Status of the Claims
Currently, claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted on 09/11/2026. The submission are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR § 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments / Amendments
Double Patenting : withdrawn since the applicant filed TD.
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive, see discussion below.
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103:
The applicant argued that D1 and D2 (Kim in view of Jeon), whether considered alone or in combination, fail to disclose the features "the first position and the second position corresponding to a first object and a second object within the preview image, respectively," "acquire a first video and a second video ... the first video being focused on the first object and the second video being focused on the second object," and "acquire a third video and a fourth video ... the third video being focused on the first position and the fourth video being focused on the second position," as recited in claim 1.
As to the above argument, Kim discloses preview image display by detecting an input on the image data and process to use an area of the image data corresponding to a location where an input satisfying a condition is detected as preview data at least part of the image data including a predetermined range with reference to the location where the input satisfying the condition is detected may be used as the preview data ([0063]).
Kim further discloses receive one or more user inputs with respect to a first position and a second position on the display by identifying location of second touch input detected continuously after the first touch input, and processing to use an image related to the identified location of the second touch input as preview data such as detecting the first touch input and the second touch input prior to storing the image data, identifying an image including a predetermined range with reference to the location where the second touch input is detected, and process the identified image as preview data ([0067]).
In combination with Kim, Jeon teaches acquire a first video and a second video via the first camera and the second camera focusing on the first video being on the first object and the second video being focused on the second object receiving an input of a first image by the first camera and receiving an input of a second image the second camera.
Jeon further teaches a controller that sets a first photographing condition for the first camera and a second photographing condition for the second camera, the controller photographing the first image and the second image using the first camera and the second camera according to the set first photographing condition and the set second photographing condition, respectively, the controller generating a third image by synthesizing the photographed first and second images together, and a display unit displaying the generated third image as a photographed image under the control of the controller ([0015]).
Jeon further also teaches the first camera receiving an input of a first image, the second camera receiving an input of a second image, a controller setting a first photographing condition for the first camera and a second photographing condition for the second camera, the controller photographing the first image and the second image using the first camera and the second camera according to the set first photographing condition and the set second photographing condition, respectively, the controller generating a third image by synthesizing the photographed first and second images together, and a display unit displaying the generated third image as a photographed image under the control of the controller (same logic applies) ([0015])..
Accordingly, Examiner maintains the rejection with regards to above arguments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 12 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20160077658, hereinafter Kim) in view of Jeon et al. (US 20120105579, hereinafter Jeon).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim discloses an electronic device, comprising:
first and second cameras ([0088], FIG. 2, camera module 291 includes one or more image sensors (e.g., a front sensor or a rear sensor),
a display ([0038], FIG. 1, electronic device 101 includes an input/output interface 150, a display 160); and
one or more processors; memory storing one or more computer programs including computer-executable instructions, wherein the instructions, when being executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively ([0038], FIG. 1, a processor 120) , cause the electronic device to:
display, via the display, a preview image using one or more image frames acquired via the first camera ([0063], detect an input on the image data (or a screen outputting the image data), and process to use an area of the image data corresponding to a location where an input satisfying a condition is detected as preview data at least part of the image data including a predetermined range with reference to the location where the input satisfying the condition is detected may be used as the preview data),
while the preview image is displayed via the display, receive one or more user inputs with respect to a first position and a second position on the display, the first position and the second position corresponding to a first object and a second object within the preview image, respectively ([0067] identify the location of second touch input detected continuously after the first touch input, and process to use an image related to the identified location of the second touch input as preview data such as detecting the first touch input and the second touch input prior to storing the image data, identify an image including a predetermined range with reference to the location where the second touch input is detected, and process the identified image as preview data).
Kim does not explicitly disclose based at least in part on the one or more user inputs, acquire a first video and a second video via the first camera and the second camera, respectively, the first video being focused on the first object and the second video being focused on the second object; and based at least in part on the one or more user inputs, acquire a third video and a fourth video via the first camera and the second camera, respectively, the third video being focused on the first position and the fourth video being focused on the second position.
Jeon teaches based at least in part on the one or more user inputs, acquire a first video and a second video via the first camera and the second camera, respectively, the first video being focused on the first object and the second video being focused on the second object ([0015], the first camera receiving an input of a first image, the second camera receiving an input of a second image, a controller setting a first photographing condition for the first camera and a second photographing condition for the second camera, the controller photographing the first image and the second image using the first camera and the second camera according to the set first photographing condition and the set second photographing condition, respectively, the controller generating a third image by synthesizing the photographed first and second images together, and a display unit displaying the generated third image as a photographed image under the control of the controller) and based at least in part on the one or more user inputs, acquire a third video and a fourth video via the first camera and the second camera, respectively, the third video being focused on the first position and the fourth video being focused on the second position object ([0015], the first camera receiving an input of a first image, the second camera receiving an input of a second image, a controller setting a first photographing condition for the first camera and a second photographing condition for the second camera, the controller photographing the first image and the second image using the first camera and the second camera according to the set first photographing condition and the set second photographing condition, respectively, the controller generating a third image by synthesizing the photographed first and second images together, and a display unit displaying the generated third image as a photographed image under the control of the controller (same logic applies).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of acquiring respective video focused on respective subject corresponding to respective camera as taught by Jeon ([0015]) into the imaging system of Kim in order to provide systems for receiving input of a photograph command for a two-dimensional or a three-dimensional photograph mode, and hence ensures effective receiving of an input of a control command for multiple cameras by a mobile termina (Jeon, [0012]).
Regarding Claim 2, Kim in view of Jeon discloses the electronic device of claim 1, Kim discloses wherein the instructions, when being executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: based at least in part on the one or more user input satisfying a first specified condition, acquire the first video and the second video via the first camera and the second camera, respectively ([0067] identify the location of second touch input detected continuously after the first touch input, and process to use an image related to the identified location of the second touch input as preview data such as detecting the first touch input and the second touch input prior to storing the image data, identify an image including a predetermined range with reference to the location where the second touch input is detected, and process the identified image as preview data); and based at least in part on the one or more user inputs satisfying a second specified condition, acquire the third video and the fourth video via the first camera and the second camera, respectively ([0067] identify the location of second touch input detected continuously after the first touch input, and process to use an image related to the identified location of the second touch input as preview data such as detecting the first touch input and the second touch input prior to storing the image data, identify an image including a predetermined range with reference to the location where the second touch input is detected, and process the identified image as preview data).
Regarding Claim 3, Kim in view of Jeon discloses the electronic device of claim 2, Kim discloses wherein the instructions, when being executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to:
determine that the first specified condition is satisfied based at least in part on the one or more user inputs being maintained on the first position and the second position for less than a specified period of time, determine that the second specified condition is satisfied based at least in part on the one or more user inputs being maintained on the first position and the second position for a specified period of time or longer ([0065] condition may be related to a point of time when a voice is inputted : determination module 182 identifies a point of time when a user's voice is inputted, while storing image data, and process to use an image related to the identified point of time as preview data including a plurality of frames is stored, the determination module 182 may process to use at least part of image frames corresponding to a point of time when a voice input is detected as preview data).
Regarding Claim 4, Analogous rejection as the rejection of Claim 3 applies.
Regarding Claim 5, Kim in view of Jeon discloses the electronic device of claim 1, Jeon teaches wherein the instructions, when being executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to:
as part of the acquiring of the first video and the second video, set a first auto focus for the first camera and a second auto focus for the second camera on the first object and the second object, respectively ([0015], the first camera receiving an input of a first image, the second camera receiving an input of a second image, a controller setting a first photographing condition for the first camera and a second photographing condition for the second camera, the controller photographing the first image and the second image using the first camera and the second camera according to the set first photographing condition and the set second photographing condition, respectively, the controller generating a third image by synthesizing the photographed first and second images together, and a display unit displaying the generated third image as a photographed image). The same reason or rational of obviousness motivation applied as used above in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 6, Analogous rejection as the rejection of Claim 5 applies.
Regarding Claim 7, Kim in view of Jeon discloses the electronic device of claim 1, Kim discloses wherein the instructions, when being executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to:
display, via the display, a video generated using a corresponding pair of videos from a first pair of the first video and the second video and a second pair of the third video and the fourth video ([0185] FIG. 13, the number of times of touch input of the first rank may be less than the number of times of touch input of the second rank and alternatively, the number of times of touch input of the first rank may be greater than the number of times of touch input of the second rank; [0186] when a touch input 1310 satisfying the first rank is detected, the electronic device may generate preview data 1320 based on the location where the touch input is detected. For example, preview data of a predetermined size including an object 1302 of the location where the touch input is detected may be generated )
Regarding Claim 8, Kim in view of Jeon discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when being executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to:
Kim discloses determine whether a predetermined type of an object is included in the one or more image frame ([0160] FIG. 9, generating preview data 908 including only a part of an object of the image data (for example, a finger) or generating a preview data 907 with reference to an object of the image data 901 where a touch input 903 is detected; [0173] FIG. 11), and while Jeon discloses determine one point corresponding to the second subject as the second point in response to a determination that the second object is the predetermined type of the object within the one or more image frame ([0225] synthesizing the first and second images centering on the same part or object in the first and second images and is then able to generate the third image as a result of the corresponding synthesis. Moreover, in case that the same object in the first image differs from the same object in the second image in size, image size adjustment is performed to enable the sizes of the same objects respectively included in the first and second images to become equal to each other and the first and second images can be synthesized together).
Regarding Claim 9, Kim in view of Jeon discloses the electronic device of claim 8, Kim discloses wherein the predetermined type of the object comprises at least one of a human face, human eyes, animal eyes, or an animal body ([0160] FIG. 9, generate preview data with reference to the upper end of the image data 901 thus generating preview data 908 including only a part of an object of the image data (for example, a finger, [human body]) or generate preview data 907 with reference to an object of the image data 901 where a touch input 903 is detected; [0173] FIG. 11).
Regarding Claim 12, Kim in view of Jeon discloses the electronic device of claim 1, Kim discloses wherein the one or more user inputs comprise a user touch input for the display ([0067] identify the location of second touch input detected continuously after the first touch input).
Regarding Claims 15-20, Method claims 15-20 of using the corresponding device claimed in claims 1-6, and the rejections of which are incorporated herein for the same as used above.
Claims 10-11, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20160077658, hereinafter Kim) in view of Jeon et al. (US 20120105579, hereinafter Jeon) and Kasahara et al. (JP2011125051A, hereinafter, Kasahara)
Regarding Claim 10, Kim in view of Jeon discloses the electronic device of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the instructions, when being executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to:
determine an importance for at least one object included in the one or more image frame and determine the second position based on the importance.
Kasahara teaches determine an importance for at least one subject included in the first image frame, and determine the second point based on the importance ([0039], shooting condition suitable for each main subject candidate with each main subject candidate determined by the main subject candidate determination module 122. The shooting condition suitable for the main subject candidate indicates a shooting condition in which the main subject candidate is focused and the exposure is adjusted to the brightness of the main subject candidate[0040]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of determine an importance for at least one subject as taught by Kasahara ([0039]) into the imaging system of Kim in order to provide systems for to improving the convenience of a photographer who photographs a subject using an image data generation device such as a digital camera. (Kasahara, [0012]).
Regarding Claim 11, Kim in view of Jeon and Kasahara discloses the electronic device of claim10, Kasahara identify an object having the importance being higher than or equal to a specified value within the one or more image frame, and determine one point of an area corresponding to the second object as the second position in response to a determination that the importance of the second object is higher than or equal to the specified value ([0039], shooting condition suitable for each main subject candidate with each main subject candidate determined by the main subject candidate determination module 122. The shooting condition suitable for the main subject candidate indicates a shooting condition in which the main subject candidate is focused and the exposure is adjusted to the brightness of the main subject candidate; [0040]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of determine an importance for at least one subject as taught by Kasahara ([0039]) into the imaging system of Kim in order to provide systems for to improving the convenience of a photographer who photographs a subject using an image data generation device such as a digital camera. (Kasahara, [0012]).
Claims 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20160077658, hereinafter Kim) in view of Jeon et al. (US 20120105579, hereinafter Jeon) and Lee et al. (US 20180181196, hereinafter Lee)
Regarding Claim 13, Kim in view of Jeon discloses the electronic device of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the first camera and the second camera are disposed in the electronic device to face a first direction, further comprising a third camera disposed on the electronic device to face a second direction distinguished from the first direction, and wherein the at least one processor is configured to: acquire gaze information for a location where a user’s eyes are directed on the display through the third camera, and determine the second point based on the gaze information.
Lee teaches wherein the first camera and the second camera are disposed in the electronic device to face a first direction, further comprising a third camera disposed on the electronic device to face a second direction distinguished from the first direction ([0032] FIG. 11A, camera direction, a moving direction, and an HMD gaze direction in a 3D space according to an embodiment of the present disclosure; [0033] FIG. 11B, selected gaze direction among a plurality of gaze directions in a 3D space according to an embodiment of the present disclosure; [0125]), and wherein the at least one processor is configured to acquire gaze information for a location where a user’s eyes are directed on the display through the third camera, and determine the second point based on the gaze information ([0031] FIGS. 10A and 10B, a plurality of gaze directions in which a 360-degree image is viewed from different positions according to various embodiments of the present disclosure; [0125],first direction as a reference direction in which a main camera provided in a photographing apparatus taking the image is pointed straight ahead, and the second direction may be a moving direction of the photographing apparatus, determined using sensing information associated with the image; [0210], when a viewpoint change is requested to change from playback based on the direction of the main camera (i.e., the viewpoint of a photographer), to playback based on a main traveling direction in which the photographer is moving, a first multiplexer (MUX) 1445 may calculate an angle equal to an angle in the gaze direction of the main camera minus an angle in the traveling direction).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of acquire gaze information for a location where a user’s eyes are directed on the display through the third camera as taught by Lee ([0032]) into the imaging system of Kim in order to provide systems for rendering key region of a specific degree image corresponds to a user-desired user gaze direction so that the user with an immediate screen update without delay is provided and by adjusting the weight for the alignment of image frames, images having differences are displayed (Lee, [0015]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMUEL D FEREJA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487