DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1-7 in the reply filed on 8/17/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no undue search burden. This is not found persuasive because in the instant case, the subcombinations I and II have separate utility, such as each of the said devices do not require particulars of the others, resulting in an undue search burden.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 21-27 of U.S. Patent No. 12,600,140. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the limitations of the instant application's claim are anticipated or rendered obvious by the limitations of the issued patent's claims as demonstrated with the independent claims in the Table below.
Furthermore, dependent claims 22-27 of the issued patent mirror and
anticipate claims 2-7 of the instant application (wherein claims 22-27 read on claims 2-7, respectively).
Instant Application
19/189004
Parent Patent
US 12,300,140
Differences/Discussion
A method for transmitting data by a first integrated circuit, the method comprising:
A method for transmitting data by a first integrated circuit, the method comprising
Claims are identical
except for the bolded
text of Parent patent.
Instant application is
broader than Parent
Patent. Parent Patent
anticipates Instant
Application.
encoding a first protocol signal including a configuration data
encoding a first protocol signal including configuration data using a direct current (DC) balance code
transmitting the encoded first protocol signal including the configuration data, at a first transmission rate, to a second integrated circuit; and transmitting a second protocol signal, at a second transmission rate higher than the first transmission rate, to the second integrated circuit
transmitting the encoded first protocol signal including the configuration data, at a first transmission rate, to a second integrated circuit; and transmitting a second protocol signal, at a second transmission rate higher than the first transmission rate, to the second integrated circuit,
wherein the encoded first protocol signal includes a bit start/end bits or a symbol disposed before and after the configuration data.
wherein the encoded first protocol signal includes a bit or a symbol disposed before and after the configuration data;
and the configuration data includes data for setting an environment for transmitting the second protocol signal at the second transmission rate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim (US 2019/0197987).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a method for transmitting data by a first integrated circuit (210, fig. 2), the method comprising:
encoding a first protocol signal (see Link1 in para. 119-120, 66; wherein e.g. the link data represents a specific pattern) including a configuration data (see para. 61-62 and claim 10 on page 8);
transmitting the encoded first protocol signal including the configuration data, at a first transmission rate (para. 122), to a second integrated (220, fig. 2) circuit (para. 60); and
transmitting a second protocol signal (Link2 in para. 121-122), at a second transmission rate higher than the first transmission rate (para. 122; wherein Link2 has twice the frequency of Link1), to the second integrated circuit (para. 60),
wherein the encoded first protocol signal includes start/end bits (see para. 120 and fig. 6A) or a symbol disposed before and after the configuration data (para. 60-61).
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses wherein the encoded first protocol signal includes a start bit (see first zero in SYMa in fig. 6A) disposed before the configuration data (see middle numbers of SYMa in fig. 6A) and an end bit (see last 0 in SYMa in fig. 6A) disposed after the configuration data, when the first protocol signal is encoded using a Manchester code of a direct current (DC) balance code (para. 75; wherein dc balances codes are used).
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses wherein the encoded first protocol signal includes a start symbol (see first zero in SYMa in fig. 6A) disposed in the configuration data (see middle numbers of SYMa in fig. 6A) and an end symbol (para. 75; wherein dc balances codes are used) disposed after the configuration data, when the first protocol signal is encoded using an 8B 1OB code of a direct current (DC) balance code (para. 74-75).
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses wherein the configuration data includes header data (para. 66) corresponding to information related to the configuration data (para. 59-61) and checksum data (para. 112).
Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses wherein the encoded first protocol signal includes a preamble signal (para. 61-62; wherein the link data sends information), and
the preamble signal is transmitted, at the first transmission rate (para. 122), to the second integrated circuit (para. 60), before transmitting the configuration data signal (para. 60-61).
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses wherein the preamble signal comprises at least one of a first data bit corresponding to a binary numeral "1" and a second data bit corresponding to a binary numeral "0" regularly (see para. 120 and fig. 6A).
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses wherein the first protocol signal is transmitted at the first transmission rate through a first communication line (para. 122, 60), and
the second protocol signal is transmitted at the second transmission rate higher than the first transmission rate through a second communication line (para. 122, 60).
Conclusion
/ROBIN J MISHLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628