CTNF 19/189,292 CTNF 82879 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Drawings The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show the detector for the image bearing member in FIG. 1 as described in the specification. The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, FIG. 4 shows the test patch for the detector taking place on the “toner bearer,” i.e., the intermediate transfer belt and NOT the image bearer which is claimed to receive the charging bias, exposure energy and developing bias, thus NOT the intermediate transfer belt. It is unclear from the Specification and the Drawings what is being detected. For the purposes of examination “the image bearer,” will refer to the photoconductive drum and the detector will detect an amount of toner adhered to the surface of the drum via the intermediate transfer member since this shown in the drawings. Please correct either the claims or the drawings. The drawings must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. 06-22-01 Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Kanaya et al. US 2017/0153564 ( Kanaya) . Regarding claims 1, 9 and 10 , Kanaya teaches an image forming apparatus comprising: an image bearer (2) to adhere toner on a surface of the image bearer to form a toner image of the image bearer according to image data in printing job data (¶0022); a detector (20) to detect an amount of the toner adhered on the surface of the image bearer (¶0061); circuitry (FIG. 3) configured to: determine an adjustment operation to adjust an image formation condition to form the toner image on the image bearer based on job information in the printing job data (FIG. 21); perform the adjustment operation to adjust the image formation condition based on the amount of toner detected by the detector (S13-s20); and exclude a predetermined operation from the adjustment operation when the job information satisfies a predetermined condition (s11 = NO, FIG. 21). Regarding claim 2 , Kanya teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further configured to, when the job information satisfies the predetermined condition: perform printing with the image formation condition adjusted by the adjustment operation (START, FIG. 21); determine the adjustment operation including the predetermined operation after performing the printing (S12-S17); and perform the adjustment operation including the predetermined operation to adjust the image formation condition (S23). Regarding claim 3 , Kanya teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising: a charging roller (3) to charge the surface of the image bearer with a charging bias; an exposure device (6) to emit light with exposure energy onto the surface of the image bearer to form a latent image on the image bearer; and a developing roller (4a), applied with a developing bias, to develop the toner image on the surface of the image bearer, wherein the circuitry is further configured to adjust, as the image formation condition: the charging bias (Vd) to be applied to the charging roller (charging potential Vd, S3); the exposure energy(Vl) of light to be emitted by the exposure device (via exposed area potential Vl, S3); and the developing bias (Vb) to be applied to the developing roller (FIG. 4). Regarding claim 4 , Kanya teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 3, further comprising: an optical sensor (20) to detect toner density of the toner on the surface of the image bearer, wherein the circuitry is further configured to exclude, from the adjustment operation, the predetermined operation including at least one of: standing by until an output of the optical sensor stabilizes (i.e., the target image density at each gradation level has been obtained, ¶0153); determining whether the amount of toner and a developing potential satisfy a predetermined relationship, the developing potential being a difference between the developing bias and a surface potential of the surface of the image bearer (FIG. 26); adjusting the toner density when the developing potential and the amount of toner do not satisfy the predetermined relationship (s32); or checking whether an amount of toner of a test pattern satisfies a predetermined amount of toner, and the test pattern is formed on the surface of the image bearer under the image formation condition determined based on a relationship between the developing potential and the amount of the toner (s33-36). Regarding claim 5 , Kanaya teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further configured to: perform the predetermined operation including the predetermined operation in the adjustment operation when the job information including a printing job of a first image stability (s32, YES); and perform the predetermined operation excluding the predetermined operation from the adjustment operation when the job information including the printing job of a second image stability less than the first image stability (S32 NO). Regarding claim 6 , Kanaya teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further configured to exclude the predetermined operation from the adjustment operation when the job information including a sheet type of a plain paper (inherently happens when white paper is present and timing control is a No, S11). Regarding claim 7 , Kanaya teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further configured to exclude the predetermined operation from the adjustment operation when the job information including a print type of a monochrome printing (inherently happens when the job is monochrome and timing control is a No, S11). Regarding claim 8 , Kanaya teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising an operation panel to select a mode of the adjustment operation, wherein the circuitry is further configured to perform, according to the mode selected by the operation panel, either one of: a first mode (s11 NO) in which the circuitry excludes the predetermined operation from the adjustment operation when the job information satisfies the predetermined condition; or a second mode (S11 Yes) in which the circuitry performs the adjustment operation including the predetermined operation, regardless of the job information. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JESSICA L ELEY whose telephone number is (571)272-9793. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM CST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Walter Jr. Lindsay can be reached on (571)272-1674. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JESSICA L ELEY/ Examiner, Art Unit 2852 Application/Control Number: 19/189,292 Page 2 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 19/189,292 Page 3 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 19/189,292 Page 4 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 19/189,292 Page 5 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 19/189,292 Page 6 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 19/189,292 Page 7 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 19/189,292 Page 8 Art Unit: 2852