Detailed Action
Status of Claims
This communication is in response to application No. 19/188,348 filed on 24 April 2025. Claims 1-20 are currently presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 24 April 2025, and 24 October 2025 are being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim priority for foreign applications FP JP2024-071400 filed on 25 April 2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1, 2, 3, 4, 7, and 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 102 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN112822704A).
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches a controller disposed on the watercraft and configured or programmed to control the watercraft; (see at least [37]; "The monitoring system integrates network information (command route, command heading, command speed, equipment control commands, etc.), serial port information (engine control commands, throttle control commands, rudder angle control commands, generator control commands, bucket tilting control commands, etc.), and heartbeat message information, and transmits the above information to the unmanned surface vessel platform through the monitoring terminal's data transmission radio communication interface.") Chen describes a controller
a communication interface disposed on the watercraft and configured to perform satellite communication using a satellite and terrestrial communication using a ground base station; and (see at least [34]; "Both the unmanned surface vessel platform and the monitoring system are equipped with data transmission radio interfaces, image transmission radio network interfaces, and Beidou short message satellite communication interfaces, thereby enabling communication through wireless data transmission, wireless image transmission, and satellite communication links.") Chen describes a communication interface on the vessel configured to perform both satellite and terrestrial communication.
a communication switch to switch a communication method of the communication interface between the satellite communication and the terrestrial communication; (see at least [0012]; "Step 4: The unmanned surface vessel platform monitors and controls the communication status of the data transmission radio and image transmission radio in real time. If data packet loss or communication interruption occurs in both communication methods, the system automatically starts transmitting BeiDou short message satellite communication data. ") Chen describes a switch between the communication interface between satellite and terrestrial communications.
wherein the communication switch is configured to switch the communication method of the communication interface from the terrestrial communication to the satellite communication when radio waves transmitted from the ground base station are not receivable by the communication interface. (see at least [0012]; "Step 4: The unmanned surface vessel platform monitors and controls the communication status of the data transmission radio and image transmission radio in real time. If data packet loss or communication interruption occurs in both communication methods, the system automatically starts transmitting BeiDou short message satellite communication data. ") Chen describes a switching between the terrestrial to satellite when radio waves transmitted are not receivable by the communication interface.
Regarding claim 2, Chen discloses the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Chen discloses wherein the communication switch is configured to switch the communication method of the communication interface from the satellite communication to the terrestrial communication when the radio waves transmitted from the ground base station are receivable by the communication interface. (see at least [0040]; "The unmanned surface vessel (USV) platform monitors and controls the communication status of the data transmission radio and image transmission radio in real time. If communication is restored, the BeiDou short message satellite communication transmission mode is automatically turned off, and information is transmitted through the restored communication channel, with priority given to the data transmission radio channel. ")
Regarding claim 3, Chen discloses the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Chen discloses wherein the communication switch is configured to switch the communication method of the communication interface from the satellite communication to the terrestrial communication when the radio waves transmitted from the ground base station are receivable by the communication interface and the watercraft has approached a position to which the watercraft is docked. (see at least [0040]; "The unmanned surface vessel (USV) platform monitors and controls the communication status of the data transmission radio and image transmission radio in real time. If communication is restored, the BeiDou short message satellite communication transmission mode is automatically turned off, and information is transmitted through the restored communication channel, with priority given to the data transmission radio channel. ")
Regarding claim 4, Chen discloses the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Chen discloses wherein the controller is configured or programmed to prioritize the terrestrial communication when the radio waves transmitted from the ground base station are receivable. (see at least [0040]; "Step 5: The unmanned surface vessel (USV) platform monitors and controls the communication status of the data transmission radio and image transmission radio in real time. If communication is restored, the BeiDou short message satellite communication transmission mode is automatically turned off, and information is transmitted through the restored communication channel, with priority given to the data transmission radio channel. ")
Regarding claim 7, Chen discloses the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Chen discloses an operation switch to switch the communication method of the communication interface between the satellite communication and the terrestrial communication; wherein the communication switch is configured to switch the communication method of the communication interface between the satellite communication and the terrestrial communication based on an operation of the operation switch. (see at least [0012]; "Step 4: The unmanned surface vessel platform monitors and controls the communication status of the data transmission radio and image transmission radio in real time. If data packet loss or communication interruption occurs in both communication methods, the system automatically starts transmitting BeiDou short message satellite communication data. ")
Regarding claim 8, Chen discloses the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Chen discloses wherein the controller is configured or programmed to enable the watercraft to navigate to a destination by automatically operating the watercraft; and (see at least [15]; "Furthermore, the unmanned surface vessel platform information in step 2 includes CAN bus information, network information, serial port information, and heartbeat message information; the CAN bus information includes low-level feedback information of the engine, generator, rudder angle, bucket, and cabin environment; the network information includes collision avoidance status information, autonomous navigation status information, target information, and alarm information;")
the controller is configured or programmed to either (a) keep the watercraft in a fixed spot or (b) limit a velocity of the watercraft when the radio waves transmitted from the ground base station are not receivable within a coverage area of the radio waves transmitted from the ground base station. (see at least [36]; " The unmanned surface vessel (USV) platform integrates CAN bus information (low-level feedback information such as engine, generator, rudder angle, bucket, and cabin environment), network information (collision avoidance status information, autonomous navigation status information, target information, alarm information, etc.), serial port information (navigation information, marine environment information, etc.), and heartbeat message information, and uploads the above information to the monitoring system through the onboard data radio communication interface")
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN 112822704 A) in view of Matsuda (US 20210099933 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Chen discloses the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Chen does not explicitly disclose an information output to output information regarding a delay in the satellite communication when the communication method of the communication interface is the satellite communication.
However, Matsuda teaches an information output to output information regarding a delay in the satellite communication when the communication method of the communication interface is the satellite communication. (see at least [0192]; "
Here, when the base station device is a satellite station, a propagation delay becomes extremely large as compared with the terrestrial network because the radio wave propagation distance is long. The propagation delay is approximately 41.75 ms for a low earth orbit satellite and 541.14 ms for a geostationary earth orbit satellite. It is considered that this propagation delay causes a problem in PRACH transmission and reception at the time of initial access in the communication system 1. [0193] One of the purposes of PRACH transmission and reception is to calculate the propagation delay between the base station device and the communication device 50 and establish uplink synchronization.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chen to incorporate teachings of Matsuda which teaches outputting a delay in satellite information in order to anticipate how long the delay will account for when performing operations.
Regarding claim 11, Chen discloses a method of remotely operating a watercraft, the watercraft including a communication interface configured to perform satellite communication using a satellite and terrestrial communication using a ground base station, (see at least [0012]; "Step 4: The unmanned surface vessel platform monitors and controls the communication status of the data transmission radio and image transmission radio in real time. If data packet loss or communication interruption occurs in both communication methods, the system automatically starts transmitting BeiDou short message satellite communication data. ")
switching a communication method of the communication interface from the terrestrial communication to the satellite communication when radio waves transmitted from the ground base station are not receivable by the communication interface. (see at least [0012]; "Step 4: The unmanned surface vessel platform monitors and controls the communication status of the data transmission radio and image transmission radio in real time. If data packet loss or communication interruption occurs in both communication methods, the system automatically starts transmitting BeiDou short message satellite communication data. ") Chen
Chen does not explicitly disclose the method being executed by a computer and comprising:
However, Matsuda teaches the method being executed by a computer and comprising: (see at least [272]; “ Then, for example, the control device is configured by installing the program in a computer and executing the above-described processing.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chen to incorporate teachings of Matsuda which teaches using a computer to perform the method in order to be able to execute the desired computational functions such as autonomous navigation.
Regarding claim 12, Chen and Matsuda, in combination, disclose the limitations of claim 11 as discussed above, furthermore, Chen discloses switching the communication method of the communication interface from the satellite communication to the terrestrial communication when the radio waves transmitted from the ground base station are receivable by the communication interface. (see at least [0040]; "The unmanned surface vessel (USV) platform monitors and controls the communication status of the data transmission radio and image transmission radio in real time. If communication is restored, the BeiDou short message satellite communication transmission mode is automatically turned off, and information is transmitted through the restored communication channel, with priority given to the data transmission radio channel. ")
Regarding claim 13, Chen and Matsuda, in combination, disclose the limitations of claim 11 as discussed above, furthermore, Chen discloses switching the communication method of the communication interface from the satellite communication to the terrestrial communication when the radio waves transmitted from the ground base station are receivable by the communication interface and the watercraft has approached a position to which the watercraft is docked. (see at least [0040]; "The unmanned surface vessel (USV) platform monitors and controls the communication status of the data transmission radio and image transmission radio in real time. If communication is restored, the BeiDou short message satellite communication transmission mode is automatically turned off, and information is transmitted through the restored communication channel, with priority given to the data transmission radio channel. ")
Regarding claim 14, Chen and Matsuda, in combination, disclose the limitations of claim 11 as discussed above, furthermore, Chen discloses prioritizing the terrestrial communication over the satellite communication when the radio waves transmitted from the ground base station are receivable by the communication interface. (see at least [0040]; "Step 5: The unmanned surface vessel (USV) platform monitors and controls the communication status of the data transmission radio and image transmission radio in real time. If communication is restored, the BeiDou short message satellite communication transmission mode is automatically turned off, and information is transmitted through the restored communication channel, with priority given to the data transmission radio channel. ")
Regarding claim 15, Chen and Matsuda, in combination, disclose the limitations of claim 11 as discussed above, furthermore, Chen does not explicitly disclose outputting information regarding a delay in the satellite communication when the communication method of the communication interface is the satellite communication.
However, Matsuda teaches an information output to output information regarding a delay in the satellite communication when the communication method of the communication interface is the satellite communication. (see at least [0192]; "
Here, when the base station device is a satellite station, a propagation delay becomes extremely large as compared with the terrestrial network because the radio wave propagation distance is long. The propagation delay is approximately 41.75 ms for a low earth orbit satellite and 541.14 ms for a geostationary earth orbit satellite. It is considered that this propagation delay causes a problem in PRACH transmission and reception at the time of initial access in the communication system 1. [0193] One of the purposes of PRACH transmission and reception is to calculate the propagation delay between the base station device and the communication device 50 and establish uplink synchronization.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chen to incorporate teachings of Matsuda which teaches outputting a delay in satellite information in order to anticipate how long the delay will account for when performing operations.
Regarding claim 17, Chen and Matsuda, in combination, disclose the limitations of claim 11 as discussed above, furthermore, Chen discloses wherein the watercraft further includes an operation switch to switch the communication method of the communication interface between the satellite communication and the terrestrial communication, the method further comprising: switching the communication method of the communication interface based on an operation of the operation switch. (see at least [0012]; "Step 4: The unmanned surface vessel platform monitors and controls the communication status of the data transmission radio and image transmission radio in real time. If data packet loss or communication interruption occurs in both communication methods, the system automatically starts transmitting BeiDou short message satellite communication data. ")
Regarding claim 18, Chen and Matsuda, in combination, disclose the limitations of claim 11 as discussed above, furthermore, Chen discloses wherein the watercraft is able to automatically navigate to a destination, the method further comprising: (see at least [15]; "Furthermore, the unmanned surface vessel platform information in step 2 includes CAN bus information, network information, serial port information, and heartbeat message information; the CAN bus information includes low-level feedback information of the engine, generator, rudder angle, bucket, and cabin environment; the network information includes collision avoidance status information, autonomous navigation status information, target information, and alarm information;")
either (a) keeping the watercraft in a fixed spot or (b) limiting a velocity of the watercraft when the radio waves transmitted from the ground base station are not receivable by the communication interface within a coverage area of the radio waves transmitted from the ground base station. (see at least [36]; " The unmanned surface vessel (USV) platform integrates CAN bus information (low-level feedback information such as engine, generator, rudder angle, bucket, and cabin environment), network information (collision avoidance status information, autonomous navigation status information, target information, alarm information, etc.), serial port information (navigation information, marine environment information, etc.), and heartbeat message information, and uploads the above information to the monitoring system through the onboard data radio communication interface")
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN 112822704 A) in view of Dulmage (US 20210365045 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Chen discloses the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Chen does not explicitly disclose wherein the controller is configured or programmed to limit a velocity of the watercraft based on the information outputted from the information output.
However, Dulmage teaches wherein the controller is configured or programmed to limit a velocity of the watercraft based on the information outputted from the information output. (see at least [122]; "For example, the operational plan may designate different speeds, throttle settings, brake settings, etc., that the vehicle system and/or vehicles are to travel according to at different locations along the route. ")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chen to incorporate teachings of Dulmage which teaches limiting the speed of the watercraft based on outputted information such as location in order to maintain a level of safety for the watercraft.
Regarding claim 16, Chen discloses the limitations of claim 11 as discussed above, furthermore, Chen does not explicitly disclose limiting a velocity of the watercraft based on the outputted information regarding the delay in the satellite communication.
However, Dulmage teaches limiting a velocity of the watercraft based on the outputted information regarding the delay in the satellite communication. . (see at least [122]; "For example, the operational plan may designate different speeds, throttle settings, brake settings, etc., that the vehicle system and/or vehicles are to travel according to at different locations along the route. ")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chen to incorporate teachings of Dulmage which teaches limiting the speed of the watercraft based on outputted information such as location in order to maintain a level of safety for the watercraft.
Claims 9, 10, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN 112822704 A) in view of Bangslund (US 20200225658 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Chen discloses the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Chen does not explicitly disclose wherein the controller is configured or programmed to enable the watercraft to navigate to a destination by automatically operating the watercraft, and to output an abnormal signal when it is determined that a predetermined condition has been satisfied during the automatically operating the watercraft.
However, Bangslund teaches wherein the controller is configured or programmed to enable the watercraft to navigate to a destination by automatically operating the watercraft, and to output an abnormal signal when it is determined that a predetermined condition has been satisfied during the automatically operating the watercraft. (see at least [56, 0060]; " The ship control unit 204 is provided with a navigation module 346 allowing the ship control unit 204 to navigate the container ship 1 autonomously…A warning alert sent to the ship control unit is received from either navigation module 346 or the collision avoidance module 348")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chen to incorporate teachings of Bagslund which teaches an alert when a predetermined condition has been met, such as an obstacle, in order for the watercraft to take appropriate action and avoid possible damage.
Regarding claim 10, Chen discloses the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Chen does not explicitly disclose a camera to capture images of surroundings of the watercraft and to generate image data; wherein the controller is configured or programmed to determine whether or not the predetermined condition has been satisfied based on the image data.
However, Bansglund teaches a camera to capture images of surroundings of the watercraft and to generate image data; wherein the controller is configured or programmed to determine whether or not the predetermined condition has been satisfied based on the image data. (see at least [0061]; "However, the situational information can also include historical information, if necessary. In some embodiments the situation information comprises images and or videos from the cameras 304 showing one or more fields of view of around the container ship, ")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chen to incorporate teachings of Bagslund which teaches a camera taking images to determine whether the conditions are satisfied, such as an obstacle, in order to determine the location of the obstacle and what action to take to avoid it.
Regarding claim 19, Chen and Matsuda, in combination, disclose the limitations of claim 11 as discussed above, furthermore, Chen does not explicitly disclose automatically operating the watercraft to enable the watercraft to navigate to a destination; and outputting an abnormal signal when it is determined that a predetermined condition has been satisfied during the automatically operating the watercraft.
However, Bangslund teaches (see at least [56, 0060]; " The ship control unit 204 is provided with a navigation module 346 allowing the ship control unit 204 to navigate the container ship 1 autonomously…A warning alert sent to the ship control unit is received from either navigation module 346 or the collision avoidance module 348")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chen to incorporate teachings of Bagslund which teaches an alert when a predetermined condition has been met, such as an obstacle, in order for the watercraft to take appropriate action and avoid possible damage.
Regarding claim 20, Chen and Matsuda, in combination, disclose the limitations of claim 11 as discussed above, furthermore, Chen does not explicitly disclose capturing images of surroundings of the watercraft to generate image data; and determining whether or not the predetermined condition has been satisfied based on the image data.
However, Bansglund teaches capturing images of surroundings of the watercraft to generate image data; and determining whether or not the predetermined condition has been satisfied based on the image data. (see at least [0061]; "However, the situational information can also include historical information, if necessary. In some embodiments the situation information comprises images and or videos from the cameras 304 showing one or more fields of view of around the container ship, ")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chen to incorporate teachings of Bagslund which teaches a camera taking images to determine whether the conditions are satisfied, such as an obstacle, in order to determine the location of the obstacle and what action to take to avoid it.
Conclusion
/HANA VICTORIA HALL/Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/RACHID BENDIDI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664