DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-22 are pending.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 12314100, Claims 1-24 of US Patent No. 11194372 and claim 1-18 of U.S. Patent No.11789506. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they contain similar subject matter according to table below. Only one claim is shown for illustrative purpose.
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No. 12314100
A solid state drive (SSD) comprising: a housing including a plurality of sides surrounding an interior region; and a temperature sensor, wherein the housing comprises: a first plurality of vents on a first side of the housing; and
a second plurality of vents on a second side of the housing, wherein the first side is different than the second side, wherein each vent in the first plurality of vents and the second plurality of vents is configured to receive a separate actuation signal to be opened and closed based on temperature data sensed by the temperature sensor.
1. A solid state drive (SSD) comprising: a housing including a plurality of sides surrounding an interior region; a temperature sensor; and at least one vent in the housing, the at least one vent comprising: an opening in the housing; a structure configured to impede a flow of gas into the interior region when in a closed position and to permit the flow of gas into the interior region when in an open position; a first plurality of vents on a first side of the housing; and a second plurality of vents on a second side of the housing, wherein the first side is different than the second side, wherein each vent in the first and second plurality of vents is configured to receive a separate actuation signal to be opened and closed based on temperature data sensed by the temperature sensor.
Instant Application
US Patent No. 11194372
A solid state drive (SSD) comprising: a housing including a plurality of sides surrounding an interior region; and a temperature sensor, wherein the housing comprises: a first plurality of vents on a first side of the housing; and
a second plurality of vents on a second side of the housing, wherein the first side is different than the second side, wherein each vent in the first plurality of vents and the second plurality of vents is configured to receive a separate actuation signal to be opened and closed based on temperature data sensed by the temperature sensor.
1.A solid state drive (SSD) comprising: a housing including a plurality of sides surrounding an interior region; a temperature sensor; and at least one vent in the housing, the at least one vent comprising a first plurality of vents on a first side of the housing and a second plurality of vents on a second side of the housing, wherein the first side is different than the second side, wherein the first and second plurality of vents are configured to be opened and closed based on temperature data sensed by the temperature sensor, and wherein the second side is positioned opposite the first side to: permit gas flow into the housing in via the first plurality of vents, permit gas flow across an interior region of the housing, and permit gas flow out of the housing via the second plurality of vents.
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No.11789506
A solid state drive (SSD) comprising: a housing including a plurality of sides surrounding an interior region; and a temperature sensor, wherein the housing comprises: a first plurality of vents on a first side of the housing; and
a second plurality of vents on a second side of the housing, wherein the first side is different than the second side, wherein each vent in the first plurality of vents and the second plurality of vents is configured to receive a separate actuation signal to be opened and closed based on temperature data sensed by the temperature sensor.
1.A solid state drive (SSD) comprising: a housing including a plurality of sides surrounding an interior region; a temperature sensor; and at least one vent in the housing, the at least one vent comprising: an opening in the housing; a structure configured to impede a flow of gas into the interior region when in a closed position and to permit the flow of gas into the interior region when in an open position, wherein the structure comprises: a door, and a door actuation mechanism selected from the group consisting of a roller mechanism and a slider mechanism; and a first plurality of vents on a first side of the housing and a second plurality of vents on a second side of the housing, wherein the first side is different than the second side, wherein the first and second plurality of vents are each individually configured to be opened and closed based on temperature data sensed by the temperature sensor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Vyshetsky et. al., U.S Patent No. 10146279 (hereinafter Vyshetsky).
Regarding Claim 1, Vyshetsky teaches a solid state drive (SSD)(Fig.1A) comprising: a housing (Fig.1) including a plurality of sides surrounding an interior region (C1L55-67 “In order to tightly regulate memory temperature in a storage system, a thermal chamber that houses the memory is configured within the chassis of the storage system” C2L1-5); and a temperature sensor (C11L24-42),
wherein the housing comprises: a first plurality of vents (Fig.1, 107A,107B; C5L15-65 “the memory chamber 101 45 may include a cooling system comprising a set of fans 107A to generate air flow through the memory chamber 101 in order to prevent the temperature of the memory chips from exceeding a maximum temperature”) on a first side of the housing; and a second plurality of vents on a second side of the housing, wherein the first side is different than the second side (Fig.1; C6L11-19, L54-65 “As shown in FIG. lA, the front panel include two sets of vents 111A, 111B for the digital chamber 103”), wherein each vent in the first plurality of vents and the second plurality of vents is configured to receive a separate actuation signal to be opened and closed based on temperature data sensed by the temperature sensor ( Fig.1; C1L45-67&C2L1-15,C7L1-15 “the vents 111A, 111B may be manually adjusted or automatically adjusted (e.g., using one or more 10 actuators coupled to the vents 111A, 111B) by the temperature regulating system.”).
Regarding claim 2, Vyshetsky teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Vyshetsky teaches wherein the first plurality of vents is configured in two rows on the first side of the housing (Fig.1, 107, 111).
Regarding claim 4, Vyshetsky teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Vyshetsky teaches a controller that is configured to: open at least one vent of the first plurality of vents and the second plurality of vents when a first temperature is reached in the housing; and close the at least one vent when a second temperature is reached in the housing, the first temperature being greater than the second temperature (C5L6-60, C6L34-53).
Regarding claim 4, Vyshetsky teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Vyshetsky wherein the housing further comprises a structure configured to impede a flow of gas into the interior region when in a closed position and to permit the flow of gas into the interior region when in an open position (Fig.3A, 308; C10L35-67, C11L1-8).
Regarding claim 6, Vyshetsky teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Vyshetsky teaches further comprising a printed circuit board (PCB) in the interior region, the PCB including a plurality of memory chips positioned thereon (C5L5-13).
Regarding claim 7, Vyshetsky teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Vyshetsky teaches wherein the SSD comprises a drive having a form factor selected from the group consisting of 2.5 inch and 3.5 inch drive form factors (Fig.3A 306A).
Regarding claim 9, Vyshetsky teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Vyshetsky teaches wherein the second temperature is 2°C to 4°C less than the first temperature (C8L1-24).
Regarding claim 10, Vyshetsky teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Vyshetsky teaches wherein the structure is positioned in the interior region (Fig.3A, 306A).
Regarding claims 8,11-22, Vyshetsky teaches these claims according to the reasoning set forth in claim 1-10.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record , listed on form PTO-892, and not relied upon, if any, is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
TASNIMA . MATIN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2135
/TASNIMA MATIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2135