DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) filled on 04/25/2025 and 12/23/2025 is being considered in the examination of this application.
Drawings
3. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s):
a. Claim 10: the “the partition wall comprises extendable closure segments on its upper edge; and wherein the closure segments can be extracted in the secondary position to enclose the additional separated space towards above”;
b. Claim 17: “the fitting assembly is configured to removably fix the secondary wall panel in the second position to at least one of the group comprising: a cabin facing side of the lavatory enclosure and another monument within the cabin”.
No new matter should be entered.
4. The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: vertical axis 36 in para. [0113], monument 43 in paras. [00145]-[00147], monument 51 in para. [00163], enclosed supplemental space partition 53 in para. [00163], first lavatory 06’ in para. [00224], lavatory monument 106 in para. [00225].
5. The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: reference number 58 in FIG. 5c, reference number 86 in FIG. 8c.
Specification
6. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: lavatory arrangement for an aircraft cabin with enclosed supplemental space partition provided in front of lavatory arrangement.
Claim Objections
7. Claim 4-8, 10 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
a. Claims 4-5, 7-8 and 10: the term “its” should be rewritten to reference the exact structure being referred to for the purpose of sufficient antecedent basis.
b. Claim 6, lines 4-5: the term “the arrangement” should be rewritten as --the lavatory arrangement-- for the purpose of sufficient antecedent basis.
c. Claim 7, lines 4-5: the term “the arranged” should be rewritten as --the lavatory arrangement-- for the purpose of sufficient antecedent basis.
d. Claim 16, line 13: the limitation “in which second position” is grammatically incomprehensible and should be corrected for the purpose of grammatical comprehension and clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
9. Claims 1-14, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
10. Claim 1, lines 16-18, recites the limitation “the bi-functional partition wall is arranged at least partly outside the lavatory arrangement and within the aisle area outside the first lavatory compartment and the second lavatory compartment” (emphasis added) which renders the intended scope of the claim unascertainable, since it is unclear as to whether the claimed invention definitively requires the partition wall to be within the aisle area. Further stated, the claimed invention is drawn to a lavatory arrangement, the cabin is merely is the intended use of the claimed invention, and there being no association between the cabin and the aisle area. The first and second lavatories are recited as being merely capable of being accessible via the aisle area. Thus, raising doubt as to whether the Applicant intends on positively claiming the aircraft cabin and/or the aisle area. For examination purposes, the cabin and the aisle area which are not part of the lavatory arrangement are being interpreted as not a part of the claimed Further clarification and appropriate correction is required.
11. Claim 2, lines 2-4, recites the limitation “the partition wall is at least partly enclosing a part of the aisle area in front of the lavatory arrangement providing an additional separated space as an enlargement to the common lavatory” (emphasis added) which renders the intended scope of the claim unascertainable, since it is unclear as to whether the part of aisle area is positively required by the claimed invention for the similar reasons discussed above, regarding claim 1. For examination purposes, the aforementioned features are interpreted as not being a part of the claimed invention. Further clarification and appropriate correction is required.
12. Claim 3, lines 2-5, recites the limitation “the partition wall is arranged extending towards a monument provided on an opposite side of the aisle area such that an additional space is provided in front of the first or second door separated from an adjacent aisle or seating space” (emphasis added) which renders the intended scope of the claim unascertainable, since it is unclear as to whether the monument, aisle area, adjacent aisle or seating space are required by the claimed invention for similar reasons as discussed above, regarding claim 1. For examination purposes, the aforementioned features are interpreted as not being a part of the claimed invention. Further clarification and appropriate correction is required.
13. Claim 5, lines 1-5, recites the limitation “a movable bridging segment is provided on the monument provided on the opposite side of the aisle area; wherein the bridging segment is movable between a parked position and a deployed position” which renders the intended scope of the claim unascertainable, since it is unclear as to whether the bridging segment and the moment are required by the claimed invention for similar reason discussed above, regarding claim. For examination purposes, the aforementioned features are interpreted as not being a part of the claimed invention. Further clarification and appropriate correction is required.
14. Claim 6, lines 4-7, recites the limitation “the partition wall is extracted from the arrangement and folded along the vertical hinge connection and attached with a distal end such that an enclosed supplemental space partition is provided in front of the first door or the second door” which renders the claim vague and indefinite, since it is unclear as to exactly how the partition wall is considered to be extracted from the lavatory arrangement while also being comprised by the lavatory arrangement. Is the partition wall extracted from the claimed invention or merely extracted from within the lavatory arrangement? Furthermore, it is unclear as to exactly what a distal end is in reference to. Similarly, claim 7 is unclear for the same reasons is it pertains to the term “extracted” and features recited that are not part of the lavatory arrangement. Further clarification and appropriate correction is required.
15. Claim 6, lines 7-8, recites the limitation “which supplemental space section is provided as an apsis-like enlargement to the common lavatory” which the renders the claimed indefinite, since it is unclear as to whether the supplemental space section is provided as an apsis enlargement or is merely optionally provided as an apsis enlargement. The examiner suggests removing the term like as well as replacing the term apsis with another term in describing the enlargement as the term “apsis” is generally in reference to a swelling on human skin. Further clarification and appropriate correction is required.
16. Claim 8, lines 2-3, recites the limitation “the partition wall is arranged extending from the lavatory arrangement to a monument provided on an opposite side of the aisle area” (emphasis added) which renders the intended scope of the claim unascertainable, since it is unclear as to whether the monument and the aisle area are required by the claimed invention for similar reasons as discussed above, regarding claim 1. For examination purposes, the aforementioned features are interpreted as not being a part of the claimed invention. Further clarification and appropriate correction is required.
17. Claim 8, lines 4-7, recites the limitation “in the completely pulled out state the partition wall is movable with its proximal edge from a location between the first and the second door towards a location on the opposite side of the first and the second door” which renders the claim indefinite, since it is unclear as to whether the completely pulled out state is considered to be the same as or different from the state in which the wall is “at least partly outside the lavatory arrangement” as recited in claim 1. Further clarification and appropriate correction is required.
18. Claim 8, lines 8-12, recites the limitation “in the secondary position, the partition wall is connected with its proximal end to a portion of the lavatory arrangement that is arranged on a lateral side of the first or the second door such that an enlarged additional space is provided in front of the first and second door separated from an adjacent aisle or seating space” (emphasis added) which renders the intended scope of the claim unascertainable, since it is unclear as to whether the adjacent aisle or seating space are required by the claimed invention for similar reasons as discussed above, regarding claim 1. For examination purposes, the aforementioned features are interpreted as not being a part of the claimed invention. Further clarification and appropriate correction is required.
19. Claim 10, lines 4-5, recites the limitation “wherein the closure segments can be extracted in the secondary position to enclose the additional separated space towards above” which renders the claim indefinite, since it is unclear as to whether the limitation following the term “can be” are required by the claimed invention. The examiner suggests replacing the limitation with terms such as “configured to” or the like to obviate such indefinitess.
20. Claim 10 recites the limitation “the additional separated space” in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Furthermore, it is unclear as to whether the limitation is part of the claimed invention.
21. Claim 18 recites the limitation “the vertical hinge” in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Furthermore, it is unclear as to whether the limitation is part of the claimed invention.
22. Claim 20, lines 4-8, recites the limitation “the secondary wall panel is arranged extending from the lavatory compartment towards a monument provided on an opposite side of the aisle area such that an additional space is provided in front of the first or second door separated from an adjacent aisle or seating space” which renders the intended scope of the claim unascertainable, since it is unclear as to whether the monument, aisle area, adjacent aisle or seating space are required by the claimed invention. Further stated, the claimed invention is drawn to the lavatory arrangement with the cabin area merely being the intended use of the claimed invention. For examination purposes, the aforementioned features are being interpreted as not being part of the claimed invention. Further clarification and appropriate correction is required.
23. Claim 20, lines 9-10, recites the limitation “the secondary wall panel is attached to an opened distal edge of the first or the second door” which renders the claim indefinite, since it is unclear as to exactly what is considered to be an opened distal edge of the first or second door. Is the opened distal edge considered to the distal edge of the first or second door in the open state? Further clarification and appropriate correction is required.
Claims not addressed are rejected based on their dependency from a rejected base claim.
Due to the outstanding number of rejections above, it is suggested that each claim to be carefully and thoroughly reviewed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
25. Claim(s) 1-2, 11-12, 14 and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Reams et al. (US 2014/0291446 A1), hereinafter “Reams”, as cited on the IDS filed on 04/25/2025.
26. Regarding Claim 1, Reams discloses a lavatory arrangement for an aircraft cabin (Abstract and para. [0057]; lavatory monument assembly 10 as seen in FIGS. 1-29), the arrangement comprising:
a first lavatory compartment accessible from an aisle area via a first door (para. [0059]; lavatories 27/28 including respective doors 30/32 accessible from an aisle as seen in FIG. 1);
a second lavatory compartment accessible from the aisle area via a second door (para. [0059]; lavatories 27/28 including respective doors 30/32 accessible from the aisle area as seen in FIG. 1);
wherein a movable bi-functional partition wall is arranged between the first lavatory compartment and the second lavatory compartment (paras. [0059] and [0060]; divider door 18 arranged between lavatories 27/28 as seen in FIG. 2);
wherein the bi-functional partition wall is movable between a primary position and a secondary position (FIGS. 2-17 and 22-27);
wherein in the primary position, the bi-functional partition wall separates the first lavatory compartment from the second lavatory compartment (FIGS. 1-3 and 22), and in the secondary position, the bi-functional partition wall is brought into a position outside the first and second lavatory compartments (divider door 18 brought into a position outside lavatories 27/28 as seen in FIGS. 7-10 and 24-27), in which secondary position the first lavatory compartment and the second lavatory compartment provide an enlarged common lavatory (para. [0078]; enlarged common lavatory as seen in FIGS. 7-10 and 24-27); and
wherein in the secondary position, the bi-functional partition wall is arranged at least partly outside the lavatory arrangement and within the aisle area outside the first lavatory compartment and the second lavatory compartment (with consideration of the divider 18 being clearly placed outside the lavatories 27/28 as seen in FIGS. 8-10 and 24-26, the divider door 18 is structurally cable of being within the aisle area as seen in FIGS. 1 and 29).
27. Regarding Claim 2, Reams discloses the lavatory arrangement according to claim 1, wherein, in the secondary position, the partition wall is at least partly enclosing a part of the aisle area in front of the lavatory arrangement providing an additional separated space as an enlargement to the common lavatory (with consideration of the divider wall 18 being clearly placed outside of the lavatories 27/28 as seen in FIGS. 8-10 and 24-26, the divider wall 18 is structurally capable of at least partly enclosing a part of the aisle area in front the lavatory monument 10 providing an additional separated space as an enlargement to the common lavatory as seen in FIGS. 1 and 29).
28. Regarding Claim 11, Reams discloses a cabin for an aircraft (para. [0017]; aircraft 100 by definition including a cabin as seen in FIG. 1), the cabin comprising:
at least one passenger seating zone with a plurality of passenger seats (FIG. 1);
at least one aisle zone configured to allow movement of the passengers inside the cabin (FIG. 1)); and
at least one lavatory monument (FIG. 1-29);
wherein the at least one lavatory monument comprises at least one lavatory arrangement according to claim 1 (aircraft lavatory monument assembly 10 including lavatories 27/28 as discussed above, regarding claim 1).
17. Regarding Claim 12, Reams discloses the cabin according to claim 11, wherein the at least one aisle zone comprises at least one longitudinally arranged aisle (cabins by definition include at least one aisle zone comprising a longitudinal arranged aisle as seen in FIG. 1); and
wherein the first and second lavatory compartments are accessible from the aisle (FIG. 1).
29. Regarding Claim 14, Reams discloses an aircraft (para. [0058]; aircraft 100 as seen in FIG. 1), comprising:
a fuselage (the aircraft by definition includes a fuselage); and
a cabin space arranged within the fuselage (FIG. 1);
wherein at least one lavatory arrangement according to claim 1 is provided within the cabin space (para. [0055]; lavatories 27/28 as discussed above, regarding claim 1, within the cabin space as seen in FIG. 1).
30. Regarding Claim 16, Reams discloses a divider wall for an aircraft lavatory arrangement in a cabin of an aircraft (Abstract and para. [0057]; lavatory monument assembly 10 as seen in FIGS. 1-29), the divider wall comprising:
a primary wall panel (16/44);
a secondary wall panel (18); and
a fitting assembly (36);
wherein the primary wall panel is configured to be fixedly arranged between a first lavatory and a second lavatory of a double lavatory arrangement (paras. [0059] and [0060]; divider door 18 arranged between lavatories 27/28 as seen in FIG. 2);
wherein the secondary wall panel is configured to be removably arranged between the first and the second lavatory such that in an attached first position, the secondary wall panel and the primary wall panel provide a separation between the first and the second lavatory (paras. [0059] and [0075] and FIGS. 22-27);
wherein the secondary wall panel is movable to a detached second position outside the lavatory arrangement in which second position a separation of the first and the second lavatory is cancelled (FIGS. 23-27); and
wherein the fitting assembly is configured to removably mount the secondary wall panel in the first position to at least one of the group comprising: a lavatory enclosure and the primary wall panel (paras. [0061] and [0079]; latch 36 is configured to removable connect divider door 18 to wall 16 as seen in FIGS. 2-3 and 22-23).
31. Regarding Claim 17, Reams discloses the divider wall according to claim 16, wherein the fitting assembly is configured to removably fix the secondary wall panel in the second position to at least one of the groups comprising: a cabin facing side of the lavatory enclosure and another monument within the cabin (paras. [0061] and [0069]; with consideration of divider door 18 being removably connected to wall 16 via latch 36 of the divider door 18, the latch 38 is structurally cable of removably fixing the divider door 18 in the second position to a cabin facing side of a lavatory enclosure or another monument within the cabin); and
wherein the secondary wall panel comprises a first panel segment and a second panel segment; and the first panel segment and the second panel segment are movably connected to each other (para. [0070]; divider door 18 including multiple panels movably connected to each other via hinge 38 as seen in FIGS. 22-23).
32. Regarding Claim 18, Reams discloses the wall according to claim 17, wherein the first panel segment and the second panel segment are symmetric along a vertical axis of the vertical hinge (divider door 18 segments are symmetrical along a vertical axis of hinge 38 as seen in FIGS. 22-23).
33. Regarding Claim 19, Reams discloses a lavatory arrangement for an aircraft cabin (Abstract and para. [0057]; lavatory monument assembly 10 as seen in FIGS. 1-29), the arrangement comprising:
a first lavatory compartment accessible from an aisle area (para. [0059]; lavatories 27/28 including respective doors 30/32 accessible from an aisle as seen in FIG. 1); and
a second lavatory compartment accessible from the aisle area (para. [0059]; lavatories 27/28 including respective doors 30/32 accessible from an aisle as seen in FIG. 1);
wherein a divider wall according to claim 16 is arranged between the first lavatory compartment and the second lavatory compartment (diver door 18 as discussed above, regarding claim 6, disposed between lavatories 27/28 as seen in FIGS. 1-3 and 22);
wherein in the first position, the divider wall separates the first lavatory compartment from the second lavatory compartment (FIGS. 1-3 and 22); and
wherein in the second position, the secondary wall panel is brought outside the first and second lavatory compartments (divider door 18 brought into a position outside lavatories 27/28 as seen in FIGS. 7-10 and 24-27), in which second position the first lavatory compartment and the second lavatory compartment provide an enlarged common lavatory (para. [0078]; enlarged common lavatory as seen in FIGS. 7-10 and 24-27).
34. Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 9, 11-12 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Koyama et al. (US 2016/0039522 A1), hereinafter “Koyama”, as cited on the IDS filed on 04/25/2025.
35. Regarding Claim 1, Koyama discloses a lavatory arrangement for an aircraft cabin (Abstract and paras. [0055]-[0056], [0181]-[0186] and [0188]; aircraft lavatory unit 10H as seen in FIGS. 1-2 and 33-37), the arrangement comprising:
a first lavatory compartment accessible from an aisle area via a first door (para. [0056]; lavatories 28A/28B accessible form an aisle area via doors 34 as seen in FIGS. 2 and 34);
a second lavatory compartment accessible from the aisle area via a second door (para. [0056]; lavatories 28A/28B accessible form an aisle area via doors 34 as seen in FIGS. 2 and 34);
wherein a movable bi-functional partition wall is arranged between the first lavatory compartment and the second lavatory compartment (paras. [0060] and [0183]-[0188]; movable wall section 38/3850/3852 arranged between lavatories 28A/28B as seen in FIGSS. 3 and 33-35);
wherein the bi-functional partition wall is movable between a primary position and a secondary position (FIGS. 33-35);
wherein in the primary position, the bi-functional partition wall separates the first lavatory compartment from the second lavatory compartment (FIGS. 33-34), and in the secondary position, the bi-functional partition wall is brought into a position outside the first and second lavatory compartments (wall section 38 brought into a position outside lavatories 28A/28B as seen in FIG. 25), in which secondary position the first lavatory compartment and the second lavatory compartment provide an enlarged common lavatory (para. [0193]; broad space S formed as seen in FIG. 35); and
wherein in the secondary position, the bi-functional partition wall is arranged at least partly outside the lavatory arrangement and within the aisle area outside the first lavatory compartment and the second lavatory compartment (wall section 38 is clearly positioned outside lavatories 28A/28B and is structurally of at least partly enclosing a part of the aisle area outside lavatory unit 10H as seen in FIGS. 1-2 and 35).
36. Regarding Claim 2, Koyama discloses the lavatory arrangement according to claim 1, wherein, in the secondary position, the partition wall is at least partly enclosing a part of the aisle area in front of the lavatory arrangement providing an additional separated space as an enlargement to the common lavatory (with consideration of the wall section 38 being clearly placed outside of the lavatories 28A/28B as seen in FIG. 35 the wall section 38 is structurally capable of at least partly enclosing a part of the aisle area in front the lavatory monument 10H providing an additional separated space as an enlargement to the common lavatory as seen in FIGS. 1 and 35).
37. Regarding Claim 3, Koyama discloses the lavatory arrangement according to claim 1, wherein, in the secondary position, the partition wall is arranged extending towards a monument provided on an opposite side of the aisle area such that an additional space is provided in front of the first or second door separated from an adjacent aisle or seating space, which additional space provides an enlargement to the common lavatory (with consideration of the arrangement of wall section 38 and extending away from lavatory unit 10H, an additional space can be provided in front of door 34 to increase space of the lavatory unit 10H as seen in FIGS. 1 and 35).
38. Regarding Claim 5, Koyama discloses the lavatory arrangement according to claim 1, wherein a movable bridging segment is provided on the monument provided on the opposite side of the aisle area; wherein the bridging segment is movable between a parked position and a deployed position; and wherein the partition wall is connectable to the bridging segment when the partition wall is in its secondary position and the bridging segment is in its deployed position (with consideration of the wall section 38 in the second position as seen in FIG. 35 as well as a fitting 42 at a distal end of the wall section 38, the wall section 38 is structurally capable of being connectable to a bridging segment on a monuments provided on an opposite side of an aisle area, when the wall section 38 is the second position and the bridging segment is in a deployed position).
39. Regarding Claim 6, Koyama discloses the lavatory arrangement according to claim 1, wherein the partition wall comprises at least two wall panel segments connected by a vertical hinge connection (para. [0183]; wall section 38 including panels 3850/3852 and connected via hinge H12 as seen in FIG. 35); and
wherein, in the secondary position, the partition wall is extracted from the arrangement and folded along the vertical hinge connection and attached with a distal end such that an enclosed supplemental space partition is provided in front of the first door or the second door, which supplemental space section is provided as an apsis-like enlargement to the common lavatory (para. [0189]; with consideration of the foldable connection between panels 3850/3852, wall section 38 being extracted from the lavatory unit 10H,
40. Regarding Claim 9, Koyama discloses the lavatory arrangement according to claim 1, wherein, in the secondary position, the partition wall is arranged in front of the first or the second lavatory door (wall section 38 in front of the door 34 of lavatory 28B as seen in FIG. 36); and
wherein, the partition wall comprises two segments that are foldable connected along a vertical axis to fold in front of the first or second door in the secondary position (para. [0183]; wall section 38 includes panels 3850/3852 that fold with respect to hinge H12 as seen in FIGS. 35-36).
41. Regarding Claim 11, Koyama discloses a cabin for an aircraft (para. [0055]; with consideration of Koyama’s disclosure regarding aircraft lavatories, Koyama inherently discloses an aircraft and aircraft’s by definition include cabins), the cabin comprising:
at least one passenger seating zone with a plurality of passenger seats (aircrafts including lavatories by definition include at least one passenger seating zone with a plurality of passenger seats);
at least one aisle zone configured to allow movement of the passengers inside the cabin (aircraft cabins by definition in include at least one aisle zone configured to allow movement of passengers inside the cabin); and
at least one lavatory monument (FIG. 1);
wherein the at least one lavatory monument comprises at least one lavatory arrangement according to claim 1 (aircraft lavatory unit 10H as discussed above, regarding claim 1).
42. Regarding Claim 12, Koyama discloses the cabin according to claim 11, wherein the at least one aisle zone comprises at least one longitudinally arranged aisle (cabins by definition include at least one aisle zone comprising a longitudinal arranged aisle); and
wherein the first and second lavatory compartments are accessible from the aisle (with consideration of lavatory unit 10A, the lavatories 28A/28B must be accessible from the aisle).
43. Regarding Claim 14, Koyama discloses an aircraft (para. [0055]), comprising:
a fuselage (the aircraft by definition includes a fuselage); and
a cabin space arranged within the fuselage (a cabin space is by definition arranged within the fuselage);
wherein at least one lavatory arrangement according to claim 1 is provided within the cabin space (para. [0055]; lavatory unit 10H must be provided within the cabin space).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
45. Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koyama et al. (US 2016/0039522 A1), in view of Eisele et al. (US 2022/0212774 A1), hereinafter “Eisele”.
46. Regarding Claim 4, Koyama discloses the lavatory arrangement according to claim 1, wherein the partition wall comprises a main wall panel and an extension segment on its distal edge (para. [0183]; wall section 38 constituted by first wall panel 3850 and second wall panel 3852 foldable secured to the first wall panel 3850 by hinge H12 as seen in FIGS. 33-37).
Koyama is silent regarding the partition wall comprises a main wall panel and an extension segment on its distal edge to specifically extend an effective length of the partition wall in the secondary position; wherein the extension segment is movable from a stored position to an extended position; and wherein the extension segment is: a pivoting segment attached to the main panel pivotably around a vertical axis; or a translating segment attached to a distal front end of the main panel translatable in a telescoping manner.
Eisele discloses a lavatory (Eisele Abstract and para. [0019]; lavatory 100 as seen in FIGS. 1A-1E) comprising a main wall panel and an extension segment on its distal edge to specifically extend an effective length of the partition wall in the secondary position (paras. [0019]-[0021]; door 10 including a outer panel 22 and a pocket extension 26 configured to slide out from panel 22 when door 10 is in the open position as seen in FIG. 1C);
wherein the extension segment is movable from a stored position to an extended position (para [0021] and FIG. 1C); and
wherein the extension segment is:
a pivoting segment attached to the main panel pivotably around a vertical axis (para. [0021]; extension 26 configured to pivot around a vertical axis with respect to joint 30 and panel 22 as seen in FIGS. 1D-1E); or
a translating segment attached to a distal front end of the main panel translatable in a telescoping manner (para. [0021]; extension 26 configured to translate with respect to panel 22 and attached to a distal end of panel 22 as seen in FIG. 1C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Koyama as taught by Eisele such that the partition wall comprises a main wall panel and an extension segment on its distal edge to extend an effective length of the partition wall in the secondary position; wherein the extension segment is movable from a stored position to an extended position; and wherein the extension segment is: a pivoting segment attached to the main panel pivotably around a vertical axis; or a translating segment attached to a distal front end of the main panel translatable in a telescoping manner in order to increase the overall size of the lavatory arrangement and further enhancing the experience of passengers having mobility requirements.
47. Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reams et al. (US 2014/0291446 A1), in view of Bradshaw et al. (US 2022/0212801 A1), hereinafter “Bradshaw”.
48. Regarding Claim 13, Reams discloses the cabin according to claim 11, wherein an entry zone is provided to be arranged next to an aircraft door (an entry zone is by definition provided to be arranged next to an aircraft door); the entry zone comprising an entry aisle area (entry zones by definition comprise entry aisle areas); and
Reams is silent regarding the first and second lavatory compartments are accessible from the entry aisle area.
Bradshaw discloses a cabin (Bradshaw Abstract and para. [0069]; cabin 30 as seen in FIG. 2A) wherein the first and second lavatory compartments are accessible from the entry aisle area (paras. [0069], [0071], [0080]-[0081], [0088] and [0097]; cabin 30 including aft section 40 including doors 62 located at ends of egress path/door passageways 60, lavatory system 150 located proximate to intersection of egress paths 60, lavatory system 150 including lavatories 156/158 which are accessible via egress paths 60/170 as seen in FIGS. 2A, 5 and 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Reams as taught by Bradshaw such that the first and second lavatory compartments are accessible from the entry aisle area in order to efficiently use the space within the cabin, maximizing passenger seats and the convenience provided to crew members.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15 is allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the prior art of record fails to disclose the combined limitations of claim 15.
Claims 7-8 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims as well as overcoming drawing objections, claim objections and 112(b) rejections.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record fails to disclosed the combined limitations of claims 1 and 7, the combined limitations of claims 1 and 8, and the combined limitations of claims 16, 19 and 20.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Swain (US 9045231 B2) and Stratmann (US 2005/0125891 A1) and Scown et al. (US 9308997 B2), individually disclose a lavatory arrangement comprising first and second lavatories and a movable partition wall arranged between the first and second lavatories configured to be extracted from within the lavatory arrangement.
Meyer et al. (US 12397913 B2) discloses a lavatory arrangement comprising first and second lavatories configured to occupy an additional space in adjacent aisle area.
Roeder (US 11618570 B2) and McIntosh et al. (US 12258127 B2) individually disclose a lavatory arrangement comprising first and second lavatories and movable partition wall arranged between the first and second lavatories.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this or any earlier communication from the examiner should be directed to Examiner Arfan Sinaki, whose telephone number is 571-272-7185. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday from 10:00 am to 6:00 pm EST.
/ARFAN Y. SINAKI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642