DETAILED ACTION
1. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims 9, 10, 14 and 21 are presented for examination on the merits. Claims 1-8, 11-13 and 22 has been withdrawn without traverse and claims 15-20 has been cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 9, 10, 14 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ward (US 20210327238 A1) in view of Rodriguez (US 20210166539 A1).
As to claim 9, Wand discloses in fire safety assembly having claimed:
a. a building management system comprising: a smart electrical socket that includes a plug receptacle for selectively receiving a plug from an electrical appliance read on ¶ 0020, (As best illustrated in FIGS. 1 through 7, the fire safety assembly 10 generally comprises a power supply 12 that is pluggable into a female electrical outlet 14 to receive electrical current from the female electrical outlet 14. The female electrical outlet 14 may be an electrical outlet in a house or the like that conforms to National Electrical Code for building construction. The power supply 12 comprises a housing 16 that as a rear wall 18, a front wall 20 and an outer wall 22 extending therebetween);
b. the smart electrical socket is configured to controllably switch power on and off to the plug receptacle of the smart electrical socket, and instruct the smart electrical socket to switch power off to the plug receptacle of the smart electrical socket read on ¶ 0024, (a smoke detector 36 is integrated into the power supply 12 to detect smoke. The shut off circuit 30 receives the alert input when the smoke detector 36 detects smoke to inhibit an electrical fire from starting. The smoke detector 36 is in fluid communication with the vent 24 in outer wall 22 of the housing 16 and the smoke detector 36 is electrically coupled to the control circuit 32. Moreover, the control circuit 32 receives the smoke input when the smoke detector 36 detects smoke. The smoke detector 36 may be an electronic smoke detector of any conventional design).
Ward does not explicitly wherein activate a sounding device.
However, Rodriguez in fire alarm system cures this deficiency by teaching that it may be beneficial wherein:
c. a fire alarm controller; a fire detector; a sounding device; the fire alarm controller is configured to receive a notification from the fire detector when the fire detector detects a possible fire, and in response, the fire alarm controller is configured to: activate the sounding device read on ¶ 0048, (the third action may comprise activating one or more preventative measures, such as preventing power to the socket 22, 24 or a section of an electric power system which includes the socket 22, 24. The third action may comprise one or more protective measures, such as activating a fire suppression system (not shown), for example by activating sprinklers, activating fire barriers, and the like. The third action may comprise activating an alarm of the fire alarm system 1, including audible and/or visual alarms).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the socket fire alarm system of Rodriguez into Ward in order to provide a fire alarm system in a socket including at least one electrical conductor to electrically connect to a component received by the socket and a temperature sensor configured to detect a temperature of the electrical conductor and a fire alarm control panel in communication with the temperature sensor, wherein the fire alarm control panel is taking an action based on the detected temperature of the electrical conductor.
5. Claims 10, 14 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ward (US 20210327238 A1) in view of Rodriguez (US 20210166539 A1)
As to claim 10, Ward in view of Rodriguez does not explicitly wherein in response to receiving the notification from the fire detector when the fire detector detects the possible fire, the fire alarm controller is configured to instruct a different smart electrical socket to switch power on to a plug receptacle of the different smart electrical socket.
However, Davidson in fire alarm system cures this deficiency by teaching that it may be beneficial wherein:
a. in response to receiving the notification from the fire detector when the fire detector detects the possible fire and the fire alarm controller is configured to instruct a different smart electrical socket to switch power on to a plug receptacle of the different smart electrical socket the fire alarm controller is configured to instruct a different smart electrical socket to switch power on to a plug receptacle of the different smart electrical socket read on ¶ 0005, 0006, 0007, 0036, (a system for hazard mitigation in a structure. The system for hazard mitigation includes a subsystem coupled to the circuit of an electrical distribution system and set of nodes. mitigating risk associated with an electrical distribution system. The system includes a communications network and a set of sensors coupled to the communications network for monitoring conditions associated with the electrical distribution system. From the totality of the collected information, the electrical system is selectively switched-off, either in whole or in part, before the actual hazard event occurs. monitoring conditions external to the structure. Depending on the particular embodiment of system 100, sensors 110 monitor for various conditions such as temperature, smoke, gas main leaks, natural gas, toxic gas, radon, CO.sub.2, carbon monoxide, water, and ground movement. External sensors 110 also advantageously provide for the assessment of adjacency risks based upon information about neighboring units, offices, buildings, or other sources of external risk (e.g., train routes that carry toxic substances)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the integrated hazard risk management and mitigation system of Davidson into Ward in view of Rodriguez in order to provide manage and control overall operations within the building while a unit server 105 may be provided to each individual apartment unit or office and provide integrated hazard risk management and mitigations system is the reduction in the risk of structural loss or damage and/or personal injury, these systems also provide for peace-of-mind and financial benefits, as well.
As to claim 14, Davidson further teaches:
a. wherein: the smart electrical socket includes one or more sensors for sensing one or more sensed conditions associated with the smart electrical socket; the smart electrical socket is configured to detect a predetermined operating condition of the smart electrical socket based at least in part on one or more of the sensed conditions, and when the predetermined operating condition is detected, the smart electrical socket is configured to notify the fire alarm controller of the detected predetermined operating condition; and the fire alarm controller, in response to being notified of the predetermined operating condition of the smart electrical socket, sends an alert to an operator console of the building management system and/or activates the sounding device read on ¶ 0005, 0006, 0007, 0036, (a system for hazard mitigation in a structure. The system for hazard mitigation includes a subsystem coupled to the circuit of an electrical distribution system and set of nodes. mitigating risk associated with an electrical distribution system. The system includes a communications network and a set of sensors coupled to the communications network for monitoring conditions associated with the electrical distribution system. From the totality of the collected information, the electrical system is selectively switched-off, either in whole or in part, before the actual hazard event occurs. monitoring conditions external to the structure. Depending on the particular embodiment of system 100, sensors 110 monitor for various conditions such as temperature, smoke, gas main leaks, natural gas, toxic gas, radon, CO.sub.2, carbon monoxide, water, and ground movement. External sensors 110 also advantageously provide for the assessment of adjacency risks based upon information about neighboring units, offices, buildings, or other sources of external risk (e.g., train routes that carry toxic substances)).
As to claim 21, Davidson further teaches:
a. wherein: the smart electrical socket is located in a room of a building; the fire alarm controller is configured to determine, in response to the notification from the fire detector of a possible fire, the location of the possible fire; and the fire alarm controller is configured to instruct the smart electrical socket to switch power off in response to determining that the location of the possible fire is the room in which the smart electrical socket is located read on ¶ 0005, 0006, 0007, 0036, (a system for hazard mitigation in a structure. The system for hazard mitigation includes a subsystem coupled to the circuit of an electrical distribution system and set of nodes. mitigating risk associated with an electrical distribution system. The system includes a communications network and a set of sensors coupled to the communications network for monitoring conditions associated with the electrical distribution system. From the totality of the collected information, the electrical system is selectively switched-off, either in whole or in part, before the actual hazard event occurs. monitoring conditions external to the structure. Depending on the particular embodiment of system 100, sensors 110 monitor for various conditions such as temperature, smoke, gas main leaks, natural gas, toxic gas, radon, CO.sub.2, carbon monoxide, water, and ground movement. External sensors 110 also advantageously provide for the assessment of adjacency risks based upon information about neighboring units, offices, buildings, or other sources of external risk (e.g., train routes that carry toxic substances)).
Citation of pertinent Prior Arts
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
i. Escofet (US 11043111 B1) discloses in a fire alarm includes a central fire alarm control panel for monitoring the building and activating an alarm; and multiple remote units for distribution within the building, the remote units including indicating devices for determining conditions that are indicative of a possible emergency. The multiple remote units are in communication with the fire alarm control panel in a master-slave relationship such that the fire alarm control panel will receive inputs from the indicating devices and activate the alarm when those inputs indicate a possible emergency. In addition, the remote units include a secondary communication system for communication between remote units in a degraded mode of operation that occurs in the event of a failure of the master-slave communications with the fire alarm control panel, the secondary communication system including a transceiver arrangement at each remote unit for providing a wireless mesh network between the multiple remote units, and
ii. Moss (US 20080258924 A1) discloses in a fire alarm system is disclosed where the unit detectors are addressable and in communication with other unit detectors located within a particular unit and are in communication with building detectors such that when one unit detector activates, all the other unit detectors in that unit also activate causing communication with the building core detectors and alerting the control room as to the exact location of the alarm condition.
Conclusion
7. If the claimed invention is amended, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification, which dictate(s) the structure/description relied upon to assist the Examiner in proper interpretation of the amended language and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Fekadeselassie Girma whose telephone number is (571) 270-5886. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday thru Friday, 8:30 – 5:00. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Davetta Goins, can be reached on (571) 272-2957. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Fekadeselassie Girma/
Primary Examiner Art Unit 2689