DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office action is responsive to the amendment filed August 31, 2026. As directed by the amendment, claims 1, 5 and 9-11 have been amended and claims 12-20 have been added. Thus, claims 1-20 are presently pending.
Claim 1 as amended does not invoke claim interpretation under 35 U.S.C § 112(f).
Response to Argument
Applicant's sole argument directed to claim 1 is that: “A non-coplanarity gleaned from the schematic figures cannot supply the missing disclosure. Patent drawings that are not designated as being drawn to scale cannot be relied upon to show particular proportions or relative dimensional relationship about which the written description is silent (MPEP § 2155, subsection II).”
This argument is not persuasive. Applicant's reliance on MPEP § 2155, subsection II, is misplaced because that section addresses the use of patent drawings to establish particular proportions, dimensions, measurements, or sizes that are not otherwise disclosed in the specification. The limitation at issue in claim 1, however, does not recite a particular dimension, measurement, proportion, or size. Rather, the limitation concerns a structural relationship between two bottom surface portions, namely, that a first bottom surface portion is not coplanar with a second bottom surface portion.
In this regard, MPEP § 2155, subsection I, expressly recognizes that “[d]rawings and pictures can anticipate claims if they clearly show the structure which is claimed.” See In re Mraz, 455 F.2d 1069, 173 USPQ 25 (CCPA 1972). Here, Fig. 5 of the applied reference clearly depicts the claimed structural relationship. Specifically, Fig. 5 illustrates a first bottom surface portion associated with section 34a that is not coplanar with the second bottom surface portions associated with sections 34b and 34c. The depicted structural relationship is further evidenced by element 94, which is shown as extending between the respective surface portions and defining a stepped configuration.
Moreover, the written description provides additional support for this interpretation. Paragraph [0067] expressly identifies element 94 as a "stepped portion." This disclosure corroborates the structural arrangement illustrated in Fig. 5 and further supports the conclusion that the first and second bottom surface portions occupy different planes.
Accordingly, the Examiner is not relying on the drawings to establish an undisclosed numerical dimension or particular proportional relationship. Rather, the drawings, considered in conjunction with the written description, disclose the claimed structural configuration. Applicant's argument is therefore not persuasive, and the rejection of claim 1 is maintained.
Applicant argues that the Office has not adequately identified the features recited in claims 9–11. This argument is not persuasive. The Office Action previously established the factual basis for the rejection through the discussion of claim 1, including the identification of the longitudinal axis and the one side in a first direction orthogonal to the longitudinal axis. The Examiner's analysis of claims 9–11 relies upon those previously established structural and directional relationships. Although Applicant argues that the relevant features were not expressly identified in the discussion of claims 9–11, the prior discussion of claim 1 provides the necessary context for understanding the applied prior art and the corresponding structural relationships. The rejection should therefore be considered in view of the entire claim analysis, rather than by isolating the discussion of claims 9–11 from the preceding explanation. Furthermore, the Examiner has identified the corresponding structures in the applied references and explained how those structures relate to the claimed arrangement. Accordingly, a factual basis has been established supporting the conclusion that the claimed subject matter is the same as, or substantially similar to, the corresponding structure disclosed by the prior art.
Where the Examiner has established a prima facie case of obviousness based on the applied prior art, the burden shifts to Applicant to demonstrate that the claimed subject matter is patentably distinguishable.
For purposes of clarity, the Examiner has reiterated the references to the longitudinal axis and the one side in the first direction in the discussion of claims 9–11. This clarification does not alter the substantive basis of the rejection.
Accordingly, Applicant's arguments are not persuasive, and the rejections are maintained.
In view of the foregoing, Applicant's arguments do not overcome the previously established rejections. The rejections are therefore maintained, subject to the clarifications provided above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shimoyama US 20230108503 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Shimoyama discloses an ultrasonic endoscope (e.g. Figs. 1-5, [0035-0036]) comprising: a distal end portion (“34” - [0040], [0046-0047]) that is disposed on a distal end side of an insertion part (“12” - [0040]) extending along a longitudinal axis direction (see Fig. 1); an ultrasonic transducer (“50” - [0050]) that is provided at the distal end portion and that emits an ultrasonic wave toward one side in a first direction orthogonal to the longitudinal axis direction (e.g. illustration Fig 4 and [0048], ultrasonic wave will propagate on the Y(+) direction); and a camera (“40” [0056]) comprising an observation window (“40a”) and a solid-state imaging element, (“40c” - [0056] – CCD or CMOS is a solid-state imaging element as known in the art) the camera being disposed on a base end side in the longitudinal axis direction with respect to the ultrasonic transducer and configured to image a subject (see illustration Figs. 2-5, [0056]), wherein the distal end portion includes a first region (“34a” Figs. 2-5) in which the ultrasonic transducer is provided and a second region (“34b”, “34c” Figs. 2-5) that is disposed on the base end side in the longitudinal axis direction with respect to the first region and in which the camera is provided (see as illustrated in Figs. 2-5), a first bottom surface portion of the first region and a second bottom surface portion of the second region are each disposed a side opposite to the one side in the first direction (see illustration Figs. 2-5), and the first bottom surface portion is disposed at a position further from the one side in the first direction that the second bottom surface portion (as illustrated in Figs. 2-5, a first bottom surface of region “34a” is not on the same plane (not co-planar) with a second bottom surface of region “34b”, “34c” as further defined by the stepped portion “94” in [0067]).
Regarding claims 2-3 and 17, a central axis and/or plane direction of region “34a” and “34b”,“34c” is parallel and would thus define an angle that is less than 1 degree.
Regarding claims 4-5, see illustration Figs. 2, 4-5 and [0066] regarding groove portion “92” between first region (“34a”) and second region (“34b”, “34c”) for fitting balloon 120 the groove portion “92” has a first and second surface as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-11, 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimoyama as applied to claim 1 or 4 above, and further in view of Miyagishima et al US 20230018150 A1 "Miyagishima").
Regarding claims 6-8, Shimoyama discloses the invention of claim 1 as discussed above, [0051-0052] disclose a treatment tool outlet port (“52”) and a pipe member (“74”) that communicates with the tool outlet port (see illustration Fig. 2-3). Shimoyama does not explicitly disclose an elevator unit in which an elevator is provided in a rotationally moveable manner, that includes the elevator and a case member that defines a space to which the elevator is housed.
Miyagishima discloses an analogous ultrasonic endoscope (Figs. 1 and 6) that comprise an elevator unit (“370” - [0092-0093]) in which an elevator is provided in a rotationally moveable manner, that includes the elevator that varies a lead-out direction of the treatment tool introduced from the treatment tool outlet port, an elevation angle of the elevator changes with a push/pull operation, the elevator is housed within space portion that reads on a case member. In view of these teachings, at the time of filing the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the treatment outlet port of Shimoyama to include an elevator unit that comprise an elevator and a case member that defines a space to house the elevator, for the added advantage of allowing for varying a lead-out direction of the treatment tool during a surgical procedure to target adjacent tissue of interest during a surgical procedure.
Regarding claims 9-11, Shimoyama in view of Miyagishima discloses the ultrasonic endoscope of claim 8 as discussed above, the imaging unit of Shimoyama comprises a housing portion that houses the camera ([0053], [0056] of Shimoyama, housing portion “82” - Fig. 3), as modified by Miyagishima (i.e., when the elevator unit of Miyagishima is incorporated into the ultrasonic endoscope of Shimoyama), the resulting arrangement would have the following structural relationship: First, a portion of the camera housing portion would overlap the elevator unit when viewed in the first direction, as illustrated by the Y(+) direction in Fig. 2 and the corresponding region 34c in Fig. 3; Second, a portion of the camera housing portion would overlap the pipe member when viewed in a direction perpendicular to both the longitudinal axis and the first direction, corresponding to the X direction illustrated in Fig. 2 and the corresponding region 34c in Fig. 3; Third, the relative positions of the outermost end portions of the camera housing portion and the pipe member would satisfy the claimed positional relationship. More particularly, the outermost end portion of the camera housing portion on the side opposite the one side in the first direction would be positioned farther from the one side in the first direction than the outermost end portion of the pipe member on the one side in the first direction. This relationship is evident from the arrangement depicted in Fig. 3, particularly in the region corresponding to section 34c, when considered in the context of the modified structure.
The Examiner further notes that the resulting modified ultrasonic endoscope would have a structure substantially similar, if not identical, to that recited in the claims. In this regard, In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433–34 (CCPA 1977), explains that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, the Office may require an applicant to establish that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of the claimed product. As discussed in MPEP § 2112.01(I), whether the rejection is based on inherency under 35 U.S.C. § 102 or prima facie obviousness under 35 U.S.C. § 103, the evidentiary burden is the same where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical. This approach is supported by the practical consideration that the Office is generally unable to manufacture products or obtain and compare prior art products. Here, the Examiner has established that the structural arrangement resulting from the proposed combination of Shimoyama and Miyagishima is substantially similar to the arrangement recited in claims 9–11. The burden has been shifted to Applicant to establish that the resulting structure would lack the claimed positional and overlapping relationships.
Regarding claim 15, the camera housing in Shimoyama in view of Miyagishima will be disposed on the one side in the first direction with respect to the elevator unit, see e.g., Fig. 3 of Shimoyama in section 34c. In particular, the relative positioning of the camera housing portion and the elevator unit is illustrated in Fig. 3 of Shimoyama, particularly in the region corresponding to section 34c, when considered in the context of the proposed modification incorporating the elevator unit of Miyagishima. Similar to the rationale in claims 9-11 above, the burden has been shifted to Applicant to establish that the resulting structure would lack the claimed positional and overlapping relationships as the structure disclosed by Shimoyama in view of Miyagishima.
Regarding claim 19, Shimoyama, in view of Miyagishima, discloses the ultrasonic endoscope of claim 6, wherein the observation window of Shimoyama, as modified in view of Miyagishima, is disposed on the base-end side of the elevator in the longitudinal axis direction. More particularly, as illustrated in Fig. 3 of Shimoyama, the observation window is positioned proximally relative to the elevator along the longitudinal axis (i.e., the axis extending in the direction indicated by reference numeral "38"), when considered in the context of the proposed modification incorporating the elevator unit of Miyagishima. Similar to the rationale in claims 9-11 above, the burden has been shifted to Applicant to establish that the resulting structure would lack the claimed positional and overlapping relationships as the structure disclosed by Shimoyama in view of Miyagishima.
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimoyama as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ito US 6409666 B1.
Regarding claims 12-13, Shimoyama discloses the ultrasonic endoscope of claim 1 as discussed above, although the angle of view of the camera is angled relative to reference axis parallel to the longitudinal axis (e.g., axis “38” -see Fig. 3), Shimoyama does not explicitly disclose that the angle between an optical axis of the cameral and a reference axis parallel to the longitudinal direction is less 40 degrees or less than 35 degrees.
However, Ito discloses in Col. 5: line 5-25 that it was known in the prior art to position an optical system at an angle of 15 degrees or any angle within a range of 5-45 degrees, preferably within 10-20 degrees, as this allows viewing a portion of tissue in front of the tip end, thus allowing insertion of the tip end of an endoscope without strongly rubbing tissue. In view of these, at the time of filing the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to specify the angle between an optical axis of the camera and a reference axis parallel to the longitudinal direction to be 15 degrees, or within 10-20 degrees, as this angles would allow viewing of tissue when insertion of the tip end of the endoscope, thus allowing insertion of the tip end of an endoscope without strongly rubbing tissue.
Claims 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimoyama in view of Miyagishima as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Kohno US 20070249940 A1.
Regarding claim 14, Shimoyama, in view of Miyagishima, discloses the ultrasonic endoscope of claim 9, as discussed above. However, Shimoyama does not expressly disclose the particular structure extending beyond the region corresponding to section 34c.
Kohno discloses an analogous ultrasonic endoscope and provides additional teachings concerning the arrangement of structures extending beyond a region analogous to section 34c of Shimoyama. Specifically, Fig. 4 and paragraph [0033] of Kohno disclose a curved connection pipe 33, with an imaging unit positioned and/or housed above the pipe. The housing containing the camera components has a configuration that extends toward an analogous one side in the first direction along the camera, as illustrated by arrow A in Fig. 4. Additionally, the camera housing includes a bent portion on the side opposite the one side in the first direction, which is positioned above the pipe. This arrangement demonstrates that it was known in the art to configure the camera housing and associated pipe with curved and bent portions to accommodate the desired positioning and orientation of the imaging unit and the treatment tool.
Accordingly, at the time of filing the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the camera housing portion and pipe member of Shimoyama, as modified by Miyagishima, to incorporate the curved configuration taught by Kohno, so as to provide greater flexibility in positioning the camera and associated treatment tool at desired angles while maintaining the functional arrangement of the ultrasonic endoscope.
As modified, the camera housing portion would extend toward the one side in the first direction along the camera and would include a bent portion on the side opposite the one side in the first direction. The bent portion would be positioned farther from the one side in the first direction than the outermost end portion of the elevator unit on the one side in the first direction.
With respect to Applicant's recitation of a V-shaped configuration, this represents a change in shape of the curved/bent structure disclosed in Shimoyama, as modified in view of Miyagishima and Kohno. Under MPEP §2144.04, a change in shape (as in this case) is generally considered an obvious design choice unless the applicant provides persuasive evidence that the specific shape yields a new, unexpected, or critical result.
Regarding claim 16, the limitation reciting that "the camera housing portion is formed by bending a single elongated metal plate" is directed to a product-by-process limitation. MPEP § 2113 explains that, although product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the recited process, the determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend upon its method of production. Accordingly, where the product recited in a product-by-process claim is the same as, or obvious from, a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even if the prior art product was manufactured using a different process. Here, the recited bending process describes the resulting structural configuration of the camera housing portion. As discussed above with respect to claim 14, the camera housing portion resulting from the combination of Shimoyama, Miyagishima, and Kohno would include the corresponding bent structural configuration.
Thus, even if the prior art does not expressly disclose manufacturing the camera housing portion by bending a single elongated metal plate, the resulting product structure would be the same as, or obvious in view of, the structure disclosed by the applied prior art.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimoyama as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kohno .
Regarding claim 18, Shimoyama discloses the ultrasonic endoscope of claim 4, as discussed above. In particular, Fig. 2 and paragraphs [0064]–[0065] disclose a balloon groove 92 configured to receive a retaining ring for securing a balloon to the endoscope. The balloon groove 92 does not extend around the entire circumference of the endoscope in the circumferential direction about the longitudinal axis, as evidenced by the presence of plane portion 93.
Kohno, however, discloses that it was known in the prior art to provide a circumferential balloon-fitting groove in an area rearward of an ultrasonic transducer arrangement. See paragraph [0021]. Thus, Kohno teaches the use of a circumferential groove in an analogous ultrasonic endoscope for receiving and securing a balloon-retaining structure.
Accordingly, at the time of filing the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the balloon groove arrangement of Shimoyama to incorporate the circumferential groove configuration taught by Kohno. The motivation for making this modification would have been to provide a circumferential groove capable of receiving a retaining ring to secure the balloon to the endoscope. Such an arrangement would also provide the benefit of facilitating removal and replacement of the retaining ring and, consequently, replacement or refurbishment of the balloon.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimoyama in view of Miyagishima as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Morimoto et al US 20200281446 A1 ("Morimoto") .
Regarding claim 20, Shimoyama, in view of Miyagishima, discloses the ultrasonic endoscope according to claim 6, as discussed above. However, Shimoyama and Miyagishima do not expressly disclose that the second region includes a body member that houses the elevator unit and includes the observation window, wherein the body member is formed of an insulating resin material.
Nevertheless, Morimoto teaches this feature. Specifically, paragraph [0037] of Morimoto discloses that the distal-end-part body 36 is formed of an electrically insulating material, such as a resin material (plastic), including methacrylic resin, polyphenylsulfone resin, polyetherimide resin, polyether ether ketone resin, and polycarbonate. Morimoto further explains in paragraph [0007] that the ultrasound vibrator is driven by a relatively high voltage of approximately 50 V, thereby presenting a need for electrical insulation to ensure electrical safety.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the importance of providing electrical insulation in the distal-end structure of an ultrasonic endoscope, particularly in view of the relatively high voltage applied to the ultrasound vibrator. Accordingly, such a person would have been motivated to employ the electrically insulating resin material taught by Morimoto for the body member in the second region of the ultrasonic endoscope of Shimoyama, as modified by Miyagishima.
The application of Morimoto's insulating resin material to the body member of the second region would have been a predictable use of a known material having established electrical insulating properties in a component of an ultrasonic endoscope. In particular, forming the body member from an insulating resin material would provide electrical insulation in the distal-end structure while maintaining the structural functionality of the body member, including its accommodation of the elevator unit and incorporation of the observation window.
Moreover, Morimoto expressly identifies several suitable resin materials for achieving the desired electrical insulation. Selecting and employing one of these known insulating resin materials for the body member would have been within the ordinary skill in the art and would not have required any inventive ingenuity.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the claimed invention was made, to modify the ultrasonic endoscope of Shimoyama, in view of Miyagishima, to include a body member in the second region that houses the elevator unit and includes the observation window, with the body member being formed of an insulating resin material, as taught by Morimoto, in order to provide electrical insulation and improve electrical safety in view of the high operating voltage applied to the ultrasound vibrator.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BONIFACE N NGANGA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797