DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 04/24/2025. Claims 1-18 are presently pending. Claims 1-4 and 10-13 are withdrawn, and claims 5-9 and 14-18 are rejected as cited below.
Election/Restrictions
Claim 1-4 & 10-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. A telephone interview was conducted on 06/24/2026 and an oral election has been made by attorney JOSEPH KEATING (37368) to claims 1-4 and 10-13 without traverse.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP2024-071401, filed on 04/25/2024.
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e). Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/27/2025 and 04/24/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: AUTOMATED WATERCRAFT PROPULSION CONTROL DURING THROTTLE VALVE FAULT DETECTION.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 5-7, 9, 14-16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kanno et al. (US 20040069271 A1; hereafter Kanno).
Regarding claim 5, Kanno discloses an automated watercraft operating system for a watercraft including a marine propulsion device including an internal combustion engine, the automated watercraft operating system comprising:
a controller disposed in the watercraft and configured or programmed to control the marine propulsion device; ([0242]; “For example, the ECU 90 can control an engine to slow down the engine speed when the ECU 90 determines that such an abnormal state occurs and the watercraft 37 is berthing.”)
a throttle sensor configured to detect an opening degree of an electronic throttle valve of the internal combustion engine ([0253]; “The throttle valve position sensor 218 is located at the valve shaft of the throttle valve 84A to provide an actual valve position .theta.r to the ECU 90.”); and
an actuator configured to regulate the opening degree of the electronic throttle valve of the internal combustion engine in accordance with a control signal transmitted thereto from the controller ([0254]; “Additionally, the throttle valve 84A is actuated by the servo motor 88A.”); wherein
the controller is configured or programmed to limit a velocity of the watercraft when it is determined by the controller that the opening degree of the electronic throttle valve detected by the throttle sensor is greater than the opening degree of the electronic throttle valve corresponding to the control signal. ([0242]; “This embodiment is particularly useful when the large opening degree side binding phenomenon has occurred. For example, the ECU 90 can control an engine to slow down the engine speed when the ECU 90 determines that such an abnormal state occurs and the watercraft 37 is berthing.”)
Regarding claim 6, Kanno discloses all of the limitations of claim 5. Additionally, kanno discloses the controller is configured or programmed to limit the velocity of the watercraft by alternately switching the marine propulsion device between a shifted-in state and a neutral state. ([0229]; “In the event such that an abnormal state occurs at the servo motor 88, the throttle valves 84 automatically return to the mechanical neutral position as follows due to the malfunction of the servo motor 88.”)
Regarding claim 7, Kanno discloses all of the limitations of claim 5. Additionally, kanno discloses the controller is configured or programmed to limit the velocity of the watercraft by limiting an amount of fuel to be injected into the internal combustion engine. ([0304]; “In another alternative, the ECU 90 can disable one or more cylinders based upon the actual throttle valve position .theta.r to slow down the engine speed if the engine has multiple cylinders. The disabling of the cylinders can be practiced by, for example, stopping fuel supply to those cylinders.”)
Regarding claim 9, Kanno discloses all of the limitations of claim 5. Additionally, kanno discloses the controller is configured or programmed to limit the velocity of the watercraft to be a target velocity set in accordance with a target navigation route for the watercraft when limiting the velocity of the watercraft. ([0265]; “The ECU 90, at the step S45, calculates a target relative angular position for abnormal state VTa of the oil pressure control valve 484 using a target relative angular position calculation map for abnormal state (not shown). The target relative angular position for abnormal state VTa preferably corresponds to the engine speed that is sufficiently slow enough for the dog clutch unit 206 to readily engage the reverse bevel gear 202. As noted above, such an engine speed is, for example, approximately 1,500 rpm or less.”)
Claim 14 recites a method to operate the system of claim 5. Therefore, is rejected for the same reasoning.
Claim 15 recites a method to operate the system of claim 6. Therefore, is rejected for the same reasoning.
Claim 16 recites a method to operate the system of claim 7. Therefore, is rejected for the same reasoning.
Claim 18 recites a method to operate the system of claim 9. Therefore, is rejected for the same reasoning.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious in view of Kanno as evidenced by Isao (US 20020137405 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Kanno discloses all the limitations of claim 5. Additionally Isao discloses the controller is configured or programmed to limit the velocity of the watercraft by cutting off ignition in the internal combustion engine. ([0167]; “At the step S34, ignition and or fuel injection is disabled for one of the cylinders of the engine 44.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kanno with Isao. This modification would have been obvious because both Kanno and Isao cover subject matter within the same field of endeavor (watercraft control during throttle value malfunction) and it would have been beneficial to disable the ignition to slow/stop movement the velocity of the watercraft.
Additional Relevant Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure and may be found in the accompanying PTO-892 Notice of References Cited.
Kado et al. (US 20080160845 A1) teaches controlling the watercraft when a fault is detected in the engine.
Conclusion
/B.S.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/JUSTIN S LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668