CTNF 19/188,447 CTNF 85392 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1, 8, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Russell (US 10,863,020 B1) in view of Velusamy (US 2012/0164968 A1) . Regarding claim 1, Russell discloses a system comprising: a plurality of transmitters, each provided at a corresponding location of a plurality of locations of a vehicle and configured to transmit a request signal associated with a corresponding detection area of a plurality of detection areas inside or outside the vehicle (see at least Figure 1, items 102, 112, 114, 116, 118 | Figure 3, items 302, 304, 306, 308 | col. 3, lines 29-58, note the personal devices (112, 114, 116, 118, 302, 304, 306, 308) are all identified in the vehicle and form a mesh network, and in some cases the vehicle’s own units (not shown in the Figures) can be included in the mesh network | col. 4, lines 38-46, note the personal devices (and the vehicle’s own units) are located in a plurality of locations in the vehicle | col. 8, lines 57-58, note Device A pings all personal devices (and the vehicle’s own units)); a receiver provided in the vehicle and configured to receive a response signal, wherein the response signal is transmitted by a mobile device in response to the mobile device receiving the request signal after the mobile device enters a detection area of the plurality of detection areas (see at least col. 8, line 57-67, note Device B, and the other personal devices (and the vehicle’s own units), calculate its/their relative position(s) and sends their calculated position back to Device A | col. 9, lines 17-37, note personal devices can enter and leave the vehicle at any time, such that the system knows that a new personal device near the driver’s seat and the driver is now in the passenger seat); a motion sensor configured to detect, based on the response signal of the mobile device and the request signal of the transmitters, a movement of the mobile device (see at least col. 8, line 64 – col. 9, line 5, note Device A can generate a map of the relative positions of each personal device (and the vehicle’s own units) | col. 3, lines 29-58, note the location, velocity and direction of each personal device (and the vehicle’s own units) is determined | col. 4, lines 28-38, note monitoring changes in position); classify at least one of the plurality of detection areas as a movement start area and classify at least one of the plurality of detection areas as a movement end area (see at least col. 9, lines 2-5, note the map defines the movement start areas | col. 4, lines 28-37 | col 9, lines 38-61, note that by using the map, personal devices that dramatically change their position from a movement start area to a movement end area can be detected); and determine, based on the motion sensor detecting that the mobile device has been thrown from the movement start area and has landed in the movement end area, that an emergency condition is met (see at least col 9, lines 38-61, note personal devices that dramatically change their position from a movement start area to a movement end area can be detected, and seen if this movement coincides with an accident); and output, based on the emergency condition being met, a signal indicating that an emergency situation has occurred (see at least col 9, lines 38-61, note reporting the possibility of an accident to authorities). However, Russell does not specifically disclose a processor; a memory storing at least one instruction that, when executed by the processor communicating with the memory; and a communication circuit . It is known for electronic devices to be constructed of different components. For example, Velusamy teaches a system where an electronic device comprises a processor; a memory storing at least one instruction that, when executed by the processor communicating with the memory; and a communication circuit (see at least Figure 2A | [0005] | [0030] note controller 203, memory 205 and communication interface 201 | [0078] | [0085] | [0087-0088]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Velusamy into Russell. This provides the components needed for an electrical device to function in a wireless network. Regarding claim 8, Russell in view of Velusamy teach wherein the communication circuit is configured to output the signal indicating that the emergency situation has occurred by performing at least one of: reporting to police, sending vehicle location information to an emergency contact person, sending a vehicle exterior image to the emergency contact person, notifying an Internet vehicle, or placing the vehicle into an alert state (see at least col. 9, lines 55-61 of Russell, note authorities/first responders | [0078] of Velusamy). Regarding claim 9, Russell in view of Velusamy teach wherein the communication circuit is configured to output the signal indicating that the emergency situation has occurred by selecting a notification method based on the movement start area from which the mobile device has been thrown (see at least col. 9, lines 38-61 of Russell, note a personal device can be thrown from the front seat to an occupied or empty rear seat depending on the particular accident (e.g., a personal device can be thrown from the driver activity area (front seat) to an empty or occupied rear occupant seat area (rear seat) located immediately behind the driver activity area), wherein a selected notification method can correspond to reporting the possibility of an accident to first responders and/or report the identity of the likely driver to the authorities and/or to the insurance company). Regarding claim 10, Russell in view of Velusamy teach wherein the communication circuit is configured to not notify that the emergency situation has occurred, based on the motion sensor detecting that the mobile device has been thrown from a driver activity area and has landed in a front occupant seat area or a rear occupant seat area located immediately behind the driver activity area (see at least col. 9, lines 38-61 of Russell, note a personal device can be thrown from the front seat to an occupied/empty rear seat depending on the particular accident (e.g., a personal device can be thrown from the driver activity area (front seat) to an occupied/empty rear occupant seat area (rear seat) located immediately behind the driver activity area), and the emergency condition is not met because the vehicle starts moving again) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 2-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Russell (US 10,863,020 B1) in view of Velusamy (US 2012/0164968 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Gil Vera (US 2021/0222660 A1) . Regarding claim 2, Russell in view of Velusamy do not specifically teach wherein the motion sensor is further configured to: determine, based on a change in a location of the mobile device being detected, an acceleration of the mobile device; and detect, based on the acceleration being greater than a threshold acceleration, that the mobile device has been thrown . It is known to use different parameters in determining change in location. For example, Gil Vera teaches a system wherein a motion sensor is further configured to: determine, based on a change in a location of the mobile device being detected, an acceleration of the mobile device; and detect, based on the acceleration being greater than a threshold acceleration, that the mobile device has been thrown (see at least [0087] note that a device is thrown when an acceleration threshold is met). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Gil Vera into Russell in view of Velusamy. This provides the ability to determine if Russell in view of Velusamy’s change in location is abrupt. Regarding claim 3, although Russell in view of Velusamy and Gil Vera do not specifically teach wherein the motion sensor is configured to determine the acceleration of the mobile device using the following equation: A = x t + ∆ t - x t ∆ t 2 2 + y t + ∆ t - y t ∆ t 2 2 wherein A denotes the acceleration of the mobile device, wherein ∆ t denotes an elapsed time, wherein xt denotes a horizontal coordinate of a first location of the mobile device at a time t , wherein yt denotes a vertical coordinate of the first location of the mobile device at the time t , wherein xt+∆t denotes a horizontal coordinate of a second location of the mobile device after the elapsed time ∆ t , and wherein yt+∆t denotes a vertical coordinate of the second location of the mobile device after the elapsed time ∆ t , solving for acceleration using displacement and time would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art because A=dv/dt=d 2 x/dt 2 . Regarding claim 4, Russell in view of Velusamy and Gil Vera teach wherein: based on the movement start area being a driver activity area, the movement end area corresponding to the driver activity area comprises a front occupant seat area or a rear occupant seat area located immediately behind the driver activity area; based on the movement start area being a driver-side door opening area, the movement end area corresponding to the driver-side door opening area comprises one of a driver seat area, the front occupant seat area, the rear occupant seat area located immediately behind the driver activity area, a rear occupant seat area located immediately behind the front occupant seat area, an area located immediately in front of the driver-side door opening area, an area located immediately behind the driver-side door opening area, a vehicle front area, or a vehicle side area close to the vehicle; or based on the movement start area being a vehicle side area, the movement end area corresponding to the vehicle side area comprises one of the area located immediately in front of the driver-side door opening area, the area located immediately behind the driver-side door opening area, the vehicle front area, or the vehicle side area close to the vehicle, wherein a distance from the vehicle side area to the vehicle is greater than a threshold distance (see at least col. 9, lines 2-5 of Russell, note locations are continuously mapped | col. 9, lines 38-61 of Russell, note the personal devices can be thrown to the front, to the side, the rear, etc., depending on the particular accident (e.g., a personal device can be thrown from the driver activity area (front seat) to the rear occupant seat area (rear seat) located immediately behind the driver activity area)). Regarding claim 5, Russell in view of Velusamy and Gil Vera teach wherein the motion sensor is further configured to: sequentially detect whether the mobile device is located in one movement start area among the driver activity area, the driver-side door opening area, and the vehicle side area; based on detecting that the mobile device is located in the one movement start area, detect whether the change in the location of the mobile device has occurred; detect, based on detecting that the mobile device has been thrown, whether the mobile device is located in the movement end area corresponding to the one movement start area; and detect, based on detecting that the mobile device is located in the movement end area corresponding to the one movement start area, that the mobile device has been thrown from the one movement start area and has landed in the movement end area (see at least col. 9, lines 2-5 of Russell, note locations are continuously mapped | col. 9, lines 38-61 of Russell, note the personal devices can be thrown to the front, to the side, the rear, etc., depending on the particular accident (e.g., a personal device can be thrown from the driver activity area (front seat) to the rear occupant seat area (rear seat) located immediately behind the driver activity area)). Regarding claim 6, Russell in view of Velusamy and Gil Vera teach further comprising: a sensor configured to detect whether there is a person in the rear occupant seat area, wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the processor communicating with the memory, is configured to cause the system to determine that the emergency condition is not met based on the sensor detecting that there is no person in the rear occupant seat area when the motion sensor detects that the mobile device has been thrown from the driver activity area and has landed in the front occupant seat area or the rear occupant seat area located immediately behind the driver activity area (see at least col. 8, lines 64-67, note locations of the passengers are determined via the vehicle units | col. 9, lines 2-5 of Russell, note locations are continuously mapped | col. 9m, lines 17-37, note locations of passengers are tracked | col. 9, lines 38-61 of Russell, note a personal device can be thrown from the front seat to an empty rear seat depending on the particular accident (e.g., a personal device can be thrown from the driver activity area (front seat) to an empty rear occupant seat area (rear seat) located immediately behind the driver activity area), and the emergency condition is not met because the vehicle starts moving again) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Russell (US 10,863,020 B1) in view of Velusamy (US 2012/0164968 A1) and Gil Vera (US 2021/0222660 A1) as applied to claim 2 above, and in further view of Hassani (US 2016/0351207 A1) . Regarding claim 7, Russell in view of Velusamy and Gil Vera do not specifically teach wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the processor communicating with the memory, is further configured to cause the system to: send, to the mobile device, a message indicating that the mobile device has been thrown and that the emergency condition is met; and determine that the emergency situation is invalid based on the system receiving, within a predetermined time duration, a user input via the mobile device or a button installed on a steering wheel , that the emergency situation has occurred . It is known to suppress or cancel an alert is in different ways. For example, Hasani teaches a system wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the processor communicating with the memory, is further configured to cause the system to: send, to the mobile device, a message indicating that an emergency condition is met; and determine that the emergency situation is invalid based on the system receiving, within a predetermined time duration, a user input via the mobile device or a button installed on a steering wheel , that the emergency situation has occurred (see at least [0020-0021]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Hassani into Russel in view of Velusamy and Gil Vera. This provides the user with the ability cancel an alert based on a misinterpreted situation, thus reducing false alerts . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 11, 17, 18, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Russell (US 10,863,020 B1) in view of Hassani (US 2016/0351207 A1) . Regarding claim 11, Russell discloses a method performed by an apparatus in a vehicle, the method comprising: transmitting, via at least one of a plurality of transmitters at a plurality of locations of the vehicle, a request signal associated with a detection area of a plurality of detection areas inside or outside the vehicle (see at least Figure 1, items 102, 112, 114, 116, 118 | Figure 3, items 302, 304, 306, 308 | col. 3, lines 29-58, note the personal devices (112, 114, 116, 118, 302, 304, 306, 308) are all identified in the vehicle and form a mesh network, and in some cases the vehicle’s own units (not shown in the Figures) can be included in the mesh network | col. 4, lines 38-46, note the personal devices (and the vehicle’s own units) are located in a plurality of locations in the vehicle | col. 8, lines 57-58, note Device A pings all personal devices (and the vehicle’s own units)); receiving, via a receiver in the vehicle, a response signal, wherein the response signal is transmitted by a mobile device in response to the mobile device receiving the request signal after the mobile device enters the detection area (see at least col. 8, line 57-67, note Device B, and the other personal devices (and the vehicle’s own units), calculate its/their relative position(s) and sends their calculated position back to Device A | col. 9, lines 17-37, note personal devices can enter and leave the vehicle at any time, such that the system knows that a new personal device near the driver’s seat and the driver is now in the passenger seat); classifying at least one of the plurality of detection areas as a movement start area and classifying at least one of the plurality of detection areas as a movement end area (see at least col. 9, lines 2-5, note the map defines the movement start areas | col. 4, lines 28-37 | col 9, lines 38-61, note that by using the map, personal devices that dramatically change their position from a movement start area to a movement end area can be detected); based on the response signal of the mobile device and the request signal of the transmitter, detecting, via a motion sensor, whether the mobile device has been thrown from the movement start area and has landed in the movement end area (see at least col. 8, line 64 – col. 9, line 5, note Device A can generate a map of the relative positions of each personal device (and the vehicle’s own units) | col. 3, lines 29-58, note the location, velocity and direction of each personal device (and the vehicle’s own units) is determined | col. 4, lines 28-38, note monitoring changes in position); determining, based on detecting that the mobile device has been thrown from the movement start area and has landed in the movement end area, that an emergency condition is met (see at least col 9, lines 38-61, note personal devices that dramatically change their position from a movement start area to a movement end area can be detected, and seen if this movement coincides with an accident); and outputting, based on the emergency condition being met, a signal indicating that an emergency situation has occurred (see at least col 9, lines 38-61, note reporting the possibility of an accident to authorities). However, Russell does not specifically disclose an apparatus of a vehicle, and installed at the vehicle . It is known for electronic devices to be installed in a vehicle. For example, Hassani teaches a system where an electronic device is an apparatus of a vehicle, and installed at the vehicle (see at least Figures 1-2, item 125 | [0011] note the communication module 125 is Bluetooth, like Russell’s Bluetooth network, see col. 3, line 38 of Russell | [0005] | [0020-0021]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Hassani into Russell. This provides the ability to utilize an installed Bluetooth vehicle unit, such as Russell’s (unspecified, but potentially installed) vehicle units, to expand Russell’s network. Regarding claim 17, Russell in view of Hassani teach further comprising: sending, to the mobile device, a message indicating that the mobile device has been thrown and that the emergency condition is met; and determining that the emergency situation is invalid based on the apparatus receiving, within a predetermined time duration, a user input via the mobile device or a button installed on a steering wheel, that the emergency situation has occurred (see at least [0020-0021] of Hassani). Regarding claim 18, Russell in view of Hassani teach wherein the outputting of the signal comprises: performing at least one of: reporting to police, sending vehicle location information to an emergency contact person, sending a vehicle exterior image to the emergency contact person, notifying an Internet vehicle, or placing the vehicle into an alert state (see at least col. 9, lines 55-61 of Russell, note authorities/first responders). Regarding claim 19, Russell in view of Hassani teach wherein the outputting of the signal comprises: outputting of the signal indicating that the emergency situation has occurred by selecting a notification method based on the movement start area from which the mobile device has been thrown (see at least col. 9, lines 38-61 of Russell, note a personal device can be thrown from the front seat to an occupied or empty rear seat depending on the particular accident (e.g., a personal device can be thrown from the driver activity area (front seat) to an empty or occupied rear occupant seat area (rear seat) located immediately behind the driver activity area), wherein a selected notification method can correspond to reporting the possibility of an accident to first responders and/or report the identity of the likely driver to the authorities and/or to the insurance company). Regarding claim 20, Russell discloses a vehicle comprising: a motion sensor configured to detect, based on a location of a mobile device within one of a plurality of detection areas associated with the vehicle, a movement of the mobile device (see at least Figure 1, items 102, 112, 114, 116, 118 | Figure 3, items 302, 304, 306, 308 | col. 3, lines 29-58, note the personal devices (112, 114, 116, 118, 302, 304, 306, 308) are all identified in the vehicle and form a mesh network, and in some cases the vehicle’s own units (not shown in the Figures) can be included in the mesh network | col. 3, lines 29-58, note the location, velocity and direction of each personal device (and the vehicle’s own units) is determined | col. 4, lines 28-38, note monitoring changes in position | col. 4, lines 38-46, note the personal devices (and the vehicle’s own units) are located in a plurality of locations in the vehicle | col. 8, lines 57-58, note Device A pings all personal devices (and the vehicle’s own units) | col. 8, line 57-67, note Device B, and the other personal devices (and the vehicle’s own units), calculate its/their relative position(s) and sends their calculated position back to Device A | col. 8, line 64 – col. 9, line 5, note Device A can generate a map of the relative positions of each personal device (and the vehicle’s own units | col. 9, lines 17-37, note personal devices can enter and leave the vehicle at any time, such that the system knows that a new personal device near the driver’s seat and the driver is now in the passenger seat); classify at least one of the plurality of detection areas as a movement start area and classify at least one of the plurality of detection areas as a movement end area (see at least col. 9, lines 2-5, note the map defines the movement start areas | col. 4, lines 28-37 | col 9, lines 38-61, note that by using the map, personal devices that dramatically change their position from a movement start area to a movement end area can be detected); and determine, based on the motion sensor detecting that the mobile device has been thrown from the movement start area and has landed in the movement end area, that an emergency condition is met (see at least col 9, lines 38-61, note personal devices that dramatically change their position from a movement start area to a movement end area can be detected, and seen if this movement coincides with an accident); and output, based on the emergency condition being met, a signal indicating that an emergency situation has occurred (see at least col 9, lines 38-61, note reporting the possibility of an accident to authorities). However, Russell does not specifically disclose a processor; a memory storing at least one instruction that, when executed by the processor communicating with the memory, is configured to cause the vehicle to; and a communication circuit . It is known for electronic devices to be installed in a vehicle. For example, Hassani teaches a system with a processor; a memory storing at least one instruction that, when executed by the processor communicating with the memory, is configured to cause the vehicle to; and a communication circuit (see at least Figures 1-2, item 125 | [0011] note the communication module 125 is Bluetooth, like Russell’s Bluetooth network, see col. 3, line 38 of Russell | [0005] | [0020-0021] | [0036-0040] note computer readable medium components, such as a processor and memory). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Hassani into Russell. This provides the ability to utilize an installed Bluetooth vehicle unit, such as Russell’s (unspecified, but potentially installed) vehicle units, to expand Russell’s network . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Russell (US 10,863,020 B1) in view of Hassani (US 2016/0351207 A1) as applied to claim 11 above, and in further view of Gil Vera (US 2021/0222660 A1) . Regarding claim 12, Russell in view of Hassani do not specifically teach wherein the detecting whether the mobile device has been thrown comprises: determining, based on a change in a location of the mobile device being detected, an acceleration of the mobile device; and detecting, based on the acceleration being greater than a threshold acceleration, that the mobile device has been thrown . It is known to use different parameters in determining change in location. For example, Gil Vera teaches a system wherein the detecting whether the mobile device has been thrown comprises: determining, based on a change in a location of the mobile device being detected, an acceleration of the mobile device; and detecting, based on the acceleration being greater than a threshold acceleration, that the mobile device has been thrown (see at least [0087] note that a device is thrown when an acceleration threshold is met). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Gil Vera into Russell in view of Hassani. This provides the ability to determine if Russell in view of Hassani’s change in location is abrupt. Regarding claim 13, although Russell in view of Hassani and Gil Vera do not specifically teach wherein the determining of the acceleration comprises: determining the acceleration of the mobile device using the following equation: A = x t + ∆ t - x t ∆ t 2 2 + y t + ∆ t - y t ∆ t 2 2 wherein A denotes the acceleration of the mobile device, wherein ∆ t denotes an elapsed time, wherein xt denotes a horizontal coordinate of a first location of the mobile device at a time t , wherein yt denotes a vertical coordinate of the first location of the mobile device at the time t , wherein xt+∆t denotes a horizontal coordinate of a second location of the mobile device after the elapsed time ∆ t , and wherein yt+∆t denotes a vertical coordinate of the second location of the mobile device after the elapsed time ∆ t , solving for acceleration using displacement and time would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art because A=dv/dt=d 2 x/dt 2 . Regarding claim 14, Russell in view of Hassani and Gil Vera teach wherein: based on the movement start area being a driver activity area, the movement end area corresponding to the driver activity area comprises a front occupant seat area or a rear occupant seat area located immediately behind the driver activity area; based on the movement start area being a driver-side door opening area, the movement end area corresponding to the driver-side door opening area comprises one of a driver seat area, the front occupant seat area, the rear occupant seat area located immediately behind the driver activity area, a rear occupant seat area located immediately behind the front occupant seat area, an area located immediately in front of the driver-side door opening area, an area located immediately behind the driver-side door opening area, a vehicle front area, or a vehicle side area close to the vehicle; or based on the movement start area being a vehicle side area, the movement end area corresponding to the vehicle side area comprises one of the area located immediately in front of the driver-side door opening area, the area located immediately behind the driver-side door opening area, the vehicle front area, or the vehicle side area close to the vehicle, wherein a distance from the vehicle side area to the vehicle is greater than a threshold distance (see at least col. 9, lines 2-5 of Russell, note locations are continuously mapped | col. 9, lines 38-61 of Russell, note the personal devices can be thrown to the front, to the side, the rear, etc., depending on the particular accident (e.g., a personal device can be thrown from the driver activity area (front seat) to the rear occupant seat area (rear seat) located immediately behind the driver activity area)). Regarding claim 15, Russell in view of Hassani and Gil Vera teach wherein the detecting of whether the mobile device has been thrown comprises: based on detecting that the mobile device is located in the one movement start area, detecting whether the change in the location of the mobile device has occurred; detecting, based on the acceleration being greater than the threshold acceleration, whether the mobile device is located in the movement end area corresponding to the driver activity area; and detecting, based on detecting that the mobile device is located in the movement end area corresponding to the driver activity area, that the mobile device has been thrown from the movement start area and has landed in the movement end area (see at least col. 9, lines 2-5 of Russell, note locations are continuously mapped | col. 9, lines 38-61 of Russell, note the personal devices can be thrown to the front, to the side, the rear, etc., depending on the particular accident (e.g., a personal device can be thrown from the driver activity area (front seat) to the rear occupant seat area (rear seat) located immediately behind the driver activity area) | [0087] of Gil Vera). Regarding claim 16, Russell in view of Hassani and Gil Vera teach further comprising: detecting, by a sensor, whether there is any person in the rear occupant seat area based on the mobile device being detected as having been thrown from the driver activity area and landed in the front occupant seat area or the rear occupant seat area located immediately behind the driver activity area; and determining that the emergency condition is not met based on the sensor detecting that there is no person in the rear occupant seat area (see at least col. 8, lines 64-67, note locations of the passengers are determined via the vehicle units | col. 9, lines 2-5 of Russell, note locations are continuously mapped | col. 9m, lines 17-37, note locations of passengers are tracked | col. 9, lines 38-61 of Russell, note a personal device can be thrown from the front seat to an empty rear seat depending on the particular accident (e.g., a personal device can be thrown from the driver activity area (front seat) to an empty rear occupant seat area (rear seat) located immediately behind the driver activity area), and the emergency condition is not met because the vehicle starts moving again). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BRIAN WILSON whose telephone number is 571-270-5884. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 9:00-5:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, DAVETTA GOINS can be reached at 571-272-2957. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /BRIAN WILSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689 Application/Control Number: 19/188,447 Page 2 Art Unit: 2689 Application/Control Number: 19/188,447 Page 3 Art Unit: 2689 Application/Control Number: 19/188,447 Page 4 Art Unit: 2689 Application/Control Number: 19/188,447 Page 5 Art Unit: 2689 Application/Control Number: 19/188,447 Page 7 Art Unit: 2689 Application/Control Number: 19/188,447 Page 8 Art Unit: 2689 Application/Control Number: 19/188,447 Page 9 Art Unit: 2689 Application/Control Number: 19/188,447 Page 10 Art Unit: 2689 Application/Control Number: 19/188,447 Page 11 Art Unit: 2689 Application/Control Number: 19/188,447 Page 12 Art Unit: 2689 Application/Control Number: 19/188,447 Page 13 Art Unit: 2689 Application/Control Number: 19/188,447 Page 14 Art Unit: 2689 Application/Control Number: 19/188,447 Page 15 Art Unit: 2689 Application/Control Number: 19/188,447 Page 16 Art Unit: 2689 Application/Control Number: 19/188,447 Page 17 Art Unit: 2689 Application/Control Number: 19/188,447 Page 18 Art Unit: 2689 Application/Control Number: 19/188,447 Page 19 Art Unit: 2689