DETAILED ACTION
2. This communication is a first office action, non-final rejection on the merits. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been considered below.
Priority
3. As required by M.P.E.P.201.14(c), acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for priority based on applications filed on US continuation 18990764 00010101 and US continuation Jan 11, 2023(PCT/US2023/010599) and US provisional-application 63/355459 filed on 2022/06/22.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/15/26, and 9/24/25 has been considered. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Form PTO-1449 is signed and attached hereto.
Double Patenting
5. Claims 1-20 of this application is patentably indistinct from claims 1-20 of Application No. 18/990764. Pursuant to 37 CFR 1.78(e) or pre-AIA 37 CFR 1.78(b), when two or more applications filed by the same applicant contain patentably indistinct claims, elimination of such claims from all but one application may be required in the absence of good and sufficient reason for their retention during pendency in more than one application. Applicant is required to either cancel the patentably indistinct claims from all but one application or maintain a clear line of demarcation between the applications. See MPEP § 822.
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Van Van Wiemeersch (US 20190255893 A1) (hereinafter Van Wiemeersch) in view of ENGL (US 20220379669 A1) (hereinafter ENGL).
Regarding claim 1, Van Wiemeersch discloses a vehicle (Fig. 1-2, para 34, PMS sensors 112 to the communication module 116 via BLE, Bluetooth®, UWB) comprising: a plurality of tires (Fig. 1, para 24, The vehicle 100 of the illustrated example also includes tires 110);
a plurality of tire monitors, individual of the plurality of tire monitors being associated with individual of the plurality of tires and including at least one tire monitor transceiver (para 26, Each of the TPMS sensors 112 includes a pressure sensor to detect a tire pressure of the corresponding one of the tires 110, TPMS sensors 112 to receive and transmit data collected from a pressure sensor or other sensor(s) of TPMS sensors 112 and send and receive signals); and
a tire pressure monitoring system spaced from the plurality of tires, the tire pressure monitor system including at least one tire pressure monitoring system receiver (para 26, Each of the TPMS sensors 112 includes a pressure sensor to detect a tire pressure of the corresponding one of the tires 110, receive and transmit data collected from a pressure sensor or other sensor(s) of TPMS sensors 112) and
a computing system configured to perform operations (para 52, ECUs 206 monitor and control subsystems of vehicle 100, ECUs 206 communicate properties (e.g., status of ECUs 206, sensor readings, control state, error and diagnostic codes, etc.) to and/or receive requests from each other) comprising:
receiving, from the at least one tire monitor transceiver of the plurality of tire monitors, first signals (para 26, TPMS sensors 112 include antenna(s) that are configured to (i) receive and transmit data collected from a pressure sensor and/or other sensor(s) of the TPMS sensors 112 and (ii) send and receive signals (e.g., activation signals, wake-up signals, pairing signals, instructions, etc.) from the communication module 116 of the vehicle 100);
determining, based at least in part on the first signals, at least one of an angle of arrival or a distance measurement (para 35, TPMS controller 124 determine locations of TPMS sensors 112 based upon received signal strength indicators (RSSIs), time-of-flight, and/or angle-of-arrival of signals sent between the TPMS sensors 112, TPMS controller 124 utilize triangulation or trilateration to localize TPMS sensors 112 based upon the RSSIs, time-of-flight, and/or angle-of-arrival of signals sent between TPMS sensors 112 and a plurality of communication modules of the vehicle 100).
Van Wiemeersch specifically fails to disclose determining, for the individual of the plurality of tire monitors and based at least in part on the at least one of the angle of arrival or the distance measurement, a location of the plurality of tire monitors on the vehicle.
In analogous art, ENGL discloses determining, for the individual of the plurality of tire monitors and based at least in part on the at least one of the angle of arrival or the distance measurement, a location of the plurality of tire monitors on the vehicle (para 10, TPMS sensor module performing an angle of arrival (AoA) measurement on TPMS signal to determine an angular direction, para 16, FIG. 3 is a flowchart of a communicating with a TPMS sensor using Angle of Arrival (AoA) measurements , para 82, TPMS signals from TPMS sensor modules 100a-100d and determines angular direction of each TPMS signal, collects angular direction information for each TPMS signal and determines position (including angle and distance) of a corresponding TPMS sensor module based on the measured angular direction).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of activating TPMS in a real-time mode, collect a current measurement from the TPMS sensor upon activation, and present the current measurement disclosed by Van Wiemeersch to use TPMS sensor module for performing an angle of arrival measurement on the TPMS signal to whether an angular direction thereof with respect to an antenna array of the interface device is within a predetermined angular window as taught by ENGL to use TPMS sensor modules to triangulates absolute position of corresponding TPMS sensor module using angular direction information measured at each interface device and predefined distance d between interface devices multiple tire, wherein sensor signal is indicative of a contact area length for tire [ENGL, para 082].
Regarding claim 2, Van Wiemeersch discloses the vehicle of claim 1, wherein the at least one tire monitor transceiver comprises one or more first Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) transceivers and the at least one tire monitoring system receiver comprises one or more second BLE transceivers (para 26, TPMS sensors 112 receive and transmit data collected from a pressure sensor, and enable communication with communication module 116 of vehicle 100 via Ultra-Wide Band (UWB) signals, Bluetooth® Low Energy (BLE) protocol).
Regarding claim 3, Van Wiemeersch discloses the vehicle of claim 2, the operations further comprising: transmitting, via the one or more second BLE transceivers, a wake-up signal to wake the one or more first BLE transceivers from a sleep mode (para 08, TPMS and collect measurement from TPMS sensor, send a low-frequency wake -up signal to the TPMS sensor via communication module, establish Bluetooth® low-energy communication between communication module and TPMS sensor upon TPMS sensor receiving low-frequency wake -up signal, send instruction to TPMS sensor via Bluetooth® low-energy communication to collect measurement, and receive measurement from TPMS sensor via Bluetooth® low-energy communication).
Regarding claim 4, Van Wiemeersch discloses the vehicle of claim 3, wherein: the individual of the plurality of tire monitors further comprise a Wake-Up Receiver (WuRx) configured to receive the wake-up signal; and the WuRx is configured to wake the one or more second BLE transceivers from the sleep mode (para 26, TPMS sensors 112 receive and transmit data collected from a pressure sensor and/or other sensor(s) of the TPMS sensors 112 and send and receive signals (e.g., activation signals, Wake -up signals) from communication module 116 of the vehicle 100, enable communication of the vehicle 100 via Ultra-Wide Band (UWB) signals, Bluetooth® communication protocol, Bluetooth® Low Energy (BLE) protocol).
Regarding claim 5, Van Wiemeersch discloses the vehicle of claim 4, wherein the WuRx is a low-power receiver that monitors for the low-frequency wake-up signal at a lower energy requirement than the one or more first BLE transceivers (para 39, TPMS controller 124 establishes communication between TPMS sensors 112 and communication module 116 upon the TPMS sensors 112 receiving wake -up signal, TPMS controller 124 pairs the TPMS sensors 112 to establish BLE communication, Bluetooth® communication, UWB communication).
Regarding claim 6, Van Wiemeersch discloses the vehicle of claim 1, wherein: the at least one tire pressure monitoring system receiver comprises one or more first Ultra-Wide Band (UWB) receivers; the at least one tire monitor transceiver comprises one or more UWB transmitters; and the signals are UWB frequency transmission signals (para 42, communication (e.g., via ultra-high frequency, BLE, Bluetooth®, UWB, etc.) is utilized for the TPMS, a low-frequency wake-up encoded with a real-time mode message that instructs the TPMS sensors 112 to establish communication with communication module 116, TPMS sensors 112 send an acknowledgement signal to communication module 116 to establish the real-time mode of the TPMS, TPMS sensors 112 collect tire pressure measurements from tires 110 in the real-time mode).
Regarding claim 6, Van Wiemeersch discloses the vehicle of claim 1, wherein the at least one pressure monitoring system receiver comprises at least one pressure monitoring system transceiver, the operations further comprising: determining a triggering event; and transmitting, by the at least one pressure monitoring system transceiver, at least one of one or more first transmission signals or a wake up signal in response to the triggering event (para 08, communication module receives tire pressure measurements from the TPMS sensor to activate TPMS and collect measurement from TPMS sensor, send wake -up signal to the TPMS sensor and upon TPMS sensor receiving wake -up signal, send an instruction to TPMS sensor to collect current measurement, para 20, sends wake -up signal to set TPMS in RTQS, wake -up signal is encoded with instruction to activate into RTQS).
Regarding claim 8, Van Wiemeersch discloses the vehicle of claim 7, the operations further comprising: receiving, from an electronic device external to the vehicle, a presence signal indicating a presence of the electronic device within a proximity boundary of the vehicle; and determining the triggering event based at least in part on the presence of the electronic device (para 20, apparatus enable user to query for real-time tire pressure measurements of tires of a vehicle before, during, and/or after vehicle is in an on-state and vehicle present real-time tire pressure measurements and/or low-pressure warning(s) to user via an output device of the vehicle and/or a mobile device of the user, TPMS that monitors tire pressures of tires of the vehicle).
Regarding claim 9, Van Wiemeersch discloses the vehicle of claim 1, wherein the at least one pressure monitoring system receiver comprises at least one pressure monitoring system transceiver, the operations further comprising: transmitting, via the at least one tire pressure monitoring system transceiver, one or more first transmission signals, wherein the receiving the first signals is based at least in part in on receiving the one or more first transmission signals (para 26, Each TPMS sensors 112 includes a pressure sensor to detect a tire pressure of the corresponding one of the tires 110 and facilitate communication with one or more devices or systems, such as communication module 116 of vehicle 100, TPMS sensors receive and transmit data collected from a pressure sensor and send and receive signals (e.g., activation signals, wake -up signals) from communication module 116 of vehicle 100).
Regarding claim 10, Van Wiemeersch discloses the vehicle of claim 9, the operations further comprising: determining, based at least in part on the one or more first transmission signals and the first response signals, a round trip time, wherein the determining the location of the plurality of tire monitors is further based at least in part on the round trip time (para 35, TPMS controller 124 determine locations of TPMS sensors 112 based upon received signal strength indicators (RSSIs), time-of-flight, and/or angle -of-arrival of signals sent between TPMS sensors 112 and communication module 116 located throughout the vehicle 100, TPMS controller 124 utilize triangulation or trilateration to localize TPMS sensors 112 based upon RSSIs, time-of-flight, or angle-of-arrival of signals sent between TPMS sensors 112 and a plurality of communication modules of vehicle 10).
Regarding claim 11, Van Wiemeersch discloses the vehicle of claim 1, wherein an antenna associated with the at least one tire pressure monitoring system receiver is disposed at a position that is unequally spaced from individual antennas associated with the at least one tire monitor transceiver of the plurality of tire monitors (para 26, TPMS sensors 112 include antenna(s) that receive and transmit data collected from a pressure sensor of TPMS sensors 112 and send and receive signals e.g., activation signals, wake-up signals from communication module 116 of vehicle 100, The antenna(s) and communication module of each of TPMS sensors 112 enable communication with communication module 116 of vehicle 100).
Regarding claim 12, Van Wiemeersch discloses a method for auto locating tire monitors on a vehicle (Fig. 1-2, para 34, PMS sensors 112 to the communication module 116 via BLE, Bluetooth®, UWB, para 24, The vehicle 100 includes tires 110),
the method comprising: receiving, from a plurality of tire monitors, signals (para 26, Each of the TPMS sensors 112 includes a pressure sensor to detect a tire pressure of the corresponding one of the tires 110, TPMS sensors 112 to receive and transmit data collected from a pressure sensor or other sensor(s) of TPMS sensors 112 and send and receive signals); and
determining, based at least in part on the signals and a position of the antenna on the vehicle, locations of the plurality of tire monitors on the vehicle relative to the antenna (para 35, TPMS controller 124 determine locations of TPMS sensors 112 based upon received signal strength indicators (RSSIs), time-of-flight, and/or angle-of-arrival of signals sent between the TPMS sensors 112, TPMS controller 124 utilize triangulation or trilateration to localize TPMS sensors 112 based upon the RSSIs, time-of-flight, and/or angle-of-arrival of signals sent between TPMS sensors 112 and a plurality of communication modules of the vehicle 100, para 26, TPMS sensors 112 include antenna(s) that receive and transmit data collected from a pressure sensor of TPMS sensors 112 and send and receive signals (e.g., activation signals, wake-up signals) from communication module 116 of vehicle 100).
Even though Van Wiemeersch disclose determining the signals and a position of the plurality of tire monitors on the vehicle relative to the antenna [026]. In analogous art, ENGL more specifically discloses determining the signals and a position of the plurality of tire monitors on the vehicle relative to the antenna (para 10, TPMS sensor module performing an angle of arrival (AoA) measurement on TPMS signal to determine an angular direction, para 16, FIG. 3 is a flowchart of a communicating with a TPMS sensor using Angle of Arrival (AoA) measurements , para 82, TPMS signals from TPMS sensor modules 100a-100d and determines angular direction of each TPMS signal, collects angular direction information for each TPMS signal and determines position (including angle and distance) of a corresponding TPMS sensor module based on the measured angular direction).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of activating TPMS in a real-time mode, collect a current measurement from the TPMS sensor upon activation, and present the current measurement disclosed by Van Wiemeersch to use TPMS sensor module for performing an angle of arrival measurement on the TPMS signal to whether an angular direction thereof with respect to an antenna array of the interface device is within a predetermined angular window as taught by ENGL to use TPMS sensor modules to triangulates absolute position of corresponding TPMS sensor module using angular direction information measured at each interface device and predefined distance d between interface devices multiple tire, wherein sensor signal is indicative of a contact area length for tire [ENGL, para 082].
Regarding claim 13, Van Wiemeersch discloses the method of claim 12, wherein the signals are one or more of ultra-wide band or Bluetooth signals (para 26, TPMS sensors 112 receive and transmit data collected from a pressure sensor, and enable communication with communication module 116 of vehicle 100 via Ultra-Wide Band (UWB) signals, Bluetooth® Low Energy (BLE) protocol).
Regarding claim 14, Van Wiemeersch discloses the method of claim 13, wherein the determining the locations of the plurality of tire monitors (Fig. 1, para 27, TPMS sensors 112 includes other sensors (e.g., accelerometers) that are configured to monitor rotation of the tires 110) comprises: determining a first time associated with a first signal of the signals, the first signal being received from a first tire monitor of the plurality of tire monitors (para 32, TPMS controller 124 collect measurements from sensors coupled to the tires 110 to determine whether tires 110 are rotating),;
determining, based at least in part on the first time, a first distance from the antenna to the first tire monitor (para 26, Each of the TPMS sensors 112 includes a pressure sensor to detect a tire pressure of the corresponding one of the tires 110);
determining, based on the first distance, a first location of the first tire monitor; determining a second time associated with a second signal of the signals, the second signal being received from a second tire monitor of the plurality of tire monitors (para 35, TPMS controller 124 determine locations of TPMS sensors 112 based upon received signal strength indicators (RSSIs), time-of-flight, and/or angle-of-arrival of signals sent between TPMS sensors 112, utilize triangulation or trilateration to localize TPMS sensors 112 based upon the RSSIs, time-of-flight, and/or angle-of-arrival of signals).
Van Wiemeersch specifically fails to disclose determining, based at least in part on the second time, a second distance from the antenna to the first tire monitor; and determining, based on the second distance, a second location of the second tire monitor.
In analogous art, ENGL discloses determining, based at least in part on the second time, a second distance from the antenna to the first tire monitor; and determining, based on the second distance, a second location of the second tire monitor (para 10, TPMS sensor module performing an angle of arrival (AoA) measurement on TPMS signal to determine an angular direction, para 16, FIG. 3 communicating with a TPMS sensor using Angle of Arrival (AoA) measurements , para 82, TPMS signals from TPMS sensor modules 100a-100d and determines angular direction of each TPMS signal, collects angular direction information for each TPMS signal and determines position (including angle and distance) of a corresponding TPMS sensor module based on the measured angular direction).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of activating TPMS in a real-time mode, collect a current measurement from the TPMS sensor upon activation, and present the current measurement disclosed by Van Wiemeersch to use TPMS sensor module for performing an angle of arrival measurement on the TPMS signal to whether an angular direction thereof with respect to an antenna array of the interface device is within a predetermined angular window as taught by ENGL for transmitting a wake-up signal, a phase shift between the two transmitted signals occurs due to differences in travel distance of the signals and one or more wake-up signals include one or more messages that may contain information about the antenna which is configured to use this information in order to evaluate the phase shifts of the incoming wake-up signals for determining angular direction of the device [ENGL, para 089].
Regarding claim 15, Van Wiemeersch fails to discloses the method of claim 14, wherein the antenna is positioned on the vehicle such that the first distance is different from the second distance, is different from a third distance to a third tire monitor of the plurality of tire monitors, and is different from a fourth distance to a fourth tire monitor of the plurality of tire monitors.
In analogous art, ENGL discloses the method of claim 14, wherein the antenna is positioned on the vehicle such that the first distance is different from the second distance, is different from a third distance to a third tire monitor of the plurality of tire monitors, and is different from a fourth distance to a fourth tire monitor of the plurality of tire monitors (para 82, TPMS signal determines an absolute position (including angle and distance) of a corresponding TPMS sensor based on measured angular direction, para 72, TPMS signal used for AoA measurements may be generally referred to as a phase shifting signal. In this way, for each TPMS signal, the phase shifts between the antennas originating from the differences in travel distance from respective TPMS sensor modules 100a-100d can be obtained).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of activating TPMS in a real-time mode, collect a current measurement from the TPMS sensor upon activation, and present the current measurement disclosed by Van Wiemeersch to use TPMS sensor module for performing an angle of arrival measurement on the TPMS signal to whether an angular direction thereof with respect to an antenna array of the interface device is within a predetermined angular window as taught by ENGL to use TPMS sensor modules to triangulates absolute position of corresponding TPMS sensor module using angular direction information measured at each interface device and predefined distance d between interface devices multiple tire, wherein sensor signal is indicative of a contact area length for tire [ENGL, para 082].
Regarding claim 16, Van Wiemeersch discloses the method of claim 12, wherein the determining the locations of the plurality of tire monitors comprises: determining a first angle associated with a first signal of the signals, the first signal being received from a first tire monitor of the plurality of tire monitors (para 26, Each of the TPMS sensors 112 includes a pressure sensor to detect a tire pressure of the corresponding one of the tires 110, and transmit data collected from a pressure sensor or other sensor(s) of TPMS sensors 112 and send and receive signals);
determining, based at least in part on the angle, a first location of the first tire monitor on the vehicle, relative to the antenna of the tire pressure monitoring system (para 35, TPMS controller 124 determine locations of TPMS sensors 112 based upon received signal strength indicators (RSSIs), time-of-flight, and/or angle-of-arrival of signals sent between the TPMS sensors 112, TPMS controller 124 utilize triangulation or trilateration to localize TPMS sensors 112 based upon the RSSIs, time-of-flight, and/or angle-of-arrival of signals sent between TPMS sensors 112 and a plurality of communication modules of the vehicle 100).
Van Wiemeersch fails to discloses determining a second angle associated with a second signal of the signals, the second signal being received from a second tire monitor of the plurality of tire monitors; and
determining, based on the second angle, a second location of the second tire monitor on the vehicle, relative to the antenna of the tire pressure monitoring system.
In analogous art, ENGL discloses determining a second angle associated with a second signal of the signals, the second signal being received from a second tire monitor of the plurality of tire monitors (para 10, TPMS sensor module performing an angle of arrival (AoA) measurement on TPMS signal to determine an angular direction, para 16, FIG. 3 is a flowchart of a communicating with a TPMS sensor using Angle of Arrival (AoA) measurements , para 82, TPMS signals from TPMS sensor modules 100a-100d and determines angular direction of each TPMS signal, collects angular direction information for each TPMS signal and determines position (including angle and distance) of a corresponding TPMS sensor module based on the measured angular direction); and
determining, based on the second angle, a second location of the second tire monitor on the vehicle, relative to the antenna of the tire pressure monitoring system (para 82, TPMS signal determines an absolute position (including angle and distance) of a corresponding TPMS sensor based on measured angular direction, para 72, TPMS signal used for AoA measurements may be generally referred to as a phase shifting signal. In this way, for each TPMS signal, the phase shifts between the antennas originating from the differences in travel distance from respective TPMS sensor modules 100a-100d can be obtained).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of activating TPMS in a real-time mode, collect a current measurement from the TPMS sensor upon activation, and present the current measurement disclosed by Van Wiemeersch to use TPMS sensor module for performing an angle of arrival measurement on the TPMS signal to whether an angular direction thereof with respect to an antenna array of the interface device is within a predetermined angular window as taught by ENGL to determines the respective angular direction the TPMS signal and determines the location of the TPMS sensor module and compares determined location to a predefined area (e.g., defined by a predefined angular window and a predefined distance) and determines whether the determined location is within the predefined area in order to determine whether to communicate with the TPMS sensor module [ENGL, para 085].
Regarding claim 17, Van Wiemeersch discloses the method of claim 12, further comprising: determining a triggering event; and transmitting at least one of one or more transmission signals or a wake up signal in response to the triggering event, wherein the signals are received based at least in part on the one or more transmission signals or the wake up signal (para 08, communication module receives tire pressure measurements from the TPMS sensor to activate TPMS and collect measurement from TPMS sensor, send wake -up signal to the TPMS sensor and upon TPMS sensor receiving wake -up signal, send an instruction to TPMS sensor to collect current measurement, para 20, sends wake -up signal to set TPMS in RTQS, wake -up signal is encoded with instruction to activate into RTQS).
Regarding claim 18, Van Wiemeersch discloses a system (Fig. 1-2, para 34, PMS sensors 112 to the communication module 116 via BLE, UWB) comprising:
a vehicle; a plurality of tires associated with the vehicle (Fig. 1, para 24, The vehicle 100 of the illustrated example also includes tires 110);
a plurality of tire monitors associated with the plurality of tires (para 26, Each of the TPMS sensors 112 includes a pressure sensor to detect a tire pressure of the corresponding one of the tires 110, receive and transmit data collected from a pressure sensor or other sensor(s) of TPMS sensors 112); and
a tire pressure monitoring system spaced from the plurality of tires, the tire pressure monitor system including at least one tire pressure monitoring system transceiver ((para 26, Each of the TPMS sensors 112 includes a pressure sensor to detect a tire pressure of the corresponding one of the tires 110, TPMS sensors 112 to receive and transmit data collected from a pressure sensor or other sensor(s) of TPMS sensors 112 and send and receive signals) and
a computing system configured to perform operations (para 52, ECUs 206 monitor and control subsystems of vehicle 100, ECUs 206 communicate properties (e.g., status of ECUs 206, sensor readings, control state, error and diagnostic codes, etc.) to and/or receive requests from each other) comprising:
receiving, from the plurality of tire monitors, signals (para 26, TPMS sensors 112 include antenna(s) that are configured to (i) receive and transmit data collected from a pressure sensor and/or other sensor(s) of the TPMS sensors 112 and (ii) send and receive signals (e.g., activation signals, wake-up signals, pairing signals, instructions, etc.) from the communication module 116 of the vehicle 100); and
determining, based at least in part on the signals and a position of the tire pressure monitoring system on the vehicle, locations of the plurality of tire monitors on the vehicle (para 35, TPMS controller 124 determine locations of TPMS sensors 112 based upon received signal strength indicators (RSSIs), time-of-flight, and/or angle-of-arrival of signals sent between the TPMS sensors 112, TPMS controller 124 utilize triangulation or trilateration to localize TPMS sensors 112 based upon the RSSIs, time-of-flight, and/or angle-of-arrival of signals sent between TPMS sensors 112 and a plurality of communication modules of the vehicle 100).
Even though Van Wiemeersch disclose determining the signals and a position of the plurality of tire monitors on the vehicle relative to the antenna [026]. In analogous art, ENGL more specifically discloses determining the signals and a position of the plurality of tire monitors on the vehicle relative to the antenna (para 10, TPMS sensor module performing an angle of arrival (AoA) measurement on TPMS signal to determine an angular direction, para 16, FIG. 3 is a flowchart of a communicating with a TPMS sensor using Angle of Arrival (AoA) measurements , para 82, TPMS signals from TPMS sensor modules 100a-100d and determines angular direction of each TPMS signal, collects angular direction information for each TPMS signal and determines position (including angle and distance) of a corresponding TPMS sensor module based on the measured angular direction).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of activating TPMS in a real-time mode, collect a current measurement from the TPMS sensor upon activation, and present the current measurement disclosed by Van Wiemeersch to use TPMS sensor module for performing an angle of arrival measurement on the TPMS signal to whether an angular direction thereof with respect to an antenna array of the interface device is within a predetermined angular window as taught by ENGL to use TPMS sensor modules to triangulates absolute position of corresponding TPMS sensor module using angular direction information measured at each interface device and predefined distance d between interface devices multiple tire, wherein sensor signal is indicative of a contact area length for tire [ENGL, para 082].
Regarding claim 19, Van Wiemeersch discloses the system of claim 18, wherein the determining the locations of the plurality of tire monitors (para 26, Each of the TPMS sensors 112 includes a pressure sensor to detect a tire pressure of the corresponding one of the tires 110, and transmit data collected from a pressure sensor or other sensor(s) of TPMS sensors 112 and send and receive signals) comprises:
determining a first time associated with a first signal of the signals, the first signal being received from a first tire monitor of the plurality of tire monitors (para 35, TPMS controller 124 determine locations of TPMS sensors 112 based upon received signal strength indicators (RSSIs), time-of-flight, and/or angle-of-arrival of signals sent between the TPMS sensors 112, TPMS controller 124 utilize triangulation or trilateration to localize TPMS sensors 112 based upon the RSSIs, time-of-flight, and/or angle-of-arrival of signals sent between TPMS sensors 112 and a plurality of communication modules of the vehicle 100;
determining, based at least in part on the first time, a first distance from the antenna to the first tire monitor; determining, based on the first distance, a first location of the first tire monitor (para 35, TPMS controller 124 determine locations of TPMS sensors 112 based upon received signal strength indicators (RSSIs), time-of-flight, and/or angle-of-arrival of signals sent between the TPMS sensors 112, TPMS controller 124 utilize triangulation or trilateration to localize TPMS sensors 112 based upon the RSSIs, time-of-flight, and/or angle-of-arrival of signal).
Van Wiemeersch fails to discloses determining a second time associated with a second signal of the signals, the second signal being received from a second tire monitor of the plurality of tire monitors; determining, based at least in part on the second time, a second distance from the antenna to the first tire monitor; and determining, based on the second distance, a second location of the second tire monitor.
In analogous art, ENGL discloses determining a second time associated with a second signal of the signals, the second signal being received from a second tire monitor of the plurality of tire monitors (para 10, TPMS sensor module performing an angle of arrival (AoA) measurement on TPMS signal to determine an angular direction, para 16, FIG. 3 is a flowchart of a communicating with a TPMS sensor using Angle of Arrival (AoA) measurements , para 82, TPMS signals from TPMS sensor modules 100a-100d and determines angular direction of each TPMS signal, collects angular direction information for each TPMS signal and determines position (including angle and distance) of a corresponding TPMS sensor module based on the measured angular direction); and
determining, based at least in part on the second time, a second distance from the antenna to the first tire monitor; and determining, based on the second distance, a second location of the second tire monitor (para 82, TPMS signal determines an absolute position (including angle and distance) of a corresponding TPMS sensor based on measured angular direction, para 72, TPMS signal used for AoA measurements may be generally referred to as a phase shifting signal. In this way, for each TPMS signal, the phase shifts between the antennas originating from the differences in travel distance from respective TPMS sensor modules 100a-100d can be obtained).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of activating TPMS in a real-time mode, collect a current measurement from the TPMS sensor upon activation, and present the current measurement disclosed by Van Wiemeersch to use TPMS sensor module for performing an angle of arrival measurement on the TPMS signal to whether an angular direction thereof with respect to an antenna array of the interface device is within a predetermined angular window as taught by ENGL for transmitting a wake-up signal, a phase shift between the two transmitted signals occurs due to differences in travel distance of the signals and one or more wake-up signals include one or more messages that may contain information about the antenna which is configured to use this information in order to evaluate the phase shifts of the incoming wake-up signals for determining angular direction of the device [ENGL, para 089].
Regarding claim 20, Van Wiemeersch discloses the system of claim 18, wherein the determining the locations of the plurality of tire monitors (para 26, Each of the TPMS sensors 112 includes a pressure sensor to detect a tire pressure of the corresponding one of the tires 110, and transmit data collected from a pressure sensor or other sensor(s) of TPMS sensors 112 and send and receive signals) comprises:
determining a first angle associated with a first signal of the signals, the first signal being received from a first tire monitor of the plurality of tire monitors (para 35, TPMS controller 124 determine locations of TPMS sensors 112 based upon received signal strength indicators (RSSIs), time-of-flight, and/or angle-of-arrival of signals sent between the TPMS sensors 112);
determining, based at least in part on the angle, a first location of the first tire monitor on the vehicle, relative to the antenna of the tire pressure monitoring system (para 35, TPMS controller 124 utilize triangulation or trilateration to localize TPMS sensors 112 based upon the RSSIs, time-of-flight, and/or angle-of-arrival of signals sent between TPMS sensors 112 and a plurality of communication modules of vehicle 100).
Van Wiemeersch fails to discloses determining a second angle associated with a second signal of the signals, the second signal being received from a second tire monitor of the plurality of tire monitors; and
determining, based on the second angle, a second location of the second tire monitor on the vehicle, relative to the antenna of the tire pressure monitoring system.
In analogous art, ENGL discloses determining a second angle associated with a second signal of the signals, the second signal being received from a second tire monitor of the plurality of tire monitors (para 10, TPMS sensor module performing an angle of arrival (AoA) measurement on TPMS signal to determine an angular direction, para 16, FIG. 3 is a flowchart of a communicating with a TPMS sensor using Angle of Arrival (AoA) measurements , para 82, TPMS signals from TPMS sensor modules 100a-100d and determines angular direction of each TPMS signal, collects angular direction information for each TPMS signal and determines position (including angle and distance) of a corresponding TPMS sensor module based on the measured angular direction); and
determining, based on the second angle, a second location of the second tire monitor on the vehicle, relative to the antenna of the tire pressure monitoring system (para 82, TPMS signal determines an absolute position (including angle and distance) of a corresponding TPMS sensor based on measured angular direction, para 72, TPMS signal used for AoA measurements may be generally referred to as a phase shifting signal. In this way, for each TPMS signal, the phase shifts between the antennas originating from the differences in travel distance from respective TPMS sensor modules 100a-100d can be obtained).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of activating TPMS in a real-time mode, collect a current measurement from the TPMS sensor upon activation, and present the current measurement disclosed by Van Wiemeersch to use TPMS sensor module for performing an angle of arrival measurement on the TPMS signal to whether an angular direction thereof with respect to an antenna array of the interface device is within a predetermined angular window as taught by ENGL to determines the respective angular direction the TPMS signal and determines the location of the TPMS sensor module and compares determined location to a predefined area (e.g., defined by a predefined angular window and a predefined distance) and determines whether the determined location is within the predefined area in order to determine whether to communicate with the TPMS sensor module [ENGL, para 085].
Conclusion
/MIRZA F ALAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2688