DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Himeda (EP 4331868).
Regarding claims 1-3 and 6-11, Himeda teaches a heavy duty tire (title) comprising a tread part 1, the tread part comprising a rubber layer composed of a rubber composition (paragraph [0096]), the tread part comprising a first layer constituting a tread surface (paragraph [0008]), the rubber comprises an isoprene-based rubber (paragraph [0097]) and a filler containing silica (paragraph [0116]), where the content of the isoprene-based rubber is particularly preferably 50% by mass or more, and can be 100% by mass (paragraph [0100]), overlapping the claimed ranges of claims 1 and 9, wherein the filler can comprise only silica (i.e. 100% silica), and for compositions comprising carbon black and silica, the preferable amount of carbon black is 5 parts by mass to 90 parts by mass (paragraph [0120]) and the preferable amount of silica is 3 parts by mass to 90 parts by mass (paragraph [0123]), resulting in filler percentages of silica of from 3% (3/(90+3)) to 95% (90/(90+5)), overlapping the claimed ranges of claims 1 and 6-8, with a specific embodiment having five circumferential grooves 3, 4 and 5 (paragraph [0065]; figure 1), where a groove depth of the circumferential grooves is preferably greater than 4 mm and less than 26 mm (paragraph [0075]), overlapping the claimed ranges of claims 1, 10 and 11, therefore embodiments taught by Himeda reading on the claimed range would have AIR of from just greater than 85 to 100, ASIL of just greater than 60 to 100, and DCG of from 4 to just less than 16, resulting in a range of AIR x ASIL / DCG of from about 319 ((85 x 60) / 16) to 2500 ((100 x 100)/4), overlapping the claimed range. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to create embodiments of Himeda where AIR x ASIL / DCG is greater than 340 (claim 1), greater than 400 (claim 2), and greater than 500 (claim 3), because Himeda teaches many embodiments which result in such an inequality being true. Himeda also teaches using flask-like circumferential grooves for each circumferential groove, the flask-like circumferential grooves having a neck part having a narrow groove width, and a trunk part arranged on an inner side in a radial direction of the neck part and having a groove width larger than the maximum groove width of the neck part (paragraphs [0071]-[0081]; figures 2-3), with specific embodiments having a groove width W1 of 5 mm (paragraph [0167]), as well as teaching a total amount of recession c1+c2 of the circumferential groove 3 is preferably 0.10 to 5.00 times the groove width W1 (paragraph [0081]), such teachings resulting in numerous embodiments where the width at the tread surface (W1 – (c1+c2)) is 2.0 mm or less, which is the known width at which passenger car tire grooves close during grounding contact.
Regarding claim 4, Himeda teaches a Shore hardness of the first layer is further preferably 65 or more, and further preferably 70 or less (paragraph [0091]), the further preferable range being fully encompassed by the claimed range.
Regarding claim 5, Himeda teaches a specific embodiment where the silica is Ultrasil VN3 manufactured by Evonik Degussa (paragraph [0166]), such a silica having an average particle size of about 14 nm.
Regarding claims 15-16, official notice is taken that it is extremely well-known and conventional in a tire to use a helically wound band ply and a plurality of belt plies radially inside of the band ply, and it would have been obvious to do so in order to appropriately reinforce the crown of the tire.
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Himeda as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Takenoya (JP05-254314; machine translation relied upon).
Regarding claim 13, Himeda teaches center sipes 22 (paragraph [0069]; figure 1), but does not specifically disclose that these sipes are flask shaped. In a tire similarly directed to being a heavy duty tire (title), Takenoya teaches providing flask-like width direction sipes S1 with a neck part having a narrow width and a trunk part k wider than the maximum groove width of the neck part (machine translation at page 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use flask-like width direction sipes as taught by Takenoya in the tire of Himeda in order to provide a desired driving and breaking force, and at the same time prevent block breakage (see Takenoya machine translation at page 8, sixth paragraph).
Regarding claim 14, Himeda teaches using flask-like circumferential grooves for each circumferential groove, including the center circumferential groove 3, the flask-like circumferential grooves having a neck part having a narrow groove width, and a trunk part arranged on an inner side in a radial direction of the neck part and having a groove width larger than the maximum groove width of the neck part (paragraphs [0071]-[0081]; figures 2-3). Further, Himeda teaches center sipes 22 (paragraph [0069]; figure 1), but does not specifically disclose that these sipes are flask shaped. In a tire similarly directed to being a heavy duty tire (title), Takenoya teaches providing flask-like width direction sipes S1 with a neck part having a narrow width and a trunk part k wider than the maximum groove width of the neck part (machine translation at page 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use flask-like width direction sipes as taught by Takenoya in the tire of Himeda in order to provide a desired driving and breaking force, and at the same time prevent block breakage (see Takenoya machine translation at page 8, sixth paragraph).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's amendments and arguments with respect to the prior art rejections of the claims have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the prior art of record does not teach or suggest that the flask-like circumferential groove closes during ground contact. However, as is set forth above, Himeda teaches a groove width W1 and recession amounts c1+c2 which results in numerous embodiments which would have the circumferential groove close during ground contact.
Applicant argues that the specific embodiments of Himeda do not teach or suggest the claimed limitations, and only a rubber layer used as a second layer as opposed to the first layer, satisfies the compounding requirements of claim 1. However, “[a] reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art.” MPEP at 2123. The rejections are based on the ranges of the claimed values set forth within the disclosure of Himeda, such ranges reading on the claimed ranges/relationships, and accordingly rendering them obvious.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/P.N.S/ Examiner, Art Unit 1749 June 15, 2026
/JUSTIN R FISCHER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1749