Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/24/2025 has been considered by the examiner. Initialed copies accompany this action.
Drawings
The Drawings filed 4/24/2025 are approved by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 32, 34, and 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 32 and 34 recites “the base is a vegetable oil”. The recitation was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor had possession of the claimed invention. There is no disclosure of an oil or a vegetable oil that is a non-hardening, one-part, solvent-free, hydrophobic, non-shrinking organic polymer having uniform consistency, having a viscosity of between 300 to 10,000 centipoises at 20° C., and having a molecular weight between 1,000 and 100,000 and being free of chromium, including chromates, sulfides, silicone and petroleum distillates, and solvents as being claimed.
Claim 40 recites “the paste is not adhesive to an aluminum alloy substrate”. This recitation was not described in the specification. Paragraph [0023] of the Specification describes: Applicant's corrosion inhibiting pastes typically have a paste consistency, a viscosity in some embodiments between 9,000 and 10,000,000 cP. A paste is, at room temperature, a non-curing, thick, soft, spreadable, moist substance, that may be dispensed from a container, such as by a spatula or a brush, by squeezing from a tube, cartridge, or applicator (for example, syringe type) but will hold its shape on and stick (adhere, but not bond) to a substrate including a metal such as aluminum alloy or a carbon fiber reinforced plastic substrate.
Claims 26-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “drying resistant” in claim 26 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “drying resistant” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The specification describes in paragraph [0024]: Applicant's corrosion inhibiting pastes, including the base 16, are able to stand a wide variety of time-temperature conditions without drying out or excessively hardening, cracking, or flowing. They, in some embodiments, may be able to withstand attack from aircraft fuels (such as Jet A) or other aircraft fluids (hydraulic fluids, including Skydrol). They may be hydrophobic and nonhygroscopic. The paste may substantially maintain its properties over a wide temperature range. In some embodiments, the pastes are resistant to flow at elevated temperatures when applied on an aluminum alloy (2024) substrate mounted perpendicular (20 mils thick, 7 days, 95° C.). Therefore, the paste’s properties (drying, hardening, cracking, or flowing) are temperature dependent. The claim does not recite the temperature at which these properties are present.
Claim 35 and 45 recite a viscosity range. A claim is indefinite when it contains words or phrases whose meaning is unclear. In re Packard, 751 F.3d 1307, 1314, 110 USPQ 2d 1785, 1789 (Fed. Cir. 2014). The lack of clarity could arise where the claims recite a viscosity without a temperature at which the viscosity is measured.
Claim 44 recites the limitation "claim 3". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 27-34, 36-39, 41-44, and 46-50 are rejected as being dependent on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 26, 29, 31 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Davis et al. (US2,453,833).
Regarding claim 26, Davis discloses a rust preventing composition consisting of a mineral oil, a corrosion inhibitor and a polybutene of 60,000 to 80,000 molecular weight (see the claim). The composition does not become hard at extremely low temperatures, has an extremely high viscosity index (above 200), evaporates slowly and completely at temperatures above 400 F and does not spread rapidly at elevated temperatures (col 3, ln 2-11).
Regarding claim 29, Davis discloses the composition comprises up to 10% of the corrosion inhibitor (col 3, ln 38-45).
Regarding claims 31 and 33, Davis discloses the base comprises an oil (claim).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 27, 28, 30, 35-39, 41- 50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis et al. (US2,453,833) as applied to claim above, and further in view of Callens et al (FR2857373). The machine translation of FR2857373 is relied upon for the rejection purposes.
Regarding claims 27, 28, 30, 36-39, 42- 43, Davis discloses a rust preventing composition as described above and is incorporated herein by reference. Davis does not disclose the composition further comprising inert particles. Callens discloses polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) particles, which are chemically inert particles, form a lubricating film on the parts to which the composition comprises these particles is applied and can be used about 20% v/v (page 2). Callens also discloses anti-corrosion agents such as zinc dithiophosphates, organosulfur or phosphorus compounds, or sulfonates (calcium, magnesium) form a protective film by chemical reaction with metals and/or by adsorption of polar molecules onto metallic surfaces and can be used in a concentration between 1.5 to 3% v/v (pages 2 and 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made to include polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) particles and anti-corrosion agents taught by Callens in the composition of Davis, thereby improving the protection on the metal surfaces from corrosion.
Regarding claims 35, 41, 45-49, the references do not disclose the claimed properties. However, given that the thin film of Davis in view of Callens comprises of all the claimed elements, a person having an ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the composition of Davis in view of Callens to have the claimed viscosity and fog test because it has been held that "products of identical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties Applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2112.01 II. "Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of obviousness has been established."
Regarding claims 44 and 50, Davis discloses a method of using the composition comprising coating at least part of an aircraft assembly with the composition (col 1, ln 1-6; col 4, ln 30-37).
Claims 31 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis et al. (US2,453,833) in view of Callens et al (FR2857373) as applied above, further in view of Abramowski et al. (US 6,521,569).
Davis discloses a rust preventing composition as described above and is incorporated herein by reference. Davis does not disclose the composition comprises an oil which is vegetable oil. Abramowski discloses both natural such as vegetable oil and synthetic oils can be used in the lubricants for treating rusted surfaces (col 4, ln 23-33). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made to use vegetable oil, which is biodegradable and renewable, taught by Abramowski in the composition of Davis, thereby the protection on the metal surfaces from corrosion would be reasonably expectable.
Double Patenting
Claims 26-30, 35-38, 41, 45-48 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 9, 13, 14, 16-19, and 23 of U.S. Patent No. 12,473,436. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other Patent No. 12,473,436 contains substantially similar subject matter and anticipatory or overlapping ranges. Specifically, Patent No. 12,473,436 claims a corrosion inhibiting paste for aircraft use, the corrosion inhibiting paste comprising: a drying resistant, one part, solvent free, hydrophobic, non-shrinking, organic polymer base having a uniform consistency and a molecular weight between 1000 and 100,000, the base being free of chromium, including chromates, sulfides, silicone, petroleum distillate and solvents; inert particles and corrosion inhibitors, wherein the paste has a viscosity of between 9,000 and 10,000,000 cP. Patent No. 12,473,436 also claims the corrosion inhibiting paste wherein the corrosion inhibitor is at least one of: ionic, organometallic, or organic, the corrosion inhibitor includes at least one of the following: a lithium salt, lithium phosphate, lithium carbonate, a mixed complex of zinc and magnesium oxalate, a metal carboxylate, a magnesium salt, a salt phosphate, magnesium-containing materials, a cation polycarboxylate, magnesium oxide, oxyaminophosphate salts of magnesium, magnesium carbonate, magnesium hydroxide, magnesium citrate, magnesium oxalate, zinc citrate, zinc oxalate, organometallic compounds and combinations thereof or is a chromium free or lithium free corrosion inhibitor.
Conclusion
/HAIDUNG D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761
9/5/2026