DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Williams (US 2022/0233192).
Regarding claim 1, Williams discloses a surgical instrument (Fig. 1, item 10) comprising an end tool (Fig. 1, item 100, 102, 104, 106) that rotates in at least one direction (Para. 0083-0086), wherein the end tool includes:
a pair of jaws (Fig. 10, item 114, 118) including a first jaw (Fig. 10, item 118) and a second jaw (Fig. 10, item 114), which are rotatable with respect to each other (Para. 0050), wherein the first jaw includes a first slit (Fig. 13, item 131) formed in a longitudinal direction (Fig. 13), and the second jaw includes a second slit (Fig. 13, item 161) formed in the longitudinal direction (Fig. 13); and
an operation member (Fig. 24, item 522, 532, 536, 534) including a body (Fig. 24, item 522, 532, 536, 534) accommodated in the first slit and the second slit (Para. 0083-0086), a first flange (Fig. 24, item 532) formed on one side of the body (Fig. 24), and a second flange (Fig. 24, item 534) formed on another side of the body (Fig. 24), and moving in the longitudinal direction of the jaw (Fig. 24),
wherein the operation member performs an operation of closing the pair of jaws (Para. 0083-0086) while moving from a proximal end of the pair of jaws (Para. 0083-0086) toward a distal end (Para. 0083-0086) and an operation of linearly moving in the longitudinal direction (Para. 0083-0086) of the pair of jaws (Para. 0083-0086) while the pair of jaws are closed (Para. 0083-0086).
Regarding claim 2, Williams discloses the surgical instrument of claim 1, wherein the second jaw includes a jaw-inclined surface (Fig. 10, item 114, 114a, 114b) formed to be inclined upward (Fig. 10, surface 114a of second jaw 114 is inclined upward) in a direction toward the distal end of the second jaw (Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 3, Williams discloses the surgical instrument of claim 2, wherein the jaw-inclined surface is formed such that an inclination angle changes (Para. 0050, angle of inclination of second jaw 114 and second surface 114a changes as the jaw pivots) in the longitudinal direction (Para. 0050).
Regarding claim 4, Williams discloses the surgical instrument of claim 3, wherein the jaw-inclined surface is formed such that an inclination angle (Fig. 10, inclination angle of surface 114a is greater closer to pivot point of jaw 114 than inclination angle of surface 114a farther away from pivot point) at a proximal end is greater than an inclination angle (Fig. 10) at a distal end (Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 5, Williams the surgical instrument of claim 2, wherein:
a distance between a surface of the first flange (Fig. 24, item 532) that comes into contact with the second jaw and a surface of the second flange (Fig. 24, item 534) that comes into contact with the first jaw is formed to have a value greater than or equal to that of a vertical distance between the first jaw and the second jaw (Fig. 24, distance between top of first flange 532 and bottom of second flange 534 is greater than the distance between the inner surface of first jaw 118 and the inner surface of second jaw 114); and
the operation member is subjected to a rotational force (Para. 0085, threaded shaft 528 applies a rotating force to adjustment member 526, which causes advancement of flange 534) while moving in the longitudinal direction of the pair of jaws (Para. 0085, flange 534 advances distally).
Regarding claim 6, Williams discloses the surgical instrument of claim 5, wherein, when performing the operation of closing the pair of jaws, the operation member is subjected to a rotational force (Para. 0085, threaded shaft 528 applies a rotating force to adjustment member 526, which causes advancement of flange 534) in a direction that causes the second flange to move forward (Para. 0085) further toward the distal end of the pair of jaws (Para. 0085, flange 534 advances distally) than the first flange.
Regarding claim 7, Williams discloses, the surgical instrument of claim 6, wherein, when the operation member performs the operation of closing the pair of jaws (Para. 0083-0086), a distal end of the first flange (Fig. 24, item 532) comes into contact with the jaw-inclined surface (Para. 0083-0086) (Fig. 16, item 114a, 114b), and a distal end of the second flange (Fig. 24, item 534) comes into contact with the first jaw (Para. 0083-0086) (Fig. 16, item 118a).
Regarding claim 8, Williams discloses the surgical instrument of claim 5, wherein, when the operation member is moved in a direction toward the distal end of the pair of jaws while the pair of jaws are closed, the second flange is subjected to a rotational force (Para. 0085, threaded shaft 528 applies a rotating force to adjustment member 526, which causes advancement of flange 534) in a direction that causes the second flange to move forward (Para. 0085) further toward the distal end (Para. 0085, flange 534 advances distally) than the first flange (Para. 0083-0086).
Regarding claim 9, Williams discloses the surgical instrument of claim 8, wherein, when the operation member is moved in the direction toward the distal end of the pair of jaws while the pair of jaws are closed (Para. 0083-0086), a proximal end of the first flange (Fig. 24, item 532) comes into contact with the second jaw (Para. 0083-0086) (Fig. 16, item 114a, 114b) and a distal end of the second flange (Fig. 24, item 534) comes into contact with the first jaw (Para. 0083-0086) (Fig. 16, item 118a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams.
Regarding claim 10, Williams does not expressly disclose the surgical instrument of claim 5, wherein a relationship of n+o>10 mm is satisfied where n [mm] is a horizontal distance from a rotation axis of the operation member to a proximal end of the first flange, and o [mm] is a horizontal distance from the rotation axis of the operation member to a distal end of the second flange.
However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to size the first flange and the second flange such that a relationship of n+o>10 mm is satisfied, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 11, Williams does not expressly disclose the surgical instrument of claim 2, wherein the operation member is formed such that the second flange extends further in a direction toward the distal end than the first flange.
However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to size the first flange and the second flange such that the second flange extends further in a direction toward the distal end than the first flange, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 12, Williams does not expressly disclose the surgical instrument of claim 11, wherein the first flange has a length of about 2 mm to about 10 mm.
However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to size the first flange such that the first flange has a length of about 2 mm to about 10 mm, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 13, Williams does not expressly disclose the surgical instrument of claim 11, wherein a relationship of m/l<10 is satisfied where m [mm] is a length of the first flange and l [mm] is a length by which the second flange extends further than the first flange.
However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to size the first flange and the second flange such that a relationship of n+o>10 mm is satisfied, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 14, Williams does not expressly disclose the surgical instrument of claim 11, wherein the second flange extends further than the first flange to a length whose value is greater than a value that causes a sum of rotational moments applied to the operation member to be zero.
However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to size the first flange and the second flange such that the second flange extends further than the first flange to a length whose value is greater than a value that causes a sum of rotational moments applied to the operation member to be zero, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 15, Williams does not expressly disclose the surgical instrument of claim 11, wherein a relationship of w/l<5 [degree/mm] is satisfied where w [degree] is an inclination angle of the jaw-inclined surface and l [mm] is a length by which the second flange extends further than the first flange.
However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to size the first flange and the second flange such that a relationship of w/l<5 [degree/mm] is satisfied, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Conclusion
/VERONICA MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731