DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: imaging unit … that images the subject” in claim 1 (see [0048] of specification as filed for corresponding structure).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1-11, claim 1 recites in part in line 4-5 “an ultrasonic transducer … that emits an ultrasonic wave toward one side in a first direction orthogonal to the longitudinal axis direction”. A direction by definition is “the line or course on which something is moving or is aimed to move or along which something is pointing or facing” https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/direction. It follows that, with respect to the defined longitudinal axis and the emitted ultrasonic wave in the claim, two directions exist, a first direction along which the ultrasonic wave propagates on one side with respect to the longitudinal axis, and a second direction opposite the first direction on the other side of the longitudinal axis. Line 12-14 of the claim “a first bottom surface portion of the first region and a second bottom surface portion of the second region are each disposed on the other side in the first direction, which is opposite to the one side” sets forth that the first and second bottom surface portion are on the other side in the first direction is indefinite because the other side is necessarily on a direction opposite the first direction and not on the first direction. Moreover, the recitation in line 15-16 of the claim “… the first bottom surface portion is disposed on the other side in the first direction with respect to the second bottom surface portion” further renders the claim indefinite because this recitation directly contradicts that the preceding statement that the first and second bottom surface are on the other side. Claims 2-11 are likewise rejected, because they include all limitations and deficiencies of claim 1. For examination purposes, it will be presumed that lines 12-14 refers to the other side opposite the first direction and lines 15-16, the first bottom surface defines a plane that is not coplanar with a plane of the second bottom surface portion e.g. as depicted in Figs. 4-5C with respect to first bottom surface 54A and second bottom surface 112A.
Regarding claim 11, the structure implied by “other side” and “one side” is unclear considering the rejection above in regards to the one side and other side in regards to the longitudinal axis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shimoyama US 20230108503 A1.
Regarding claim 1, as best understood, Shimoyama discloses an ultrasonic endoscope (e.g. Figs. 1-5, [0035-0036]) comprising: a distal end portion (“34” - [0040], [0046-0047]) that is disposed on a distal end side of an insertion part (“12” - [0040]) extending along a longitudinal axis direction (see Fig. 1); an ultrasonic transducer (“50” - [0050]) that is provided at the distal end portion and that emits an ultrasonic wave toward one side in a first direction orthogonal to the longitudinal axis direction (e.g. illustration Fig 4 and [0048], ultrasonic wave will propagate on the Y(+) direction); and an imaging unit (“40c” - [0056]) that is disposed on a base end side in the longitudinal axis direction with respect to the ultrasonic transducer and that images a subject (see illustration Figs. 2-5), wherein the distal end portion includes a first region (“34a” Figs. 2-5) in which the ultrasonic transducer is provided and a second region (“34b”, “34c” Figs. 2-5) that is disposed on the base end side in the longitudinal axis direction with respect to the first region and in which the imaging unit is provided (see as illustrated in Figs. 2-5), a first bottom surface portion of the first region and a second bottom surface portion of the second region are each disposed on the other side in the first direction, which is opposite to the one side(see illustration Figs. 2-5), and the first bottom surface portion is disposed on the other side in the first direction with respect to the second bottom surface portion (as illustrated in Figs. 2-5, a first bottom surface of region “34a” is not on the same plane (not co-planar) with a second bottom surface of region “34b”, “34c”.
Regarding claims 2-3, a central axis and/or plane direction of region “34a” and “34b”,“34c” is parallel and would thus define an angle that is less than 1 degree.
Regarding claims 4-5, see illustration Figs. 2, 4-5 and [0066] regarding groove portion “92” between first region (“34a”) and second region (“34b”, “34c”) for fitting balloon 120 the groove portion “92” has a first and second surface as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimoyama as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Miyagishima et al US 20230018150 A1 "Miyagishima").
Regarding claims 6-8, Shimoyama discloses the invention of claim 1 as discussed above, [0051-0052] disclose a treatment tool outlet port (“52”) and a pipe member (“74”) that communicates with the tool outlet port (see illustration Fig. 2-3). Shimoyama does not explicitly disclose an elevator unit in which an elevator is provided in a rotationally moveable manner, that includes the elevator and a case member that defines a space to which the elevator is housed.
Miyagishima discloses an analogous ultrasonic endoscope (Figs. 1 and 6) that comprise an elevator unit (“370” - [0092-0093]) in which an elevator is provided in a rotationally moveable manner, that includes the elevator that varies a lead-out direction of the treatment tool introduced from the treatment tool outlet port, an elevation angle of the elevator changes with a push/pull operation, the elevator is housed within space portion that reads on a case member. In view of these teachings, at the time of filing the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the treatment outlet port of Shimoyama to include an elevator unit that comprise an elevator and a case member that defines a space to house the elevator, for the added advantage of allowing for varying a lead-out direction of the treatment tool during a surgical procedure to target adjacent tissue of interest during a surgical procedure.
Regarding claims 9-11, Shimoyama in view of Miyagishima discloses the ultrasonic endoscope of claim 8 as discussed above, the imaging unit of Shimoyama comprises a housing portion that houses the imaging unit ([0053], [0056] of Shimoyama, housing portion “82” - Fig. 3, as modified by Miyagishima, a portion of the housing portion would overlap with the elevator unit when viewed in the first direction, a portion of the housing portion would overlap with the pipe member when viewed in a direction perpendicular to the longitudinal axis and first direction, and a position of an outermost end portion side of the imaging unit housing portion. Examiner contends that in Shimoyama in view of Miyagishima, a position of an outermost end portion side of the imaging unit housing portion on the other side in the first direction is provided on the other side in the first direction with respect to a position of an outermost end portion side of the pipe member on the one side in the first direction because the modified ultrasonic device of Shimoyama in view of Miyagishima would have a substantially similar structure, if not the same as the claimed invention. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, the PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his claimed product. Whether the rejection is based on "inherency" under 35 USC § 102, on prima facie obviousness" under 35 USC § 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same, and its fairness is evidenced by the PTO's inability to manufacture products or to obtain and compare prior art products." In re Best, 562 F2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430,433-4 (CCPA 1977). (see MPEP 2112.01 (I)).
Conclusion
/BONIFACE N NGANGA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797