a related invention teaches a metering system for loose material including a pin (38, Figs. 2A and 4) at least partially in a through hole, and the pin cooperates with a wall of the through hole to define the cavity ([0023] “A series of pins 38 (shown in FIGS. 2A and 2B) are fixed in each of the through holes of the lower disk 18 and extend into the aligned through holes in the metering disk 12, such that an upper screen 36 of each pin 38 forms the bottom of each of the plurality of cavities 14”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the metering system of Williams by incorporating a pin as taught by William’s ‘878 in order to increase or decrease a fill volume of the cavity ([0005]).
Regarding claim 17, wherein the pin is configured to be moved to modify a volume of the cavity ([0005] and [0025] of Williams ‘828).
Regarding claim 18, Williams discloses a metering system for loose material (“MST” [0017]) including the pin and the cavity as explained above; but is silent with regards to a screen between the cavity and the pin.
William’s ‘878 in a related invention teaches a metering system for loose material including a screen (36) between the cavity and the pin (38; Fig. 2A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the metering system of Williams by incorporating the screen as taught by William’s ‘878 in order to increase or decrease a fill volume of the cavity ([0005] and [0026]).
Claim 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stewart (US 3718164 A) in view of Morrow et al. (US 4964546 A).
Regarding claim 19, Stewart discloses a metering system for loose material including the actuator and the movable component configured to move to the second position such that the portion of the loose material remains in the cavity (Stewart discloses the movable component 12, moves from first to second position, Figs. 3-4, retaining a measured portion of material in cavities 11 during movement) as rejected in claim 1 above but is silent with regards to wherein the movable component is configured to move excess of the loose material within the storage region during movement from the first position to the second position such that the portion of the loose material remains in the cavity.
Morrow in a related invention teaches a metering system for loose material wherein during movement of the movable component (11) from first position (Fig. 2) to discharge (second position; (Fig. 3), a means (brush, 22) dislodges and moves excess granules rearward over bin/cavity (12; Col 5 lines 1-67 and Col 6 lines 1-20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sliding plate of Stewart by incorporating a brush assembly as taught by Morrow to over excess loose material back to the storage bin during movement to the second position, as this would enhance precision by dynamically preventing overfill and jamming during slide (Abstract). The combination yields predictable results, as adding a moving brush to a pre-movement blade is a simple enhancement of known leveling techniques in sliding dispensers, and combining known elements according to known methods for predictable improvements in flow control and portion accuracy. KSR, 550 U.S. at 416.
Claim 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stewart (US 3718164 A) in view of Williams (US 20120000165 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Stewart as modified discloses a metering system for loose material including the actuator as rejected in claim 14 above but is silent with regards to the actuator includes an electric motor or pneumatic actuator.
Williams in a related invention teaches a metering system for loose material wherein the actuator (32) includes an electric motor or a pneumatic actuator ([0023]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the actuator of Stewart by substitution it with pneumatic actuator as taught by Williams for simpler integration and reduced maintenance in high-speed production setting, and that one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted one known element for another and the results of the substitution would have yielded predictable results, namely, actuating the movable element.
Regarding claim 14, wherein the base (10 and 20 of Stewart) defines a first cavity and a second cavity, the first cavity including the cavity (Stewart’s base plate discloses multiple apertures 11; Figs. 1-4).
Claim 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weir (US 2877937 A).
Regarding claim 13, Weir discloses a metering system for loose material including an actuator (manual actuator rim, 12) as rejected in claim 1 above but is silent with regards to the actuator includes an electric motor or pneumatic actuator.
However it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to substitute an a motor actuator for a manual actuator, since it has been held that broadly providing a mechanical or automatic means to replace manual activity which has accomplished the same result involves only routine skill in the art, motivated by automation for consistent, hands-free operation in high volume setting. In re Venner, 120 USPQ 192. Doing this yield a predictable rotational motion without unexpected results.
Regarding claim 14, wherein the base (base body 1 of container) defines a first cavity (2A) and a second cavity (2B-2D), the first cavity including the cavity (cavity of body 1).
Regarding claim 15, wherein in the first position (position where inlet 11 aligns with cavity 2B; Fig. 4), the passage (10) of the movable component (8) is in fluid communication with the second cavity (2c or 2D; Figs. 4-5).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Notice of References Cited. Those references not relied upon are directed mainly toward the general field of metering systems.
/NICHOLAS E IGBOKWE/Examiner, Art Unit 3731
/ANDREW M TECCO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731