DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This is the initial Office Action based on the Mosaic Coverglass for Space Power Modules filed April 24, 2025.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the two adjacent cells" on line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Dependent claims are rejected for dependency.
Amending “the two adjacent cells” to “the two adjacent thin film cells” would overcome the rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 4-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Aiken et al (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0408307 A1).
With regard to claim 1, Aiken et al discloses a space power module (SPM) comprising:
a plurality of thin film solar cells (such as depicted in Fig. 3, a plurality of thin film solar cells 302/304);
a plurality of in-plane interconnect elements (343/344 depicted in Fig. 3 cited to read on the claimed “in-plane interconnect elements” because they are formed in the same plane as the cited plurality of thin film solar cells 302/304 in between adjacent thin film solar cells 302/304),
each interconnect element connecting two adjacent thin film solar cells of the plurality of thin film solar cells and arranged in-plane relative to the two adjacent cells (as depicted in Fig. 3, each cited interconnect element 343/344 connecting two adjacent thin film solar cells 302/304 of the plurality of thin film solar cells and arranged in-plane relative to the cited two adjacent thin film solar cells 302/304); and
a plurality of planar pieces of cover glass forming a mosaic sheet of cover glass overlaying a light receiving surface of each of the plurality of thin film solar cells (as depicted in Fig. 2C and Fig. 3, a plurality of planar pieces of cover glass, 220 on each 700/800, forming a mosaic sheet of cover glass, the combination of 220 on each 700/800, overlaying a light receiving top surface of each of the cited plurality of thin film solar cells 302/304),
the mosaic sheet of cover glass covering at least portions of the plurality of interconnect elements (as depicted in Fig. 2C and Fig. 3, the cited mosaic sheet of cover glass, recall combination of 220 on each 700/800, covering at least portions of the cited plurality of interconnect elements 343/344).
With regard to claim 2, Aiken et al discloses wherein
the plurality of planar pieces of cover glass are secured to the light receiving surface of each of the plurality of thin film solar cells via adhesive (as depicted in Fig. 2C-D and Fig. 3, the cited plurality of planar pieces of cover glass 220 are secured to the cited light receiving top surface of each of the cited plurality of thin film solar cells 302/304 via adhesive 221).
With regard to claim 4, Aiken et al discloses wherein
the plurality of planar pieces of cover glass includes a plurality of cover glass tiles overlaying the light receiving surface of each of the plurality of thin film solar cells (as depicted in Fig. 3, the cited plurality of planar pieces of cover glass 220 includes a plurality of cover glass tiles, tiles 220 on each 700/800, overlaying the cited light receiving top surface of each of the cited plurality of thin film solar cells 302/304).
With regard to claim 5, Aiken et al discloses wherein
the plurality of cover glass tiles have a square shape, a rectangular shape or a hexagonal shape (as depicted in Fig. 3, the cited plurality of cover glass tiles 220 on each 700/800 have a rectangular shape).
With regard to claim 6, Aiken et al discloses wherein
the plurality of planar pieces of cover glass includes a plurality of cover glass strips overlaying the light receiving surface of each of the plurality of thin film solar cells (as depicted in Fig. 3, the cited plurality of planar pieces of cover glass 220 includes a plurality of cover glass strips, strips 220 on each 700/800, overlaying the cited light receiving top surface of each of the cited plurality of thin film solar cells 302/304).
With regard to claim 7, Aiken et al discloses wherein
the plurality of cover glass strips extend across a dimension of the space power module (as depicted in Fig. 3, the cited plurality of cover glass strips 220 on each 700/800 extend across a dimension of the space power module).
With regard to claim 8, Aiken et al discloses wherein
the plurality of interconnect elements provide in-plane strain relief (as depicted in Fig. 3, the cited plurality of interconnect elements 343/344 are cited to read on the claimed “provide in-plane strain relief” because they are formed in the same plane as adjacent thin film solar cells 302/304 and provide strain relief in the plane between the adjacent thin film solar cells 302/304).
With regard to claim 9, Aiken et al discloses wherein
each interconnect element of the plurality of interconnect elements has a respective serpentine-shaped portion (as depicted in Fig. 3, each cited interconnect element 343/344 has a respective serpentine-shaped portion).
With regard to claim 10, Aiken et al discloses wherein
for each interconnect element of the plurality of interconnect elements, the respective serpentine-shaped portion is arranged in-plane relative to thin film solar cells connected by the interconnect element (as depicted in Fig. 3, for each cited interconnect element 343/344, the cited respective serpentine-shaped portion is arranged in-plane, or in the same plane, relative to thin film solar cells 302/304 connected by the interconnect element).
With regard to claim 11, Aiken et al discloses wherein
each thin film solar cell of the plurality of thin film solar cells has a notched corner (as depicted in Fig. 3 and annotated Fig. 3 below, each thin film solar cell 302/304 has a notched corner, such as the upper left corner of thin film solar cells 302 being notched and the lower right corner of thin film solar cells 304 being notched) and wherein
Annotated Fig. 3
the plurality of interconnect elements are arranged within spaces corresponding to notched corners of the plurality of thin film solar cells (as depicted in Fig. 3 and annotated Fig. 3 above, the cited plurality of interconnect elements 343/344 are arranged within spaces corresponding to cited notched corners of the plurality of thin film solar cells 302/304).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aiken et al (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0408307 A1) in view of Ravi et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0056044A1).
With regard to claim 3, independent claim 1 is anticipated by Aiken et al. under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as discussed above.
Aiken et al. does not disclose wherein each thin film solar cell of the plurality of thin film solar cells is covered by multiple planar pieces of cover glass.
However, Ravi et al. discloses a power module (see Title and Abstract) and teaches cover glass can be formed as a single glass sheet or multiple glass sheets in order to provide better impact resistance (see [0049]).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the planar pieces of cover glass in the module of Aiken et al. to include a plurality of planar cover glass sheets, as suggested by Ravi et al., because it would have provided for better impact resistance.
Aiken et al., as modified above, teaches wherein each thin film solar cell 302/304 is covered by multiple planar pieces of cover glass because each cited thin film solar cell 302/304 is covered by multiple planar pieces/sheets of cover glass.
Claim(s) 12-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aiken et al (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0408307 A1) in view of Xu (CN 221984213 U) and Yang et al. (CN 209471981 U).
With regard to claims 12-14 and 16, Aiken et al. discloses a method for encapsulating space power modules with cover glass, the method comprising:
providing a sheet of cover glass as a plurality of pieces of cover glass to form a mosaic sheet of cover glass (as depicted in Fig. 2C and Fig. 3, providing a sheet of cover glass, combination of 220 on each 700/800, as a plurality of pieces of cover glass, pieces 220 on each 700/00, to form a mosaic sheet of cover glass, the combination of 220 on each 700/800);
securing the mosaic sheet of cover glass to a space power module containing a plurality of solar cells (as depicted in Fig. 2C-D and Fig. 3, securing the cited mosaic sheet of cover glass, recall combination of 220 on each 700/800, to a space power module containing a plurality of solar cells 302/304).
Aiken et al. does not disclose wherein the providing a sheet of cover glass as a plurality of pieces of cover glass includes cutting a sheet of cover glass into a plurality of pieces of cover glass.
However, Xu discloses a jig for photovoltaic glass cutting (see Title and Abstract). Xu is analogous art because Xu, like applicant, is concerned with cutting photovoltaic glass.
Xu teaches the cutting process allows for dimensional precision of the photovoltaic glass (see [0029]).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the cited step of providing a sheet of cover glass as a plurality of pieces of cover glass in the method of Aiken et al. to include cutting the sheet of cover glass, as suggested by Xu, because it would have allowed for dimensional precision of the cover glass pieces.
Aiken et al. does not disclose removing a temporary substrate securing the plurality of pieces of cover glass.
However, Yang et al. discloses a power module (see Title and Abstract) and teaches placing an additional layer 4 on top of a glass cover 3 (see Fig. 4 and see [0047] “tempered glass”).
Yang et al. teaches the additional layer 4 can be a release film and secured to the sheet of cover glass 3 by bonding to the surface of the glass cover 3 by adhesive bonding (see [0047] which necessarily includes securing the sheet of cover glass to a sticky/adhesive side of the additional layer 4).
Yang et al. discloses the additional layer 4 can be removed from the cover glass for replacement during maintenance without having to replace the entire glass cover which reduces maintenance cost (see [0047] wherein the cited additional layer 4 is cited to read on the claimed “temporary substrate/temporary adhesive substrate” because it is a substrate which temporarily secures the cited sheet of cover glass 3 until it is replaced during maintenance and includes adhesive for bonding).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the mosaic sheet of cover glass in the method of Aiken et al. to include the cited temporary substrate, as disclosed by Yang et al., because it would have provided reduced maintenance cost.
With regard to claim 15, dependent claim 14 is obvious over Aiken et al. in view of Xu and Yang et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above.
Aiken et al., as modified above, teaches cutting the sheet of cover glass and securing the sheet of cover glass to the sticky side of the temporary adhesive substrate (recall rejection of claim 14 above) but does not disclose wherein cutting the sheet of cover glass into a plurality of pieces of cover glass includes cutting the sheet of cover glass while the sheet of cover glass is secured to the sticky side of the temporary adhesive substrate.
However, cutting the sheet of cover glass while the sheet of cover glass is secured to the sticky side of the temporary adhesive substrate is one in a finite number of immediately recognizable options, finite options being cutting the sheet of cover glass while the sheet of cover glass is secured to the sticky side of the temporary adhesive substrate, cutting the sheet of cover glass before the sheet of cover glass is secured to the sticky side of the temporary adhesive substrate, and cutting the sheet of cover glass after the sheet of cover glass is secured to the sticky side of the temporary adhesive substrate and removed.
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have tried cutting the sheet of cover glass while the sheet of cover glass is secured to the sticky side of the temporary adhesive substrate in the method of Aiken et al., as modified above, because cutting the sheet of cover glass while secured to the temporary adhesive substrate is one in a finite number of options within the technical grasp of a skilled artesian (see MPEP 2143 E).
With regard to claim 17, independent claim 12 is obvious over Aiken et al. in view of Xu and Yang et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Aiken et al., as modified above, discloses wherein
cutting the sheet of cover glass includes at least one of: using a laser or a mechanical scribe; cutting the sheet of cover glass into a plurality of tiles; or cutting the sheet of cover glass into a plurality of strips (see Fig. 3 of Aiken et al. depicting tiles/strips 220; see [0001] of Xu teaching laser cutting).
With regard to claim 18, independent claim 12 is obvious over Aiken et al. in view of Xu and Yang et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Aiken et al. discloses wherein
the space power module includes a plurality of in-plane interconnect elements and the plurality of glass pieces cover the plurality of in-plane interconnect elements (343/344 depicted in Fig. 3 as covered by the cited plurality of glass pieces 220 cited to read on the claimed “in-plane interconnect elements” because they are formed in the same plane as the cited plurality of thin film solar cells 302/304 in between adjacent thin film solar cells 302/304).
With regard to claim 20, independent claim 12 is obvious over Aiken et al. in view of Xu and Yang et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Aiken et al. discloses wherein
each thin film solar cell of the plurality of thin film solar cells has a notched corner (as depicted in Fig. 3 and annotated Fig. 3 below, each thin film solar cell 302/304 has a notched corner, such as the upper left corner of thin film solar cells 302 being notched and the lower right corner of thin film solar cells 304 being notched) and wherein
Annotated Fig. 3
the plurality of interconnect elements are arranged within spaces corresponding to notched corners of the plurality of thin film solar cells (as depicted in Fig. 3 and annotated Fig. 3 above, the cited plurality of interconnect elements 343/344 are arranged within spaces corresponding to cited notched corners of the plurality of thin film solar cells 302/304).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aiken et al (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0408307 A1) in view of Xu (CN 221984213 U) and Yang et al. (CN 209471981 U), and in further view of Ravi et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0056044A1).
With regard to claim 19, independent claim 12 is obvious over Aiken et al. in view of Xu and Yang et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above.
Aiken et al., as modified above, does not disclose wherein each solar cell of the plurality of solar cells is covered by multiple cover glass pieces.
However, Ravi et al. discloses a power module (see Title and Abstract) and teaches cover glass can be formed as a single glass sheet or multiple glass sheets in order to provide better impact resistance (see [0049]).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the cover glass pieces in the module of Aiken et al., as modified above, to include a plurality of cover glass pieces, as suggested by Ravi et al., because it would have provided for better impact resistance.
Aiken et al., as modified above, teaches wherein each solar cell 302/304 is covered by multiple pieces because each cited solar cell 302/304 is covered by multiple pieces/sheets of cover glass.
Conclusion
/DUSTIN Q DAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721 January 7, 2026