DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments & amendment, filed 8/18/2026, with respect to claims 1-12 have been fully considered and are persuasive.
Applicant's arguments filed 8/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant did not include all the subject matter of original claim 1 in new claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15, 19, 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al (US2019/0230817) in view of Chen (US2020/0309458).
A network interface device (0045 & fig. 1) comprising:
a frame comprising:
a top frame surface (fig. 12 at 504) and a bottom frame surface (fig. 12 at 506),
a first lateral frame surface and a second lateral frame surface; and
a zipper fins assembly (0055 “the heat-transfer fins 142 are discrete fins that are interlocked in a zipper-like manner along five (5) paths 155”) comprising a plurality of longitudinal fins (“heat-transfer fins may extend longitudinally from a front end of the receptacle cage toward a back end” see also fig. 3) extending longitudinally on the top frame surface between a first frame end (best shown fig. 8 at 144) and a second frame end (unnumbered fig. 8 at left side proximate 178), wherein the longitudinal fins are spaced with respect to each other by a fin pitch (0038 “heat-transfer fins may allow a greater total number of heat-transfer fins and/or pitch without impeding airflow”).
Han does not disclose a first lateral frame and a second lateral frame.
Chen discloses a network interface (fig. 1) with cooling fins (“fins 20”) and first frame end and second frame end (frame ends shown in any figures) including a first lateral frame surface (22 figures 1, 2 & 4) and a second lateral frame surface (22 figures 1, 2 & 4). At the time the invention was made it would have been well known to one of ordinary skill in the electrical connector art to bolster the device of Han with the lateral frame surfaces of Chen. A motivation for these frame surfaces would be to better protect the network interface when inserting into a panel. This U.S.C. 103 combination follows the KSR case law rationale C; use of known technique (side protecting lateral frame surfaces) to improve similar devices in the same way.
Claim 19 Han in view of Chen discloses the network interface device of claim 15, wherein Han discloses the longitudinal fins are perpendicular to the top frame surface (figures 2 & 8).
Claim 21 Han in view of Chen discloses the network interface device of claim 15, Han further comprising one or both of a data communication system connector positioned at one end of the frame to connect the device to a data communication system (0003, fig. 1) and a cable connector positioned at one end of the frame to connect a cable to the device.
Claim 22 Han in view of Chen discloses the network interface device of claim 15, further comprising electronic components (102 in fig. 1) positioned within a hollow interior of the frame .
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-14 allowed.
Claims 16-18, 20, 23 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MICHAEL C. ZARROLI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3658B
/MICHAEL C ZARROLI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658 /M.C.Z/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658