DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4,7,12-17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 5093036 (US ‘036).
As to Claim 1, US ‘036 discloses a polymer thick film composition that has positive temperature coefficient properties (Col. 2, lines 24-26) which is a blend of a polymer, carbon black with low pH and solvent (Col. 2, lines 31-36) wherein the polymer can be a copolymer containing vinylidene fluoride and hexafluoropropylene (Col. 3, lines 40-41). The composition displays a volume resistivity 1500 (Ex. 3, Table 1) which translates to a sheet resistance of 600000 ohm/sq taken on a 0.0025 cm or 25 micron thickness sheet (Col. 5, line 12) wherein the curing step includes at step at 121 deg C for 15 minutes (Col. 6, line 16).
As to Claims 2-4, see discussion of Claim 1.
As to Claim 7, US ‘036 discloses the use of carbon blacks with low pH but does not specify oxidized carbon black as required by the instant claim.
US 4980541 discussed the concept of oxidized carbon black and low pH carbon blacks as being equivalent ideas in the art as the low pH carbon blacks have a high volatile content due to the presence of oxygen on the surface of the carbon black due to an oxidation post process step (Col. 2, lines 54-69 to Col. 3, line 1).
Therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would understand the low pH carbon black to be equivalent of the oxidized carbon black of the instant claims.
As to Claim 12, the loading level of carbon black is at least 4 % (Col. 4, line 19).
As to Claims 13-17, see discussion of claims above.
As to Claim 19, US ‘036 disclose an article e.g. a heater made from the prior art composition (Col. 4, line 18).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US ‘036 in view of US 20140305923 (US ‘923).
As to Claim 5, US ‘036 fails to disclose the solvents as required by the claim.
As to the difference, US ‘923 discloses an organic medium for a PTC polymer thick film composition wherein the medium is comprised of vinylidene fluoride and hexafluoropropylene copolymer blended with triethyl phosphate solvent which is shown to have a good wettability, good drying and appropriate thixotropic characteristics (para. 0016—0018).
It would have been obvious to substitute the solvents of US ‘036 with the solvent of US ‘923 for the purposes of achieving the advantages of the binder as recited in US ‘923 reference.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6,8-11,18 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As to the claims above, none of the prior art discloses the mixtures of solvents as required by Claim 6 nor the oxidized carbon black with the properties 8-11,18 and 20 and there is no teaching, suggestion or motivation in the prior art to arrive at the claimed composition.
Conclusion
/J.P.T/Examiner, Art Unit 1762
/jt/ 4/15/2026
/MARK KOPEC/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762